Official Sony 40",46" XBR2, XBR3 - Owner's Thread - Page 59 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 12:33 PM
Member
 
jaguar325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with my 46" XBR2 LCD used in conjunction with a DirecTV HR10-250. I posted the following message on the HD/TiVo forum but, since this may be TV-related, I'm posting it here as well.

I've got a problem with my HR10-250, purchased in September. When watching a movie with a lot of action (explosions, bright colors with a lot of movement, etc.) on my new Sony 46XBR LCD, the screen will intermittently go blank and sound stops. This set is hooked up with component video and a composite stereo connection. The interruptions last a few seconds, then the picture and sound come back. During extended action scenes, this can happen multiple times with less than a minute between interruptions. Funny thing is, my older CRT TV (hooked up via S-video) and DD receiver hooked up in another room to the HR10-250 continue to show the video and play the sound without a problem.

I have mostly noticed this when watching recorded movies (the two that were the worst came off of Showtime HD). I told my wife that I had narrowed it down to recorded shows only.. but right after saying this, it happened on a live TV show (not sure if it was truly live or a few minutes behind because one of us had hit the pause button). I thought maybe there was a problem with the amount of information my TV was trying to process so I turned the picture quality down from 1080i to 480i, 480p and 720p but it made no difference. I swapped component video cables and inputs on the LCD TV but this made no difference. I thought maybe the harddrive was going bad or at least performing poorly but don't understand how it would be able to continue to produce S-video and DD sound in the other room.

Have some of you who are dealing with the infamous DD audio dropouts been losing your puicture too? If this were associated with DD drop-out, why would I be losing picture/sound on the TV with no DD connection and the sound/picture continues to play in the room with DD and a CRT TV hooked up via S-video? I doubt this has to do with the TV and am wondering whether it could be the HD processing in the HR10-250? They are sending a replacement out to my house.. not sure if this will fix the problem. Any help/suggestions welcome.

Thanks!
jaguar325 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 12:49 PM
Newbie
 
Ckage83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumpydog View Post

I know that the XBR2/3 do not accept the XBox 360's 1080p output via VGA (Grrr).

Question: What about 1080i via XBox 360's VGA? Does this work?

-Lumpy-

Wait wait............so when I goto the store this week to get my 46-XBR2 I won't be able to play my xbox360 on it?? What the holy hell. Someone reccomend me a TV that will support avid game play, normal DVDs and normal tv watching with some HD channels.
Ckage83 is offline  
post #1743 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
phantomhitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had no sound or video issues, time warner cable box and no issues with dvds and optical output.
phantomhitman is offline  
post #1744 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Ellisfsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzir View Post

So you still see some clouding? How much and where? Is it prominent? I'm trying to decide if mine really annoys me that much. What's the manufacture date of yours? I think it's printed on a sticker on the back. I wonder if we can examine serial numbers to figure out where these TV's start getting better in regards to clouding.

Sorry for the delay...There is a TINY amount of clouding in the upper left hand corner. However, it is so faint, it is almost undetectable. Even in vivid mode, I doubt I could photograph the set in such a way to even show the clouding.

There is no way you could see the clouding during normal viewing. My previous xbr2 was noticable during any dark scenes. I am very picky and this clouding doesn't bother me in the least.

I will check the manufacture date and serial # when I get home this evening for comparison purposes.
Ellisfsu is offline  
post #1745 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Juelz09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sooo Is It Gonna Be Any New Update For 360 Babe
Juelz09 is offline  
post #1746 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Badom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomhitman View Post

- KDL-40XBR3
- KDL-40XBR2
- KDL-40V2500
Between those 3 is not much of a difference.
the xbr2 and xbr3 are exactly the same with one exception, the color of the bezel. The 2 is silver and the 3 is black.
The v2500 is the same as the xbr except the processor/engine of the tv. Some of the ports are gimped as well, such as the vga port on the v2500 is not 1080p. The v2500 doesnt have the "special features" of the xbr which does not make that much of a difference unless you are purchashing a bluray or hddvd player as well.
Hope that helps, other owners will post info as well.

