official eyeFi LX4200 42" LCD 1080p owners' thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 06-20-2006, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there is quite a bit of information posted for the eyeFi 47" LCD monitor and i would recommend those interested in the 42" read the 47" thread (LX4700)

the 47" model received good reviews on its thread

however, there is very little information for the 42" model in that thread

the 42" was described in one post as looking better than the 47" when viewed side-by-side

the 42" monitor is not listed on eyeFi's product page - eyeFi is very responsive to e-mails - they reassured me that the LX4200 is a current model and sent, as requested, the owner's manual (will add link to attachment soon)

i was also reassured by eyeFi that this set accepts 1080p from a PC source

i've ordered this set from sam's and expect it in 7 to 10 business days

i will post more info when i receive the set

if you already have this set, please share your thoughts

thanks
2can is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 06-23-2006, 12:52 AM
Member
 
saidiadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking forward to your review.

Can you answer the following:
- Is the frame as nice as the 47"?
- SD picture quality (terrible on the 47")
- Which inputs take 1080P

Thanks!
saidiadude is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 06-30-2006, 01:52 PM
PAP
AVS Special Member
 
PAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at Westi but having trouble finding in stock. Came across this set listed on Sam's Club website. No costco around here.

Interested in anyone's thoughts on it especially compared with the Westi set. I'm itching to get a 1080p 42-47" set....

Good, cheap, easy - pick any two.
PAP is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 07-03-2006, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for taking so long to follow up on my initial post

i had a technical issue with the monitor and wanted to resolve it 1st

the enclosure for the 42" is nothing like the 47" - all plastic

but it still looks nice

the lcd panel is framed by a large clear frame of plexiglass - it's a nice touch

overall, i'm pleased w/ the set - however, this is my 1st venture into HD-land and i'm pretty easy to please (especially since there aren't many/any choices right now)

the blacks aren't as dark as i'd like - they do glow a bit

i have not yet calibrated the set - a friend owns a "spider" and she said i could borrow it

i am driving the monitor from my PC @ 1080p @ 60Hz via DVI->HDMI cable

the best 1080p video i've found so far is the HD WMV demo: The_Living_Sea_1080.wmv

it's on microsoft site

windows/windowsmedia/musicandvideo/hdvideo/contentshowcase.aspx/

(sorry, avs forum won't let me post a full url since i'm a new member)

this video looks spectacular

i'll be watching the thread and will try to answer questions

you may need to guide me w/ the technical stuff since i am pretty much a noob when it comes to LCD/HDTV stuff
LL
LL
2can is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 07-03-2006, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after i setup the monitor, got it connected and pretty much had a visual orgasm when i popped in a movie, i was shocked to find it could not handle small fonts properly

single pixel lines were not being displayed properly!

for instance a vertical red line may be displayed as red, white or black depending on where it was displayed on the screen (same goes for green and blue)

attached is a bitmap that demostrated the problem in a very obvious way

since this set is to be my computer monitor for my new HTPC (and my only PC), this artifact was not acceptable

i called tech support (# is on the box), they took down details and said somebody would call or email - that was almost a week ago - not a peep from tech support

i was going to call them again tonight, but decided to 1st play around a little more

long story short, my video card was sending the monitor 1080i and this was causing the problem - i'm surprised it couldn't handle 1080i properly

after some fiddling around with my vid card's config software (geForce 7900GT) i was able to get 1080p as a HDTV option (god only knows how i finally got it to appear! it took a lot of random monkey-like key presses)

one of the main take-aways here is...
don't assume you're getting 1080p if the set's "info" screen says "V Freq: 60 1920x1080"
LL
2can is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 07-03-2006, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since this unit is simply a monitor and does NOT have a tuner, the qually of SD depends on your source, tuner, capturing software, upscaler etc

my cable quality is just okay, i'm using an ATI HDTV wonder tuner and using beyond TV to capture the video

naturally SD quality totally sucks when compared to HD (not always though - i've seen some really crappy HD OTA broadcasts - so much data reduction it looks worse than SD!)

i'm attaching a couple images i screen captured (using PC screen capture software - this is independent of the monitor) - the "a" images are reduced to comply w/ avs forums "max-size" constraints - the "b"-"c" images are actual size (however, they are converted down to a jpg which affects the quality a bit)

naturally, the monitor displays these images, as is

anyhow, i'm happy with the SD i'm getting w/ my setup - i think i've just gotten used to the really poor signal i'm getting from my cable company
LL
LL
LL
2can is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 07-03-2006, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
more SD images...
LL
LL
LL
2can is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 07-04-2006, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so, i put my old 27" CRT next to the LX4200 and the quality was close enough

there was an occasional artifact (jitter) on LX and it was not as crisp as the 27" due to all the processing required to take that NTSC signal up to 1080p

but from a distance, it's not that noticeable
LL
2can is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 07-04-2006, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
user manual is too big to upload

 

LX4200_v08.pdf 299.23046875k . file
2can is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 07-04-2006, 06:57 PM
Member
 
saidiadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2can, thanks for posting all the info above.

