Westinghouse 47" 1080p LCD (LVM-47w1) - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
howardstern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought that with 1080p resolution that there wouldn't be any screen door effect?

This is my sig...
howardstern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
if you get close enough you can see the pixel structure. but who in the real world would get less than two feet from this set?

i suppose if you're using it as a dedicated pc monitor but even then...
bosng is offline  
post #363 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bitemymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: City of Urbana, MD
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by howardstern View Post

I thought that with 1080p resolution that there wouldn't be any screen door effect?

LOL... 1080p on 100" screen at 2 feet away will show screen door effect if you can see the pixels. If you're too close to the screen, you'll see screen effect no matter how fine the pixel size is. However, normal people will not buy a 100" screen if their normal viewing distance is only two feet away.
bitemymac is offline  
post #364 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOLAGPLZ View Post

Would anyone who gets their computer setup find out for me if this monitor has this monitor lag issue.

I dusted off my old CRT, and hooked it up via VGA, mirroring the Westy screen, shot a couple 60fps movies with both screens in the picture, and examined them frame-by-frame in a video editor. What I saw was a 1-2 frame lag. Your mileage may well vary.
thoth is offline  
post #365 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 03:12 PM
Member
 
aknbad23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the westy 47 and 42 with SD channels?
aknbad23 is offline  
post #366 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 04:22 PM
Member
 
ASP111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASP111 View Post

It would be super-cool if you took some photos from the viewing position.

Anyone? I'd love to see what this monitor looks like from an actual seating position; ya know, considering that's where you watch it from.
ASP111 is offline  
post #367 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASP111 View Post

I'd love to see what this monitor looks like from an actual seating position

The phrase seems open to wide interpretation, so not at all clear what you're really looking for. The last picture in the set-of-5 I posted was from a plausible seating position (~6.5' back as I recall).
thoth is offline  
post #368 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 05:17 PM
DNW
Member
 
DNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Westchester Cty, NY
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am very close to buying this set. It will replace a Soyo 32" set for which I paid $895 in December. The 32 is a tad small for my room, but a 47 would be perfect. I would get a plasma, but the set will face a large windows that takes up an entire wall. Consequently, glare is a major consideration, and LCD sets seem to show much less reflectivity than plasma's.

Evidently, some folks have already taken delivery on the 47. If I am correct, what are your general impressions on this set? Do you like it, hate it, etc.? Any specific complaints?

Lastly, one specific question. I would like the set to fit on my current TV stand (which I am now using with the 32 Soyo). Can anyone tell me how wide the base is? If the base will fit on my stand, it won't matter of the sides of the set extend beyond the stand. Thanks!
DNW is offline  
post #369 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNW View Post

what are your general impressions on this set?

Read all the recent posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNW View Post

Can anyone tell me how wide the base is?

25 7/16" wide

Edit: oh, but there's overhang on top, in case it matters, the lower part of the base is only 25" wide.
thoth is offline  
post #370 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosng View Post

but who in the real world would get less than two feet from this set?

Gaming at 3' is great, though.
thoth is offline  
post #371 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 07:03 PM
Member
 
ASP111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post

The phrase seems open to wide interpretation, so not at all clear what you're really looking for. The last picture in the set-of-5 I posted was from a plausible seating position (~6.5' back as I recall).

ahh, i missed that one. Even on my 1920x1200 monitor it looked like a close up. LOL

Thanks!
ASP111 is offline  
post #372 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 07:32 PM
Member
 
riverhawk79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so nobody is concerned with the lower brightness rating then the previous models?
riverhawk79 is offline  
post #373 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverhawk79 View Post

so nobody is concerned with the lower brightness rating then the previous models?

It's not a problem for me. Your mileage may well vary.
thoth is offline  
post #374 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
x84HurstOlds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitemymac View Post

I've already spent $2500 on the friggin new fridge for wifey today to justify my new TV purchase.

Holy crap, dude! I feel better about my $2100 washing machine now. Does that fridge come stocked with T-bones and caviar?

Ah well, you're getting the better end of that deal. You know, when you're watching the big game in all its 47" HD goodness, your wife will be watching...a refrigerator. (and it'll be keeping your beer cold!)

Ed
x84HurstOlds is offline  
post #375 of 4028 Old 07-08-2006, 11:52 PM
Member
 
contaygious's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm dying here in Vancouver does anyone think it's a good idea to order the tv from crutchfield and have my parents in sf send it to me up here?????????

