*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1606Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 2834 Old 06-30-2017, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Getting excited! Suppose to be delivered between 8am - 12. Need to go to bed so time will speed up but, I'm not tired.

What should be the first 4K HDR thing I should watch on YouTube, Netflix or Amazon. Thinking of buying the UHD version of ST Beyond or Fantastic Beast from Vudu.
You should check out Meridian on Netflix, and also check out pretty much anything from The HDR Channel on YouTube, there's some great super vibrant stuff on that channel
rolltide1017 and tedrik like this.
theboomr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
What should be the first 4K HDR thing I should watch on YouTube, Netflix or Amazon.
We were blown away by Cafe Society the Woody Allen film, on Amazon I think, and also The Hunt - a nature documentary.
rolltide1017 and theboomr like this.
dbrons is offline  
post #1203 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
hbkdinobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I just got the TV and I'm trying to set up my Xbox One S for 4K HDR. The "Enable HDR" option is greyed out on my Xbox one S. Is there a certain setting that needs to be enabled to get HDR to work on the Xbox?
hbkdinobot is offline  
 
post #1204 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 900
@hbkdinobot

Yeah need to set HDMI to HDMI 2.0, search the thread, it was mentioned here.
theboomr likes this.

HCFR 3.4.4 | Git branch
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings
Vizio M55-C2 | T95N with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #1205 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Ugh! Best Buy just delivered the wrong TV. Some stupid Toshiba. Mine is still at the store. They better get here quick.
theboomr likes this.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus (returning to XBL with Xbox One X)
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #1206 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
splattered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
@hbkdinobot

Yeah need to set HDMI to HDMI 2.0, search the thread, it was mentioned here.




Whew thanks for mentioning this.. I just started messing around with my XB1S settings and all of a sudden HDR was disabled. Went into the 4k details screen and almost everything was disabled/not available and I was like... crap what now!? haha
splattered is offline  
post #1207 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
New review posted June 30, 2017 at cnet
trekjewel is offline  
post #1208 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
New review posted June 30, 2017 at cnet

www.cnet.com/products/tcl-55p607/review
franzmetcalf and new_tcl like this.
trekjewel is offline  
post #1209 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 12,928
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3535 Post(s)
Liked: 1876
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Has anyone tried using Rtings' expert calibration settings on there set? If so, did it look good? Would that be a good starting point? I don't have any calibration equipment beyond the video essentials BD, the BD you can download on AVS and the THX iPhone app.
They're definitely a good starting point. I tried them and things look pretty accurate without having access to a pro calibration tool set.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #1210 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 10:06 AM
Member
 
tedrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Still concerned I have a defective OTA tuner. I mentioned this in a previous post, but maybe I should clarify the problem so some or all of you will test and compare (those of you who watch OTA with the built in tuner).

Now this only happens in MOVIE setting...when changing local channels the picture will look somewhat reddish/sometimes overly sharp/slightly off-focus. It seems that it is not "holding" the movie setting when changing channels. What I do is toggle (immediately after changing the channel) the brightness ( the setting that displays dark, darker, bright, brighter..not the manual slide strength brightener). You will then see the picture ( by toggling just once to any setting..i toggle to bright) immediately change back to the movie setting and will stay there until you change channels again..then have to toggle to regain the movie setting every time.

I suspect this might be a defect in the OTA digital tuner.. it does not occur when in any other setting ( Normal, vivid, sport) nor does it occur using my TIVO tuner. I guess you can "live with it" but it is annoying.
tedrik is offline  
post #1211 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Anyone else having trouble playing Dolby Vision content on Amazon? Seasons 1 and 3 work fine -- but anytime I try to play Season 2 of Bosch (which is DV HDR) I get an "unable to play your video at this time" error.
JohnGen is offline  
post #1212 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sigh, anyone else having best buy change their delivery?

Originally coming the 8th and now the earliest I can get is the 12th...
crawlgsx likes this.
Stiler is offline  
post #1213 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 11:44 AM
Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiler View Post
Sigh, anyone else having best buy change their delivery?

Originally coming the 8th and now the earliest I can get is the 12th...


Yes when I placed my order I was given the option of June 29th(about a week out from when I placed the order). Days later I got an email saying my delivery is scheduled for July 5th. Slightly annoying but I'm guessing they are starting to have stock issues even in the areas it is available.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
crawlgsx is offline  
post #1214 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 12:29 PM
Member
 
abcekids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
Still concerned I have a defective OTA tuner. I mentioned this in a previous post, but maybe I should clarify the problem so some or all of you will test and compare (those of you who watch OTA with the built in tuner).

Now this only happens in MOVIE setting...when changing local channels the picture will look somewhat reddish/sometimes overly sharp/slightly off-focus. It seems that it is not "holding" the movie setting when changing channels. What I do is toggle (immediately after changing the channel) the brightness ( the setting that displays dark, darker, bright, brighter..not the manual slide strength brightener). You will then see the picture ( by toggling just once to any setting..i toggle to bright) immediately change back to the movie setting and will stay there until you change channels again..then have to toggle to regain the movie setting every time.

