LG 32LC2D with 1600:1 contrast ratio now Available - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 78 Old 08-15-2006, 07:14 AM
Member
 
alexaaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: York, SC
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used my HTPC to watch a DVD over the VGA input and with the input limited to 1280 x 720, it leaves some pretty large black bars on all sides. Using the stretch mode to at least get the picture all the way to the sides of the panel doesn't do a whole lot for the PQ.
I don't think the LG makes a good HTPC display at all.

The Samsung LN-S3241D is available at BB for a couple Cs more. Not my 1st choice because it has speakers on the side making it wider but it says in the manual on page 37 under
Using Your TV as a Computer (PC) Display -

4. Navigate to the Settings tab on the display dialog-box.
The correct size setting (resolution)
Optimum: 1360 x 768 pixels
If a vertical-frequency option exists on your display settings dialog box,
the correct value is 60 or 60 Hz. Otherwise, just click OK and exit the dialog box.

But it also says on page 12 -
The HDMI/DVI jacks do not support PC connection.

But the VGA connection looked wonderful on the Westinghouse 32" I had so that's not a concern for me.
So I think this one will be my 3rd try at getting what I want in a 32" display.
alexaaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 78 Old 08-15-2006, 08:49 AM
Member
 
superm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I went into BB with a port replicator that I borrowed for my thinkpad. Using a DVI-HDMI cable, I get a picture on both the LG & the Samsung @ 1280x720. This was a few days ago, but I don't remember seeing black bars on either TV.

The EDID data must not have spit out anything in relation to the 1360x768, but I didn't run X in verbose mode. In verbose mode, I would have seen what the reason the driver didn't let me use 1360x768. Typically its because the TV's EDID will say that to use that res it wants a vertical refresh of 120 instead of 60 or something to that nature.

I'll have to pull the manuals for both of these. That mention of the page for "Using a Computer" - was that for the Samsung then or the LG?
superm1 is offline  
post #63 of 78 Old 08-15-2006, 09:03 AM
Member
 
alexaaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: York, SC
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual reference was for the Samsung LN-S3241D. It was on Samsung's website.
alexaaa is offline  
post #64 of 78 Old 08-15-2006, 10:14 AM
Member
 
superm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the manuals for both the TVs. Given this info, I might *have* to choose the Samsung. They provide a all the necessary information to output 1360x768 (Horiz Freq, Ver Freq, Pixel Clock, Sync polarity).

LG's manual does say that the best picture quality is obtained by 1024x768, and doesn't list any informaiton for any modes above this. I do know for a fact that I got 1280x720 when using my laptop though in the store, so I just wonder if 1360x768 will be doable.
I'll shoot customer service an email to hopefully find out.
superm1 is offline  
post #65 of 78 Old 08-16-2006, 10:12 AM
Member
 
alexaaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: York, SC
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the tv. It will not do 1360x768 over the PC connection.

I was wrong when I sad I watched a movie at 1280x720 earlier.
I checked again and the best it will do is 1024x768. It gives an error message above that.
1024x768 leaves large black bars on all sides unless you stretch the picture.
alexaaa is offline  
post #66 of 78 Old 08-16-2006, 10:34 AM
Member
 
superm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll go back in to the store tonite and see if I can figure out this mess. I'll see what was really happening if it comes down to me counting all 1280 pixels. (well not really), but i'll make sure that i really saw 1280x720.
superm1 is offline  
post #67 of 78 Old 08-16-2006, 07:20 PM
Member
 
superm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. So here's the results. The TV will accept 1280x720, but it rescales it to 1024x768, and then upscaled that to the native res. This TV is not ideal for a computer.

I ended up with the Samsung LNS3251D instead, which natively takes 1360x768 directly from EDID. No crazy modelines or anything required. It won't take it over HDMI, but you know what, I don't care at this point. The picture looks great
superm1 is offline  
post #68 of 78 Old 08-16-2006, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTV-NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone figured out how to turn the backlight down in these TV's? Im surprised they dont have this opption in the basic user menu. There has to be a way to do so in the service menu. Any help would be great. thanks

PSN: JAY-NUCLEAR
HDTV-NUT is offline  
post #69 of 78 Old 08-16-2006, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
....This business of manufacturers' advertised contrast ratio is all over the place and until someone tests LCD panels after having them optimized for the best contrast ratio and as close as possible to 6.500 degrees Kelvin, i don't believe a word of their stated specs.
And that's one of the main reasons i subscribe to Home Theater magazine, where almost every month they test LCD units spec'ed as above, as well as measured gray scale, accuracy of color points, full-on/full-off contrast ratio, ANSI contrast ratio, etc, etc, etc....
As an example, here are some of their most recent findings :
Product -----full-onf/full-off contrast ratio--ANSI contrast ratio ---black level
Sony Bravia KDL-40S2000 -1.200:1--------------1.078:1 --------------0.066 ft-L
Sharp AQUOS LC-57D90U --1.300:1-------------1.065:1 -------------0.045 ft-L
Westinghouse LVM-42W2 --894:1 ---------------712:1 ---------------0.064 ft-L
Toshiba 32HLX95 -------------644:1 ---------------535:1 --------------0.160 ft-L
Samsung LN-S 3251D -------1.286:1 -------------1.098:1 ------------0.032 ft-L
Hitachi 32HLX61 --------------666:1 ---------------517:1 -------------0.036 ft-L
Sharp AQUOS LC-37D40U --1.269:1 -------------768:1 ---------------0.014 ft-L
LG 42LP1D --------------------966:1 ---------------473:1 --------------0.147 ft-L
JVC LT-32X776 ---------------579:1 ---------------493:1 --------------0.122 ft-L
Philips 32PF996 --------------536:1 ---------------505:1 --------------0.185 ft-L
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Toshiba, LG, JVC and Philips are, i believe, last year's models, and we can see a definite improvement compared to this year's models insofar as contrast ratio and black level are concerned....
MCaugusto is offline  
post #70 of 78 Old 08-17-2006, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
rustydomino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oproot View Post

Through trial and error, I have learned that it is possible to configure this LCD at 1:1 Pixel Mapping @ 1280x720 via the HDMI input. This configuration requires access to the TV's service menu. The only modification required within this menu is to configure the input and output resolution to 1280x720. Additionally, the service menu allows vertical and horizontal positioning and stretching while using a HDMI input source.

