Dell W3706MC 37" LCD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iamchemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am interested in the new Dell 37" LCD HDTV, but Consumer Reports has not rated it, it is not in my local Dell store to look at, and I have read nothing from anyone who has tried one. Are there any new owners of this HDTV out there, who would be willing to share their experience so far, and/or is this HDTV rated or reviewed anyplace?

Thanks

Ron
iamchemist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 07:59 AM
Member
 
swordman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yah seriously. no reviews except the stupid cnet prevew that doesn't actually have the panel to test!

dell marketing should all be fired.
swordman is offline  
post #3 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Jazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the same boat. I've been waiting for opinions on the new 32" W3201C but no one has it yet. There's someone here who posted that he should be getting his any day now so.
Jazar is offline  
post #4 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ZZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is one brief review from a user at the dell website support forums for displays and another user briefly reviewed it on the digital home canada forums. Both seem to be very pleased with it. It does not have adjustable backlight though, but that might not be an issue if you can control your room lighting althougth it should have that feature. I'm considering it also.
ZZen is offline  
post #5 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 01:00 PM
Member
 
theMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody should publish a review of reviewers. Consumer Report will be at the bottom.
theMike is offline  
post #6 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 01:51 PM
Member
 
drgingras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theMike View Post

Somebody should publish a review of reviewers. Consumer Report will be at the bottom.

Somebody already did:

Reviewing the Reviews

And they don't agree with you - at least not entirely. I personally don't take much stock in Consumer Report's reviews of electronics. They don't seem to put much time or effort into reviewing the actual audio or video quality. They're great for washers and dryers, but LCD's and such...

Dave
drgingras is offline  
post #7 of 467 Old 11-17-2005, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
kfernandes29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received mine today. It's my first HDTV LCD TV so I'm not really sure what to expect. I've tested out my Rogers Digital Cable with it and it looks great. I don't have an HD STB yet, so I can't test that out yet. I hooked up my XBOX as well as my PC to play Counter-Strike and it was running very smoothly. No ghosting of any kind was visible. The blacks are very black and the whites are very white. Overall, I'm pretty happy with it. Can't wait to test out Call Of Duty 2 on my X360 next week.
kfernandes29 is offline  
post #8 of 467 Old 11-22-2005, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
kfernandes29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my Xbox 360 and hooked it up to my newly received Dell W3201C. The 16MS response rate isn't a factor. This is a great HDTV. It looks amazing. I'd say it looks on par with what the Samsung LCD's at the X360 kiosks look like. I have no regrets buying this TV. I think Dell might be onto something great with their TV's. I highly recommend it.
kfernandes29 is offline  
post #9 of 467 Old 11-23-2005, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
Dane Charboneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamchemist View Post

I am interested in the new Dell 37" LCD HDTV, but Consumer Reports has not rated it, it is not in my local Dell store to look at, and I have read nothing from anyone who has tried one. Are there any new owners of this HDTV out there, who would be willing to share their experience so far, and/or is this HDTV rated or reviewed anyplace?

Thanks

Ron

Hi Ron

It looks like you and I have both have found another common forum. And it looks like we're not alone. Keep in touch and let me know if you take the plunge on the 37 inch Dell.

Best Regards

Dane
Dane Charboneau is offline  
post #10 of 467 Old 11-26-2005, 11:57 AM
Member
 
km23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
. Wanted to hear impressions of what people think of this LCD TV? Looks pretty good. Loce the detachable speakers and the general look of the TV.

Does anyone own this TV?

Impressions would be greatly appreciated!
km23 is offline  
post #11 of 467 Old 11-26-2005, 06:50 PM
Member
 
km23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it that bad of TV? Anyone?
km23 is offline  
post #12 of 467 Old 11-28-2005, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
ZZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is brand new. Hardly anyone has had a chance to receive one yet.
ZZen is offline  
post #13 of 467 Old 11-28-2005, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Ethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys! Just joined this forum now because I just ordered one of these bad boys!! I'll have it within the week apparently.. I'll let you know how it is once I get it..

My primary input at the moment for it will only be my PC and a standard dvd player.

