Official 2017 Vizio M Series Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 220Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1559 Post(s)
Liked: 1405
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Does the '17 M series not have the built in "SmartCast" apps yet?

Yes. The '17 M already has SmartCast.

Last edited by zeus33; 08-18-2017 at 01:15 PM.
zeus33 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Personally, I would take one of those new TCL P607's over Vizio for the mid range HDR market, they are simply cheaper and better in almost every way.
The only problem with TCL ( other than bad DSE - panel lottery extreme ) is that they just announced the cancellation of the 50" and 65" models. The only choice going forward is the 55. If that will work for you - great. I'm sure Vizio was really upset to hear that news!!
danbfree and Cam1977 like this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #453 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Does the '17 M series not have the built in "SmartCast" apps yet? Sorry I have a '16 model and am part of the Beta testers and have had built in apps for a few months now...
All the '17's are supposed to be getting the update BEFORE the '16's. Vizio is officially rolling out 3.3.18.1. If you have a '17 M or P running on older FW, make sure to do this: Settings/System/Check for Updates.
danbfree and Cam1977 like this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532

Last edited by sonoftumble; 08-18-2017 at 11:35 AM.
sonoftumble is offline  
 
post #454 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The only problem with TCL ( other than bad DSE - panel lottery extreme ) is that they just announced the cancellation of the 50" and 65" models. The only choice going forward is the 55. If that will work for you - great. I'm sure Vizio was really upset to hear that news!!
I clicked "Like" because that's good info to know, and I hadn't heard yet, but that sucks! I wonder what happened? Panel yield or marketing issues? It was getting such rave reviews within the enthusiast community that's really too bad as I was looking forward to the 65" to replace my '16 M series... But I've been off the boards for a little while, my '16 M series that originally was a firmware nightmare when new that drove me here a lot more is fully dialed in now to the best it can do, so that's good at least, but I was looking for that next "deal" on a 65"....
sonoftumble likes this.
danbfree is offline  
post #455 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
If the rumors hold up, the 5th Gen Apple TV should be the ticket. You literally won't need anything else. Here's the list of features that have been independently confirmed: 4K, DV & HDR-10, ( possibly HLG to boot ). Several snoops have discovered that Apple has been quietly upgrading their iTunes movie library with 4K/HDR titles. Apple is expected to introduce the new model next month ( Sep ). Apple already announced in June that Amazon will be part of the party.
Thanks for the information. Really helpful and I will keep an eye out for apple news.
sonoftumble likes this.
matty12981 is offline  
post #456 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Does the '17 M series not have the built in "SmartCast" apps yet? Sorry I have a '16 model and am part of the Beta testers and have had built in apps for a few months now... But ya, right now no hardware player, other than maybe a super expensive Oppo UHD Blu Ray player that supports DV as far as I know... early on, there wasn't much difference, especially on the '16 model between the 2 formats, but with the '17 brighter and wider color gamut, it should help with the advantages that DV has over HDR10.

As an aside, I originally got used to casting from the tablet that was included then or my phone, but once the Beta built in apps and new remote came, I use that for DV content now, I like how it supports both formats, even if the menus are a bit slow and jerky I don't have to have separate devices for for HDR streaming... I still love my Shield for overall speed and video quality but to make sure I don't miss out on any HDR of either type, you can't beat the built in apps.
Just figured out app situation and got DV VUDU Titles to cast. Is there a remote out there that I can cast from instead of my phone? Thanks again.
matty12981 is offline  
post #457 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
I wonder what happened? Panel yield or marketing issues? It was getting such rave reviews within the enthusiast community that's really too bad as I was looking forward to the 65" to replace my '16 M series
I really think that the DSE issues would have driven you nuts. Most casual TV watchers probably wouldn't care . . . . but not THIS crew! - NOT in this forum!

The price is certainly ridiculous considering the specs. I've got a Sq Trade warranty, so once the Vizio and then Costco coverage ends, I will be able to get full purchase price re-embursement if it takes a c**p. In the meantime, I might end up swapping for a '17 or '18 M - or maybe an '18 P. Sq Trade the best upgrade program out there!
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #458 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty12981 View Post
Just figured out app situation and got DV VUDU Titles to cast. Is there a remote out there that I can cast from instead of my phone? Thanks again.
Yes. The remote is free as well.

