SAMSUNG LN-S5296D PHOTOS,COMMENTS & REVIEWS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SAMSUNG LN-S5296D

MSRP(SEPT 06 -$5999) -> (OCT 06 - $4999)


TV/Video
1920 x 1080p
HD-grade 1920(H) x 1080(V) pixel resolution
Widescreen aspect ratio
6000:1 dynamic contrast ratio
S-PVA panel
178º(H)/178º(V) viewing angle
CCFL - Cold Cathode Fluorescent Lamp
(92% NTSC color gamut)
10-bit processor with 25.7 billion colors
Digital Cable Ready (DCR) tuner with
CableCARD slot
Built-in digital tuner (ATSC)
Fast 8ms response time
New optimized game mode
Swivel stand
Audio
Hidden bottom speakers
SRS TruSurround XT
Watts per channel: 10W x 2
Connections
2 HDMI - High Definition Multimedia Interface
2 Component video inputs (Y,Pb,Pr)
(480i/480p/720p/1080i/1080p)
IEEE1394
S-video and composite video inputs
Side A/V inputs
PC (RGB) input
USB 1.1
VESA® compatible

MY SAMSUNG LN-S5296d arrived a few days ago. Here are some photos I promised in previous threads.

Equipment used: Motorola 6416 III HD-DVR (Hdmi-Hdmi, 1080i HD, 480p), Sony dvp-995(hdmi-hdmi, 1080i), HD antenna, coaxial cable, ATI x800-(DVI-VGA, 1080p)
betatesterzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 17 more I want to share- they are labeled accordingly.
betatesterzz is offline  
post #3 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
You're a GOD betatesterzz, thanks a lot. Keep 'em pictures coming (all 17), along with your thoughts and hands-on opinions. Feel free to copy-paste what you posted on the other forum thread (especially that 'ABC on HD' test picture) here so others can more easily find it. BTW, why just ABC pictures? Where's the love for Fox, CBS, Xbox 360 games, computers, HD-DVD, upconverted DVD's, etc??!!
dad1153 is offline  
post #4 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batch 3
betatesterzz is offline  
post #5 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batch 4
betatesterzz is offline  
post #6 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
More, more... yeah baby... faster, faster...
dad1153 is offline  
post #7 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batch 5
betatesterzz is offline  
post #8 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batch 6
betatesterzz is offline  
post #9 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 02:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
I see a faint blue line at the very bottom of the pictures you've posted with DVI-VGA pics. Is that normal or is that some sort of synch issue? And what DVD player did you use for the 'X-Men 3' DVD? That shot looks red and distorted as hell!
dad1153 is offline  
post #10 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LAST BATCH

DVI-VGA-5-My camera just could not catch the detail and texture of the middle red flower. Well. I will post some of my thoughts and comments tomorrow. I will also try to answer some of the questions in the previous thread.

Note: I have not fully calibrated my set yet. I just used a custom setting based on my subjective preferences. Next week I think I will have time to use AVIA and DVE to properly calibrate and fine tune the settings.
betatesterzz is offline  
post #11 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad1153 View Post

I see a faint blue line at the very bottom of the pictures you've posted with DVI-VGA pics. Is that normal or is that some sort of synch issue? And what DVD player did you use for the 'X-Men 3' DVD? That shot looks red and distorted as hell!


Faint blue- hidden task bar in windows.

Xmen -3 - My camera just can't properly focus on red. The texture on her face - veins and stuff just don't focus. If you go back to the dvd this is the part before she kills the professor - she turns all red and viens and stuff begin to pop around her face.
betatesterzz is offline  
post #12 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 03:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Thanks beta, you're too cool. Now go back to sleep, it's late and you have a full day of baseball playoffs and NFL games ahead of you!
dad1153 is offline  
post #13 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 09:06 AM
Member
 
furboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jemez Mountains
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by betatesterzz View Post

ATI x800-(DVI-VGA, 1080p)

Thanks beta! Have you tried your PC DVI-HDMI, 1080p yet? Is it 1:1? Or is everyone satisfied this set really does HDMI 1:1 1080p just by the ABC HD test?
furboo is offline  
post #14 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 09:11 AM
Member
 
hahaland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by furboo View Post

Thanks beta! Have you tried your PC DVI-HDMI, 1080p yet? Is it 1:1? Or is everyone satisfied this set really does HDMI 1:1 1080p just by the ABC HD test?

