Vizio L32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 905 Old 08-21-2005, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up one of these from Costco today

Anybody else on here have one?

Specifications here

http://www.vinc.com/site/products/product_l32.html

Seems like great value for the money. No complaints so far.
khans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 905 Old 08-21-2005, 09:51 PM
Member
 
wrpmission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
have you hooked it up to a pc yet? can it display at native resolution of the panel?
wrpmission is offline  
post #3 of 905 Old 08-21-2005, 11:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried hooking it up to a couple of different machines.

I was able to hook up my Windows XP machine (with a Radeon 9000) to the display through the VGA port to get 1360 x 768 (standard rez on radeon). I was then able to use powerstrip to get it to render at 1366x768 (which is the native rez of this panel).

For some reason I wasn't able to get the same results using a HDMI -> DVI cable on my windows box. VGA works - HDMI doesn't - on windows.

I then tried connecting it to the DVI port of my powerbook. Mac OS X detected it (surprise!) as a Visio L32 and showed a number of supported resolutions - the resolution closest to the native resolution was 1344x756.

I like the results but I don't think I would use this display as a monitor. I have a Dell 2001FP already (which is much crisper than this) and if I needed a bigger monitor I'd go with the 23" version of that (which runs cheaper than this and is native HD rez).
khans is offline  
post #4 of 905 Old 08-22-2005, 12:30 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the Vizio L32 2 weeks ago from Sam's Club. This is a definite keeper.

I also own a Sharp 32" lcd, so I have had something to compare the Vizio to.

Let me tell you, there is not much difference in PQ between these two sets. I'll mention a few comparisons here in my mini review.

1. Black levels (very important to a lot of people) - The Sharp wins here. But not by much. During daytime viewing, the difference is non existant. Only during nightime viewing does the Sharp stick out, and even then the blacks are only a little deeper. Not realy a deal-breaker in my opinion.

2. Grayscale - There is no temp adjustments on the Vizio. (i.e. warm, standard, cool, ect...) However this is a non issue for me because the Vizio looks right on the money grayscale wise. More so than any of the temp settings on the sharp.
Vizio wins this one.

3. Colors - Equal here. Both tv's have great saturation of colors. Both look great in HD and DVD. The Vizio displays a bit more of a red push than the Sharp, but after cranking down the color setting I got rid of that. Even without losing the "pop" of the other colors.

4. HD Viewing - Equal here also. Both sets are stunning. No complaints here on either set.

5. DVD Viewing - The Sharp has a bit sharper picture here. I am using the same model of dvd player on both sets, so it's easy to compare. (a sony ns50) Color saturation is the same. The sharper more detailed picture on the Sharp could be because of the deeper blacks, but like I said, I'm not sure this is a deal breaker either.

6. PC use - I don't use either one of these as a PC monitor. I have a 26" Astar lcd/tv which I bought from Newegg.com that I use for that, and I'm very pleased with the quality of the Astar for PC use.

All in all, I'm pretty happy with the Vizio L32. We originally had the Sharp in our family room used for home theater purposes. Both me and my wife have agreed that the picture quality between the two is almost the same. With the exception of deeper blacks on the Sharp, which are not that much deeper, both sets are very comparible. However, the cosmetic look of the Vizio goes better with our home theater set up in the living room. So we've decided to put the Vizio downstairs, and the Sharp is now up in our bedroom. By the way.....the plan when we bought the Vizio.....was to go in the bedroom.
rufus101 is offline  
post #5 of 905 Old 08-22-2005, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like I made a good choice. :-)
khans is offline  
post #6 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
goods1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rufus101 - will you post the settings you are using. did you use Avia or the like for adjustments?
Thanks
goods1010 is offline  
post #7 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 11:02 AM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings using Avia:

HD/Satalite (Dish Network) via component:

Backlight - 70
Brightness - 52
Contrast - 60 (HD stuff looks better more vivid in my opinion) This setting can go between 50 and 60 but the picture is more brilliant at 60.
Color - 32
Tint - 50
Sharpness - 0

DVD via component (progressive):

Backlight - 70
Brightness - 55
Contrast - 45
Color - 25
Tint - 52
Sharpness - 0

Cable via coax:

