Official SHARP 37D90U thread! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1314 Old 08-02-2006, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I'm tired of digging thru the 2006 Sharp Aquos line thread to find info.
The 37D90U deserves it's own thread - owners rejoice!!! : )

>>>PLEASE POST CALIBRATION, PHOTOS, WHATEVER!!!!!
helvetica bold is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1314 Old 08-02-2006, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

I'm tired of digging thru the 2006 Sharp Aquos line thread to find info.
The 37D90U deserves it's own thread - owners rejoice!!! : )

>>>PLEASE POST CALIBRATION, PHOTOS, WHATEVER!!!!!

nice...

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #3 of 1314 Old 08-02-2006, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Desktop 1080p - dot by dot.


日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #4 of 1314 Old 08-02-2006, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
On CNET they claim the Sharp's most accurate color-temperature mode is low.
CNET claims it's close to the 6500K standard... When I have it set to low the PQ has a pinkish hue...

Any thoughts?

Also, I would like to see some Xbox 360 calibration specs - the more detailed the better.
I will post mine soon - still adjusting...
helvetica bold is online now  
post #5 of 1314 Old 08-02-2006, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Also, I would like to see some Xbox 360 calibration specs - the more detailed the better.
I will post mine soon - still adjusting...

I'll try to take some xbox_360 pics this weekend...

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #6 of 1314 Old 08-03-2006, 10:26 AM
Member
 
bile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know the service menu codes? I've not tried the older ones yet. Any recommended settings for playing older game machines on it?
bile is offline  
post #7 of 1314 Old 08-03-2006, 04:24 PM
Member
 
bile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK... it's the same as
http://www.bruzzi.ws/plasma-faq/showthread.php?t=153

Though most of the options I dont understand. Anyone with a Sharp service manual?
bile is offline  
post #8 of 1314 Old 08-03-2006, 08:28 PM
Member
 
DrizztD0Urden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: I have an ATI 9800 AIW pro, and the 1080p allignment was to the right aprox 1" at 1:1. So I used Powerstrip for a while, which worked fine, but I just DL'd the latest Catalyst drivers, and that fixes everything without the need for Powerstrip. You just have to play around a bit in Catalyst. I'm not sure which fixed it, but I unclicked "Reduce DVI frequency on high res displays", and unclicked "alternate DVI operational mode"
DrizztD0Urden is offline  
post #9 of 1314 Old 08-03-2006, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrizztD0Urden View Post

FYI: I have an ATI 9800 AIW pro, and the 1080p allignment was to the right aprox 1" at 1:1. So I used Powerstrip for a while, which worked fine, but I just DL'd the latest Catalyst drivers, and that fixes everything without the need for Powerstrip. You just have to play around a bit in Catalyst. I'm not sure which fixed it, but I unclicked "Reduce DVI frequency on high res displays", and unclicked "alternate DVI operational mode"

yep...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8137636

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #10 of 1314 Old 08-08-2006, 10:29 AM
Member
 
bile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've a couple dead and a few stuck pixels on my new LC37D90U. Called Sharp and the dispatch guy discribed how they have a way to determine the severity. They take the center of the screen and define an 'A' and 'B' section. 'A' being the center and some box around that... 'B' appears to be everything outside that box. No dead/stuck pixels are allowed inside 'A'... and upto 8 in 'B'. I have a dead and stuck pixel fairly close to center to the right a bit. I'm hoping it's in reigon 'A'. I've counted 8 total so far but half are hard to find without being close so i'm not concerned with them. In anycase... does anyone know the values they use to determine reigon 'A'?
bile is offline  
post #11 of 1314 Old 08-08-2006, 10:44 AM
Member
 
DrizztD0Urden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure about the regions, but my first D90 had 4 (3 bright white in the center, 1 blue off to the side). So I took it back to A&B and they replaced it. This one has 2 light blue, 1 center, one center-sideish. I'll keep this one though I think.
DrizztD0Urden is offline  
post #12 of 1314 Old 08-12-2006, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
d-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Long-time lurker on the forums in general, first time poster and glad someone started this thread. Just made the jump and got a the lc37d90u to replace my 15 year old CRT 19". Wow. Picture is great.

i've spent a few hours elsewhere in the fora trying to find answers to the following questions but to no avail. So while I realize the answer may be obvious, I'd be grateful for some guidance.

Question 1. My "widescreen" DVDs only play widescreen if I use the upconverting function on my DVD player to 720p or 1080i. Is that normal? Why don't they play widescreen at 480?

