Official Westinghouse LVM-W4207 Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 701 Old 05-29-2007, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
orbital517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see a lot of post with your picture settings for your xbox 360's, but what about your settings for normal TV viewing (and even PC). I wanna see what are all of your settings (and don't forget to mention what input each device is hooked up through).

1) TV settings for normal Cable/Satellite (state your cable satellite provider as well as settings)

2) DVD settings

3) PC settings

4) Any other settings that might be hooked up.
orbital517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 701 Old 05-30-2007, 07:50 AM
Member
 
DevlArmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbital517 View Post

I see a lot of post with your picture settings for your xbox 360's, but what about your settings for normal TV viewing (and even PC). I wanna see what are all of your settings (and don't forget to mention what input each device is hooked up through).

1) TV settings for normal Cable/Satellite (state your cable satellite provider as well as settings)

2) DVD settings

3) PC settings

4) Any other settings that might be hooked up.

I will get those for you tomorow so look for that(im at work).But some general tips for COMPONENT hookup for a cable box is, keep the contrast higher than brightness, saturation should stay in the 32 to 43 area for realistic color, another thing is play with the backlight from day to night, at night i normally turn it to 20, daytime 40 to 60.Sharpness should stay around 20 to 30 b/c of the SD channels(look less blotched)HD still looks HD.For your computer via VGA input, I keep the brightness at 40, contrast 73, saturation at 43.Also your computer should have some video settings that you can mess with also so try that out.I found out that by tweaking that i got amazing picture.

Sony-60A3000
Sony-46XBR4(returned for clouding issues)
Westinghouse-W4207(720p)
Xbox Elite-HDMI-120gb(1080p)
Sony-S500 BD player
DevlArmz is offline  
post #543 of 701 Old 06-03-2007, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
orbital517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have this TV hooked up to my PC, but I don't see a setting on my PC to have the resolution at 1366 X 768 which is the TV's native resolution. For all you experts out there, isn't that what 1:1 mapping means? How do I do it?
orbital517 is offline  
post #544 of 701 Old 06-03-2007, 11:48 AM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@orbital517 - use a program called powerstrip for the pc / windows

google it
freonchill is offline  
post #545 of 701 Old 06-04-2007, 08:05 AM
Member
 
videogamenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbital517 View Post

I have this TV hooked up to my PC, but I don't see a setting on my PC to have the resolution at 1366 X 768 which is the TV's native resolution. For all you experts out there, isn't that what 1:1 mapping means? How do I do it?


What video card are you using? My 7900 GS has an HDTV option, had to configure through the card utility.
videogamenic is offline  
post #546 of 701 Old 06-05-2007, 11:24 AM
Member
 
DevlArmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interesting i have some program that came with my laptop, i think its called open gl......it lets me adjust alotta video options

Sony-60A3000
Sony-46XBR4(returned for clouding issues)
Westinghouse-W4207(720p)
Xbox Elite-HDMI-120gb(1080p)
Sony-S500 BD player
DevlArmz is offline  
post #547 of 701 Old 06-09-2007, 04:40 AM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I'm strongly considering buying this LCD for my dorm room next year if my CRT projector ever sells. It will be used primarily for PS3, 360, and Wii; I'll probably play some Blu-Ray movies on it too but that's not as important and I'll use it as a computer monitor if it's any good as one. My question is how does this stack up to Samsung's line of 32" LCD's this year? I've heard good things about them and never seen a Sammy LCD I didn't like but at $900 ($80 cheaper then this year's high-end 32" Sammy on Amazon) and an extra 10" of viewing space this thing seems like a friggin steal sent from Heaven. So ignoring all other points of arguing in this TV's favor except for PQ (like price and size) how does this thing stand up to the Sammy, are the colors as good and as accurate? Can it match up or come close to the black level and shadow detail? Does it have the same sharp image with the same pop to it? If not how close does it come?

Also it's ironic I'm asking this as I'm always the guy to say 1080p is worthless under 50" and 720p will be great, but since I planned on buying a 32" set it wasn't nearly as much of a concern. At 42" sitting 5-7' away would I notice the difference between 1080p and 720p? Ultimately this doesn't matter to me since I can't afford a 1080p set and I know regardless 720p is gonna look better on the 42" than on the 32" because there's more room to show more detail but I'm curious nonetheless.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me, and someone PLEASE buy my projector lol.
bkchurch is offline  
post #548 of 701 Old 06-09-2007, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
orbital517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was also on the fence about this TV about 3 weeks ago and decided to pick it up as my bedroom TV. Overall, I am EXTREMELY happy with my purchase and have no regrets. I notice you like the Samsung TVs, but I don't even think highly about Samsungs quality at all as i've had a few Samsung products in the past that were all junk. I do however feel that Sony makes the best LCD panels around when you're talking about PQ.

