Official Sony 40",46" XBR2, XBR3 - Owner's Thread - Page 57 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Juelz09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCriss View Post

Ok. Just to humor you, I did the search. One hit, post #1261.

Now humor me. Show me where someone answered the question.

- msc


Burn, nice comeback
Juelz09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emotep View Post

You could always just plug your PC into the XBR2s VGA port and game on your PC (therefore negating the need for an Xbox 360 since so many 360 games are ported to the PC)

Oh no .... what have you done


True or not, I don't really have plans for putting together a PC beefy enough to offer similar graphics in the near future.
Raistlin_HT is offline  
post #1683 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Asuripa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my XBR3 46 and the pic is amazing, but want to get the set tuned, wondering if anyone has the settings that they could send me or tell me where to find them.
Asuripa is offline  
post #1684 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
timothias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asuripa View Post

Just got my XBR3 46 and the pic is amazing, but want to get the set tuned, wondering if anyone has the settings that they could send me or tell me where to find them.

This thread has a bunch of settings from different users. It's a good starting point.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=720727

PSN and XBox Live gamertag: JonesJohnson

Format Neutrality = Best
timothias is offline  
post #1685 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
tjclark805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When my Sony 40" XBR2 is displaying HD in the wide format there are gray colored bands at the top and the bottom of the picture. I'd like the bands to be black instead so that they blend in better with the background. I can't find a setting on the menu to change the color. Any ideas?

Thanks
tjclark805 is offline  
post #1686 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Node's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So we have confirmed that this 360 nonsense is definitely not the XBR2's fault?
Node is offline  
post #1687 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Ellisfsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK...I mounted my 46xbr2 on my wall at a slight tilt. The pic is great, both SD and HD. However the clouding due to uneven backlighting is troubling. It is readily obvious during any dark scene. I don't think this should be the case for a TV like this. Is this clouding normal? Could it be the result of any setting? Any insight is greatly appreciated. --Andy
Ellisfsu is offline  
post #1688 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Node View Post

So we have confirmed that this 360 nonsense is definitely not the XBR2's fault?

Yes (if the info I posted is correct).
Raistlin_HT is offline  
post #1689 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellisfsu View Post

OK...I mounted my 46xbr2 on my wall at a slight tilt. The pic is great, both SD and HD. However the clouding due to uneven backlighting is troubling. It is readily obvious during any dark scene. I don't think this should be the case for a TV like this. Is this clouding normal? Could it be the result of any setting? Any insight is greatly appreciated. --Andy

I too have clouding. I don't think it's related to any setting. The clouding is most noticeable on an input when the device attached to that input is off. For example, I have my DCT6200 connected to input 8. When the cable box is off the clouding is very obvious against the black background. When watching programming I don't see any clouds unless there's a black background or the show is 4:3. I can see clouding on the vertical black bars on the left and right. The fade out before a block of commercials as well. Troubling. Can anyone else chime in on this issue?
swizzir is offline  
post #1690 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
jman069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think almost all of these have uneven backlight on a blank screen but I have never noticed it on a movie or tv show. To be clear on what I see if a tv show or movie shows a total black seen you cannot see it but if you have the tv on and no signal running to it then you can see it. TO me since it does not show up (at least on mine) when you have signal running to it, it's not an issue and believe me I have looked for it to show since it's less than a week old.

Thanks,

J

jman069 is offline  
post #1691 of 3416 Old 11-02-2006, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It doesn't bother me too much either, yet, since it's the most predominate when there's no signal. But knowing that it's there makes me obsess and look for it at times. I do notice it during darks scenes in TV shows. I only got the TV yesterday and haven't watched a movie yet. I just want to get a general consensus from XBR2 owners to see if this is more than an isolated problem. For three-and-a-half grand if this is a problem I want it fixed.
swizzir is offline  
post #1692 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 04:24 AM
Member
 
supercomando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzir View Post

It doesn't bother me too much either, yet, since it's the most predominate when there's no signal. But knowing that it's there makes me obsess and look for it at times. I do notice it during darks scenes in TV shows. I only got the TV yesterday and haven't watched a movie yet. I just want to get a general consensus from XBR2 owners to see if this is more than an isolated problem. For three-and-a-half grand if this is a problem I want it fixed.

