1080P Panel Wars Ep. III: Westinghouse LVM-37w3 37" LCD - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Sabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Westinghouse is using a brand new LCD panel for the LVM-37w3. I consider the quality of the new panel a vast improvement over the LVM-37w1.

Sharp 101,

I'm curious if the panel used in the LVM-37w3 in newer and better than the panel used in the LVM-42w2. With reports of vertical banding from some owners of the 42w2, I'm wondering if we will have the same issue with the 37w3. I'm starting to think vertical banding is an issue with LCDs in general. I'm returning the new LG 32LC2D due to unacceptable banding.


To illustrate my hobby or obssession, since Jan. 28, I've been a 3 week owner of the Sharp 32DA5U, 3 week owner of the Westy 37w1, and now 4 day owner of the LG 32LC2D. Whether it be vertical banding, corner bleeding, red push, non-uniform brightness, chirping, etc, I've eventually returned all of these LCDs. I'm optimistic that the Westy 37w3 will be my permanent LCD. The 37w1 had the best picture quality of all the LCDs I've tried (sharpest, most accurate colors). I returned the unit due to non-uniform brightness and corner bleeding. It appears that the 42w2 doesn't have these problems, so hopefully the 37w3 won't either.

Andrew Sabin
Andrew Sabin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:05 PM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Sharp,
Wondering if your insight into all things Westinghouse would be able to tell us Canadians on this site whether or not we'll be seeing these units for sale in Canada any time soon. I was told by Westinghouse customer service a few weeks back that they are in negotiation with BB Canada and Future Shop, but so far, nothing...

We igloo dwellers ( ) are kinda jonesing for 1080p sets, and these Westys would sell like hotcakes up here.

Thanks
stucandu is offline  
post #183 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geogecko View Post

Remote looks at least decent, compared to the old ones...still doesn't appear to have individual input selection though...


Buttons 20 to 25 are individual inputs. The w1 had those also.

Much nicer looking remote, the backlight button is a great idea, but the mute button is in an awkward spot.
Oh well, can't have everything.
stucandu is offline  
post #184 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, in the online manual it appears that all the input connectors are on one side of the rear spine. This is a departure from the w1, where they were divided among the 2 sides. I think I preferred that method, since it's going to be awfully crowded with cables on that one side.

Also, I'm really hoping the connectors are on the left side (facing the back). I can hide my cables a lot better on that side. I have a feeling they're not, though.
stucandu is offline  
post #185 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:49 PM
Member
 
tedhbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No they are split between two sides. There is a quick connect PDF on the website that shows they are on both sides. They just edited the two sides together in the user's manual.

Assuming that there isn't a huge outcry of problems in this thread, then I will be buying this tv in a few weeks. It Looks like westinghouse has responded to some of the complaints people here have made.
tedhbrown is offline  
post #186 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Toebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The W3 has 60 watts less power consumption than the W1.

W1 - 270 watts
W3 - 210 watts
Toebee is offline  
post #187 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toebee View Post

The W3 has 60 watts less power consumption than the W1.

W1 - 270 watts
W3 - 210 watts

Yep. However, the reduction in power was kind of expected, since the bigger LVM-42w2 uses 270 Watts too. Not sure why the original 37w1 uses so much power.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #188 of 9252 Old 03-28-2006, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
geogecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stucandu View Post

Buttons 20 to 25 are individual inputs. The w1 had those also.

Much nicer looking remote, the backlight button is a great idea, but the mute button is in an awkward spot.
Oh well, can't have everything.

Except DVI and YPbPr. The same button controls both DVI inputs (or both YPbPr), which is fine, as long as you don't use more than one, when trying to use a Harmony remote control...
geogecko is offline  
post #189 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I notice there are two blank buttons on either side of the input buttons. I wonder if those might be assignable. Nothing in the manual to suggest this, but one can hope.
stucandu is offline  
post #190 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
geogecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stucandu View Post

I notice there are two blank buttons on either side of the input buttons. I wonder if those might be assignable. Nothing in the manual to suggest this, but one can hope.