To order the remote - click here:

https://support.vizio.com/s/remote?l...m_source=43737

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #459 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The only problem with TCL ( other than bad DSE - panel lottery extreme ) is that they just announced the cancellation of the 50" and 65" models. The only choice going forward is the 55. If that will work for you - great. I'm sure Vizio was really upset to hear that news!!
I clicked "Like" because that's good info to know, and I hadn't heard yet, but that sucks! I wonder what happened? Panel yield or marketing issues? It was getting such rave reviews within the enthusiast community that's really too bad as I was looking forward to the 65" to replace my '16 M series... But I've been off the boards for a little while, my '16 M series that originally was a firmware nightmare when new that drove me here a lot more is fully dialed in now to the best it can do, so that's good at least, but I was looking for that next "deal" on a 65"....
The amount of success TCL is having with the 55p and the market demand for a 65 inch this move is very strange. It sounds like they will shed some light on this decision at a later time I'm very interested in hearing why.
sonoftumble and Cam1977 like this.

Last edited by tdsbigo; 08-18-2017 at 01:33 PM.
tdsbigo is online now  
post #460 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I really think that the DSE issues would have driven you nuts. Most casual TV watchers probably wouldn't care . . . . but not THIS crew! - NOT in this forum!

The price is certainly ridiculous considering the specs. I've got a Sq Trade warranty, so once the Vizio and then Costco coverage ends, I will be able to get full purchase price re-embursement if it takes a c**p. In the meantime, I might end up swapping for a '17 or '18 M - or maybe an '18 P. Sq Trade the best upgrade program out there!
The thing is with DSE, it is almost *always* improved with a good screen massage... I had a cheap RCA 65" and it had a significant amount of DSE but I reduced easily half if not more of it with a good massage... Heck, my M series has a decent amount too, I think that was caused by it being mounted, moved and remounted 3 times, but the massage in this case didn't help a ton... but on any panel when new, a good massage will help quite a bit.
sonoftumble likes this.
danbfree is offline  
post #461 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
gcw23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcw23 View Post
Long time browser here, first time posting.


Purchased the M65-E0 tv last week from Costco, using as a bedroom TV. Setup is as follows. HDMI-1 is connected to my HTPC, outputting 4k60hz from a GTX 1050 and HDMI 2 is my cable box. TV is connected to a samsung 3.1 soundbar via optical. Can't use ARC since the soundbar wont passthrough 4k.

Everything was working great until today when I got the new update adding the apps to the TV. Now I get no sound, unless i go into the options and select PCM, then set it back to bitstream. If I change inputs, again no sound until I cycle the sound option to PCM then back to bitstream. I need it set to bitstream so I get 3.1 sound from the soundbar. Everything worked perfectly until the update today.

Also occasionally when switching inputs back to HDM1, all I get is the left side of the screen is black and the rights side is distorted, almost like a snowy picture on an old TV... cycle through the inputs back to HDMI 1 ususally corrects this. Again this only started after the update today.

Anyone else experiencing any issues like this?

Edit: Should also add I have performed a factory reset and set the tv back up from scratch, but still having these issues.
So an update to the issue I was having with the optical out which I quoted above. After almost 2 weeks back and forth with tech support they determined my TV was defective and sent out a replacement. Got the replacement yesterday and got it set up, and everything worked as it should. 5.1 audio to my soundbar via optical, with Digital audio set to bitstream in the audio settings. Change input, power on and off, sound works as it should. TV updated to 3.3.18.1, and the issue is back. No sound from optical unless I cycle through the Digital output to PCM then back to bitstream. I then lose audio if I change inputs or when I turn the power off then back on. Clearly there is a issue with the firmware and optical audio, at least on the 65" version. This time I took a video of it working before, and not working after which I plan on sending to them. Very frustrating as I've wasted 2 weeks of my time on this, took time off work to receive the replacement TV, and still not resolve the issue.

I realize not a lot of people would even notice the issue as they either use ARC to send audio to a surround receiver, or use optical to pass 2.0 to a basic sound bar. We spend the extra money for the 3.1 sound bar because we watch a lot of movies, and the dialogue is much much clearer with the dedicated centre.

Another quirk I noticed is the TV backlight will go to full brightness when i select Bitstream when cycling through the Digital Output options then back to normal. It never did this on the old firmware.
gcw23 is online now  
post #462 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The only problem with TCL ( other than bad DSE - panel lottery extreme ) is that they just announced the cancellation of the 50" and 65" models. The only choice going forward is the 55. If that will work for you - great. I'm sure Vizio was really upset to hear that news!!
I'm all in on the 2017, in fact BB just got quite a few in, so again lol I'm coming back to the 2017 albeit for my bedroom and the other one for my son...2 65's. The mu8000 wasn't bad in sdr but hdr was very poor due to what I believe is a crappy local dimming.
sonoftumble likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #463 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
I'm all in on the 2017, in fact BB just got quite a few in, so again lol I'm coming back to the 2017 albeit for my bedroom and the other one for my son...2 65's. The mu8000 wasn't bad in sdr but hdr was very poor due to what I believe is a crappy local dimming.
rtings said the local dimming was "B A D" ( not bada** ) Also, even though it could get pretty bright, the HDR picture wasn't really any different looking from SDR. It's about par for the course when it comes to an edge lit "local dimming" backlight. No wonder you sent it back. Even Sammy's top of the line Q9 is edge lit, and the light only comes from the bottom.
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #464 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,633
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 904
The Q9 actually has side local dimming and it has 2 columns of 16 rows each.
The 2017 M series has 4 columns of 8 rows.
sonoftumble and Cam1977 like this.

