Westinghouse 47" 1080p LCD (LVM-47w1) - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Axel Olmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oakland, CA USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ylee View Post

[url] Anyone (whether Axel or someone else) feel like putting up a more equal comparison?

I realized my mistake after both LCD's were wall mounted, and I looked at the photos a second time. The 47" is indeed too far forward for a true one to one comparison of size.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/188761846/
vs
http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/189061700/

are the best I can provide in terms of size comparison.

I will just state that the 37", right from the beginning, seemed at the low end of the spectrum for an 8-10' viewing distance. I am happy with the 47".
Axel Olmos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 11:14 AM
Member
 
ExxonTsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falser View Post

Yeah, but if you're one of those retentive asses that will return it if there's one bad pixel dead center...

Hey, I resemble that!

But I think it comes down to what you intend to do with the set. I'm going to be using it as a computer monitor 75% of the time, running XP and Linux apps and sitting fairly close to the set (probably 3-4 feet away). Apps with a solid background will highlight dead pixels and believe me they can be distracting and annoying.

I'm sure that I wouldn't notice the dead pixels watching multimedia or playing games, but since this is going to be both my computer monitor and TV I'm going to be a retentive ass about it
ExxonTsun is offline  
post #633 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 11:27 AM
Member
 
ASP111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Titan Quest @ 1920x1080p via PC looks freaking amazing over VGA.

I haven't taken photos yet because I keep on finding killer souce material and well, WATCHING it!!!

My only complaint is the slight overscan issue for some channels via the Comcast box. Any screen position adjustments in the service menu? I haven't gotten there yet.
ASP111 is offline  
post #634 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 11:47 AM
Member
 
riverhawk79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the lvm-37w1 and i've never seen any overscan with tv channels. or maybe i just haven't noticed it.

has something changed between these screens that will cause overscan on the 47"?
riverhawk79 is offline  
post #635 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 11:49 AM
Member
 
riverhawk79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel Olmos View Post

thoth has provided a fanastic bunch of settings, and my TV is set to a modified version of them:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ue#post7957841


Also, I mentioned in the lvm-37w1 forum that each resolution seemed to have a storable RGB setting. That is not the case in the 47" and it looks like my PC and HD-Tivo share the same settings since they use a switcher.


what wall mount do you have? how close is the tv to the wall?
riverhawk79 is offline  
post #636 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RAVEN56706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but thats so weird though.... oh well.....

so whoever is using the HDMI port... any problems or just not using the HDMI port at all..

2011 SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS- New York Giants!!!

Gamertag: GENERAL CUPKAKE
RAVEN56706 is offline  
post #637 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 12:31 PM
Member
 
RADMANK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered this TV with a Denon 2807 and a Sanus VMPL250 Mount which is supposed to have one inch and a quarter clearances from the wall. Going to demo the Orb Audio speakers in NYC Mon. This is for my Basement home theatre which is 10 x 12 feet. Mostly Movies but some music also. Will post pics after everything is setup.
RADMANK is offline  
post #638 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 12:59 PM
Member
 
ylee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel Olmos View Post

http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/188761846/
vs
http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/189061700/

are the best I can provide in terms of size comparison.

Much appreciated although, darn it, not nearly so obvious a size difference! I've already put in the order but now must ask myself whether the additional size is worth the extra money on top of what I hope to recoup by selling my LVM-37W1 (Hey, anyone in the SF Bay area interested in buying it from me, let me know), which has been absolutely, positively wonderful over the past six months (the fact that I'm willing to buy the 47" blind is about the strongest testimonial I can pay to it and the maker).
Quote:


I will just state that the 37", right from the beginning, seemed at the low end of the spectrum for an 8-10' viewing distance. I am happy with the 47".

That's certainly reassuring to hear; my sofa is also eight feet away from the panel and I also felt that the size was just a tad too small.