Backlight - 70
Brightness - 56
Contrast - 65 (due to poor signal)
Color - 36
Tint - 50
Sharpness - 0 or 25 (can't make up my mind yet)

Hope these settings point you in the right direction. Also hope your loving this tv as much as I am. The picture is just amazing on it. I guess I'm just impressed with the quality for the price. I paid $500 more for my Sharp at Cost Co and just have a hard time justifying the extra money for the name. I really don't see that much of a difference in PQ. I might return the Sharp this weekend so I can pick up another Vizio at Sams. I'd like to see Vizio make a 37" LCD. We'd probably see a price tag around $1500 if they did.
rufus101 is offline  
post #8 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did u guys compare to other 32''? like westinghouse, scpetre and philips..just curious..
mallu2u is offline  
post #9 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 12:43 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At my local Sam's Club they had the Vizio on display right next to the Philips. The Vizio had a much more impressive picture. And I really liked the cosmetic look of the Vizio over the Philips. I like the black bezel with the silver trim and speakers on the bottom. That's why I ended up buying the Vizio over the Philips. Plus it was $400 cheaper. I've seen the Westinghouse at Best Buy and debated for a while on purchasing it. Pretty good picture quality. Then I heard about the Vizio and decided to check it out. I was pleased more with the Vizio than the Westinghouse. In the end I couldn't justify spending and extra $400 for another "no-named" brand LCD. Plus, If I was going to do that, I would have bought the Philips or another Sharp. Still really impressed with the price and PQ of the Vizio. Plus it has all the same connections as the name brand LCD. 2 HD component inputs, HDMI, ect.....Really you can't beat this tv for the price.
rufus101 is offline  
post #10 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
chrono03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to buy the 32" vizio when it arrives at my local costco, ive heard great things about this lcd
chrono03 is offline  
post #11 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before I bought the Vizio I compared it to the following LCDs

- Syntax Olevia
- Samsung
- Philips
- Westinghouse

Syntax was probably the most price competitive TV to the Vizio but I didn't like the picture quality and the design is just ugly. Very blah.

I saw a 37" Westinghouse which was probably twice the price of the Vizio.

Samsung and Philips have some great TVs but I felt like the price is almost 1.5 times that of the Vizio and the difference in picture quality does not justify that. I saw a 27" samsung for $ 1199 and a 32" philips (at costco) for $ 1499.

I think the clincher for me was that the design of the unit itself stands out among the other brands (kinda reminds me of the latest generation of Sharp Aquos displays) and that the speaker is mounted below the screen (as opposed to on the sides). That just fits my space much better.

What do I not like?

Well it would have been nice to have a built in HD tuner. The svideo port on the side of the LCD would have much better suited to be behind it with the rest of the ports. A regular DVI port would have been nice.

Since I use the LCD for mostly TV watching (tivo) I'm still coming to terms with the 4:3 aspect ratio of most regular TV stations. Kinda sucks to use a 16:9 panel in cropped 4:3 mode most of the time :-/.
khans is offline  
post #12 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know what a good mount to use with this TV is?

I'm looking for a flush lcd wall mount (not adjustable). Hopefully at a good price.
khans is offline  
post #13 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:29 PM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by khans View Post

Anybody know what a good mount to use with this TV is?

I'm looking for a flush lcd wall mount (not adjustable). Hopefully at a good price.

How about this one at Costco for $55.


22"-37" Tilting Wall Mount
Cyrano is offline  
post #14 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:30 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to www.vizioce.com. They have a matching flush wall mount (model #VMF30-37) for $99. You can buy it direct from their site.
rufus101 is offline  
post #15 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Khans: cannot see the vizio 32'' on samsclub website. therefore not sure of the price.

chrono03: Is costco going to keep vizio 32''. their website does not have it.
mallu2u is offline  
post #16 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mallu2u: $ 999 at costco

(hope I didn't break some forum rule by doing that)

They're not on the costco website but they have quite a few units in the store.
khans is offline  
post #17 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
chrono03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The costco ID for the 32 inch LCD is. 932023. you will have to call your local costco to see if they have them in stock yet. All stores already have them on order, it is just a matter of time until they actually get to the store. I spoke with an administrator in a MI costco and he said the price would be "around a grand"
mallu2u: it isnt on the website, it is in store only
chrono03 is offline  
post #18 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
bluesxtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm... I might be inclined to agree with Khans... Though i really want to "love" the philips model, the 500 premium for a tuner/cablecard is so steep.