I suspect this might be a defect in the OTA digital tuner.. it does not occur when in any other setting ( Normal, vivid, sport) nor does it occur using my TIVO tuner. I guess you can "live with it" but it is annoying.
We've been using the TV's tuner and have it in movie mode, and I don't notice anything like that at all. The picture is perfect as soon as it appears and the movie setting sticks just fine. The built in tuner is much better than our old Tivo Premiere that takes forever to tune. Channel surfing on the Tivo (which we moved to a different TV) is painful in comparison to the TCL. You might want to contact TCL and see what they say. I initially had a problem with our remote and they responded quickly and walked me through fixing it. GL!
tedrik likes this.
abcekids is offline  
post #1215 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Peter_Wiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I"m about to pull the trigger on buying this TV, but I was wondering how far apart the legs are?

My current tv stand isn't very wide.

-Thanks
Peter_Wiggin is offline  
post #1216 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 12:54 PM
Member
 
tedrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 37
The settings still indicate movie setting...but appears NOT to be when changing channels..took awhile to notice. Solved the problem by using normal mode (dialed in settings to look exactly like movie mode.) Thanks for input

Last edited by tedrik; 07-01-2017 at 01:10 PM. Reason: add info
tedrik is offline  
post #1217 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 01:05 PM
Member
 
franzmetcalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_Wiggin View Post
I"m about to pull the trigger on buying this TV, but I was wondering how far apart the legs are?

My current tv stand isn't very wide.

-Thanks
Quite wide, I'm afraid. From TCL: The feet spacing on the 55P607 is 38.6"

Denon AVX4300h // 5.1.2: NSM 5SE fronts, PSA XV15se sub, Gallo nucleus micro surrounds, NHT Atmos Minis // TCL P55607 (some DSE but otherwise excellent)
franzmetcalf is offline  
post #1218 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 01:13 PM
Member
 
franzmetcalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 82
To get a sense of closure on something that really is not a big problem but dominated discussion in this thread early on, I reshot my backlight bleed photo. I replicated the rtings screen settings (including their zero backlight setting) and this led to a much darker screen with FALD off. I also followed rtings' camera settings. I attach the photo.

I'll just add one thing: yes, the screen is visibly lit in letterboxed areas when watching in an extremely dark room. This is the only time any bleeding is visible and it doesn't bother me much. In all other situations—in other words, 95% of the time—the bleeding is entirely invisible to me. I am officially done thinking about it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TCL Bleed.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	2213377  

Denon AVX4300h // 5.1.2: NSM 5SE fronts, PSA XV15se sub, Gallo nucleus micro surrounds, NHT Atmos Minis // TCL P55607 (some DSE but otherwise excellent)
franzmetcalf is offline  
post #1219 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_Wiggin View Post
I"m about to pull the trigger on buying this TV, but I was wondering how far apart the legs are?

My current tv stand isn't very wide.

-Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by franzmetcalf View Post
Quite wide, I'm afraid. From TCL: The feet spacing on the 55P607 is 38.6"
There are VESA stands available that allow you to put your TV on a smaller TV stand.
theboomr and new_tcl like this.
JStrach is offline  
post #1220 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by franzmetcalf View Post
To get a sense of closure on something that really is not a big problem but dominated discussion in this thread early on, I reshot my backlight bleed photo. I replicated the rtings screen settings (including their zero backlight setting) and this led to a much darker screen with FALD off. I also followed rtings' camera settings. I attach the photo.

I'll just add one thing: yes, the screen is visibly lit in letterboxed areas when watching in an extremely dark room. This is the only time any bleeding is visible and it doesn't bother me much. In all other situations—in other words, 95% of the time—the bleeding is entirely invisible to me. I am officially done thinking about it!
yup this mirrors the two sets i've looked at.
henhowc is offline  
post #1221 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
splattered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm not used to calibrating TVs.. I usually put it in game mode and move on.


Tried using the Rtings settings and movie mode colors feel very muted to me? Like everything looks a little dull?


I did not change the white balance or color settings in the Roku App but I did turn noise reduction off.


If I want to use other picture settings in game mode to see if I like them better do I just use all the same ones for movie mode or will they all be different?
splattered is offline  
post #1222 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_Wiggin View Post
I"m about to pull the trigger on buying this TV, but I was wondering how far apart the legs are?

My current tv stand isn't very wide.