Thanks for this helpful answer. As I intend to use it with a PS3, or a XBOX360, it may worth the price to buy a XBR2 ? Or do you think a V2500 should be enough to play and watch some DVDs ?
Badom is offline  
post #1747 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 01:57 PM
Member
 
andrewjnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Village NYC
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ckage83 View Post

Wait wait............so when I goto the store this week to get my 46-XBR2 I won't be able to play my xbox360 on it?? What the holy hell. Someone reccomend me a TV that will support avid game play, normal DVDs and normal tv watching with some HD channels.

You'll totally be able to use the XBR2 with the Xbox 360 in 480p/720p/1080i via either component or VGA, and it'll look fantastic. 1080p over VGA is the only problem area, and I expect MS will sooner or later (hopefully sooner!) release a patch to address the issue.
andrewjnyc is offline  
post #1748 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewjnyc View Post

You'll totally be able to use the XBR2 with the Xbox 360 in 480p/720p/1080i via either component or VGA, and it'll look fantastic. 1080p over VGA is the only problem area, and I expect MS will sooner or later (hopefully sooner!) release a patch to address the issue.


Actually you can't get 1080i over VGA either as the XBR's pc input does not
support an interlaced signal. See owner's manual - page 51.

It's 1080i over component only.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #1749 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 05:05 PM
Member
 
snowcrash001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzir View Post

I called Sony about my cloudy 46XBR2. The only thing the guy I talked with suggested is to unplug the set for a couple minutes and plug it directly into the wall outlet, not the power strip I have it plugged into usually. I'm at work so I haven't been able to try it yet. I really don't think it'll make a bit of difference but I'll try it just so I can say I did it.

I also called the authorized Sony repair dealer in town to see what they thought about the issue. I e-mailed them the pictures I took showcasing the problem. I'll let everyone know what they think when I hear back.

Did this fix your problem?
snowcrash001 is offline  
post #1750 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowcrash001 View Post

Did this fix your problem?

I haven't been home yet to try it but I did get an interesting reply from the Sony authorized service center in town. Here's the reply from the technician after seeing the pictures I e-mailed of my set:

"I have not seen this symptom before. Looks to me like the panel may be defective.
We have seen very few sony LCD sets in our shop and therefore no history of problems.
I would recommend having it looked at by a sony service center (such as ours) to have it evaluated."

At this point I have called the place I purchased it and scheduled an exchange for a new one. I will still try the power swap when I get home but I don't think it'll make a bit of difference.
swizzir is offline  
post #1751 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 05:42 PM
Member
 
teknower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, so i called x box support today and got a completely different response than all of you guys.

i told the guy my tv (kdl-40xbr2) supports 1080p via vga, and yet goes crazy when i switch my 360 to 1080p.

HE SAID THE UPDATE IS NOT SUPPOSED TO WORK UNTIL THE 360 HD DVD DRIVE COMES OUT THIS WEDNESDAY. HE ALSO SAID THERE ARE NO GAMES THAT CURRENTLY USE THE UPDATE (duh), SO IT IS NOT MEANT TO WORK YET. does this mean the 360 will somehow change the signal once it detects there is an hd dvd drive connected????

i then asked why the uptate works on some tvs, but not mine. he had no answer, but said the update was only released early so that everyone who gets a hddvd will have 1080p support right when they plug it in. this also makes no sense bc the drive comes with a dvd with the update on it.

i really hope the signal works once the 360 detects an hd dvd drive.... guess well have to just wait and see.

p.s. my support guy was american, well spoken, and very nice. he sounded like he kind of knew what he was talkin about.
teknower is offline  
post #1752 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 57
swizzir , May I ask where you purchased your "cloudy" XBR ?
Thanks,
Gary

PS: Best of luck
jedi29 is offline  
post #1753 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Gad Zookz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknower View Post

ok, so i called x box support today and got a completely different response than all of you guys.

i told the guy my tv (kdl-40xbr2) supports 1080p via vga, and yet goes crazy when i switch my 360 to 1080p.

