Westinghouse 42" LCD w/1080p Part II, MSRP ONLY - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 7781 Old 06-20-2006, 09:43 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
[url=http://profiles.yahoo.com/echoparker2006]

click on that, that's the only way I knew how to show a pic of my westy's pic
garibay_2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 7781 Old 06-20-2006, 09:57 PM
Member
 
CrysDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the westy uses sony remote codes, would the SM menu be the entered via the same methods as a sony unit?
CrysDark is offline  
post #93 of 7781 Old 06-20-2006, 09:59 PM
Member
 
eroc15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the Sony SM code with the westy and with the sony remotes, none worked for me
eroc15 is offline  
post #94 of 7781 Old 06-20-2006, 10:09 PM
Member
 
CrysDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe we should all start calling our local service centers there has to be one somewhere in this country thats worked on this westy.
CrysDark is offline  
post #95 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 12:57 AM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm restating from a previous post as I got no answer

Since I'm moving, I had my delivery date for my westy changed to late July - should I call Best Buy and reschedule delivery to as soon as possible? If they discontinue this item I'm worried they will give all of them away and end up cancelling my order.
ZippoMan is offline  
post #96 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 01:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want it at the price you ordered, you best move fast and get them to fill the order ASAP, or you will be cancelled due to no stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippoMan View Post

I'm restating from a previous post as I got no answer

Since I'm moving, I had my delivery date for my westy changed to late July - should I call Best Buy and reschedule delivery to as soon as possible? If they discontinue this item I'm worried they will give all of them away and end up cancelling my order.

Diode1 is offline  
post #97 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 01:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Zoglog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpow View Post

All,

Mine will be delivered next Monday.

I'm posting this out of frustration -
I didn't learn ANYTHING, even after reading Part-I, Part-II, now this Part-III threads.

Only people bragging about how cheap this tv, how much discount they got, what they consider problems with their set, etc. Absolutely no technical/practical information.

I wish there's one thread stickied, that contains all revisions of Firmwares, potential/reported problems, SM code, calibration tricks, etc.

This is my first HDTV purchase, and I wish there were more information available on the internet as far as calibration, ICC profile, etc.

Will anyone that have any REAL knowledge of this TV (either from experience or from work), please step forward?

If you feel that adamant about it, you should just collect the data and try to start one yourself

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter740 View Post

I would just wait until westinghouse release's the firmware. They should fix the problem FREE. There product is defective and they will fix it.

They better damn well... Though.... who knows -_-........

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter740 View Post

I have stated this fact a week ago but no one wanted to hear it. PeterS is so full of BS about how he wants to help people out here but instead he helps himself out. Charging people money for a service code. That is so low and grimey! I am glad you finally got exposed for the phoney that you are.


Indeed, that just shows how desperate we all are for answers. I say we all e-mail and bug Westinghouse to fix the damn TVs and get us the damn firmware upgrades. We need to make them aware we mean business or else they won't care.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagyg View Post

I sent an e-mail to Westinghouse for the Service Menu Access Code - no reply.

Sorry they are too busy counting the 5.4 billion they are getting from toshiba.
Zoglog is offline  
post #98 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 01:57 AM
Member
 
CrysDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I though toshiba bought a different westy?
CrysDark is offline  
post #99 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 05:35 AM
Newbie
 
Samsonite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They did buy a different Westy. Wasn't the Westy they bought a nuclear energy company or something similar?
Samsonite is offline  
post #100 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scot Kight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oak Hill, VA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have also not received the SM codes from Westinghouse. I'll be emailing them again in a few days.

FYI: I have fw 1.11, no banding issues and a beautiful picture. It could be better with access to the service menu, but I like it. Very few people with good opinions post, only negative. With the popularity of this unit the problems will seem to be much more extreme, so I caution anyone to look at the threads here with a grain of salt. Also, don't believe anything BB says, my local store can still order it and it shows as normal stock.

Heck, it even looks like it belongs where I mounted it to the wall. My girlfriend says so!

Scot Kight

"Don't touch that, this isn't your house and that isn't your tv!" she says.

