Vizio GV42L & L42 42" LCDs - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
seanvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My brothers store (Costco in fairfax, VA) has already pulled them form the floor and won't sell them until Aug. 7th
seanvt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Triangel7D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seanvt,

BTW, thanks for all this info.

Hey, I'm a little new to this forum-- is this discussion "kosher," since we're not talking about actual price? Anybody?
Triangel7D is offline  
post #93 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 09:48 AM
Member
 
gemniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seanvt -
There seems to be a rare alignment of the planets. or something -
SWMBO requested a 42" TV last fall.
Thought I'd be spending $2000.
I went to Costco (Springfield, VA) last week and saw the 42" Visio - thought it was a kick butt price. Almost bought it - wanted to research it.
[EDIT]
SWMBO's birthday is August 22nd.
Thanks for the info.
gemniii is offline  
post #94 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 10:08 AM
Member
 
index's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
should i replace my maxent MX 42X3 with this one?
i have two 42x3's (one in the bedroom and one in the living room). maybe i should replace one of them?
can anyone give me some pro's and con's?
index is offline  
post #95 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 10:28 AM
Member
 
gemniii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also - does anyone know where the stuff that people return goes?
Maybe I could get a return for 50 cents on the dollar.
gemniii is offline  
post #96 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 10:48 AM
Member
 
jassiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So kaliphornia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both the stores I went to in CA have them displayed [EDIT]
jassiji is offline  
post #97 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 11:10 AM
JSW
Member
 
JSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked this question to Costco rep few months ago - Where do all these returned TVs go? - may be I can buy them for 20% off price, like BB and CC...

They said the returned goods all go back to the Manufacturer.

I read it somewhere... when Costco takes the return from the customer, they pass that loss right back to the manufacturer.... Even penalizes the manufacturer for returned items. i.e., "Your merchandise did not satisfy OUR customer (who pays $100 per year just to be a member) and it is your fault that our reputation has been damaged, so you will compensate us for each returned items" Something like this... I guess Costco buys things in unthinkable quantity, manufacturers will sign on this kind of agreement.

May be someone will correct me if what I heard is wrong...
JSW is offline  
post #98 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Tigershark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by index View Post

should i replace my maxent MX 42X3 with this one?
i have two 42x3's (one in the bedroom and one in the living room). maybe i should replace one of them?
can anyone give me some pro's and con's?


The MX 42X3 is a Plasma, this is a LCD. There are numerous threads debating the pros and cons of both formats. Trust your eyes.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tigershark is offline  
post #99 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 01:33 PM
Member
 
yancantcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried to buy this lcd at two different costco's and they would not sell it to me!

i saw they on the rack,[EDIT]
yancantcook is offline  
post #100 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 01:36 PM
Member
 
jassiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So kaliphornia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not so in California. What state are you in?
jassiji is offline  
post #101 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 01:40 PM
Moderator
 
Woodrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 6,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
moderator:

Folks: no more sale, discount or coupon talk. that is not allowed on this board. posts have been edited and deleted.

Thanks for your support.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Woodrow is online now  
post #102 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
wheelrandolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Highlights: QAM tuner, "only" 1366x768 native res, 2 HDMI inputs, detachable speakers
Also claims to support 1366x768 via VGA - but is it 1:1?

Hi All,

Will this enable one to receive (view) unencrypted digital cable channels (ESPN-HD) without a settop box?? Not sure what capabilities the QAM tuner affords.
Thanks,

Randy
wheelrandolph is offline  
post #103 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 02:18 PM
Member
 
yancantcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in PA. Called stores in King of Prussia and NJ
yancantcook is offline  
post #104 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Odessit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchased on Monday. Originally set it with Warner cable. No cable box; just direct connection to wall outlet. All the "extended package" channels not too good - SD. All the local network channels looks good but show signs of compression. Image somewhat soft. That I plugged "rabbit ears" antenna. I do not have good reception inside the house at all - 20 mi from the towers. I couldn't believe how all the OTA channels came - crystal clear. Local news and shows that upconverted look OK. But all the shows after 8 PM shut in HD look unbelievable. Especially CSI Miami. The best picture is on PBS and Jay Leno.