No one delivers to canada...I'm afraid if my parents send it it will break though as I've heard horrible UPS stories. Also it would cost a lot obviously but i have no idea how much.

man i had it made in the USA cuz in canada the 42 is a lot more than the 47 is in the USA.

plus taxes here are like 30 percent it's craaaazy!!! ok maybe it's not 30 percent but they have two sepeerate taxes and i bought something that was 250 and it ended up being 300 with tax so that sounds like about 20 percent to me

gas was 90 dollars yesterday
contaygious is offline  
post #376 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 10:12 AM
Member
 
dad123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N.J.
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi every1
I am a nebie and about to pull trigger for Westie and want some input to some basic questions

My set-up is as follows:
1. Cable: comcast SA 3250 HD box
2. DVD Player: Panasonic RP-82
3. Puter: Gatway 901X equipped with ATI 9800 PRO VGA and DVI-I. Note unfortuantely puter is a Gateway and cannot upgrade ATI drivers. Its highest resolution is 1280X720

Questions:
1. Stretch mode: how is the westies stretch mode for the following
a. Cable: I watch alot of SD and Digital 4:3 programing. I would prefer not to use cable box for stretch
b. DVD: I have alot of DVD's that arre 4:3. Again how is the Westie stretch mode.
2. Puter: I use my puter for mostly surfing internet, viewing family photo's, light gaming, light video.
a. Can i use my puters DVI-I output to Westie? If so are DVI-I cables captable with DVI-D input?
b. Will Westie stetch 1024X768 using VGA
C. How will 1280X720 look?I know Westi is 1080P I will upgrade puter or video card in future.
d. VGA versus DVI or HDMI any significant difference based on my applications?
3. DVD Player: the Panny RP-82 was a highly regarded DVD player. Would I be better off buying an upconverting DVD player or stay with Panny and aloow Westie to upcopnvert?
a. Any recommendations for upconverting DVD player that is good match for Westie? .. I was thinking of getting Toshiba HD-DVD


Thanks in advance for your response
dad123 is offline  
post #377 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:03 AM
Member
 
contaygious's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please tell me if this thing is packaged well enough to send from SF to vacouver b.c.. via ups??? it's like 70 pounds...i thought lcds were supposed to be light
contaygious is offline  
post #378 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Paul33993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if you can actually lower the brightness of the lights inside? I've read that the set is rated at 280 watts and am wondering if that number goes down when the set is properly calibrated, or if the light output is fixed no matter the settings? Thanks.

And a bonus cookie if anyone owns this set and a "Kill A Watt" device.
Paul33993 is offline  
post #379 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shinraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dad123, considering this is a computer with a 9800 vid card,

use the latest from ati https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...ge&folderID=27

it should update. and radeon 9800 does support 1920x1080.

the current limitation you see is due to the curent monitor you are using.

As far as Quality, I would go with a dvi output from your video card, if it does not have it, vga will do for now. but if you want, you may update your card/ computer later on.

when you can, ofcourse and upconverting dvd player via HDMI or component would give WAY better image quality then a standard dvd player.

good dvd players, Panasonic DVD-S97S ,
OPPO OPDV971H two top notch in terms of quality.

enjoy


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Shinraven is offline  
post #380 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
TYBZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by contaygious View Post

I'm dying here in Vancouver does anyone think it's a good idea to order the tv from crutchfield and have my parents in sf send it to me up here?????????

No one delivers to canada...I'm afraid if my parents send it it will break though as I've heard horrible UPS stories. Also it would cost a lot obviously but i have no idea how much.

man i had it made in the USA cuz in canada the 42 is a lot more than the 47 is in the USA.

plus taxes here are like 30 percent it's craaaazy!!! ok maybe it's not 30 percent but they have two sepeerate taxes and i bought something that was 250 and it ended up being 300 with tax so that sounds like about 20 percent to me

gas was 90 dollars yesterday

Yep, that's Canada!

Personally, I live in Montreal, and I've been shopping for the 42 and decided to wait for the 47. Now it has arrive here 12 months later and it is overpriced, hehe. But I've figured out a solution:

You can order it from Bestbuy.com (by phone order), and ask them to send it to the nearest US BestBuy store (free shipping), from Vancouver you should have one not too far away, and then you can go there and pick it up yourself and bring it back home, beware though, the box is huge! (even more so with the 47 I guess)

At the customs, be prepared to pay though:

GST - 6%
PST - 7.5% (in Quebec, in BC I believe it's 7%)
CUSTOMS - 5% (I think this can be avoided if it passes up as a monitor)

And all that on TOP of state sales tax, I've calculate everything with the NY sales tax (7%), and after adding up all those fees, I was still getting the 42 $1000 CAD cheaper than buying it local.