Another reason why I'm questioning myself for having made the order is because upgrading so quickly is definitely atypical for me. I don't want to do so again for as long as possible. If by Christmas Westinghouse will have a 55" 1080p panel out for about the price I can get the 47" today from Crutchfield or J&R, I'd probably want to wait until then. On the other hand, it's possible we've hit an inflection point in panel sizes and such a rapid jump in the price/size ratio won't occur again for a long while. What do others think?
ylee is offline  
post #639 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:02 PM
Member
 
ylee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverhawk79 View Post

i have the lvm-37w1 and i've never seen any overscan with tv channels. or maybe i just haven't noticed it.

My guess is you just haven't noticed it. On my LVM-37W1 I always see a solid green line on the left edge when watching the Tonight Show, for example. And most 480i programs have the aforementioned line of "garbage" or "static" on the top edge.
ylee is offline  
post #640 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Yoda1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ylee View Post

My guess is you just haven't noticed it. On my LVM-37W1 I always see a solid green line on the left edge when watching the Tonight Show, for example. And most 480i programs have the aforementioned line of "garbage" or "static" on the top edge.

This would really annoy me.
Yoda1 is offline  
post #641 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:12 PM
Member
 
ylee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda1 View Post

This would really annoy me.

I can live with it. We're talking about a green line a pixel or two wide. If I wanted I could just set my MythTV system to display with some overscan and that'd take care of the issue, but I prefer keeping the 1:1 pixel mapping (for 1080i programming, I mean). MythTV has an alternative system that uses crop bars instead of overscan and keeps the 1:1 mapping, but unfortunately that feature's not working right now.
ylee is offline  
post #642 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:14 PM
Member
 
doitynan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This TV is use only for PC and Satellite. I don't know how to use it with cable service.
doitynan is offline  
post #643 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Sunil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkaz527 View Post

Hi Guys
First time I'm posting to this forum. I was set on picking up the Director's series Hitachi Plasma in September but the 1080p thing is getting to me, read: I THINK I NEED IT!
This Westy sounds promising (thanks for the pix!). One person commented that SD material looked Ok, what are some other reactions. I'm using a Comcast DVR box, I don't think it has HDMI (it's about 2 years old but I could get a new one). Is it horrible with crawling dots, etc... or is it decent. My wife would PO'd if Martha looked like a blocky mess. Also, what's the reaction to the 360 hookup? Is it awesome?
Thanks a lot

I initially had the motorola DVR 6412 from comcast (phase 2) and SD didn't look too good. I exchanged it for a 3412 cause the HD in 6412 was too noisy but any way the SD looks much much better now.
Sunil is offline  
post #644 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Axel Olmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oakland, CA USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverhawk79 View Post

what wall mount do you have? how close is the tv to the wall?

I'm using the Westinghouse MT150 thin for the 47", and the no longer produced MT80 thin for the 37". (Note, I learned the hard way that these two mounts are not interchangable. Keep all the parts separate!) It says 1.18" for the wall mount. The total distance from the wall to the far edge of the panel is 6.25" or so. That measures up right since the specs say 5" for the panel.
Axel Olmos is offline  
post #645 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Yoda1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitynan View Post

This TV is use only for PC and Satellite. I don't know how to use it with cable service.


......
Yoda1 is offline  
post #646 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
ML97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ylee View Post

My guess is you just haven't noticed it. On my LVM-37W1 I always see a solid green line on the left edge when watching the Tonight Show, for example. And most 480i programs have the aforementioned line of "garbage" or "static" on the top edge.


I'm really interested in this set(down to it and the Sammy 50" DLP HLS), but this statement concerns me.

Does the "garbage" appear on all HD and SD channels? I realize its because the pixel mapping, but it would really annoy me. Is there way within the TV adjustments
to get rid of it? I will be using a DirecTV HD receiver.

I really appreciate any feedback.

Thanks
ML97 is offline  
post #647 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 01:53 PM
Member
 
jvalerio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ML97,
I'm in the same boat as you. I'm looking at this set and the 5087w dlp
jvalerio is offline  
post #648 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Sunil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML97 View Post

I'm really interested in this set(down to it and the Sammy 50" DLP HLS), but this statement concerns me.

Does the "garbage" appear on all HD and SD channels? I realize its because the pixel mapping, but it would really annoy me. Is there way within the TV adjustments
to get rid of it? I will be using a DirecTV HD receiver.