I had 42" Visio plasma for one week back in May. I could tell that HD tuner is much stronger on LCD TV. I'll be installing outside antenna some day.
-----------------------
All unencrypted cable works. HD ESPN is encrypted in Cincinnati.
Odessit is offline  
post #105 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
nnarum23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If there's nothing wrong with your TV, why not just keep it? I think it's foolish to keep exchanging a TV if something better comes out because you want it more. Save some time and plan your purchases.

PSN - nnarum
nnarum23 is offline  
post #106 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mikea28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this whole pulling from the shelves because of a possible upcoming coupon seems a little fishy. wouldn't they rather just sell them at the current price to people that don't know about the coupon? if not, why not just put it on sale now?

either there's some sort of problem or they weren't really supposed to go on sale yet, for whatever reason. or costco's insane (not an impossibility at all given their return policy).

btw, i must say i love seeing the pictures because it gives me a better idea of what the set looks like, but i just don't see them as being very valuable for evaluating picture quality. Exposure settings, white balance, ambient light, etc. all affect the outcome of the picture, not to mention the display you're using to view the picture. Now, if we had a single picture of two different TV models for side by side comparison, that would be quite a bit more useful.

Westinghouse 42w2 1.00 | TiVo HD 1TB | Sony DVP-NS70H | Panasonic SA-XR55 | Paradigm Monitor 9 & CC-350 v1 | Harmony 676 | Vista MCE HTPC
mikea28 is offline  
post #107 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mikea28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelrandolph View Post

Highlights: QAM tuner, "only" 1366x768 native res, 2 HDMI inputs, detachable speakers
Also claims to support 1366x768 via VGA - but is it 1:1?

Hi All,

Will this enable one to receive (view) unencrypted digital cable channels (ESPN-HD) without a settop box?? Not sure what capabilities the QAM tuner affords.
Thanks,

Randy

ESPN-HD is more than likely encrypted - it certainly is on TWC. QAM only tunes unencrypted digital cable channels, which is usually just the locals in HD, but in some markets a bit more.

Westinghouse 42w2 1.00 | TiVo HD 1TB | Sony DVP-NS70H | Panasonic SA-XR55 | Paradigm Monitor 9 & CC-350 v1 | Harmony 676 | Vista MCE HTPC
mikea28 is offline  
post #108 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 04:52 PM
Member
 
thetooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Utah
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is an answer to an off-topic question.... Where do the returns go????

Here in Utah they go to a company that holds a sale every week. It is basically 25% warehouse price. (not sure if I can post the name) One nice thing about the company is that they also are an electronics repair place so if it was broken then it is fixed before they sell.... this company also sells on the online auction place.

It is so funny, when you walk in you immediately notice the "kirkland" toliet paper (I guess people really do take that stuff back) They even had that pricey Spa in there once. I just got that big tool chest, only had a few nicks in the bottom. The guy told me that they also get damaged stuff not just returns... so if I were to see a forklift guy drop a pallet of canned corn, I would see it there the next week for 25% less.(sometimes you can haggle)

Sorry if this wasn't allowed just wanted to share some knowledge.
thetooth is offline  
post #109 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Gibson lp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other news about them pulling these sets from the shelvs??? My 2 costcos dont even have them in yet, Im tired of wating!!!
Gibson lp is offline  
post #110 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 05:17 PM
Member
 
notebook_gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought one today at the Brooklyn Costco...and they had 5 more on the floor. I love this TV. I had the 32" Philips LCD TV before and this is definately an upgrade and a half!!! The PQ is far superior especially on SD. I am using a scientific explorer 8300 HD DVR set top box from cablevision...and the remote on auto search found a code to use the TV...that made me even more ecstatic...now if anyone has any input on what the optimal settings are for PQ let us know because I have zero time to play with it!!! All questions welcomed...I also played my xbox 360 on it and it was glorious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cheers
notebook_gamer is offline  
post #111 of 2109 Old 07-26-2006, 09:13 PM
Member
 
notebook_gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent you a PM...due to forum rules discussing pricing and coupons...
cheers
notebook_gamer is offline  
post #112 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 06:24 AM
Member
 
bravomail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try L37 settings from Vizio L37 thread. They didn't excite me though. Anyone has this subjective perception. So just try presets first, then try custom mode. Ever been to oftalmologist? Try every setting gradually and see if picture is better. But - use one consistent source, so you won't be fooled by changing source quality. Use DVD or VHS-tape and rewind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by notebook_gamer View Post

now if anyone has any input on what the optimal settings are for PQ let us know because I have zero time to play with it!!!