Many people are waiting to see if it does 1:1...
hahaland is offline  
post #15 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 01:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
The 'ABC on HD' is an eyeball test, which the 5296D passed. Now comes the "do or die" test: PC signal at 1080p mapped on the 5296D. We're waiting indeed!
dad1153 is offline  
post #16 of 870 Old 10-08-2006, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Almost none of the previous pictures are sharp. But this is probably traced to the camera and picture taking process..I hope. The Sammy must be as sharp as the Sony or the new Sharp. I am sure these pics do not put the Samsung in its' best light.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #17 of 870 Old 10-09-2006, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
betatesterzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard korsgren View Post

Almost none of the previous pictures are sharp. But this is probably traced to the camera and picture taking process..I hope. The Sammy must be as sharp as the Sony or the new Sharp. I am sure these pics do not put the Samsung in its' best light.





I tend to agree that if you are not satisfied with the pictures it is due to my old 5mp Sony camera and my lack of picture taking ability . The camera I'm using just can't catch the texture and detail I see in person. Example I can see skin imperfections (pimples, bumps, small facial hair, cuts) on actors, baseball, football players. I can't get the camera to properly focus.

I stand by my impressions that the color, and black levels, and overall PQ of this set is top notch especially in HD. Source is everything IMO. If you use a good source and proper cabling you will not be disappointed with its output.

Here are few comments and answers to a few question in the previous thread. All my opinion are totally subjective.

1)uzonbize- Don't know if I can test the xbox360 this week, once I test the connections I post my impressions and a few pictures.

2)Mark-

a)black levels- are very good, as good as a the samsung hps5073, I can say this because I had this set and used the same sources.

b)I have a PureAV pf60- it measure amps in the amps in front. 4 backlight settings

Esaving=backlight control

off=high is the baseline
low=plus there is a .8A drop
med =med there is a 1.2A drop from baseline
high = low 1.8A drop from baseline.

Hope you can understand this

c)Most likely I will get a cable card in 2 weeks, I'm going to be busy the next 2 weeks so I would have no time to test it.

3)Taphill - my designation just describes the cable I am using so DVI-VGA means DVI from x800 to VGA input of set.

Things I can confirm from doug post
- 15 month warranty - special card inside
- User friendly and very comprehensive service menu-
Anyone know what ssc, PC disp ident, Shop mode, DT-RTT are? Looks like I have to find a service guide if I decide to adjust anything?
-also looks like you can adjust movie mode, and the DNIe

4)DVI-HDMI-(delayed) -sorry guys I can't find the cable I used with my old moxi, I'll look again tomorrow, If I can't find it I'll have to order one online, BB is over pricing these cables. Once I get the cables and complete the testing I'll post my findings. Maybe one of the 2 other owners here can perform the test before me? I'll confirm the results.
betatesterzz is offline  
post #18 of 870 Old 10-09-2006, 10:49 PM
Member
 
isucamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Overscan also needs to be tested over component.

It can be done using an Xbox 360. I believe people have said that the Hud in Ghost Recon got cut off because of the overscan on the 40 and 46" sammys. Does anyone with this TV have a 360 that would be able to download the demo of Ghost Recon and snap some pics?

I'm really getting anxious to get this overscan stuff tested and put to bed with the new 52" sammy.
isucamper is offline  
post #19 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 06:37 AM
Member
 
isucamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For instance, here is a picture of Ghost Recon that somebody posted over on the 40/46" thread.

http://images.rdefined.com/Samsung-L...1_5_001?full=1


and here is how the game is supposed to look without overscan

http://www.1up.com/do/slideshow?page...25&mId=2907958

[edit]
Comparing the two pictures, you can see how the 40/46" sammy sets overscan and chop off the edges of the HUD.
[/edit]


This is a FREE demo of this game on Xbox Live. You can even download it with the free Silver account. Could someone please, please, please, please get to the bottom of this set's overscan status???
isucamper is offline  
post #20 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmeader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As suggested by someone in another thread, I just wanted to confirm with everyone that I AM seeing roughly 2% overscan via HDMI (using an Oppo 971 and Avia) on all sides of the screen.