My 46" XBR3 has that. I was going to exchange it but when I went back to Tweeter the salesman I bought it from said he sold one to someone else and he had the same problem and exchanged it and that one was worse than the first one. My patches were mostly on the right side half way up or so. I used a microfiber cloth and rubbed on the screen and got it to even out pretty good. Also at night if I am watching it in the dark I turn the backlight down to minimum. So after over a month its looking much better than when I first turned it on.
supercomando is offline  
post #1693 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
TV Casualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the clouding as well...probably going to take my XBR2 back today and see if I can hit upon one where it isn't as bad. It's really not hurting the picture when I'm playing/watching something (that I've noticed so far), but keep in mind I've only had it a week. I'm not a big fan of the motion blur I'm getting on this set, the Sharp I had previously seemed better. Since the picture and color accuracy seem really nice though I'm going to give it another shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emotep View Post

You could always just plug your PC into the XBR2s VGA port and game on your PC (therefore negating the need for an Xbox 360 since so many 360 games are ported to the PC)

Cool, no need to buy a PS3 either then, since most of it's good games are available on the 360, so many of them should be available on the PC as well, huh? Clearly, spending $800-1000+ for a gaming PC is more cost effective for gaming than a $600 PS3 or $400 XBox....especially when the graphical differences are minimal at most.

We do not train to be merciful here.
TV Casualty is offline  
post #1694 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
phantomhitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it works with the new Samsungs (that support 1080p over component, hdmi, and vga), you know, the ones they have deals with to advertise
Some westinghouse tv can get it to work over vga but not component, others are stating some gateway monitors work as well. But the new Sammys are having the best luck.
phantomhitman is offline  
post #1695 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Stupac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PS3 display in New York used only XBR2/3's and they looked pretty cool.

I think you can find the pics and video over at http://www.engadget.com/
Stupac is offline  
post #1696 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blklacker View Post

Does the 360 1080p update work on any 1080p tv?? So far I havent heard in comformation that anyone has gotten this to work....

1080p works on the Westinghouse 47" using component or VGA.


Test Your Display,
Tips for Large Monitor Use
: 720p, 1080p Test Patterns, Tips Just Click Here
JackLT is offline  
post #1697 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
phantomhitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jack, what is the model number for the westys that do work?
phantomhitman is offline  
post #1698 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Ellisfsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, I guess I am going to take the XBR2 back because of the uneven backlighting. Even my wife, who can barely distinguish color sets from there black and white counterparts, says she is irritated with it during dark scenes.

Question is, do I just have a bad copy or should I get a different brand/model entirely?
Ellisfsu is offline  
post #1699 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Lumpydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ellis:

If your wife can tell, that's a red flag. I'd tend to think that, if the issue is bad enough where a casual viewer comments on it, it's a bad set. Not the result of being over critical (which is a problem that stems from reading these boards!)

I'd try another one first - you did your research and chose this set. Give it one more chance.

-Lumpy-
Lumpydog is offline  
post #1700 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellisfsu View Post

Alright, I guess I am going to take the XBR2 back because of the uneven backlighting. Even my wife, who can barely distinguish color sets from there black and white counterparts, says she is irritated with it during dark scenes.

Question is, do I just have a bad copy or should I get a different brand/model entirely?

Have you tried turning your backlight down. I did this and it helped.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #1701 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen the problem referred to as "uneven backlighting", "backlight leakage", or "cloudy." I have it on my 46XBR2 that I've had for only a couple days. There's a few threads about the issue.

From what I've read Sony and Samsung use the same LCDs for their 46" and higher models so the problem affects both. The problem with exchanging your TV for the same model is that there is no guarantee that the new TV will not have the same problem (one poster says he's on his third Samsung and still having the same problem). It could be better or worse than your existing TV.

