I am miserable.... Need to find a Sharp AVC Box (TU-GA1U-S) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 Old 11-22-2005, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
patsfan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the Sharp Aquos LC30HV4U for about a month now and was not told the extent of which the TV could operate without the box.

I am miserable now without being able to adjust the picture, or use any other inputs besides one DVI input on the back of the TV

I could be blamed for this for not thoroughly investigating this situation, but I was mislead by the people I got it from, and now they are avoiding me.


Does anyone know where to find this box, wholesaler, website, individual, etc....?
I've found them on EBAY, but they only come up every few weeks or so.

Are there any Sharp AV receivers that could be used in place of this, or am I out of luck?

Thank you
patsfan23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 66 Old 11-22-2005, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsfan23 View Post

I am miserable now without being able to adjust the picture, or use any other inputs besides one DVI input on the back of the TV

Maybe you can by a used iScan or integrate into htpc?
sfhub is offline  
post #3 of 66 Old 11-22-2005, 10:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
patsfan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post

Maybe you can by a used iScan or integrate into htpc?

Wow, the iScan seems promising. I just read briefly about it, but it looks like it may do what I need. I'm looking to hook up Cable TV DVI, PS2 S-Video, DVD Player Component, and my computer DVI.
Could I modify the monitors' picture through it though? or does this just offer additional inputs?

Also, what is a good price to pay?
Its on ebay for $255 and then others are $1000+


I'm not familiar with integrating into HTPC.
patsfan23 is offline  
post #4 of 66 Old 11-22-2005, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Given your purchase experience with the bare Sharp panel, I think you probably want to do some research in the Scaler forum on AVS prior to purchasing.

I'm not sure which one is best for you. I think iScan scales the 480i/480p stuff but passes through some of the HD stuff. Probably the VP30 processes and scales more signals.

There are other scalers/deinterlacers out there. Basically in your situation, you have a computer monitor with limited input capability. You aren't the first to be in this situation so there are solutions out there but you'll probably find better info in the scaler or htpc forums.
sfhub is offline  
post #5 of 66 Old 11-23-2005, 01:38 PM
 
phipp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Patsfan I would PM mike53 (at least I think thats his screen name) he works for Sharp and I think he would be the best 1 to give you advice. From his replies to other people's problems or inquiries about Sharp products he seems eager to help them. Just a thought



_____________

"when the dogs need fresh water I just flush the toilet'
phipp01 is offline  
post #6 of 66 Old 11-23-2005, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
patsfan...chk your PM's.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #7 of 66 Old 11-23-2005, 05:02 PM
 
phipp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike53 View Post

patsfan...chk your PM's.

See I knew he would come thru
phipp01 is offline  
post #8 of 66 Old 11-23-2005, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
patsfan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phipp, if he can get his hands on one (nothing guaranteed since each one is manufactured per LCD), I owe you big time.........Ill take you out for some beers if you are ever in Boston.
patsfan23 is offline  
post #9 of 66 Old 11-23-2005, 05:53 PM
 
phipp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsfan23 View Post

Phipp, if he can get his hands on one (nothing guaranteed since each one is manufactured per LCD), I owe you big time.........Ill take you out for some beers if you are ever in Boston.

LOL sounds like a plan.......Glad he helped you out. Thats what I like about this forum is the good 1's that help people out with there problems


____________
"when the dogs need fresh water I just flush the toilet"
phipp01 is offline  
post #10 of 66 Old 06-27-2006, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
paceball1134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too am in this same boat would you guys please send me any information that you have on where I can get my hands on the media box for the Sharp LC-37G4U LCD TV. I am in desperate need for this box if you guys could help that would be AWSOME! Thanks!
paceball1134 is offline  
post #11 of 66 Old 08-05-2006, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Sabu2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
im new here
a sharp avc box recently landed on my hands from my dad
I dind't know what it was or ANYTHING about it
so I was searching and this site came up with this topic
now
I know NOTHING of this area (hi def tvs, plasma....)
I live in san diego
and well
if you want to take the box out of my hands without ripping me off for my lack of knowledge, feel free to PM me, as I really have no use what so ever for this box...
thank you
Sabu2k1 is offline  
post #12 of 66 Old 08-05-2006, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I also may have a AVC box for sale
Suzook is offline  
post #13 of 66 Old 08-05-2006, 03:13 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabu2k1 View Post

Hi
im new here
a sharp avc box recently landed on my hands from my dad
I dind't know what it was or ANYTHING about it
so I was searching and this site came up with this topic
now
I know NOTHING of this area (hi def tvs, plasma....)
I live in san diego
and well
if you want to take the box out of my hands without ripping me off for my lack of knowledge, feel free to PM me, as I really have no use what so ever for this box...
thank you

What's the model number of the box?

hmmm, something doesn't feel quite right here . . . .

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #14 of 66 Old 08-05-2006, 03:14 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsfan23 View Post

I've had the Sharp Aquos LC30HV4U for about a month now and was not told the extent of which the TV could operate without the box.

I could be blamed for this for not thoroughly investigating this situation, but I was mislead by the people I got it from, and now they are avoiding me.

Can yo take em to small claims court ?

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #15 of 66 Old 08-05-2006, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
martyj19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

Can yo take em to small claims court ?