The only reason that this display is unable to achieve 1:1 Pixel Mapping at the native resolution [1366x768] is because the HDMI input only supports 480p, 720p, and 1080i.

[ oproot ]

I have a stupid question about the service menu of the LG 37LC2D. A post in this thread says that to save changes to the settings in the service menu press [POWER] on the remote. When I do that the TV just turns off. When I turn the TV back on it reverts back to default settings. Am I missing something here?

thanks,
Mike
rustydomino is offline  
post #71 of 78 Old 08-18-2006, 12:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

As an example, here are some of their most recent findings :
Product -----full-onf/full-off contrast ratio--ANSI contrast ratio ---black level
Sony Bravia KDL-40S2000 -1.200:1--------------1.078:1 --------------0.066 ft-L
Sharp AQUOS LC-57D90U --1.300:1-------------1.065:1 -------------0.045 ft-L
Westinghouse LVM-42W2 --894:1 ---------------712:1 ---------------0.064 ft-L
Toshiba 32HLX95 -------------644:1 ---------------535:1 --------------0.160 ft-L
Samsung LN-S 3251D -------1.286:1 -------------1.098:1 ------------0.032 ft-L
Hitachi 32HLX61 --------------666:1 ---------------517:1 -------------0.036 ft-L
Sharp AQUOS LC-37D40U --1.269:1 -------------768:1 ---------------0.014 ft-L
LG 42LP1D --------------------966:1 ---------------473:1 --------------0.147 ft-L
JVC LT-32X776 ---------------579:1 ---------------493:1 --------------0.122 ft-L
Philips 32PF996 --------------536:1 ---------------505:1 --------------0.185 ft-L
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stupid question, but how are the black levels rated?
The higher the number the better or the opposite?
wtfer is offline  
post #72 of 78 Old 08-18-2006, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The opposite : the lower the black level, the blacker, the better (well, if you like your display's picture to be capable of reaching down to real black !)....If memory doesn't fail me, a CRT is theoretically rated to go down to a black level of 0 (zero), since the tube shuts itself off whenever the image being displayed calls for black, or the absence of color.
As tested by the same magazine and using the same methodology, some PF such as the Sony Ruby and the Yamaha 1300 exhibited black level figures as low as 0.01 to 0.02 ft-L.
The above figure of 0.014 ft-L for the Sharp AQUOUS LC-37D40U is, i believe, the lowest tested number ever achieved for any flat panel display, be they LCD or plasma.
I guess it goes to show that currently sold LCD displays (with optimized black level performances) from top-tier companies like Sharp, Sony, Samsumg, LG/Philips, Hitachi, etc are nowadays capable of reaching down to "deep black" levels that were previously the exclusive domain of plasma displays, considering that most plasmas' tested measurements turned out being clustered between 0.022 to 0.060 ft-L or so.....
Regards >>>> Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #73 of 78 Old 08-19-2006, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTV-NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please keep all discussion about this TV in 1 thread instead of 3-4 different threads. The following seems to be the biggest thread so lets try and keep it all there. It will help us all.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4&page=3&pp=30

PSN: JAY-NUCLEAR
HDTV-NUT is offline  
post #74 of 78 Old 04-04-2007, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
scub0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lg32 View Post

No, seems with VGA Input, it only supports up to 1024X768. Anything higher than this, you will get "Invalid Format".

Is that documented somewhere? This unit was recommended to me by a vendor for an app that I need to run the display off a PC at 1360 x 768.

do you know if the LG 42LB4D has the same limitation?
scub0y is offline  
post #75 of 78 Old 04-18-2007, 03:51 PM
Member
 
USMCGrunt0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinios
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im confused...why is the 32LC2D advertised as being able to run at 1360x768 when it cant? Im unable to figure out how to even get it running at 1280x720 without having a lot of the image cut-off on all the edges. If someone could at least give me some info on how to adjust the set so that I can run it at 1280x720 that would be awesome. BTW, im using an Nvidia GeForce 6800 and the software reports the native resolution being only 1024x768 even though im using a DVI-HDMI cable...wtf is goin on? Help for a newb would be AWWESOME....yo.

Be careful of the people around...they might know how to use their pinky in the worst of ways...
USMCGrunt0307 is offline  
post #76 of 78 Old 08-07-2007, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
wolfofsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this was addressed, I looked but didn't find it. What about component video from an HTPC? I have found no information on the 32LC2D's ability to accept a PC input via component. I too own a 32LC2D and am about to build an HTPC and want to know it's possible before I choose a video card. My logic is being component is analog, it should display no differently than my STB. Any input would be appreciated
wolfofsin is offline  
post #77 of 78 Old 08-07-2007, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
DBLASS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The funny thing is that there is probably an LG LCD inside most of the "off" brands listed here.
DBLASS is offline  
post #78 of 78 Old 08-22-2007, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
wolfofsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found using component video from my HTPC works fine. I use an Asus branded 2400Pro.
wolfofsin is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off