So it can only get better with the 47, we just have to wait for BB US to carry it. Hope this helps
TYBZ is offline  
post #381 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,114
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 768 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad123 View Post

3. Puter: Gatway 901X equipped with ATI 9800 PRO VGA and DVI-I. Note unfortuantely puter is a Gateway and cannot upgrade ATI drivers. Its highest resolution is 1280X720

I would be very surprised if the maximmum resolution is indeed 1280x720. You may be seeing this now because your display has this limitation and Windows sees that, and doesn't let you go above. I would call gateway or ATI (who makes the graphics card) to be sure (or do a quick search on the internet). But I would think that it can go to 1920x1080.

If you can not increase the resolution, then I would NOT buy this LCD. The main point of buying this set is to drive it 1080p resolution. Otherwise, you would be scaling the input signal and that would not be good.

Amir
Founder,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is online now  
post #382 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Stretch mode works, but I haven't watched a lot of SD, and I personally wouldn't watch it stretched anyway, so haven't done any analysis.

I hadn't tested VGA before, but spent a little time with it today.

Stretch mode does work for 1024x768 VGA.

1280x720 only sorta works for me, it's fuzzy and the screen is shifted right and the VGA controls on the Westy are disabled at this setting, which suggests that it's a funky resolution (it isn't listed as one of the supported settings in the Westy manual, but it does seem to be transmitted in the EDID). 1280x768 is fine.

When I first set up 1920x1080 over VGA, the image was shifted way right. After futzing around, I figured out that doing an "auto" configuration via the Westy menu fixed things up.

DVI-I supports both digital and analog signals; the Westy is only DVI-D. Using a regular DVI(-D) cable should work fine. I'd pick DVI over VGA.

I have no experience with the RP-82. When I had the LVM-37w1, I did testing (using the HQV test disk) with my Panasonic DVD-S97, and got better results with the Panny upconverting to 1080i than feeding 480p into the Westy, but I never tried 480i over component to the Westy. I haven't gotten around to doing similar tests with the 47w1.
thoth is offline  
post #383 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
1920x1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Phoenix EDID Designer might be able to help you determine what the display is actually sending over in the EDID.

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is." - Yogi Berra
1920x1080 is offline  
post #384 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by contaygious View Post

Can someone please tell me if this thing is packaged well enough to send from SF to vacouver b.c.. via ups???

What's special about the destination, the route, or the carrier? The box is 1/4" cardboard, the inside packing looks like this: bottom and top .
thoth is offline  
post #385 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 12:14 PM
Member
 
frlias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYBZ View Post

Yep, that's Canada!

Personally, I live in Montreal, and I've been shopping for the 42 and decided to wait for the 47. Now it has arrive here 12 months later and it is overpriced, hehe. But I've figured out a solution:

You can order it from Bestbuy.com (by phone order), and ask them to send it to the nearest US BestBuy store (free shipping), from Vancouver you should have one not too far away, and then you can go there and pick it up yourself and bring it back home, beware though, the box is huge! (even more so with the 47 I guess)

At the customs, be prepared to pay though:

GST - 6%
PST - 7.5% (in Quebec, in BC I believe it's 7%)
CUSTOMS - 5% (I think this can be avoided if it passes up as a monitor)

And all that on TOP of state sales tax, I've calculate everything with the NY sales tax (7%), and after adding up all those fees, I was still getting the 42 $1000 CAD cheaper than buying it local.

So it can only get better with the 47, we just have to wait for BB US to carry it. Hope this helps

The dimensions of the box are 51' Wide X 38" High X 13" Deep. These numbers are all rounded up about a half inch.
Also, remember that Westinghouse lists the LVM-47W1 on their site (https://www.westinghousedigital.com/...p-monitor.aspx ) as a Monitor (because it has no tuner?) rather than as a TV. Just make sure to print out that webpage and the front page of the instruction manual and add it too the pile of receipt you will have. Perhaps that would help with Customs.
frlias is offline  
post #386 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
TYBZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thoth, could you commend a little bit more on how the 1280x720 works, since most console games will be in 720p (thinking about XBOX and PS3), so it will be very important to have it work perfectly...