-Thanks
For those with more narrow footprints, I can recommend this stand:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B013P...woL&ref=plSrch

I got this for the TCL, and it works great. It is very stable even with the 100mm VESA mount on this TV.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
jyqureshi, theboomr and new_tcl like this.
TheLongshot is offline  
post #1223 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 43
still lovin' my 55p607, a lot of fun, and the perfect stop gap until more 4k content becomes available which is when i'll most likely go the oled route... funny thing tho, i just picked up an oppo udp-203 to pair with my tcl and, combined, the oppo ($549) and tcl ($599), the price came out to far less than what i was prepared to spend on a 4k tv alone when i first decided to take the 4k plunge a few weeks ago, so color me very happy!

that said, what really makes this thing pop is hdr and wcg as opposed to increased resolution over 1080p imo, in fact watching "plain" 4k content, i.e. non-hdr content, i'm not blown away at all... which got me wondering, what would a 1080p tv look like with hdr and wcg? pretty damn good i would think... so i did a search on this, 1080p / hdr and, low and behold, it looks like sony will roll out hdr with all of their 1080p tvs this year, who knows what the color gamut or nits will be, but seems pretty interesting... i would think broadcasters and content providers would love a legitimate alternative to 4k, something that would make 1080p rock, which would allow them to keep a lot of their current gear as opposed to a complete equipment overhaul for 4k, heck even their bandwidths could stay the same...
aeneas01 is offline  
post #1224 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 03:42 PM
Member
 
abcekids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
The settings still indicate movie setting...but appears NOT to be when changing channels..took awhile to notice. Solved the problem by using normal mode (dialed in settings to look exactly like movie mode.) Thanks for input
Glad you found a fix. Maybe I'm just not perceptive enough, but i don't see any change in color when I change channels at all. I can see a difference when I switch between movie and normal mode though so I *think* I would have noticed it if there was a similar issue with mine.
tedrik likes this.
abcekids is offline  
post #1225 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
i would think broadcasters and content providers would love a legitimate alternative to 4k, something that would make 1080p rock, which would allow them to keep a lot of their current gear as opposed to a complete equipment overhaul for 4k, heck even their bandwidths could stay the same...

I think HLG is what you're describing.
theboomr likes this.
JStrach is offline  
post #1226 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob Coxner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStrach View Post
I think HLG is what you're describing.
I noticed some manufacturers are able to add HLG support via firmware updates. I wonder if this TCL will be capable of it? One of the TCL models, U55P6046, supports it already.
skoolpsyk and theboomr like this.

DirecTV since 1999
Genie DVR
Bob Coxner is offline  
post #1227 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStrach View Post
I think HLG is what you're describing.
actually i was suggesting that broadcasters might prefer the idea of working with the current 1080p bandwidth vs having to retool for the hungry 4k bandwidth... it appears that hdr wcg/hlg can be accomplished without 4k rez, without increased bandwidth, in fact the article points out that most hlg demos up to this point have been done on 1080p panels and, as mentioned, sony is rolling out1080p hdr sets this year... will be interesting to see if a 1080p with hdr/wcg/hlg/dv etc., etc. can rival a 4k set, or if the industry will even try in earnest...

Last edited by aeneas01; 07-01-2017 at 08:53 PM.
aeneas01 is offline  
post #1228 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 82
ok i lied. the gray uniformity on this 2nd set is bugging me. gonna try panel lottery one more time. hopefully third time will be a charm.

not super hopeful as the cnet and rtings reviews both mentioned this as one of the negatives in their review panels. at least their shipping is quick so if this doesn't work out i still have time to do a return.

i am worried about the people posting horror stories about best buy/tre randomly blacklisting them on future returns though lol
sheshechic and theboomr like this.
henhowc is offline  
post #1229 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
still lovin' my 55p607, a lot of fun, and the perfect stop gap until more 4k content becomes available which is when i'll most likely go the oled route... funny thing tho, i just picked up an oppo udp-203 to pair with my tcl and, combined, the oppo ($549) and tcl ($599), the price came out to far less than what i was prepared to spend on a 4k tv alone when i first decided to take the 4k plunge a few weeks ago, so color me very happy!

that said, what really makes this thing pop is hdr and wcg as opposed to increased resolution over 1080p imo, in fact watching "plain" 4k content, i.e. non-hdr content, i'm not blown away at all... which got me wondering, what would a 1080p tv look like with hdr and wcg? pretty damn good i would think... so i did a search on this, 1080p / hdr and, low and behold, it looks like sony will roll out hdr with all of their 1080p tvs this year, who knows what the color gamut or nits will be, but seems pretty interesting... i would think broadcasters and content providers would love a legitimate alternative to 4k, something that would make 1080p rock, which would allow them to keep a lot of their current gear as opposed to a complete equipment overhaul for 4k, heck even their bandwidths could stay the same...
The ATSC 3.0 standard specifies a 1080p HDR mode. So yes, it's coming for the reasons you stated.
cah95046 is offline  
post #1230 of 2834 Old 07-01-2017, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Coxner View Post
I noticed some manufacturers are able to add HLG support via firmware updates. I wonder if this TCL will be capable of it? One of the TCL models, U55P6046, supports it already.


Does this set not support it? I thought I'd read somewhere that it does.
JStrach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off