Question 2. The widescreen DVDs that are not labelled as anamorphic when played as described above have black bars surrounding them on all sides at both 720 and 1080i.

Any thoughts?

I'm using a Samsung upconverting DVD player connected via HDMI.
d-man is offline  
post #13 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alexb76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering 90U...and need some help (versus 40U).

1. Like to know if 1080P output of a PC makes everything too small or not? Does the 37" make up the diff? This would become my main PC monitor and I intend to sit at a 6' distance and use wireless kb/mouse... would the pic be decent to work for few hrs at a time?

2. How does it show SD? Cause at that high of a resolution I assume SD gonna be pretty crappy.

3. Any PQ diff vs. 40U, apart from 1080P? I was not able to view side-by-side... but separately viewin em was not that big a diff... anyone compared directly?

Thnx

Pioneer Elite Kuro 111FD, Elite BDP-05FD, Elite 72TXV, B&W 805/XTC/M1.
alexb76 is offline  
post #14 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb76 View Post

I am considering 90U...and need some help (versus 40U).

1. Like to know if 1080P output of a PC makes everything too small or not? Does the 37" make up the diff? This would become my main PC monitor and I intend to sit at a 6' distance and use wireless kb/mouse... would the pic be decent to work for few hrs at a time?

2. How does it show SD? Cause at that high of a resolution I assume SD gonna be pretty crappy.

3. Any PQ diff vs. 40U, apart from 1080P? I was not able to view side-by-side... but separately viewin em was not that big a diff... anyone compared directly?

Thnx

alexb76,

regarding PC and 1080p, check the pic at the top of this thread... also, for more details, check the following thread---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=661832

What's more, SD looks very good on the 37D90U...

Hope that helps...

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #15 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alexb76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohi View Post

alexb76,

regarding PC and 1080p, check the pic at the top of this thread... also, for more details, check the following thread---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=661832

What's more, SD looks very good on the 37D90U...

Hope that helps...

Thnx man... the pic I saw, looks great... but was wondering if text on the internet or in word documents become too small to work on?

Also, in playing games if one sets the game resolution to 1024*768... how does it interpolate?

Pioneer Elite Kuro 111FD, Elite BDP-05FD, Elite 72TXV, B&W 805/XTC/M1.
alexb76 is offline  
post #16 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcarr316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb76 View Post

Thnx man... the pic I saw, looks great... but was wondering if text on the internet or in word documents become too small to work on?

My guess would be that reading text from farther than 6 feet is going to be tough in 1080P mode. I have a 45" at work that I can put in 1080i mode and it is barely readable.

I just got the 37D90U for home so expect me on this thread quite a bit. I'd appreciate some different calibration settings since I don't have a calibration disc. Anyone?
rjcarr316 is offline  
post #17 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb76 View Post

Thnx man... the pic I saw, looks great... but was wondering if text on the internet or in word documents become too small to work on?

Also, in playing games if one sets the game resolution to 1024*768... how does it interpolate?

Setting the desktop DPI to Large 120dpi, or higher, instead of Normal 96dpi from "Display Properties/Settings/Advanced" helps. What's more, if using Firefox, "ctrl +" can be used to increase the font size...

Regarding the game resolution, I wouldn't know.

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #18 of 1314 Old 08-14-2006, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcarr316 View Post

My guess would be that reading text from farther than 6 feet is going to be tough in 1080P mode. I have a 45" at work that I can put in 1080i mode and it is barely readable.

I just got the 37D90U for home so expect me on this thread quite a bit. I'd appreciate some different calibration settings since I don't have a calibration disc. Anyone?

try searching this thread for contrast---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=661832

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #19 of 1314 Old 08-16-2006, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alexb76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone please try multiple PC resolutions via DVI and tell me what happens?

I just wanna know what happens if u set ur desktop to 1280*720 (or 1024*768) and do a dot-by-dot? Is it gonna be black? Shrinked? Stretched to 1080? Black bars?

This is critical as 1080P resolution is extremely high for game playing and I wanna know if one can set resolution to a lower res and play.

Appreciate any help!

Thnx

Pioneer Elite Kuro 111FD, Elite BDP-05FD, Elite 72TXV, B&W 805/XTC/M1.
alexb76 is offline  
post #20 of 1314 Old 08-16-2006, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcarr316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb76 View Post

Can anyone please try multiple PC resolutions via DVI and tell me what happens?

I just wanna know what happens if u set ur desktop to 1280*720 (or 1024*768) and do a dot-by-dot? Is it gonna be black? Shrinked? Stretched to 1080? Black bars?