HE SAID THE UPDATE IS NOT SUPPOSED TO WORK UNTIL THE 360 HD DVD DRIVE COMES OUT THIS WEDNESDAY. HE ALSO SAID THERE ARE NO GAMES THAT CURRENTLY USE THE UPDATE (duh), SO IT IS NOT MEANT TO WORK YET. does this mean the 360 will somehow change the signal once it detects there is an hd dvd drive connected????

i then asked why the uptate works on some tvs, but not mine. he had no answer, but said the update was only released early so that everyone who gets a hddvd will have 1080p support right when they plug it in. this also makes no sense bc the drive comes with a dvd with the update on it.

i really hope the signal works once the 360 detects an hd dvd drive.... guess well have to just wait and see.

p.s. my support guy was american, well spoken, and very nice. he sounded like he kind of knew what he was talkin about.

His explanation sounds a bit wonky to me but word is that MS is working on a fix.

Never Fully Here
Gad Zookz is offline  
post #1754 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, the unplugging, wait two minutes, plug directly into the wall outlet did not fix the problem (surprise). When I get it exchanged I'll let everyone know how the new one is. Keep your fingers crossed.

jedi29: I bought it at Video Only (http://www.videoonly.com/index.htm). They're a west coast A/V dealer. Great place to buy. They said I had 30 days after Christmas to exchange or return it which I thought was pretty amazing. I have until the end of the month to decide on an extended warranty too. If I'm not mistaken (and I may be) most places won't let you buy the extended warranty unless it's on the same invoice.
swizzir is offline  
post #1755 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,
I've got a 46" XBR 2. I returned the first one after seeing the clouds in the background on all dark shots. I just got a replacement, and am seeing a major backlight bloch in the lower left hand corner.

Here is a new one for you! My second XBR2 FROZE on my last night!!! (Never had a TV do that before). I went to adjust the volume and it simply wouldn't adjust. The volume banner froze on-screen. I unplugged it, restarted it and the speakers went pop and died!!! I just switched out all my cables from my home theater downstairs (off my 34" XBR 960) that I know work and the sound still won't return. I switched out my cable box, still no sound. I wented into all the menu's and hit "restore to factory defaults", still nothing. And get this, it suddenly won't reconize my Zenith DVB-318 DVD player on video 6 (component). When I turn it on and play a disc nothing will happen. I'm guessing this a software issue??

Has anyone else had the speakers suddenly die? Are these sets just junk or what? I love Sony, but why such a poor expensive product?

At this point the store that sold it to me is starting to get mad and blame me!
miniz is offline  
post #1756 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mongoos150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems these TVs are being assembled rather cheaply...

Bear Down!
See how your Blu-Ray movies stack up. Visit the Blu Ray Tier thread today.
Blu Ray Titles: 17
PSN=Neko150
Mongoos150 is offline  
post #1757 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongoos150 View Post

Seems these TVs are being assembled rather cheaply...

Open it up and check for Taco Sauce stains.
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #1758 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what do I do? The store is simply claiming that "no one else has had this issue out of the 100's of other TV's we have sold" and they tested my first set and "we found nothing to be wrong with it" (what a surprise, seeing they tested it in a bright room!!)

Return it and get something else (1080p Sony Mircodisplay or 720p Panasonic Plasma would be my second choice) or try another and let some hack from Sony service destroy it (like they did with my XBR910 which Sony replaced with a 960).
miniz is offline  
post #1759 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
Quattroman79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my 46XBR3 two weeks ago. No backlight cloudiness/blotchiness here. Could'nt be happier with my purchase.
Quattroman79 is offline  
post #1760 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These are coming out of mexico aren't they!! I just couldn't imagine any production line in Japan producing this defective junk. That is like buying a Lexus and seeing white bloches all over the paint. It just doesn't happen.
miniz is offline  
post #1761 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
miniz: I would point your dealer to this forum and the XBR2 threads specifically. They show proof that people are having backlight issues with these sets. I brought my laptop into my dealer with example pictures (from this forum and some of my own) to show them. That's indisputable proof right there. Where did you buy yours? Here's the threads I monitor about the backlight issue. Search for my username. I've got pics up of my XBR2 backlight woes.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=683533

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=707726

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=730172

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=738617

In my opinion electronics are going to have problems. That's just a fact of life. What's the most important to me is how the company that manufactures the product and the dealer that sells it to you handle problems. A really simple question to ask your sales guy is if they had spent this much on a set that was exhibiting this problem would they accept it? Very few people would say yes.
swizzir is offline  
post #1762 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:47 PM
Member
 
kraiggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My xbr2 was delivered last wednesday. To my dismay, it too displays the 'cloudy' backlight problem in the upper left and lower right corners. I have noticed that the problem is less pronounced when the set is first turned on after a period of being off, but, within 15 minutes or so is fully acute.