I'm currently using my PC with s-video out to my 32" Hitachi Ultravision tube to watch all my favorite divx shows and stuff. I'm hoping this will be an improvement!! LOL

I'm hoping I can setup the 37" as my secondary monitor and my 19" tube as the primary. My ATI radeon 9000 pro has both a vga and dvi connector and I have the dvi-vga converter and a cable.

Will I have to use powerstrip to get the resolution?

Regards,
Ethos
Ethos is offline  
post #14 of 467 Old 11-28-2005, 09:23 PM
Member
 
Ethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys just recently found this forum and decided to join since I just ordered my very first ever HD LCD tv.. I'm getting the dell 37" and I should have it within the week!!

My primary source for video is my pc and a dvd player.. no satellite yet.. I'd like to setup the 37" as my secondary monitor with my ati radeon 9000 pro which has a rgb and dvi connector and I have the dvi/vga converter and cable. will I need to use powerstrip to set the resolution??

anything else I need to know?

Regards,
Ethos
Ethos is offline  
post #15 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
jdw1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this tv have the de-interlacing capability (2:3) and a cable card slot? I also read that this panel was manufactured in the same plant as one of the current Sharp 37" panels. Is that true, and if so, is it the same?
jdw1981 is offline  
post #16 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 10:38 AM
Member
 
abiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed it has a 16ms response time. Ouch.
abiggs is offline  
post #17 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Between the Dell you mentioned and the Spectre 37"er I'd be inclined to go for the Spectre - Higher res. Also Dell tends to put together any parts that are the cheapest that day, you never quite know what you'll get. It will match the specs but what about quality?
MikeA is offline  
post #18 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
sellis16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw1981 View Post

Does this tv have the de-interlacing capability (2:3) and a cable card slot? I also read that this panel was manufactured in the same plant as one of the current Sharp 37" panels. Is that true, and if so, is it the same?

No to Cablecard...

I don't see de-interlacing on Dell site or Costco site. How bad is this?
sellis16 is offline  
post #19 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
sellis16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KM23 and Ethos -- really hope you'll stop back and give us your impressions.
sellis16 is offline  
post #20 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 05:30 PM
Member
 
km23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My order is still "In Process" will give you my impressions once I get the unit and have had a chance to play around with it.

Will be connecting an HD Set Top box with Cox, an Xbox 360, and later, my gaming PC.

16ms is not too bad... I have the Dell E193FP 19" LCD and it's 16ms. Looks great to me. Depends on the person.
km23 is offline  
post #21 of 467 Old 11-29-2005, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Ethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll be sure to let you know my impressions once I get it.. They said 7 to 12 days..

Any advice for me? Do I need to use powerstrip to get the 1366x768 resolution with my radeon 9000 pro?

Ethos
Ethos is offline  
post #22 of 467 Old 11-30-2005, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
robcrawford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos View Post

I'll be sure to let you know my impressions once I get it.. They said 7 to 12 days..

Any advice for me? Do I need to use powerstrip to get the 1366x768 resolution with my radeon 9000 pro?

Ethos

You shouldn't have any difficulty. I have that card and am running the Dell 2405FPW at 1900x1200 using only the ATI drivers.

Let us know how it turns out.
robcrawford is offline  
post #23 of 467 Old 12-02-2005, 02:06 PM
Member
 
gwarrior99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DELL plasma fared ok on the CR review, the Cnet review liked it slightly less. Since DELL has done lcd monitors, wondering who they use for that and who they used for the tv's, someone else to manufacturer them or themselves. I would love to see a review too, Ihave a feeling it will be good but not fantastic. And if the problems with the plasma extend to the LCD TV, that wouldn't be good either. Hopefully they will be a solid offering.
gwarrior99 is offline  
post #24 of 467 Old 12-02-2005, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sellis16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by km23 View Post

This just came on the Costco site and I snapped it up.

Snapped is right. Gone from Costco as of yesterday.
sellis16 is offline  
post #25 of 467 Old 12-02-2005, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
mahicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aren't all Dells made along side their Sharp cousins?
mahicks is offline  
post #26 of 467 Old 12-05-2005, 01:38 PM
Member
 
km23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the TV today, but I won't be able to mess around with it until Friday night and all day Saturday. Work away M - F.