I don't have the 90U but I do have a 45" 40U (at work) and I'm almost certain that when I do 1280 x 720 and "dot by dot" it stretches to full screen, even though that isn't what I'd expect. I'd expect it to do a black box around the picture, but I don't remember that.

I'll double-check tomorrow and repost if something comes up different.
rjcarr316 is offline  
post #21 of 1314 Old 08-16-2006, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alexb76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcarr316 View Post

I don't have the 90U but I do have a 45" 40U (at work) and I'm almost certain that when I do 1280 x 720 and "dot by dot" it stretches to full screen, even though that is what I'd expect. I'd expect it to do a black box around the picture, but I don't remember that.

I'll double-check tomorrow and repost if something comes up different.

Thanks a lot man... I've heard 90U is a bit different... but even checking the 45" helps too... I wish manual explained it.

Pioneer Elite Kuro 111FD, Elite BDP-05FD, Elite 72TXV, B&W 805/XTC/M1.
alexb76 is offline  
post #22 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
rjcarr316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I'm going to give you all the gory details. Again, this is a D40U attached to an intel mac mini via DVI.

When set to 1920 x 1080 (interlace mode, the TV doesn't accept progressive), and overscan set to on, and in "dot by dot", the display is perfectly centered. With overscan off on and "dot by dot" the display is centered in the middle with a fairly substantial black border, I'd say 2-3 inches.

Now onto your question. When set to 1280 x 720 there is no "dot by dot" option, only "stretch" (I remember reading this in the manual now ... the view mode options change depending on the source). And again, overscan off has a border, but this time with overscan on it truly overscans ... about 2-3 inches of the display is cut off.

When set to 720 x 480 I now get four "view mode" options, which are: side bar, s. stretch, zoom, and stretch. And whether overscan is on or off, the display doesn't fit the screen perfectly in any view mode.

I'm getting a D90U sometime next week so I can test on that then, but I'd assume it to be similar. Also note, I think the source makes a big difference too, as when I was driving this thing with my powerbook (12" G4) I was getting different results.

For example, with the mac mini, when I first turn on the computer and the display in 1080i dot by dot, the display is shifted down a bit and cut off, by maybe 20 pixels or so. To fix this, I have to go into the display options, turn overscan off (which puts that large border around it) and then turn overscan back on, and then the display is perfectly centered (and looks great).

I don't remember having to do this in my (admittedly brief) powerbook tests. So your mileage may very depending on what is driving the signal.

Anyone else seen anything similar to what I see?
rjcarr316 is offline  
post #23 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 11:37 AM
Member
 
vikajakub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, since I will watch 90% Comcast cable ( Florida, 33442 zip) in SD- how does that set work on SD cable signal. Any other LCD tv I have seen so far was snowy and/or grainy on SD. I am sitting here with my credit card ready to buy, but that issue scares me a bit:-) One more, why would Sharp quit installing Cable Cards in new sets (37D7U had it). I thought all TVs had to be equiped in it by US standards this year. Thanks for your thougths.
vikajakub is offline  
post #24 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikajakub View Post

Hey guys, since I will watch 90% Comcast cable ( Florida, 33442 zip) in SD- how does that set work on SD cable signal. Any other LCD tv I have seen so far was snowy and/or grainy on SD. I am sitting here with my credit card ready to buy, but that issue scares me a bit:-) One more, why would Sharp quit installing Cable Cards in new sets (37D7U had it). I thought all TVs had to be equiped in it by US standards this year. Thanks for your thougths.

Because many cable companies in the U.S, halfheartedly supported it; there have been many technical glitches, and at this time it's a one-way technology - no ability to order and control Pay Per View, VOD, etc.

And it's an additional expense!

Most are waiting for a two-system to be implemented.

Hope this helps.

Gary
SnellKrell is offline  
post #25 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
kohi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikajakub View Post

Hey guys, since I will watch 90% Comcast cable ( Florida, 33442 zip) in SD- how does that set work on SD cable signal. Any other LCD tv I have seen so far was snowy and/or grainy on SD. I am sitting here with my credit card ready to buy, but that issue scares me a bit:-) One more, why would Sharp quit installing Cable Cards in new sets (37D7U had it). I thought all TVs had to be equiped in it by US standards this year. Thanks for your thougths.

SD looks very good on this set...

日本語の学生
kohi is offline  
post #26 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alexb76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcarr316 View Post

Okay, I'm going to give you all the gory details. Again, this is a D40U attached to an intel mac mini via DVI.