When fedding a 720p signal, does it fills up the whole screen? How about overscan? What kind of scalling quality do you get? Thanks!
TYBZ is offline  
post #387 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I ran some quick tests with the HQV benchmark disk, comparing 480p and 1080i out of my Panasonic DVD-S97 over DVI to the Westy. The results seem consistent with what I saw with the 37w1. The main difference is the Color Bar test, where 1080i out reproduces fine horizontal lines better than 480p out. A minor difference is that 3:2 cadence lock seems to occur marginally faster with 1080i out than with 480p out.

An Oppo 970HD is in transit to me, when it gets here I'll be able to test if 480i in works over HDMI and how well the Westy deinterlaces it.
thoth is offline  
post #388 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYBZ View Post

thoth, could you commend a little bit more on how the 1280x720 works, since most console games will be in 720p (thinking about XBOX and PS3), so it will be very important to have it work perfectly...

When fedding a 720p signal, does it fills up the whole screen? How about overscan?

I'm hoping the norm on the PS3 will be 1080p out, not 720p.

At any rate, good that you asked, because I hadn't tried 1280x720 on my PC. Although a 720p signal in from a DVR or DVD player automatically gets scaled up to fill the screen, the 1280x720 setting on my PC does not, it's an unscaled image centered on the screen. Using FILL mode on the display makes it somewhat larger, but still nowhere near filling the screen. The ATI control panel has an option to scale the image, but that would be the video card doing it, not the display.

I don't have an Xbox 360, so I don't know how it's output will appear. I think frlias said he had one?

Edit: this is for DVI; see a later post for VGA.

Edit: see this post for correction.
thoth is offline  
post #389 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jimmyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St.Paul, MN
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad123 View Post

3. DVD Player: the Panny RP-82 was a highly regarded DVD player. Would I be better off buying an upconverting DVD player or stay with Panny and aloow Westie to upcopnvert?
a. Any recommendations for upconverting DVD player that is good match for Westie? .. I was thinking of getting Toshiba HD-DVD

I assume your computer has a DVD drive, if not go buy one. It can do an excellent job of upconverting your DVDs. You should also buy an HDTV tuner card for it, then you can get OTA HD (and unencrypted cable depending on the card you buy) and use the computer as a HD-DVR. Further, with just a little software you can download, you can delete unwanted material (commercials) from your recordings, convert them to DVD format and write them to DVD for future use (assuming the DVD drive you bought is a burner and since you can get a nice one for under $50 why wouldn't it be?)

Obviously you can find a lot more about this in the HTPC section of this forum.
jimmyv is offline  
post #390 of 4028 Old 07-09-2006, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
colin6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post

I'm hoping the norm on the PS3 will be 1080p out, not 720p.

At any rate, good that you asked, because I hadn't tried 1280x720 on my PC. Although a 720p signal in from a DVR or DVD player automatically gets scaled up to fill the screen, the 1280x720 setting on my PC does not, it's an unscaled image centered on the screen. Using FILL mode on the display makes it somewhat larger, but still nowhere near filling the screen. The ATI control panel has an option to scale the image, but that would be the video card doing it, not the display.

I don't have an Xbox 360, so I don't know how it's output will appear. I think frlias said he had one?

360 uses the component input. All internal rendering on the 360 is @ 720p. Pass the 47w1 720p via component and it should be just fine, just like, say upconverted DVR/DVD.

The issues start arising when passing PC specs via DVI/HDMI native res and getting the panel to display it 1:1. We're still a ways off of seeing true interoperability between PCs & TV-purpose panels. A lot of graphics drivers don't support what the panel's DVI/HDMI really wants, so you need to override it, etc.

Panels could be more friendly (westinghouses are probably the most friendly right now), but even more progress could be had by:

1) Video card driver development that encompasses TV-based panel spec DVI/HDMI standards
2) Panel manufacturers offering, say "47w1.inf" files (monitor spec drivers) to alleviate the user-level configuration needed trying to pass correct resolutions & horizontal/vertical refresh rates, etc.

Last I heard PS3 was going to "accept 1080p". I don't know that they've enforced a "must" like Microsoft did demanding "at least 720p" rendering.....(i do like that M$ did that)

Colin
colin6969 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Westinghouse

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off