Will get the HD DVR on Saturday as well. Will give my impressions then.
km23 is offline  
post #27 of 467 Old 12-05-2005, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mikewarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.costco.com/Images/Content...e/975118LL.jpg

Looks real good, but I will have to wait on impressions by a few people before I decide to spend $500 more than the 37" Vizio.

Monitor Type / Display Type: TFT Color LCD HDTV
Native Resolution: 1366 x768 @60Hz
Display Area: 32.27" x 18.14"
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 widescreen
Digital TV Capability: 480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i
Brightness (typical): 500 cd/m2 (typical)
Contrast Ratio: 800:1 (typical)
Response Time: 16 ms (b/w, typical)
TV Tuner: Dual, one analog (NTSC) and one combo digital/analog (NTSC/ATSC)
Display Weight: Without Stand: 48.5 lbs (22kg), With Stand: 57.2 lbs (26kg), With Stand & Speakers: 67.8 lbs (30.8kg)
Audio/Video Input Signal: Composite (3); S-Video (3), HDTV component (2), TV In/Coax (2), HDMI (2), Audio 8 (RCA L+R); 1 mini-stereo for PC
Audio/Video Output Signal: Composite (1); Audio (RCA L+R, 1 pair)
Picture / Picture Features: PIP, POP, PBP, PC Graphics on PC graphics; video on PC Graphics; video on video
Dimension Display only (W X H x D): 35.84" x 21.75" x 4.41"
Dimension Display & Stand (W X H x D): 42.30" x 24.98" x 9.84"
Horizontal Viewing Angle: +/- 85 degrees
Vertical Viewing Angle: +/- 85 degrees
Cables Included: Power Cord, RF Coaxial, Component Video, RCA Audio
Speaker Drivers: Two way detachable speakers with bass reflex designWatts / Channel: 15 Watts per Channel (30 Watts total)

I like the duel HDMI inputs.
Mikewarrior is offline  
post #28 of 467 Old 12-05-2005, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mikewarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/Dell_W3...2.html?tag=nav

Downside: We weren't big fans of the last Dell LCD we tested, the W3000, but Dell claims this model is redesigned and improved. While we can't confirm that until we test it, we do feel the $2,150 price tag is a little steep. For example, the similarly sized Westinghouse LVM-37W1 has 1080p resolution, it performed relatively well in our tests, and it can be found online for significantly less. The W3706MC also lacks a CableCard slot, so you'll need a cable box to receive digital cable. However, given the limitations of first-generation CableCard technology, such as no video-on-demand or electronic programming guide, this might not be that much of a drawback (more info). Also, keep in mind that if you're looking for a flat-panel home-theater display, we tend to favor plasma over LCD.

http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/Dell_W3...7336&tag=uolst

7 out of 10"

Nice overall. Bright Picture. Great Sound. Tons of inputs!"
by jbray4913 - December 2, 2005

Pros:Nice looking. Easy to setup and operate. Great HD Picture. Analog not bad either.

Cons:Remote control needs improvement. Startup time is way too long.

Full user opinion

I purchased this LCD to replace a Dell W4200HD that was a bit too large for our new furniture. Got this LCD home and hooked it up to my Cox HD DVR and went right to Discovery HD Theater. WOW. HD Picture on this unit is crystal clear. I choose to use the HDMI connection from my DVR to the LCD. Picture and sound are great on HD programming and regular 4:3 programming is not bad either. If you decide on this unit, I think it's best to use the HDMI connection to get the best picture and sound.

One thing I dislike about this LCD is the black levels. I was used to the W4200HD and how black the blacks were. I know it's probably not Dell's fault that the blacks are not the same as the Plasma, it's common with LCDs, but it is definatly noticeable.

Not much else to say. Still getting used to it.

Happy shopping. Hope this review helped!
Mikewarrior is offline  
post #29 of 467 Old 12-05-2005, 03:34 PM
Member
 
edplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos View Post

Do I need to use powerstrip to get the 1366x768 resolution with my radeon 9000 pro?

I suggest you read up on geting 1:1 pixel mapping on 1366x768 lcd tvs
edplayer is offline  
post #30 of 467 Old 12-06-2005, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mikewarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that the Response Time: 16 ms (b/w, typical) is shown is their a big difference than grey to grey and black to black for response times?
Mikewarrior is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off