bravomail is offline  
post #113 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Triangel7D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting close to getting a nice set of settings I like, but I'm waiting for my THX blue filters to come in the mail so I can get the color and tint right. I'll post once I have them set.

I don't think the L37 settings are going to work. This is a very different set. Also, the easiest way to set a TV is with the THX optimizer on The Incredibles or Toy Story DVDs. Having tried Avia now, I actually think THX is much easier and more precise.
Triangel7D is offline  
post #114 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
blindbartimaeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to the QAM tuner capabilities. If I get an HD package from Direct TV would I be able to get HD on an extra TV because of the QAM and use the set top to my 27" LCD in my office?
blindbartimaeus is offline  
post #115 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Odessit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just went to Costco in Cincinnati. They have 3 on floor and plenty on shelves.
Odessit is offline  
post #116 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 04:28 PM
Member
 
yancantcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally picked one up at a costco in delaware, Philly KOP and NJ costcos refused to sell me the tv before the sale

tv is awesome, a big step up from my 42'' panny EDTV plasma.

Still trying to figure out the harmony 880 though.

does anyone have the calibration done yet? mind putting up the settings?
yancantcook is offline  
post #117 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 04:36 PM
Member
 
yancantcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone figured out which settings to use for the logitech harmony remotes?

this model is not listed on the website yet
yancantcook is offline  
post #118 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mikea28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triangel7D View Post

I'm getting close to getting a nice set of settings I like, but I'm waiting for my THX blue filters to come in the mail so I can get the color and tint right. I'll post once I have them set.

I don't think the L37 settings are going to work. This is a very different set. Also, the easiest way to set a TV is with the THX optimizer on The Incredibles or Toy Story DVDs. Having tried Avia now, I actually think THX is much easier and more precise.

The THX Optimizer is probably easier, but neither as accurate nor as precise nor as thorough. The THX patterns actually vary somewhat from disc to disc, which of course makes a consistent and proper calibration impossible. Furthermore, there are a lot fewer patterns, meaning fewer adjustments are tweaked - of course, this is precisely what makes it easier to use. Avia or DVE is definitely the way to go. Or if you already know what you're doing, GetGray's Calibration DVD (see the calibration forum).

I also would like to note to everyone asking for calibration settings that there is not one perfect set of calibration settings/parameters because every set is going to be different and it's somewhat subjective anyways.

Now if an actual pro calibrator (or someone that's had a pro come in and tweak their set) were to post some settings, I'd say that'd be a damn good starting point. Fortunately, digital display technologies don't vary quite as much as analog (even HD) CRTs.

Westinghouse 42w2 1.00 | TiVo HD 1TB | Sony DVP-NS70H | Panasonic SA-XR55 | Paradigm Monitor 9 & CC-350 v1 | Harmony 676 | Vista MCE HTPC
mikea28 is offline  
post #119 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mikea28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yancantcook View Post

has anyone figured out which settings to use for the logitech harmony remotes?

this model is not listed on the website yet

i would bet money that this TV uses the same remote codes as other Vizio TV's. Try one of those and don't forget to decrease you're repeats and interkey/interdevice delays to the lowest that will still work with your setup.

Westinghouse 42w2 1.00 | TiVo HD 1TB | Sony DVP-NS70H | Panasonic SA-XR55 | Paradigm Monitor 9 & CC-350 v1 | Harmony 676 | Vista MCE HTPC
mikea28 is offline  
post #120 of 2109 Old 07-27-2006, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Harden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Costco in Northern VA had 52 on the shelves in anticipation for the flood.
Harden is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off