Almost looks like an attempt to make DVI 1 and 2, and YPbPr 1 and 2 individual input codes...will not be on this revision though, as I've already confirmed that from Westinghouse, but, it's interesting that each extra button is above DVI or YPbPr...
geogecko is offline  
post #191 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
alucard_x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mmm.. hope some good reviews come out about this panel.. could be getting it in a month or two!
alucard_x is offline  
post #192 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 10:44 AM
Member
 
mike10778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
1. Anyone know what company is making the actual panel of this device? I know often these so-called "off-brands" use panels from companies that make future service near impossible..... and....

2. Any Westinghouse owners have any service done on their units? Im worried about some brands like this, olevia, akai, etc. (just other examples) that service companies are already having a hard time finding parts for.....let alone if something happens in a year or 2. An example....a friend of mine owns a good sized electronics repair store near here.....lately, he has seen a few Gateway plasmas come in for repair, only to find any support/parts for them non-existent......or extremely hard to find, thus increasing the cost dramatically.
mike10778 is offline  
post #193 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 10:58 AM
Member
 
MarkyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is it wrong that the thought of getting this TV makes my pants tight?
MarkyD is offline  
post #194 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkyD View Post

is it wrong that the thought of getting this TV makes my pants tight?

In so many ways...
bcoombs is offline  
post #195 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 11:09 AM
Member
 
MarkyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcoombs View Post

In so many ways...


Good
MarkyD is offline  
post #196 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 12:55 PM
Member
 
sharp101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys most best buy warehouses now have the LVM-37w3 in stock.
sharp101 is offline  
post #197 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
geogecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp101 View Post

Ok guys most best buy warehouses now have the LVM-37w3 in stock.

Thanks.

Interesting thing was, that the computer said that that particular store wasn't going to carry it.

If they have them in the warehouses, why are no stores going to carry them? Or is it only a select few that will be?

I have been told that I need to wait for it to go on sale...
geogecko is offline  
post #198 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 02:26 PM
Member
 
EL_RIEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is getting good.

42in vs 37in. Thats 5 inches!! Is not a great difference for you guys?
do you still prefer the 37incher because of the new remote and OSD ?

I mean , if both sets had same PQ and no VB problems..
Is it worth the $600 USD the extra size?

I would like to read you opinions..

In resume 42 incher is 29.4% larger than a 37" and also is a 31.5% more expensive..
Damnit, i see the reason now. 31.5% > 29.4%

Best Regards.

42" incher = [29.4% larger than 37" incher]
* Your viewing area is 36.6 in(w) x 20.6 in(h)
* Total viewing area is 753.96 sq in.
* This utilizes the full display of the 16:9 TV

37" incher
* Your viewing area is 32.2 in(w) x 18.1 in(h)
* Total viewing area is 582.82 sq in.
* This utilizes the full display of the 16:9 TV

http://www.cavecreations.com/tv2.cgi
EL_RIEL is offline  
post #199 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Cruelkix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geogecko View Post

Thanks.

Interesting thing was, that the computer said that that particular store wasn't going to carry it.

If they have them in the warehouses, why are no stores going to carry them? Or is it only a select few that will be?

I have been told that I need to wait for it to go on sale...

Yeah for some reason you ahve to buy it at a BB and then go pick it up at the warehouse. I dont understand why they dont just carry it in the store. I'm going to pick mine up tonight as soon as the girlfrind gets home with the bigger car. I can't wait!!
Cruelkix is offline  
post #200 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
geogecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...can't wait for what, the TV or the bigger car?! Oh, nevermind, I see what you are talking about now, bigger car, to bring the TV home in, not a new car...

PLEASE for goodness sakes, break that thing out of the box, and get it up and going ASAP, and let us know your impressions. Have you had/seen the older 37 or the 42 to have anything to compare to?

What will you be hooking up to it?
geogecko is offline  
post #201 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mikeoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EL_RIEL View Post

this is getting good.

42in vs 37in. Thats 5 inches!! Is not a great difference for you guys?
do you still prefer the 37incher because of the new remote and OSD ?

