Sharp Aquos LCD 2007 speculation thread: D92? TruD? HDMI 1.3? - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 11:32 AM
Member
 
snaithg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nambit View Post

Thanks, that's very good to know

Being that this is the next generation 90-series, I guess we can expect the colours to be even more natural, especially with the vastly improved contrast ratio. It's already been stressed the D92 series will be Sharp's top of the line TV, so it's likely going to be stellar.

But hopefully without a "Stellar" price tag


Graham.
snaithg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
SmartNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears that Abt is having a weeklong sale of the Sharp LCD's (especially the D62 series.) Does this mean they are trying to get rid of them in time for the D92's to arrive?
SmartNewbie is offline  
post #453 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
... top of the line w/out CableCARD
mark_1080p is offline  
post #454 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 12:09 PM
Member
 
gopherblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by santori_time View Post

Are you positive about the 42" model? If so, I am very excited. Did your source mention anything regarding how the specs of the 42" model compare to its larger counterparts?

Am I certain? No. But this source has been very reliable in the past, and I have no reason to doubt his estimate on the arrival date of a 42" version. No info on the specs, other than that they had yet to be finalized and were comparable to the 46/52. I have no idea whether that can be interpreted positively or negatively.

Goph
gopherblue is offline  
post #455 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monterey Bay, Ca.
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any info on a new 65inch?
Big Mike is offline  
post #456 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
bluescreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_1080p View Post

... top of the line w/out CableCARD

Just get a TiVo Series3 to go with it!
bluescreen is offline  
post #457 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
wheelzntoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chula Vista, CA (SD)
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nambit View Post

The store that I preordered from is in close touch with a Sharp Sales rep that seems
to give them updated status on the d92's progress (I guess the store ordered tons).

Maybe Sales Rep mentioned as "D92U has hit the states!"

That would be a true statement, but not for mass retailers, more of the samples and CES. Once they ship, they still take time to filter into consumer retailers, about 2 weeks.
wheelzntoys is offline  
post #458 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, then have to pay TIVO, yet another remote, more power usage, and still cannot avoid using cabling and an HDMI input instead of the TV internal QAM tuner. No thanks, and you cannot burn a HD-DVD disk from the TIVO hard drive. If that becomes a possibility, then yes, I would be tempted to get a TIVO.
mark_1080p is offline  
post #459 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Wood
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So these new 92U models are not expected to have the same banding issues that the 62U ones do?

I'm contemplating the purchase of a 46" within the next 6 months....
wolfgaze is offline  
post #460 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
DSET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody know if the 46\\52 d92 have a VGA input\\or even a Dvi ??
DSET is offline  
post #461 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
santori_time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSET View Post

anybody know if the 46\\52 d92 have a VGA input\\or even a Dvi ??

The d92 series has DVI-I (based on the PDF at Abt Electronics) which presumably means that it is compatible with VGA by way of a VGA-DVI adaptor.

Current Equipment:
Panasonic TC-P42G25
Logitech Z680 5.1
Xbox 360
PS3
Gaming PC (Core i7 2600, GeForce 670, 16 GB RAM)

santori_time is offline  
post #462 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
DSET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by santori_time View Post

The d92 series has DVI-I (based on the PDF at Abt Electronics) which presumably means that it is compatible with VGA by way of a VGA-DVI adaptor.

Wickkked
I'm buying a 42inch first Day!
Or 37 if there is one

I just hope the specs are at least close to the 46\\52

If this TV turns out to be similar quality to the current 37d90u
with no hdmi 1.3
This entire wait would have been for nothing
DSET is offline  
post #463 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
savage1005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after seeing that the d92 can do 1080p over component, i am now patiently awaiting the 42" model. i hope the 42" version has as many inputs as the larger ones and the same specs.
savage1005 is offline  
post #464 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 09:03 PM
Member
 
DrSpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The D62 can do 1080p over component as well.
DrSpy is offline  
post #465 of 3473 Old 12-29-2006, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by santori_time View Post

The d92 series has DVI-I (based on the PDF at Abt Electronics) which presumably means that it is compatible with VGA by way of a VGA-DVI adaptor.

