Westinghouse LCD vs. Westinghouse LCD?!?!? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-08-2006, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blk n blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok... Im a nubie here so I appolgize in advance. I have searched and cant really find what Im looking for. I had a westinghouse LVM-37w1. Its panel went out and now BB is letting me exchange to a different model(mine no longer available). I need advice to choose between LTV-37w2 or LVM-37w3. One is a HDTV with built in tuner, native 720p. Other is HD monitor, capable of 1080p, no tuner.I use it for TV viewing,DVDs, and XBOX360. Thank you in advance for you help!!

I cant hyperlink yet...1st post.
blk n blu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-08-2006, 11:09 AM
Member
 
James63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get the 37w3 that is 1080p! To me a tuner is pointless because you cable box/satellite box will do the tuning for you. Some people will tell you that 1080p is not needed for a set that small....but you don’t need a Porsch to go 65mph but that does not mean I don’t want one.
James63 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-08-2006, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 170
LVM-37w3 all the way, the native 1080p resolution future-proofs your monitor for years and makes it instantly HD-DVD/Blue-Ray/PS3 compatible. The lack of a tuner can be solved by hooking-up the cable or satellite receiver. Or you can blow a couple of hundred bucks on an ATSC tuner and a rabbit ear antenna and pick the HD locals. No brainer choice, me thinks!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dad1153 is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-08-2006, 05:50 PM
 
Jann Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
W3 all the way.
Jann Lee is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-08-2006, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blk n blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by James63
Get the 37w3 that is 1080p! To me a tuner is pointless because you cable box/satellite box will do the tuning for you. Some people will tell you that 1080p is not needed for a set that small....but you don’t need a Porsch to go 65mph but that does not mean I don’t want one.
:) Excellent analogy!!! You guys rock!!!! "I Know What to do NOW" :p
blk n blu is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-03-2006, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
bldn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a nubie too and while you guys are answering such questions, let me throw out a similar one. Westinghouse has 4 32" sets to choose from. The models I am looking at and their chief differences are as follows:

LTV-32w1 <$700 HDTV-ready DVI

LTV-32w3 +$70 ATSC & QAM tuners HDMI-HDCP

LTV-32w6 +$170 " "
brightness is 400 vs. 550 for other 2

All are 1366 x 768, 1000:1, 8ms, etc.

Frankly, I can't figure why the w6 is $100 more than the w3 when the specs are pretty much the same. Anyway, is the HDMI + ATSC & QAM tuners (I'm using cable)worth paying extra for? I'm not even sure that Time Warner Cable's STBs have HDMI - there aren't any w/ it shown on their site.

Bill
Memphis
bldn10 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-03-2006, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
OniKoroshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
W3 for sure if you have digital cable or ever want to hook up your computer to this display.
OniKoroshi is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-04-2006, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
bldn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you explain that - I will have HD digital cable - so I don't need a tuner, right? What about the HDMI? The reason I ask this question is not so much because the w3 is $70 more but the w1 has generally better review ratings.
bldn10 is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off