How come know one is talking about the Samsung ln-s3292d? Awesome LCD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-12-2006, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kitchener, Ontario Canada
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After hours at the store, running a thx calibration from a DVD between it and the a 32" Sony Bravia and a 32" Shap Aquas I just thought the Sammy looked a bit better and it also looked better while playing 360 through component and VGA. I did a lot of research online and never even considered it before going to the store because I never heard anyone saying anything about it. Sure it was pretty expensive for a 32"but it was worth every penny. Just hooked my HD feed into it at home and looks even better than at the store.

If your in the market for a 1366x768 LCD, I strongly consider checking this thing out.
b_rad4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-12-2006, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hothersale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To answer your question, probably due to its size. It appears to me that the majority of people using this forum are interested in larger displays.
Hothersale is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kitchener, Ontario Canada
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, I suppose, but this is really a great TV imo.
b_rad4 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I agree - the size is more of a bedroom or second viewing area but I would totally agree with you - today if I were choosing between my 32" Sharp and that Samsung 32" - the Samsung is a real head turner everytime I've seen it and as much as I like my Sharp the Samsung is advanced over my 32" I must admit IMO and I would choose it were they side by side today. :)

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kitchener, Ontario Canada
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, I chose it side by side the sony and sharp in the store :p

After lots of research as well.
b_rad4 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 03:32 PM
Member
 
NormT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would the Sammy still be the choice over a Sony at 40" or 46"?
NormT is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kitchener, Ontario Canada
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really don't know, but I assume if they are the same model #'s they can't be much different.
b_rad4 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 06:08 PM
Member
 
hiddenleavez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually there is a lot of talk about the 3251D (6th Generation model) and the 3292 is still kind of new. 32" is perfect for the beedroom or small apartment. Actually when I saw it at the store, it's bigger than I originally thought.


This TV definitely need it's owned thread. I see the Vizio L32 has it own thread with over 30 pages of post and a lot of solid info. I plan on getting one soon, so it would be great to see other people's opinion, problem, setting on this TV. I was checking amazon today and the s3292D was actually cheaper than the older s3251D.
hiddenleavez is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-22-2006, 03:05 PM
Member
 
gorilla19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
b-rad...what are your current settings on the 3292?
gorilla19 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
ZyronEnder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've posted a fair amount about the problems I had with the 4692 on dark scenes. (In a nutshell there would be streaking and a "persistance" from one scene to the next. It has been suggested that DNie was the source of these problems.)

How does the 3292 manage with dark scenes?
Also, can anyone comment on the 3292's ability to display plain old standard def signals?

How does an svideo signal look on a 3292 compared to an old tube set?
ZyronEnder is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-05-2006, 07:43 AM
Member
 
ddcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the 3292 compare to the 3251? Any substantial pros/cons to either?
ddcobb is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-02-2006, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fistofsouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denton, Texas, Republic of
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4
After hours at the store, running a thx calibration from a DVD between it and the a 32" Sony Bravia and a 32" Shap Aquas I just thought the Sammy looked a bit better and it also looked better while playing 360 through component and VGA. I did a lot of research online and never even considered it before going to the store because I never heard anyone saying anything about it. Sure it was pretty expensive for a 32"but it was worth every penny. Just hooked my HD feed into it at home and looks even better than at the store.

If your in the market for a 1366x768 LCD, I strongly consider checking this thing out.
Does this model have a QAM Tuner? I know the 3251D lacks one, which is why I’ve steered clear of that model. I can pull a bunch of stations for free if I have a QAM Tuner and I really don’t want to pay my cable company an extra chunk of change just to get my HD Locals. I could set up an antenna, but why do that when there are good sets out there with a QAM Tuner.

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
fistofsouth is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off