I have no means to test component... but the VGA input is indeed 1:1.
tmeader is offline  
post #21 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rieper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York NY
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmeader View Post

As suggested by someone in another thread, I just wanted to confirm with everyone that I AM seeing roughly 2% overscan via HDMI (using an Oppo 971 and Avia) on all sides of the screen.

I have no means to test component... but the VGA input is indeed 1:1.


Well, that...SUCKS! Boo! Hiss!
Rieper is offline  
post #22 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmeader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't shoot the messenger

I really wish I knew what the huge deal about this is. Sheesh.
tmeader is offline  
post #23 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongoos150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That overscan is un-****ing-believable. Pio 4270HD here I come

Bear Down!
See how your Blu-Ray movies stack up. Visit the Blu Ray Tier thread today.
Blu Ray Titles: 17
PSN=Neko150
Mongoos150 is offline  
post #24 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:39 PM
Member
 
isucamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmeader View Post

Don't shoot the messenger

I really wish I knew what the huge deal about this is. Sheesh.

Thanks for confirming, man.
isucamper is offline  
post #25 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongoos150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great pictures as well - but they are a bit small. Larger uploads maybe? I'd also love to see your setup!

Bear Down!
See how your Blu-Ray movies stack up. Visit the Blu Ray Tier thread today.
Blu Ray Titles: 17
PSN=Neko150
Mongoos150 is offline  
post #26 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Thanks for confirming my worst fears: Sammy 1080p LCD's across the board all overscan! Oh well, Mitsubishi/Sharp/Sony/etc. here I come!
dad1153 is offline  
post #27 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 04:59 PM
Member
 
SomeDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ditto. Why, Samsung, why?
SomeDude is offline  
post #28 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmeader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious, to all those who are going insane about the overscan, have you actually seen any of these TVs in person, or is this just a hunch that the picture quality sucks compared to the magical 1:1 sets? Are you all planning to run PCs via HDMI, or is there some other reason?

Further keep in mind that with most of the other sets, the 1:1 does not apply to the component inputs from what I've read. Those looking for the magic set for XBox 360 might be getting ahead of yourselves (PS3 is a different matter).

It just blows my mind the sudden rapture with zero overscan when, until about 3 months ago, every LCD HD TV on the planet (not monitors... TVs) had it. They still ALL DO in their standard display modes. Just checkout the CNET reviews on LCDs and plasmas... every single one of them has it, some as bad as 5% or MORE. The (slightly less than) 2% overscan on the Samsung is extremely good for a television. If you have to have it, then fine, buy another set, but I think it's rather retarded the amount of people on here who are writing these sets off for something which is extremely trivial unless you plan on using it with an HTPC all the time.

To each their own... but can we PLEASE stop filling every Samsung thread with "Oh my god!!! The overscan sux0rs!!!" and let those that own them (and like them just fine) perhaps speak constructively on them.
tmeader is offline  
post #29 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 05:28 PM
Member
 
SomeDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My DVD player, STB and (future) PS3 will all be connected via HDMI, my PowerBook and MacBook via DVI - HDMI. Yes, 1:1 with no overscan is a big deal to me and a lot of others.

Quote:


To each their own... but can we PLEASE stop filling every Samsung thread with "Oh my god!!! The overscan sux0rs!!!" and let those that own them (and like them just fine) perhaps speak constructively on them.

That's what owner's threads are for, no? I'm betting that a number of people here, myself included, were waiting for first hand accounts as to whether the 52" and 57" Sammy would do 1:1 without the overscan. Now we know.
SomeDude is offline  
post #30 of 870 Old 10-10-2006, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great info, beta, but that overscan bugaboo is back.
It's really annoying that the set would take 1080, scale it, then chop it off.
It seems less important for the smaller 768 sets, since they have to scale everything.

What's the baseline amps ?
Converting 1.8 A x 120 v = 216 watts at pf=1.0, but subtract 216 watts from what ?
I could use the spec wattage but reading the baseline from your measure would be better.
mark_1080p is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off