A good fraction of the time when there is a panel without a media box, there is a stolen panel. Of course if it is the media box that is surplus, it's fairly likely the panel got broken.
martyj19 is offline  
post #16 of 66 Old 08-06-2006, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Sabu2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes
the serial number is 411341094
and no, I am not a scammer ok?
Sabu2k1 is offline  
post #17 of 66 Old 08-20-2006, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
Sabu2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
please
someone trade/buy it off me
I dont need it...
Sabu2k1 is offline  
post #18 of 66 Old 10-14-2006, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
swezey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sabu do you still have this AVC for sale? I did the same dumb thing as Patsfan - bought a TV from online not knowing what I was doing. Anyone who has one of these for sale please let me know. In the end I'm sure I'll end up paying more than if I had just gone to a reputable online retailer... Oh well... live and learn. Thanks everyone for your help!
swezey is offline  
post #19 of 66 Old 11-16-2006, 06:54 AM
Member
 
sky-chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swezey View Post

Sabu do you still have this AVC for sale? I did the same dumb thing as Patsfan - bought a TV from online not knowing what I was doing. Anyone who has one of these for sale please let me know. In the end I'm sure I'll end up paying more than if I had just gone to a reputable online retailer... Oh well... live and learn. Thanks everyone for your help!

here is one for sale:

http://cgi.*********/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...m=130048286346
sky-chicken is offline  
post #20 of 66 Old 11-20-2006, 10:36 AM
Member
 
sky-chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the pinout for the 3 connector (tone) on the LC-45GX6U ?
I like to connect my computer to the unit and use the internal amp. It looks like a mouse connector but has 5 pins.
Thank you.
sky-chicken is offline  
post #21 of 66 Old 01-10-2007, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
kunj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sabu & Suzook: do you still have this AVC for sale? Please reply or PM me.

I also have a Sharp Aquos lC-30HV4U ('ve been working for 2 yrs) and starting last week, all of the sudden the LCD TV turns on but the AVC turns on and then shuts off...

Has anyone with similar problems find any solutions? Thx
kunj is offline  
post #22 of 66 Old 05-21-2007, 06:54 AM
Member
 
Thug541's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kunj View Post

Sabu & Suzook: do you still have this AVC for sale? Please reply or PM me.

I also have a Sharp Aquos lC-30HV4U ('ve been working for 2 yrs) and starting last week, all of the sudden the LCD TV turns on but the AVC turns on and then shuts off...

Has anyone with similar problems find any solutions? Thx

I have the same exact problem right now. I am searching for the AVC box but can't find one. If anyone has one for sale or knows where I can get one please PLEASE contact me. I almost bought a new tv because I was getting pissed off and have a feeling I will get raped by the repair people.
Thug541 is offline  
post #23 of 66 Old 06-01-2007, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
usi1mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My dad has the same problem his Sharp lc30hv2e AVC box blows the mains fuse plug to the LCD panel. Can you still get these boxes, Do you have to have this box in order to use the panel?
usi1mw is offline  
post #24 of 66 Old 06-04-2007, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Thug541's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by usi1mw View Post

My dad has the same problem his Sharp lc30hv2e AVC box blows the mains fuse plug to the LCD panel. Can you still get these boxes, Do you have to have this box in order to use the panel?

I almost purchased one on ebay, but my box started working right before I paid.

I am in a dispute with the seller now because he is trying to hassle me for the listing fee...which he is def. inflating because his listing was not worth $50....even after I pointed out how easy it is to get a listing fee credit.

So, I can give you his eBay name if you want to buy the box from him, but he's obviously not one of the most understanding people i've met.
Thug541 is offline  
post #25 of 66 Old 06-05-2007, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thug541 View Post

I have the same exact problem right now. I am searching for the AVC box but can't find one. If anyone has one for sale or knows where I can get one please PLEASE contact me. I almost bought a new tv because I was getting pissed off and have a feeling I will get raped by the repair people.

I have the Sharp LC-30HV4U complete with AVC, manuals and the original shipping carton
Purchased 12/20/2004, in working order and no longer used.
Replaced with Sharp 37.
But I will not sell just the AVC

Anyone interested can PM me

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #26 of 66 Old 08-14-2007, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
jake03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really need help! My neighbor is involved in a pretty nasty divorce from her husband and wants to sell me their Sharp Aquos LC 45GX6U. The husband took the AVC box (TU GD10U-T). Can anyone point me in the right direction to find this box or something compatable?
jake03 is offline  
post #27 of 66 Old 10-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
massiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone!
Some help here...
I have an AVC Box...dunno if it works? But I need the AV Cable and the AC adapter to find out. Does anyone have these parts up for grabs?
Thanks if you can help!
massiah is offline  
post #28 of 66 Old 10-04-2007, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
jake03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey! What is the model of the avc box that you have? I am looking for the Sharp TU GD10U-T. Please let me know. thanks. I bought another avc box thinking that I could make it work with the tv......no luck! So, I have this model if anyone's interested. Sharp TUGA1US, with remote and cable.
jake03 is offline  
post #29 of 66 Old 01-09-2008, 04:28 PM
Newbie
 
sadfalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a Sharp AVC Receiver "TUGA1US" or any good replacement fix.
sadfalcon is offline  
post #30 of 66 Old 01-21-2008, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
Arctican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sadfalcon View Post

Anyone have a Sharp AVC Receiver "TUGA1US" or any good replacement fix.

There's a used Sharp TU-GA1U-S on eBay today, which closes in about 6 hrs.
Uncertain condition altho it powers up apparently.
Search by item # 290198358337
Currently <$50 including shipping within lower-48.

Hope this may be helpful for someone.

URL (if doesn't get edited) is

ViewItem&item=290198358337&ssPageName=MERC_VIC_RCRX_Pr4_PcY_BID_IT&refitem=290198888069&itemcount=4&refwidgetloc=closed_view_item&usedrule1=CrossSell_LogicX&refwidgettype=cross_promot_widget
Arctican is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off