"But look at it, the contrast is completely blown out, the color is all off and that tint. This will only take a sec..."
Scot Kight is offline  
post #101 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 06:03 AM
Member
 
ruprick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scot Kight View Post

I have also not received the SM codes from Westinghouse. I'll be emailing them again in a few days.

FYI: I have fw 1.11, no banding issues and a beautiful picture. It could be better with access to the service menu, but I like it. Very few people with good opinions post, only negative. With the popularity of this unit the problems will seem to be much more extreme, so I caution anyone to look at the threads here with a grain of salt. Also, don't believe anything BB says, my local store can still order it and it shows as normal stock.

Heck, it even looks like it belongs where I mounted it to the wall. My girlfriend says so!

I agree with Scot--this LCD looks great out of the box. Mine is 1.16 -- no lockups or banding, no dead pixels -- I am hesitant to upgrade to 1.18 since it ain't broke.

Service menu would be nice to calibrate, though. Looks like a pretty harmless SM...not sure what the big deal is.
ruprick is offline  
post #102 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Coastsider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Mateo County Coastside CA
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoJ View Post


My new set is a 1.11 (11/29/2005), and it does not have the little Genesis logo in the System information display. Does anyone know what is up with that? I don't think my 1.16 had it either. Are there diferent VPs out there, or just not displaying? Should I try to return and get one with the Genesis? (ugh, I hope not, this new set seems to have a better PQ!)

I have firmware v. 1.10 on my 42W2 purchased in March and it does not display the Genesis logo either but I know it has the chip. Since the menu display is part of the firmware I just assume that the logo grapjic was not included in v1.10 and apparently v1.11 as well.
Coastsider is offline  
post #103 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scot Kight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oak Hill, VA
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I remember correctly I believe peters stated that the firmware update was done via a cable going to the vga port, possibly emulating a serial connection over the unused cables. Anyone want to splice some cables together to see if they can find the serial port?

Might show info on startup?

Scot

Scot Kight

"Don't touch that, this isn't your house and that isn't your tv!" she says.

"But look at it, the contrast is completely blown out, the color is all off and that tint. This will only take a sec..."
Scot Kight is offline  
post #104 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 08:42 AM
Member
 
grumpy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eroc15 View Post

Has anyone calibrated there sets with AVIA or DVE? If so can you please type down your settings and Backlight? Thanks, just want to have some ideas where to start at.

I used BOTH.

As I sent out in an email to my friends, I watch the show SUNRISE EARTH, on Discovery HDTV and it seems that I'm looking out a window! I started with video settings posted by PeterS and tweaked from there. (gotta give credit where due!)

My settings:
Brightness 48
Contrast: 54
Saturation: 38
Hue 5
Color Temp: 1
Sharpness: 04
Aspect Ratio: Standard
Backlight: 30

I regularly change the Backlight depending on the amount of light in the room from a setting of 20 when dark to a setting of 30 when daylight. My set is connected via an HD Time-Warner SA8300 cable box via the HDMI port. The DiscoveryHD channel is sent at 1080i.

I used a Samsung Upscaling DVD player set to output 1080i via DVI1 and a HDMI - DVI cable. Guess where I found the cable? You got it! It was from www.monoprice.com !
grumpy40 is offline  
post #105 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 08:55 AM
Member
 
grumpy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those not able to find the Set, at BB or otherwise, check here:

http://www.westinghousedigital.com/

You see the ratings and reviews listed? Maybe they were SOLD OUT.....
grumpy40 is offline  
post #106 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
sthatche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will attempt to put together a serial cable over the weekend and see what I come up with. It looks like there are 3 unused pins on a standard vga cable (pins 4, 9, 11) and a number of gounds (pins 5-8,10). We also know that tivo implemented their serial using a 1/8 inch cable and 3 serial pins (pins 2,3,5) - (Transmit, Receive, and Ground). It seems as though some combination of these connections would be the logical way Westinghouse implemented serial - if what PeterS said is true - that the "dongle" will connect to the VGA port. I will post what I find - anyone else want to work through this with me?
sthatche is offline  
post #107 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Zoglog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrysDark View Post

I though toshiba bought a different westy?

http://www.westinghousenuclear.com/

Might be a different part of the company but they still got the moolah since it's all part of the same conglomerate. Just look at the logo
Zoglog is offline  
post #108 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 09:55 AM
Member
 
acoustic5679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagyg View Post

I needed more flexibility and went with this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...lance&n=172282

Was easy to mount and works fine...