As others have observed, the cloudiness is not noticable when there is bright or colored content on the screen. But it is especially obvious on input-switch, and during just about all dark scenes.

I spoke with the manager of the store where I purchased the set, who is arranging an exchange. However, he professed not to know about this issue.
I certainly don't think anyone who has paid several thousand dollars for a TV should accept a set with these kinds of defects. It just isn't right. A company shouldn't hang that kind of high price tag out there without realizing the expectations of the customers will be similarly high.

I really hope to get a better set with my exchange. Right now, my 32s2010 has a better picture; darker blacks, and completely uniform backlight level. That's just not right! It is certainly encouraging to read that at least a couple of posters have gotten exchanges that didn't have the problem. It's also good to read that a number of you have gotten good sets out-of-the-box.

I wonder what -- if anything -- can be inferred from the number of reports about backlighting flaws. It is obviously more than a freak problem, but how much more, I wonder? Sony seems to be selling the xbrs like hotcakes, certainly in the (tens of?) thousands. How many of those really have this issue? How many owners pay enough attention to notice?

I'm looking forward to reading about the resolution of more cloudy sets, whether by repair or exchange. I will certainly post my resolution, although it may take quite some time. The manager didn't know for certain when he would get a replacement set in the store...
kraiggers is offline  
post #1763 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well said kraiggers. I have a 32S2000 and I agree with you completely about the darker blacks. Even a 46" JVC at my place of purchase had a uniform backlight level. I think you're correct in stating that a lot of 46XBR2 buyers, in most cases, wouldn't pay enough attention to notice the problem. I think if we make it a hot button issue and let resellers know it's a problem something will be done.

I don't think it's out of the realm of possibility that Sony doesn't know it's an issue. Call their customer service and open a ticket. Compose as much visual evidence as possible. I've got a few photos of my XBR2 that clearly showcase the problem. I'd recommend other users do the same.

I stand by the fact that the HD picture on this set is truly amazing. Unfortunately it's come to the point now that every time I see a dark scene in a movie or TV show I look for the clouds. I'd rather watch the movie or show.
swizzir is offline  
post #1764 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 10:04 PM
Newbie
 
johngloid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MS knows, and apparently will address it soon:

It's in Major Nelson's Podcast released today.
johngloid is offline  
post #1765 of 3400 Old 11-06-2006, 11:19 PM
Member
 
budd99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I received my second XBR2 and noticed some major backlight leakage on the bottom right corner. Now, the first set was returned because of a problem unrelated to backlight. The weird thing is, my first one was one of the first units manufactured and the backlight seemed even throughout, I did not notice a single cloud. I got this new one, which was manufactured in September, and now it has all of these clouds going on. The manufacturing date might be totally unrelated, but I think people should post the manufacturing dates of their XBRs just to see if we come up with anything. It's on a sticker on the back of the panel.
budd99 is offline  
post #1766 of 3400 Old 11-07-2006, 12:49 AM
Member
 
teknower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just read this on ign's HDTV vol 19 LINK

From the article Q&A:

Q: I have a KDL46XBR2 Sony Bravia 46" XBR LCD HDTV and after reading your "Anatomy of a home theater " Part 1 article I went out and bought the VGA cables for my Xbox 360 as per your recommendation for 1080p. Well it turns out that colors look dull and washed out via VGA connection of the Xbox 360. Switching back and forth there was a huge difference in how vibrant colors are through component compared to VGA. Since I have a high end TV I know it's not an issue with my set (I tried many different adjustments and could not come close to component colors) and apparently many people have had the issue of poor/dull color from their Xbox 360 via VGA. Until Microsoft makes the proper software adjustments I don't believe VGA should be recommended over component.