HCFR 3.4.4 | Git branch
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings
Vizio M55-C2 | T95N with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is online now  
post #465 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
rtings said the local dimming was "B A D" ( not bada** ) Also, even though it could get pretty bright, the HDR picture wasn't really any different looking from SDR. It's about par for the course when it comes to an edge lit "local dimming" backlight. No wonder you sent it back. Even Sammy's top of the line Q9 is edge lit, and the light only comes from the bottom.
I had the a bout with idiocy this past week...now came back to my senses...looks like I got the latest firmware yay!
sonoftumble likes this.

Last edited by Cam1977; 08-18-2017 at 08:10 PM.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #466 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Wow just got done watching my son play injustice 2...he was playing it on my previous mu8000...and the difference is night and day...500 dollar cheaper tv out does the Sammie!
sonoftumble likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #467 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 09:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
The Q9 actually has side local dimming and it has 2 columns of 16 rows each.
The 2017 M series has 4 columns of 8 rows.
I stand corrected. However, I believe that the actual nits - which are impressive - come from the bottom backlight. In fact rtings has a video which goes over what to do when the diffuser gets out alignment and the brightness isn't what it should be. I'm sure you've seen it.
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #468 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 09:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Thank goodness vizio put those apps back on the screen...no more casting headaches!
sonoftumble and yanks1 like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #469 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 10:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Thank goodness vizio put those apps back on the screen...no more casting headaches!
It's actually still a Chromecast TV, ( somewhat of a hybrid ) except that the apps are now hosted on Vizio servers instead of your tablet or mobile device. They're not saved locally to the TV. The really cool thing about doing it this way is that when there's an app update, we all get that update automatically. The hybrid nature also allowed Amazon to return.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #470 of 1053 Old 08-18-2017, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
It's actually still a Chromecast TV, ( somewhat of a hybrid ) except that the apps are now hosted on Vizio servers instead of your tablet or mobile device. They're not saved locally to the TV. The really cool thing about doing it this way is that when there's an app update, we all get that update automatically. The hybrid nature also allowed Amazon to return.
Oh ok...lol it took me a few minutes to figure out that I had to select the smart cast input to get the apps...but I like it so far.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #471 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 01:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,633
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I stand corrected. However, I believe that the actual nits - which are impressive - come from the bottom backlight. In fact rtings has a video which goes over what to do when the diffuser gets out alignment and the brightness isn't what it should be. I'm sure you've seen it.
Not that it really matters or the thread for this discussion, but the Q9 has the LEDs on its side, there are no LEDs on the bottom edge.
Most other edge lit sets are bottom edge lit, though.
For instance the Sony X930E is also edge lit, but it has pseudo zones, which makes it work similar to a FALD set. There are many different implementations of edge lit technologies out there.

HCFR 3.4.4 | Git branch
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings
Vizio M55-C2 | T95N with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is online now  
post #472 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
For the gamers out their what is the best picture mode?

Last edited by Cam1977; 08-19-2017 at 01:26 PM.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #473 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
For the gamers out their what is the best picture mode?

I have an Xbox One S connected to HDMI1 with full bandwidth, and I've been using the Computer mode. The Game mode is too dark and flickers (plus some said here that it's rubbish)
I'd be interested to hear what others recommend and why...
Not interested in customizing picture modes either and will only use the ones provided by Vizio.