I really appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

Yes, the fill mode gets rid of it.
Sunil is offline  
post #649 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
luna5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harwinton CT
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couldn't wait for BB to get stock...they don't seem to know when they will have any. Just got off the phone with CF...5 to 7 days I'll have my first HDTV !

Which is the better way to connect it to my Charter Cable -Scientific Atlanta SA 3250 HD cable box....using a DVI to HDMI cable ( cable box has a DVI output but no HDMI ) or using the component connections? I'll be using my surround sound system for audio so that's not a consideration.

"I'm supposed to drive a flying car"
"I'm supposed to have a house on Mars"
"I'm supposed to live 200 years"
"Future"
Todd Rundgren "Liars" CD/DVDA
luna5 is offline  
post #650 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 02:08 PM
Member
 
voteforpedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel Olmos View Post

I'm using the Westinghouse MT150 thin for the 47", and the no longer produced MT80 thin for the 37". (Note, I learned the hard way that these two mounts are not interchangable. Keep all the parts separate!) It says 1.18" for the wall mount. The total distance from the wall to the far edge of the panel is 6.25" or so. That measures up right since the specs say 5" for the panel.

Axel, I am having a carpenter build a media bookcase as we speak, and have a few questions regarding the Westy mount. Or any other for that matter.

My 47" Westy will be set into a book case that only has about 2" of clearance on the left and right hand side. Does the Westy 47" mount allow you to move the monitor left or right for precise location? The depth doesn't concern me, as my book case will be about 15" deep. It is just that my walls will be very very close to the sides of the Westinghouse 47".
voteforpedro is offline  
post #651 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
zanduliac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by luna5 View Post

Couldn't wait for BB to get stock...they don't seem to know when they will have any. Just got off the phone with CF...5 to 7 days I'll have my first HDTV !

Which is the better way to connect it to my Charter Cable -Scientific Atlanta SA 3250 HD cable box....using a DVI to HDMI cable ( cable box has a DVI output but no HDMI ) or using the component connections? I'll be using my surround sound system for audio so that's not a consideration.

Digital is the way to go. There shouldn't be any difference going from DVI -> HDMI or DVI -> DVI. On my SA 4200 HD I also tried component with some Monster cables and there's hardly any difference (maybe a touch more noise) - but wiring three thick component cables is not as pretty as a nice thin HDMI cable.

This is the way I have mine setup:
SA 4200 HD box : DVI -> DVI 1
PC: DVI -> HDMI
DVD: component to component 1 (tonight I'll go HDMI -> DVI 2).

Yes, it looks weird not to go HDMI -> HDMI for the DVD player, but I have the cracking sound issue I mentioned earlier. Since, other's do/don't seem to have this problem it might be the source.

I guess i'll wait until I get a PS3 to to retry HDMI -> HDMI. Hopefully, there won't be a cracking sound. Since the DVD player will be redundant with a PS3 I can't see myself needing more than the three digital ports. I don't think I'll need the component ports either.

BTW, a PC connected to the VGA gives a respectible 1080p picture, a little ghosting around the fonts but not an issue at normal viewing distances.
zanduliac is offline  
post #652 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 03:05 PM
Member
 
jaysins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody notice a difference in black levels between the 42 and 47? Pretty happy with the 42 but still have 12 days to return it
jaysins is offline  
post #653 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 03:10 PM
Member
 
whoami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
were any of you guys considering buying plasma over the westy? i'm really close to pulling the trigger. last min. thoughts?
whoami is offline  
post #654 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bitemymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: City of Urbana, MD
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah.... got a shipping confirmation from CF today. Wonder how long it would take to Southern Cal delivery.

BTW, for those already own the set, have you experienced any MB issues with the set especially someone with oppo 971H unit. One way to simply test it is by playing Harry Potter Goblet of Fire DVD if it shows. From the spec, it looks like Westinghouse is using Genesis CortexPlus chipset as a display controller/scaller, which should have MB correction, correct?