I have my w4207 hooked up through Directv HD receiver H20 and have a Gamecube as well as the original Xbox hooked up to it. HD is outstanding on this TV, so your PS3 and Xbox360 should look gorgeous. Standard DVDs don't look very good on this TV at all to be honest with you. Compared to my 50 Panasonic Plasma, the w4207 looks bad next to it............but I think that's more of a plasma vs. lcd advantage than anything. I'll be honest with you, you should look into getting a plasma because shadow detail, blacks, and color accuracy are leaps and bounds better than lcd.

Lastly, the PC looks spectacular hooked up to this TV. I'm actually surfing the net and typing this on the TV. It's like your very own big a$$ monitor. All you need is a good range mouse and keyboard. Overall, if I had to rate this TV based on price, picture quality, features, etc.... I'd give it a solid 8. You just can't beat the value.
orbital517 is offline  
post #549 of 701 Old 06-09-2007, 10:25 PM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, that's awesome the other bargain LCD I was looking into was the Olevia 537H that I've heard good things about how do you think the PQ stacks up next to that?

I'd love to go plasma but the only models I can afford are 1024x768 and I'd like a widescreen resolution, also it would be a Maxent and I don't know the brand enough to trust it will look very good and I'm scared of image retention.

Edit: Also on the Westy site it says the monitor's color gamut is 75% NTSC, what exactly does that mean?
bkchurch is offline  
post #550 of 701 Old 06-11-2007, 05:40 AM
Member
 
TedC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bkchurch, the W4207 is rated at 75% NTSC color gamut because it can produce 75% of all the colors that are included in this NTSC specification. A higher percentage is better because it can produce more "real-life" colors. The w207 does a decent job of producing realistic colors, I just wish it offered RGB adjustments for fine adjustments.
TedC is offline  
post #551 of 701 Old 06-11-2007, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Khid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey dudes, picked my set up from best buy for 899 (980 after CA taxes) and I love it!

However, I'm thinking of getting the 1080p Westy soon instead.

Gotta say that for the price it's REALLY freaking nice, although not as organic and great as Samsung's new 1080p 42".

Can anyone tell me how to access the service menu for the W4207? As well, was there another 1080p Westinghouse LCD that wasn't the 42w2??
Khid is offline  
post #552 of 701 Old 06-12-2007, 02:06 PM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, got a chance to check out the Westy at Best Buy yesterday. It looked alright but there was a Maxent plasma sitting right next to it that looked awesome. They were side-by-side and the color on the Maxent was much more vibrant and popped a lot more making the Westy feel like it was just very washed out. Anyone think that's about right or was the Westy not properly calibrated?
bkchurch is offline  
post #553 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 08:49 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkchurch View Post

Hey guys, I'm strongly considering buying this LCD for my dorm room next year if my CRT projector ever sells. It will be used primarily for PS3, 360, and Wii; I'll probably play some Blu-Ray movies on it too but that's not as important and I'll use it as a computer monitor if it's any good as one. My question is how does this stack up to Samsung's line of 32" LCD's this year? I've heard good things about them and never seen a Sammy LCD I didn't like but at $900 ($80 cheaper then this year's high-end 32" Sammy on Amazon) and an extra 10" of viewing space this thing seems like a friggin steal sent from Heaven. So ignoring all other points of arguing in this TV's favor except for PQ (like price and size) how does this thing stand up to the Sammy, are the colors as good and as accurate? Can it match up or come close to the black level and shadow detail? Does it have the same sharp image with the same pop to it? If not how close does it come?

Also it's ironic I'm asking this as I'm always the guy to say 1080p is worthless under 50" and 720p will be great, but since I planned on buying a 32" set it wasn't nearly as much of a concern. At 42" sitting 5-7' away would I notice the difference between 1080p and 720p? Ultimately this doesn't matter to me since I can't afford a 1080p set and I know regardless 720p is gonna look better on the 42" than on the 32" because there's more room to show more detail but I'm curious nonetheless.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me, and someone PLEASE buy my projector lol.

I'm useing my westinghouse as the monitor for my new SYSTEMAX AMD with an ASUS M2A-VM motherboard which has ATI X1200 DVI-D graphics on board. I am using the DVI-D onboard video graphics port to DVI-D in on my WESTINGHOUSE using a resolution of 1920 X 1080P with a perfect picture.

This is an undocumented 1080 P resolution for this monitor.