When set to 1920 x 1080 (interlace mode, the TV doesn't accept progressive), and overscan set to on, and in "dot by dot", the display is perfectly centered. With overscan off on and "dot by dot" the display is centered in the middle with a fairly substantial black border, I'd say 2-3 inches.

Now onto your question. When set to 1280 x 720 there is no "dot by dot" option, only "stretch" (I remember reading this in the manual now ... the view mode options change depending on the source). And again, overscan off has a border, but this time with overscan on it truly overscans ... about 2-3 inches of the display is cut off.

When set to 720 x 480 I now get four "view mode" options, which are: side bar, s. stretch, zoom, and stretch. And whether overscan is on or off, the display doesn't fit the screen perfectly in any view mode.

I'm getting a D90U sometime next week so I can test on that then, but I'd assume it to be similar. Also note, I think the source makes a big difference too, as when I was driving this thing with my powerbook (12" G4) I was getting different results.

For example, with the mac mini, when I first turn on the computer and the display in 1080i dot by dot, the display is shifted down a bit and cut off, by maybe 20 pixels or so. To fix this, I have to go into the display options, turn overscan off (which puts that large border around it) and then turn overscan back on, and then the display is perfectly centered (and looks great).

I don't remember having to do this in my (admittedly brief) powerbook tests. So your mileage may very depending on what is driving the signal.

Anyone else seen anything similar to what I see?

Thanks a lot dude! Would be great to know what happens with 90U, this is promising though.

Now, after all those tests, which was the best for internet, text mode? I believe any kind of stretch will diminish text clarity.

Thnx again, looking forward to ur 90U tests!!!

Pioneer Elite Kuro 111FD, Elite BDP-05FD, Elite 72TXV, B&W 805/XTC/M1.
alexb76 is offline  
post #27 of 1314 Old 08-17-2006, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcarr316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb76 View Post

Now, after all those tests, which was the best for internet, text mode? I believe any kind of stretch will diminish text clarity.

Yeah ... quality isn't so great when smaller than native, and I can't get it to fit the screen anyway. I would recommend running the display at native resolution and just bumping up the font size in your browser, although 45" is pretty readable (mounted on my wall at work, probably 8 feet away), 37" probably wouldn't be.

And a quick update ... after writing the previous post I did a system update on my mac mini and now it perfectly centers the display the first time. Gotta love software updates.
rjcarr316 is offline  
post #28 of 1314 Old 08-20-2006, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OP, can you please amend the title of this thread to include "Sharp LC-37D90U"?

It would make it much easier for people doing searches to find. Thanks.
maveric23 is offline  
post #29 of 1314 Old 08-23-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
bile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some extensive testing of videogame consoles on my LC37D90U tonight.

Definitions:
Jumps: The whole image jumps up and down, including any overlays (menu, etc) by several pixels. It's worse with Quick Shot on. Causes the image to be blurry and just simply annoying.
Good: Things work fine

NES: Composite : Looks bad, better with QS on, otherwise fine
SNES: S-Video & Composite : Good, very faint ghosting which seem to go away with QS on
N64 : S-Video & Composite : Jumps, would look very good otherwise
Gamecube: Component : looks great, depends on game, 480P obviously nicer looking
Xbox : Component : Looks good... especially 720P and 1080P
Saturn : S-Video & Composite : jumps, would look good otherwise
Dreamcast : S-Video : all Good
3DO : S-Video : all good
NeoGeo CD : S-Video : jumps, would look very clean otherwise
Turbo Duo : Composite : jumps, probably look good otherwise
PSone : Composite : jumps, very blurry
PS2 : Component : very clear, PS1 games almost too clear
Phillips CD-I 220 : S-Video : good, very clear

Couldn't test Sega Master System, Sega Genesis, Atari Jaguar. Don't have composite or s-video cables for them ATM. Didn't bother testing anything which didn't have at least composite.

Main Version: 1.09 (U 2006/04/28 1)
BOOT Version: OLYMB1.00

I'm getting this TV replaced Friday so if the version is different I'll try things again and post if different.
bile is offline  
post #30 of 1314 Old 08-25-2006, 08:06 AM
Member
 
jvargasg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anybody know where to get this set at a good price and with good warranty?

I've fouond several stores got it for under 2k but don't know their reputation. I personally rather buy at costco but they don't carry it.

since this set been out there for quite a while, is there any new models coming out, on this size and 1080P? I like Sharp personally one of the best brands for LCD
jvargasg is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off