Your westy 42" fits this model OK? It says only for 37 or lower and it only 1 stud to secure to.. But if it works what the hell.. In your guys opinion, which websites have the best deals for wall mounts?
acoustic5679 is offline  
post #109 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:07 AM
Member
 
acoustic5679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded one of those 1080p WM videos from microsoft.http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...tshowcase.aspx
I can't find the original thread so I will ask again in here. Can I just hook up my CPU to the westy via RGB and play the 1080p video through windows media player and be seeing a true 1080p feed on the Westy? I can't remember if the RGB is 1080p as well as HDMI and the DVI's.
acoustic5679 is offline  
post #110 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:23 AM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode1 View Post

If you want it at the price you ordered, you best move fast and get them to fill the order ASAP, or you will be cancelled due to no stock.

I changed my delivery date to this Friday (June 23rd). It worries me that Best Buy is no longer carrying this product.......does westinghouse already have a new line of LCDs in the works? Obviously they couldn't be replacing the 37" AND 42" with the 47".
ZippoMan is offline  
post #111 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
ereet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
svga port is definitely 1080p i was trying to play the sony.de wega demo on my junk 6200 geforce card and at 5fps it looks great lol need more powah @ 1920x1080@60hz.
(check out the demo its insane looking good)
ereet is offline  
post #112 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:26 AM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please tell me how to break in my LCD? And why exactly does it need to be broken in, what will it achieve?
ZippoMan is offline  
post #113 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:30 AM
Member
 
acoustic5679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ereet View Post

svga port is definitely 1080p i was trying to play the sony.de wega demo on my junk 6200 geforce card and at 5fps it looks great lol need more powah @ 1920x1080@60hz.
(check out the demo its insane looking good)

Where can I find the demo? and how do you change the FPS?
acoustic5679 is offline  
post #114 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Zoglog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When BB delivers the TV do they have to bring it up and take it out of the box? because I had it shipped to work........

Quote:
Can someone please tell me how to break in my LCD? And why exactly does it need to be broken in, what will it achieve?

not as important for LCDs as plasmas
Zoglog is offline  
post #115 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 10:41 AM
Member
 
grumpy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoglog View Post

http://www.westinghousenuclear.com/

Might be a different part of the company but they still got the moolah since it's all part of the same conglomerate. Just look at the logo

Nope,
look at www.westinghousedigital.com instead.
grumpy40 is offline  
post #116 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 11:12 AM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im looking for a sub $200 TV stand for my 42" Westy - any suggestions? Most of the ones from Best Buy are ugly or cost too much.
ZippoMan is offline  
post #117 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
ereet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4 year PSP warranty is $159 the charge just hit my card today.
ereet is offline  
post #118 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
nagyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by acoustic5679 View Post

Your westy 42" fits this model OK? It says only for 37 or lower and it only 1 stud to secure to.. But if it works what the hell.. In your guys opinion, which websites have the best deals for wall mounts?

I focused more on the weight specs and the Westy is much lighter than the 80 pounds max weight for the mount. The mount extends far enough to turn the Westy so it is at 90 degrees vs. the wall. I bought from Amazon...
nagyg is offline  
post #119 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 11:34 AM
Member
 
tjmontano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ereet View Post

4 year PSP warranty is $159 the charge just hit my card today.


What is a PSP warranty? You talking about the sony handheld here?
tjmontano is offline  
post #120 of 7781 Old 06-21-2006, 12:00 PM
Member
 
ZippoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjmontano View Post

What is a PSP warranty? You talking about the sony handheld here?

Haha, no, not the Sony Handheld. PSP stands for Protection Service Plan.

I also got the 4-Year PSP for my Westy. For only $159 I couldn't pass it up.
ZippoMan is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Westinghouse 42 Inch Ld 4255vx Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off