Help available for [ Vizio M65-E0 TV + SB3651-E6 Sound Bar | Harmony Home Control / Companion | Xbox One S | Apple TV (4th gen) | Mac mini w/ Plex ]
Oxyd722 is offline  
post #474 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxyd722 View Post
I have an Xbox One S connected to HDMI1 with full bandwidth, and I've been using the Computer mode. The Game mode is too dark and flickers (plus some said here that it's rubbish)
I'd be interested to hear what others recommend and why...
Not interested in customizing picture modes either and will only use the ones provided by Vizio.
It looks like standard looks the best so far...game doesn't have too much pop to it.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #475 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 11:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxyd722 View Post
I have an Xbox One S connected to HDMI1 with full bandwidth, and I've been using the Computer mode. The Game mode is too dark and flickers (plus some said here that it's rubbish)
I'd be interested to hear what others recommend and why...
Not interested in customizing picture modes either and will only use the ones provided by Vizio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
It looks like standard looks the best so far...game doesn't have too much pop to it.
There's something special regarding the "Computer" picture mode as it pertains to gaming consoles, UHD Full Color, lag, and certain motion settings. I tried to find a particular post from @The Coolest , but came up empty handed. I'm pretty sure he can shed definitive light on what combo of settings work best.

I don't have any A/V sources that need that stuff, so I keep forgetting the answer to the riddle.
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-D3
PIONEER ELITE VSX-90 | APPLETV 4K | SAMSUNG K8500
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.3.18.1:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54599532
sonoftumble is offline  
post #476 of 1053 Old 08-19-2017, 11:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
There's something special regarding the "Computer" picture mode as it pertains to gaming consoles, UHD Full Color, lag, and certain motion settings. I tried to find a particular post from @The Coolest , but came up empty handed. I'm pretty sure he can shed definitive light on what combo of settings work best.

I don't have any A/V sources that need that stuff, so I keep forgetting the answer to the riddle.
Ok cool...kinda weird that vizio wouldn't make the game picture mode pop more.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #477 of 1053 Old 08-20-2017, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,633
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 904
If you want pop, there's Vivid PM for that.

HCFR 3.4.4 | Git branch
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings
Vizio M55-C2 | T95N with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is online now  
post #478 of 1053 Old 08-20-2017, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just setup up a new M55-E0 yesterday. Spent the day with it and I love it, except for the eye strain, just need to get used to it I think. Everything pops compared to my ST50 Panny Plasma I had for years. Reason for the replacement was the Panny had started to get purple flashing on start up.
The TCL P607/605 is not available in Canada nor would I want to deal with DSE, Backlight flooding, and the panel lottery. We don't have easy access to KS8000 and the P series is $500 to $700 more. So the M series was the best budget option available, and what an awesome option. I do a ton of gaming but nothing competitive so the input lag isnt the end of the world and the motion handling looks great to me. Watching the Defenders in 2160p DV was a sight to behold. We sat there just smiling and commenting on how good it looked.

The main reason for my posting is my HK 1610 avr doesn't support hdr and it has insanely bad handshaking issues with arc. It clicks and pops and squeals and constantly can't handle the audio it is being fed. Smartcast works fine. Any time I try to run somthing off of HDMI 2,3,4 the problems in audio start. On the Panny the arc was also horrid, terrible lipsyncing, and audio just not working at all on start up.
So it is time to start looking at a new amp I can sort of use as a high end splitter. I am researching the Sony STR-DN 1080. I am only running 5.0 (no sub, being respectful in my condo of neighbors) So I have no need for super fancy audio features. I do want a stable arc capable amp with all the visual bells and whistles, though. HDR, DV, 4:4:4, WCG, HLG(does the M even do HLG). I am going to getting an xbox one x and a media streamer in the fall and want to be prepared. Going on off the price of the Sony, 700cdn, I guess I am willing to spend that much. So I have come to ask the experts on the Vizio M Series. What other amps should I be reading up on and comparing to the Sony? If it comes in cheaper I am all for that as well.

Do want to add that my partner would love for me to get rid of all the speaker wires but I just don't know if a soundbar without a sub in my price range would sound much better nor have hdmi in and arc. I haven't looked at this AV stuff in years. So I am sort of starting over.

Also do you think they will improve the input lag in the future through firmware or is that even possible? More of a curiosity then a need.

Thanks so much and I apologise for all my rambling.
Hailin is offline  
post #479 of 1053 Old 08-20-2017, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Well it looks like standard picture mode is the best looking for us for gaming...hdr games look spectacular😊
Cam1977 is online now  
post #480 of 1053 Old 08-20-2017, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,633
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Well it looks like standard picture mode is the best looking for us for gaming...hdr games look spectacular😊
Can't wait to get mine (M55-E0) already. I started with it July 15th, and since this Friday I'm on my 4th order.
1st and 2nd displays arrived with a shattered LCD panel, and the 3rd "got lost in transit". I was ready to give up till BF, but Target has a free worldwide shipping coupon till end of today, so I decided to give it one last go before giving up.

HCFR 3.4.4 | Git branch
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings
Vizio M55-C2 | T95N with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off