From what I remember, you can only go from digital to analog, and not the other
way around. Thus one can only go from DVI -> VGA. If their PC is VGA, then they
won't be able to use the DVI port on the TV. There's still that VGA -> Component
option if it's an ATI card, though.
Nambit is offline  
post #466 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 12:53 AM
Member
 
leon_kowalski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nambit View Post

From what I remember, you can only go from digital to analog,
and not the other way around.

The D62U series has no analog VGA inputs -- computer connections require a
computer graphics card with digital outputs (either HDMI or DVI-D + adapter).

The 37D90U has DVI-I -- which supports both analog and digital video signals.
Those 4 pins off to one side of the DVI-I connector are for a standard analog
VGA signal (i.e., Red/Green/Blue + sync). The VGA-to-DVI (analog) adapter is
totally passive -- it contains no electronics, it just rearranges the pin locations.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI

BTW, the D62U and D90U owners manuals are available on the SharpUSA
web site (no D92U manuals yet):

http://www.sharpusa.com/files/tel_man_LC42D62U.pdf

http://www.sharpusa.com/files/tel_man_LC37D90U.pdf

Presumably (based on the leaked preliminary spec sheets) the D92U will
also accept either analog or digital PC outputs -- exactly like the D90U.


LK

Reunite Gondwanaland
leon_kowalski is offline  
post #467 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 01:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leon_kowalski View Post

The D62U series has no analog VGA inputs -- computer connections require a
computer graphics card with digital outputs (either HDMI or DVI-D + adapter).

The 37D90U has DIV-I -- which supports both analog and digital video signals.
Those 4 pins off to one side of the DVI-I connector are for a standard analog
VGA signal (i.e., Red/Green/Blue + sync). The VGA-to-DVI (analog) adapter is
totally passive -- it contains no electronics, it just rearranges the pin locations.

Presumably (based on the leaked preliminary spec sheets) the D92U will
also accept either analog or digital PC outputs -- exactly like the D90U.


LK

I stand corrected. So the DVI -> VGA adapters are passive and bi-directional then.
That's news to me, but good news for everyone. I've been using an DVI->HDMI
cable myself (my laptop has DVI port) on the D62U and it works great. It would be
great if they threw in a VGA adapter piece with the TV.

Anyhow, thanks.
Nambit is offline  
post #468 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
santori_time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The ability to accept analog signals is what is great about the dedicated computer inputs on the new Sharp LCDs as opposed to the all digital DVI-HDMI workaround for the d62 series. Now I just hope they accept a 1080p signal over VGA from my Xbox 360.

Current Equipment:
Panasonic TC-P42G25
Logitech Z680 5.1
Xbox 360
PS3
Gaming PC (Core i7 2600, GeForce 670, 16 GB RAM)

santori_time is offline  
post #469 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 10:05 AM
Member
 
smaybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As long as we are all speculating here. Does anyone care to speculate as to the performance of these sets on SD source material? Or on scaling in general? I am not familiar with the TruD/TruD HD chips. These sets sound very interesting but I am stuck in an area where HD content is not readily available (at least for a couple of years) so performance on DirecTV sources and OTA SD will be important for a while. I can of course take a look at current Sharp scaling performance. Do people feel it will have the same performace as those sets or will these do better?
smaybee is offline  
post #470 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 11:18 AM
Member
 
tootis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really considered "pulling the trigger" in November on a Sharp 46/52 D62U. But, after much research, I think I will just wait and see how the D92's stack up. It would be my first HDTV. I most likely would be upgrading to a Dish Vip622 (think that's the model #) DVR. Just curious if anyone would like to throw out an opinion or two on the following: I believe I read in C-Net where it stated HDMI cables are actually no better than component cables. I am 75% sure I wouldn't need cable more than 3ft long to run to the new tv (6ft at the most). If and when I complete this deal, should I go with an HDMI cable, or, will component suit me fine? I guess you could say I am "technically challenged" when it comes to hdtv (although, I am trying to learn!)