I'm going to talk to my sales guy today and show him some pictures and see what he thinks. It doesn't bother me too much but knowing that it's there on such an expensive TV irks me at times.
swizzir is offline  
post #1702 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't post the links to the forums until I had 5 posts. Now I have 5 and here's the links

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=8622499

and

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=738617

with some pictures here

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8622499
swizzir is offline  
post #1703 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Ellisfsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the replies and links to other threads. I really wouldn't care if it weren't visiable during regular viewing. I am going to swap it out for another xbr2 and I'll let you know how the new copy performs.
Ellisfsu is offline  
post #1704 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 01:46 PM
MPF
Newbie
 
MPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone played around with using HDMI with a PC and examined Video quality? As I am tinkering around with this I have been able to get good text quality, but am having difficulty with what I believe may be produced by the HTPC displaying in the PC colorspace (0-255) and the LCD processing in Video (16-235) colorspace.

I have outlined my issue in another forum (W/Pics) is anyone here having similar issues or could lend assistance?
Link to site:

Uhg... At post 4... Sorry link in next post...
MPF is offline  
post #1705 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 01:49 PM
MPF
Newbie
 
MPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One More...
MPF is offline  
post #1706 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 01:49 PM
MPF
Newbie
 
MPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MPF is offline  
post #1707 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
patreyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzir View Post

I've seen the problem referred to as "uneven backlighting", "backlight leakage", or "cloudy." I have it on my 46XBR2 that I've had for only a couple days. There's a few threads about the issue.

From what I've read Sony and Samsung use the same LCDs for their 46" and higher models so the problem affects both. The problem with exchanging your TV for the same model is that there is no guarantee that the new TV will not have the same problem (one poster says he's on his third Samsung and still having the same problem). It could be better or worse than your existing TV.

I'm going to talk to my sales guy today and show him some pictures and see what he thinks. It doesn't bother me too much but knowing that it's there on such an expensive TV irks me at times.


Has any seen the problem on the 40" XBR2. I'm got that at the top of my list but don't want to pull the trigger if there are problems. I know my wife will see it.
patreyus is offline  
post #1708 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Gad Zookz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackLT View Post

1080p works on the Westinghouse 47" using component or VGA.

Has Microsoft published anything about LCD TVs that are supported or not supported and why? I assume all XBR2/3 models are affected.

I was going to do the firmware upgrade this weekend for my XBR3 but there isn't much point until MS has a fix.

If this only ends up working on a couple of brands, it will not go over very well with the 360 crowd at all.

Never Fully Here
Gad Zookz is offline  
post #1709 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
tostitobandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by patreyus View Post

Has any seen the problem on the 40" XBR2. I'm got that at the top of my list but don't want to pull the trigger if there are problems. I know my wife will see it.

I think most LCD's do to some extent. It's very difficult to get the backlighting perfectly uniform and even more difficult to do it on every single panel. If I look VERY closely at my 46 I can see a bit of extra brightness near the corners with no input, but this is not visible at all at normal settings or when there is any kind of video on the screen. Of course, occasionally panels have more severe backlight issues, but they would be considered defective and not indicative of the "normal" sets. From everything I have read, and from my personal experience, I think it is safe to say that the vast majority of these sets have backlights with acceptable uniformity. I don't think it is quite reasonable to expect a "perfect" set in that respect and if you go into this expecting that it is going to take you years to find a set that satisfies you.
tostitobandito is offline  
post #1710 of 3416 Old 11-03-2006, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
hey guys well i want to buy the 46'' KDL46XBR2 from costco , what i want?

i want as best quality as i can get compared to my f38310 38'' crt tube rca

now what i heard is that the biggest 1080p tv's are 46'' i also wanted from costco's line up so bottom line is this tv any good or better then my rca f38310 38'' widescreen hd 1080i?

i need a

*big screen * ( was expecting atlest 50'')

pc connections * ( i heard theirs alot of ways of connecting to a pc?)

hdmi ports ( for [ps3)

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u(r.i.p)Samsung 51f4500
XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Kds R70xbr2 70 Inch Sxrd Xbr Rear Projection Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 46xbr2 46 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 46xbr2 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off