It's too bad that the 42" doesnt have an aluminum frame like the 47" :-(
That was the main reason I would have bought it over the Westy 42", all else being equal (pic quality, processing, etc).

I'm leaning towards one of the following now (in order of preference):
- 47" Eyefi
- 47" Westy
- 42" Westy

Have to wait and see what my size/budget needs will be later this winter (I may move).
saidiadude is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 08-20-2006, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
nnarum23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Any images of HD video, like actual programing.

PSN - nnarum
nnarum23 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 09-23-2006, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
nnarum23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Any updates?

PSN - nnarum
nnarum23 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 09-29-2006, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
viewing from an angle...

blacks are their blackest when the monitor is viewed from directly in front

however, the picture does not deteriate much at when viewed from extreme angles

i'd say it has a 170 degree viewing range - at 170 the problem is not the monitory, but simply the angle)
2can is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 09-29-2006, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after several months i am still very happy with my choice

when the image quality is good - the montor really shines

i've attached a snapshot of a good HD image (from the imax deep-sea sample from the MS wmv-HD sample site)

but, the image doesn't do it justice
LL
2can is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 09-30-2006, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 30
any banding?
any backlight bleeding?
wtfer is online now  
post #16 of 21 Old 10-10-2006, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no bleeding or banding

the only picture quality issue is that the blacks aren't black enough

some light does make it through the lcd - not too bad though
2can is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 12-04-2006, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
Culumbj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a couple of questions.

1) The HD channels are letterboxed (top and bottom). I have tried every setting in the "window" menu, but nothing helps. Aren't all the HD channels sent in 16x9? There is no help from the cable box, as there is nothing to change. The weird thing is that I have two cable boxes. The one I use is an odler one that has the HDMI input to the tv. The "newer" version has only component (Comcast told me no one used HDMI, so they stopped putting it on the cable boxes). When I put the new box to the monitor via component, I get no letterboxing. Instead, it expands the image until some of it is lost. For example, when I watch ESPN HD, I can't see the left and right edges of the ticker at the bottom of the screen. That is really annoying. Again, there doesn't appear to be anything to change in the box itself. And the menus on the monito don't do anything to fix it. Any ideas?

2) The second problem has just started happenign this week. After 3 montsh of flawless operation, the monito has begun shutting down after an hour or so of oepration. I have changed variable one at a time to try to isolate the issue, but to no avail. My only idea is that it is not cooling properly, so shuts down when it hits a certain temperature. I turn it back on, but it shuts down immediately unless I leave it off for a while. Any ideas?
Culumbj is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 12-04-2006, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
2can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry, i'm not going to be of much help - i'm using a PC to drive my monitor - don't know much about set-top boxes

1) what resolution does the monitor say it's using when using HDMI? this does sound like an issue with the signal coming out of the comcast boxes

2) this sounds bad - mine has never shutdown on me before - cooling sounds like a good theory - maybe blowing air through the vents can confirm the problem - mine doesn't make any noise - i don't think there's a fan inside that could go bad
2can is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 12-04-2006, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Culumbj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought about setting up a fan to confirm the problem being heat.

When the info flicks on the screen, it always says 720 x (whatever). It's never 1081. It seems to be the box, but neither box works right. One box gives me black bars and the other box cuts off the sides of the screen. I'll have to call Comcast.
Culumbj is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 04-16-2007, 05:40 AM
Member
 
Salacakli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this wall mountable, if it is what kind of I should buy, universal or any model or type?
Salacakli is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 04-16-2007, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Salacakli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2can View Post

there is quite a bit of information posted for the eyeFi 47" LCD monitor and i would recommend those interested in the 42" read the 47" thread (LX4700)

the 47" model received good reviews on its thread

however, there is very little information for the 42" model in that thread

the 42" was described in one post as looking better than the 47" when viewed side-by-side

the 42" monitor is not listed on eyeFi's product page - eyeFi is very responsive to e-mails - they reassured me that the LX4200 is a current model and sent, as requested, the owner's manual (will add link to attachment soon)

i was also reassured by eyeFi that this set accepts 1080p from a PC source

i've ordered this set from sam's and expect it in 7 to 10 business days

i will post more info when i receive the set

if you already have this set, please share your thoughts

thanks

Is this wall mountable
Salacakli is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off