Just some food for thought: wonder if Sharp has anyone monitor some of these forums? I just don't think I can dish out that kinda money on a hdtv that might cause so many problems. Just wouldn't like to take a chance.
tootis is offline  
post #471 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Wood
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootis View Post

Really considered "pulling the trigger" in November on a Sharp 46/52 D62U. But, after much research, I think I will just wait and see how the D92's stack up. It would be my first HDTV. I most likely would be upgrading to a Dish Vip622 (think that's the model #) DVR. Just curious if anyone would like to throw out an opinion or two on the following: I believe I read in C-Net where it stated HDMI cables are actually no better than component cables. I am 75% sure I wouldn't need cable more than 3ft long to run to the new tv (6ft at the most). If and when I complete this deal, should I go with an HDMI cable, or, will component suit me fine? I guess you could say I am "technically challenged" when it comes to hdtv (although, I am trying to learn!)

Just some food for thought: wonder if Sharp has anyone monitor some of these forums? I just don't think I can dish out that kinda money on a hdtv that might cause so many problems. Just wouldn't like to take a chance.

I'm in the same boat as you Tootis... Getting ready to purchase my first HDTV... I was eyeing the 46" D62U model but I'm definitely not going to buy this TV after reading about the problems other other people are having with it....
wolfgaze is offline  
post #472 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 11:44 AM
Member
 
9000rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootis View Post

...I believe I read in C-Net where it stated HDMI cables are actually no better than component cables.

I'm not sure of all the HDMI 1.2 benefits but an important one to me is reducing the number of cables, particularly if you want to run audio a;ong with video into your HD display. The HDMI cable itself may not provide a 'cleaner' image but definately a more convenient connection. HDMI 1.3 is should provide visual benefits, as well.
9000rpm is offline  
post #473 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
great, another site is pre-ordering the D92U as well.
That makes it 3 sites now
wtfer is offline  
post #474 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mark_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDMI works for me, reduces cable clutter from essentially 5 to 1.
Avoids a set of analog to digital conversions.
mark_1080p is offline  
post #475 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason Bourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone seen this?

http://www.techfirstaid.com/
Jason Bourne is offline  
post #476 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 12:49 PM
Member
 
snaithg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to this post by "NoDad" over on the UK forum:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showp...&postcount=113

Sharp have just opened yet another LCD "Module" factory, this time in Poland. It would appear that they may be manufacturing Large Screen "modules" for the European market. If as I suspect, "Modules" means "Screens" then we have yet another factory producing these screens as well as Kameyama.

Graham.
snaithg is offline  
post #477 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Bourne View Post

Anyone seen this?

http://www.techfirstaid.com/

Yeah, that info is the same old stuff we all know. It seems we'll just have to wait until
this thing is released to figure out how good it is. Either that or maybe more clarification
at the CES show coming soon.
Nambit is offline  
post #478 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 02:04 PM
Member
 
SashaSolitaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to confirm....

I went to our local dealer for Sharp and they have shown the invoice Sharp has sent them. They are expecting 4 LC46D92U TVs by the 10th.

I would love to lay my hands on one and pre-order, but the high prices are holding me back :-(.

Sharp LC46D92U
SashaSolitaire is offline  
post #479 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
vinistal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the D92 series acctually have a 120Hz input?

The reason i ask this is becuase im planning on finally ridding of my 22" Viewsonic P225FB CRT and replacing it with this screen on my HTPC. My video card on my pc is capable of 120Hz at 1080p. So my source material will acctully be running at 1920x1080 @ 120Hz over DVI-I or VGA through my EVGA 8800 GTX.

My gut feeling is that the D92 can only accept a 60Hz and upconverts it to 120Hz somehow (i could be wrong though).
vinistal is offline  
post #480 of 3473 Old 12-30-2006, 04:30 PM
Member
 
elg2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i tend to agree, especially considering because it says 120 Hz conversion
elg2001 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off