I mean , if both sets had same PQ and no VB problems..
Is it worth the $600 USD the extra size?

I would like to read you opinions..

In resume 42 incher is 29.4% larger than a 37" and also is a 31.5% more expensive..
Damnit, i see the reason now. 31.5% > 29.4%

My opinion is that it all depends on what room/how big of a tv you're looking to get. Since the prices seem to be dropping steadily, a 42" in a bedroom isn't out of the question, depending on your preferences. I personally think the extra price for 5"s is worth it, but there are other big things to consider besides the size..

Maybe this is just me, but I would expect the PQ of the 37" to be better than the 42". All the larger sized panels seems to have a worse CR compared to their smaller cousins. I'm not sure exactly why this is, but I would guess this is the case simply for the reasons that the smaller panels have been around longer, and they have had more time to tweak them and make them better. 42"+ lcd's are still relatvively new, so it might take another generation for the 42" to be as good PQ wise as the 37".

Weighing in the difference between a larger size vs. slightly better pq would be a tough choice. Stores make it so hard to make a good comparison in black levels because they're so dang bright. Good luck!
Mikeoz is offline  
post #202 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 06:41 PM
Member
 
cosgrovea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was wondering about the service port. Yestday I noticed it, and someone else mentioned the 40" Lcd/dvd combo had a usb service port also. Today I went back, since I did not think it looked like a usb port on the user manual. Well to me it still does not look like a usb port. So I looked at the quick connect guide, and that definetly looks like a usb port. Not a big deal, just curious if I am seeing things since the resolutions are not that great.
cosgrovea is offline  
post #203 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Cruelkix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geogecko View Post

Hmm...can't wait for what, the TV or the bigger car?! Oh, nevermind, I see what you are talking about now, bigger car, to bring the TV home in, not a new car...

PLEASE for goodness sakes, break that thing out of the box, and get it up and going ASAP, and let us know your impressions. Have you had/seen the older 37 or the 42 to have anything to compare to?

What will you be hooking up to it?

Stupid warehouse closes at 7p.m. ... Bought it. But I have to pick it up tomorrow. I will be hooking it up to a computer and will also try out my HD Cable from Comcast. I saw the 37w1 so ill let you know the difference, however I have never seen the 42". I'll be using a dvi and i'll try vga as well just for kicks. I'll try to write a semi comprehensive review for it in the near future. Wish me luck on a perfectly functional panel!
Cruelkix is offline  
post #204 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI

There is a gray test pattern you can use over in the 42w2 thread - helps to check for vertical banding/uneven backlight.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #205 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over the past few months I had pretty much decided on the Westinghouse LVM-37w1. I have to admit, I was somewhat turned off by the fact that it was not very aesthetically pleasing. The new W3 looks beautiful and has HDMI which I am very happy about.

I only see the W2 version on the Best Buy website. Does Best Buy have the W3 LCD in stores but just not on their website yet?
ZippoMan is offline  
post #206 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 07:49 PM
Member
 
EL_RIEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am sold,

I now pray for the HDMI input of the 37w3 will support the Ps3 1080p output.( i mean HDMI version compatibility)

Here are some nice hi-resolution pictures of the 37w3..
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=1512


hehe i just cleaned some space in my desktop for this new Monitor..
EL_RIEL is offline  
post #207 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link to those pics. Very nice.

You'd think Westinghouse would provide higher rez pics like this on their website.

So, who's going to be the first reviewer?
stucandu is offline  
post #208 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My bet is Cruelkix will be the first one to report back with initial impressions.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #209 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
stucandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, He really lived up to his name tonight, poor bugger.
stucandu is offline  
post #210 of 9252 Old 03-29-2006, 10:07 PM
Member
 
EL_RIEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
heheh good luck to the first buyers/reviewers.
I will wait for it to be available at amazon.

BTW. I just made a DUMMY of this monitor, lol. made with paper/carton. So i now have an idea of how nice this big 37" monitor will look on my desktop.
EL_RIEL is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off