TIA
bitemymac is offline  
post #655 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanduliac View Post

I get a steady cracking/popping noise (less than a second apart) when I have my DVD players' HDMI connected to HDMI on the Westy and the DVD is on bitstream audio mode.

Your DVD player doesn't have a setup option to disable HDMI audio? (Mine does.)
thoth is offline  
post #656 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ylee View Post

(But what I'm looking for is the sort of subjective comparison that only a side-by-side view can reveal.)

My subjective $.02, in person the 47" is huge step up in size from the 37" I had before.
thoth is offline  
post #657 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverhawk79 View Post

i have the lvm-37w1 and i've never seen any overscan with tv channels.

The DVI ports on the 37w1 are (by design) asymmetric. One of them is intended for PC source, and provides 1-to-1 pixel mapping. The other is designed for TV source, and intentionally overscans to hide the digital garbage at the top of the frame.
thoth is offline  
post #658 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Axel Olmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oakland, CA USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by voteforpedro View Post

Axel, I am having a carpenter build a media bookcase as we speak, and have a few questions regarding the Westy mount. Or any other for that matter.

My 47" Westy will be set into a book case that only has about 2" of clearance on the left and right hand side. Does the Westy 47" mount allow you to move the monitor left or right for precise location? The depth doesn't concern me, as my book case will be about 15" deep. It is just that my walls will be very very close to the sides of the Westinghouse 47".

Wow I am envious. I am sure that is going to look stunning.

The 47" mount allows you to slide the monitor left and right several inches. Check out this picture:
http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne...9060144&size=l
The two light gray brackets each have a hook on them that catches the part that is secured to the wall. You can just make out the top part of the hook on each one. The bottom allen bolt is then tightened using a really long allen wrench to secure the monitor in place. Because the bracket plate on the wall is much wider than the two hooks, you can slide it left or right a lot. (The bracket is designed to fasten to two 2X4 studs, and is 19.25" wide) See:
http://www.westinghousedigital.com/p...all-mount.aspx

That URL shows the brackets on the monitor hooked on the plate. They have the brackets really really spaced in that picture, like 14" or so. On the Westy, they are like 4-5" apart. (100 mm vesa mount bracket = 3.93" so that makes sense.)

Since the plate is approximately 18" wide, that gives you a lot of freedom to slide the monitor left or right. It slides easily, and then can be secured.

If you can fully mount your Westinghouse, cables and all, and then push the bookcase up against it, that will probably be ok. If you are trying to mount the Westinghouse through the bookcase, wow, that may be hard. I was able to mount the 47" panel by myself. (It weighs 70 lbs.) However, I would not have been able to mount it without my wife describing how far off I was from the bracket.

I'm sure you have the logistics under control. Do you think it will be ok in terms of heat gathering near the unit?

Also, if you have to mount the Westy inside the bookcase cutout, you might want to think about some kind of an arm mount. You could pull the arm all the way out, mount the West, and then push it in.

Hope that helps. Please post a pic when it's done!! My wife wants to get bookcases on each side of ours, and she'd love to check out new ideas.
Axel Olmos is offline  
post #659 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunil View Post

I initially had the motorola DVR 6412 from comcast (phase 2) and SD didn't look too good.

I have the same box, and SD out of it (DVI @ 480p) looks quite reasonable. Much better than SD out of my Sony DVR.
thoth is offline  
post #660 of 4028 Old 07-14-2006, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Axel Olmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oakland, CA USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you worried about the "garbage" on the top and bottom of the screen when viewing, don't. You just press the fill button on the remote control, and it's gone. This garbage varies depending on input source and type of input. Note these two pictures:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/189134244/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/axelolmos/189134243/

Both are from a HD-DirecTivo via DVI. The one with the garbage is the DirecTV feed, the one without is the OTA antenna feed. Same device, different channel. It's really depends on what your source is if you get garbage or not. If you get it, you just hit the fill button if it really bugs you.

It would be nice to either have a variable zoom, or a means of setting the blanking to get rid of the garbage. The fill button does it, but you lose the garbage and a little more of the outside of the picture.
Axel Olmos is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Westinghouse

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off