Dominic

A: Sup D,

Your problems are actually a well known bug with the 1080p update for the Xbox 360. Apparently all Sony XBR2 and XBR3s have the problems you describe. There was a big freak out on the AVS forums the day the update was released, and the day after Microsoft acknowledged the issue and has pledged a fix, which should be out already.

The XBR2 and -3s can't accept 1080p via Component, so give the VGA another shot in the next week and it should be working, and giving you the full 1080p.

-Gerry
teknower is offline  
post #1767 of 3400 Old 11-07-2006, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
bwain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garconis View Post

Hey all, I'm looking to get the Sony XBR3 Bravia 40" Flat Panel LCD HDTV.

I found a site called bestbuyplasma. Has anyone heard of them? Are they any good? They are selling it for cheap. Does anyone else have a reliable site for purchases? Or should I just use bestbuyplasma? I wanna make sure I'm getting a recent build of this TV, and one that is brand-new packaged from Sony. And maybe I will be getting an extended warranty. If I buy from a site besides Sony, is the extended warranty covered by Sony, or the place I buy it from (it included in-house repairs, etc.)

Thanks for any info!

I've heard of bestbuyplasma. They have a good eBay rating. I purchased my XBR3 from dealsouthonline through eBay - I had a great experience. I was reluctant to purchase online for all of the obvious reasons, but I got a great TV at a great price. DEFINITELY buy the warranty, but it probably isn't through Sony. You can ask to see the terms and conditions of the warranty before you buy it as well. I was told thatthe one year manufacturer's warranty also does not apply since I purchased the TV through a wholesaler and not a retailer. Not sure of this is true or not and I haven't tried to figure it out.
bwain is offline  
post #1768 of 3400 Old 11-07-2006, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
bwain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukescerri View Post

Good question. I thought the same thing. I went out and bought one last weekend, and I dont regret it at all, and either will you. The thing is massive, and the picture is immaculate. SD, is fine, obviously not as good as HD or the BluRay they show in stores, but still ok. definitly now bad put it that way.

GO for it. Take the plunge.

I had purchased the Sony Bravia KDL-40S2010 which is the HD LCD they came out with the XBR series. I was so disappointed with the SD picture that I took it back. I then bought the XBR3 and the difference is exponential. You WILL NOT be disappointed in the SD picture of this TV.
bwain is offline  
post #1769 of 3400 Old 11-07-2006, 07:11 AM
Member
 
kraiggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzir View Post

I stand by the fact that the HD picture on this set is truly amazing. Unfortunately it's come to the point now that every time I see a dark scene in a movie or TV show I look for the clouds. I'd rather watch the movie or show.

Absolutely agree, Swizzir. Picture is brilliant. But...even though my clouding is less pronounced than some of the photos posted, it still is all I look at/for during dark scenes. It is *very* distracting during a show like Battlestar (SD notwithstanding). Or, if an area of dark hair, for example, moves over the spot, it is also painfully noticable. Ugh.

I'm really quite bummed at the thought of getting a new set, and having the same problem. I *really* hope that doesn't happen.

It seems like there are reports of good and bad sets from a range of dates on this thread going all the way back. I get the feeling this is not limited to a range of serials, but rather a general issue with QC during manufacturing. I thought when I ordered mine, that perhaps the QC would have been worked out by now, but I guess not.

I have to say, it makes me pretty mad at Sony. Even if local dealers/service reps don't know about this, someone at Sony corporate and/or the plant itself knows and has chosen to release the sets anyway. They know exactly how many sets are returned for exchanges, and I get the feeling they don't much care in this case. Which probably tells us something about the profit margin on this set...

All of that being said, all I really want is a xbr2 with an appropriately uniform backlight, such that it doesn't bother me during dark scenes. I could really fall in love with this set, if I can just get a good one...
kraiggers is offline  
post #1770 of 3400 Old 11-07-2006, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by budd99 View Post

The manufacturing date might be totally unrelated, but I think people should post the manufacturing dates of their XBRs just to see if we come up with anything. It's on a sticker on the back of the panel.

The manufacture date of my 46XBR2 is October 2006.
swizzir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Kds R70xbr2 70 Inch Sxrd Xbr Rear Projection Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 46xbr2 46 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off