I am waiting for the Vizio and the Maxent to show up in Costco stores and I will very likely end up with one of those too. i might as well buy some premium HD channels with the money I save.
bluesxtreme is offline  
post #19 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info chrono. will call my local costco.
mallu2u is offline  
post #20 of 905 Old 08-23-2005, 10:31 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I bought mine, my local Sam's Club had about 12 in stock. $999 is the price tag on them. Can't beat the price!
rufus101 is offline  
post #21 of 905 Old 08-24-2005, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
chrono03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have any input about this new lcd?
chrono03 is offline  
post #22 of 905 Old 08-25-2005, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
More? You want more?

I have researched these sets as well, and if I needed one today I would go to Sam's and buy the Vizio. Just can't beat the price, and it's a very attractive design. Widescreen sets are wide as it is, but when you add side speakers they are a difficult fit sometimes.

But I'm NOT needing one today, and would much rather buy a set that has a built-in HD tuner. The wife just cannot deal w/more than one button to push just to watch TV!

So the two new sets to watch are the Samsung LN-R269D and the Toshiba 27HL95 (they also have a 32", wildly expensive).
Laserfan is offline  
post #23 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 11:10 AM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I e-mailed Vizio yesterday to let them know how happy I was with my purchase of the L32. I also asked them if they plan on releasing a 37" in the near future. They responded back this morning and said they plan on releasing a 37" LCD early 1st quarter of 2006. No pricing was available, but I'm betting at the current price drops on LCDs we'll probably see a price tag of $1200-1300 at Sams. Maybe even lower. I'd like to see the same look as the L32 on this 37". I'll be waiting for more details. They said to look for more information coming this fall on their website.
rufus101 is offline  
post #24 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked it up from Costco yesterday. Like it overall. But seems a bit small for my bedroom. Might upgrade to a 37''. Have it connected to SD (Dish) right now. Decent PQ.

Few things:

- Wish there was a way to label the AV sources
- Wish there was a way to skip some AV sources
- Did not like the sorround sound of the TV. regular seems better to me.
- Remote is pretty good but I could not get it to work my dish receiver. Tried all the codes. Nothing helped
- Like the design. Silver and black.
- Overall a very nice feature TV for a bargain price.

Might go back since it looks small in my room and also coz I might want ATSC tuner in the room. Will keep it for a few days and decide. Would recommend.
mallu2u is offline  
post #25 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Jeff Weight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When the L32 first came out, I stopped at Vizio to have a look. The receptionist let me into their showroom. They didn't have the L32 on display, but did have the L37 prototype. It looks identical to the L32. It wasn't powered up, so I can't comment on the picture.

JP
Jeff Weight is offline  
post #26 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 12:13 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't get any of the codes for the remote to work with any of my devices at first. Then I went online and downloaded the manual from Vizio's website. They have updated codes in it, and they all worked. Try 01005, 00775, or 01505 for Dish Network. They worked for me.
rufus101 is offline  
post #27 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 12:16 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the L37 ends up being identical to the L32, (PQ and Design wise) I'll end up snatching one up. I really like the L32, and I'd be even happier with a 37" version.
rufus101 is offline  
post #28 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kid Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 3,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may have to check this out. Im returning my Westy 27" (it was great, just you can get more now for the price) so I'll check this out and decide between it and the new Westy 27".
Kid Red is offline  
post #29 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 12:44 PM
Member
 
rufus101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to see dual HDMI ports on the L37. I'm ok without a ATSC tuner. (I have one on my Dish 811 receiver). Wonder if they'll make the L37 a 1080p panel. Only time will tell I guess.
rufus101 is offline  
post #30 of 905 Old 08-26-2005, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
chrono03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone hooked this up to their computer and tried to display the native resolution of the monitor?
chrono03 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off