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #554 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cloud Nine
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpcx View Post

This is an undocumented 1080 P resolution for this monitor.robertpcx

I can pretty much guarantee you the 4207 is *NOT* running 1920x1080. It accepts the input, but scales it down the it's native resolution, which is 1366x768. Anyone who uses PC's with any frequency can certainly tell the difference between these two resolutions.
PerfectCr is offline  
post #555 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 09:00 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbital517 View Post

I have this TV hooked up to my PC, but I don't see a setting on my PC to have the resolution at 1366 X 768 which is the TV's native resolution. For all you experts out there, isn't that what 1:1 mapping means? How do I do it?

Orbital - -

The new video drivers I down loaded from ASUS for my new motherboard ASUS M2A-VM allowes me to set the resolution for this motherboard at 1366 X 768 P.

You may be able to do the same with yours.

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #556 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 09:17 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectCr View Post

I can pretty much guarantee you the 4207 is *NOT* running 1920x1080. It accepts the input, but scales it down the it's native resolution, which is 1366x768. Anyone who uses PC's with any frequency can certainly tell the difference between these two resolutions.

What I know for sure is that when I change the resolution from 1366 X 768 P to 1920 X 1080 P the Icons and text become much smaller, this is what I would expect from higher resolution's.

And more importantly when I push the information button on the westinghouse remote control it tells me the screen resolution is 1920 X 1080 p

Are you using your westinghouse as your computer monitor? You can check this for yourself and let me know what you find out.

Any one else using this WESTINGHOUSE w4207 as their computer monitor let me know what you think about this monitor being capable of 1080P in either VGA, DVI-D or HDMI.

Just because the 1080p is not documented doesn't mean it's not possible.

What would be a fair test to determine wheather this monitor is capable of displaying 1920 X1080p picture?

Could you take a bitmap which is 1920 X 1080 pixels as a background image for the windows desktop to be used as a ruler to determine the resolution capability of this monitor?

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #557 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 09:31 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wormraper View Post

Quick question for owners with this set. I'm thinking of grabbing this as a set for my Second room mostly because my wife and I fight over who watches the TV. This tv would be 99.9% of the time used for DVD's only. I've heard from a lot of people that OTA SD looks mediocre like most HD sets do, but HD sources look great on it. What about 480p DVD's??? How is this set for SD DVD viewing??

Will you have your computer hooked up to this westinghouse?

As far as 480 DVD's I think they look pretty good through my computer VGA and DVI-D.

I can't speak to component video.

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #558 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
ataxic_dentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpcx View Post

What I know for sure is that when I change the resolution from 1366 X 768 P to 1920 X 1080 P the Icons and text become much smaller, this is what I would expect from higher resolution's.

Are you using your westinghouse as your computer monitor? You can check this for yourself and let me know what you find out.

Any one else using this WESTINGHOUSE w4207 as their computer monitor let me know what you think about this monitor being capable of 1080P in either VGA, DVI-D or HDMI.

Just because the 1080p is not documented doesn't mean it's not possible.

robertpcx

The text and icons defintely DO get smaller when set to the 1920 x 1080 res.
ataxic_dentist is offline  
post #559 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 09:59 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ataxic_dentist View Post

The text and icons defintely DO get smaller when set to the 1920 x 1080 res.

Press the information button when you have 1080 p as your computer monitor resolution and the 1080 p will be confirmed.

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #560 of 701 Old 06-16-2007, 11:32 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tickyour View Post

Well, I received my W4207 today and I couldn't be happier! I hooked it up to my SA8300HD DVR and the HD channels look amazing! I'm blown away...

No banding, no dead pixels issues, its perfect! SD is less than stellar, but acceptable. I'm really happy I went with the W4207 over the LVM-42W2.

I have one small issue...: on some channels, such as NBC/ABCHD There is a flickering line right on top of the screen. I suppose its from the signal, since all other HD channels look stunning. Anyone know a fix for that? I've tried the stretch picture, which isn't the ideal solution, but hides it.

In VGA mode you can move the picture up down and left and right, so if you had a HDTV tuner in your computer you could move the picture up slightly (one or two pixels just enough maybe to hide flickering line.) PC parameters (VGA only) menue choice #4 Position (press enter and this brings up a sub menu showing horazontal and vertical adjustments)

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #561 of 701 Old 06-17-2007, 02:57 PM
Member
 
DrBaalzamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpcx View Post

In VGA mode you can move the picture up down and left and right, so if you had a HDTV tuner in your computer you could move the picture up slightly (one or two pixels just enough maybe to hide flickering line.) PC parameters (VGA only) menue choice #4 Position (press enter and this brings up a sub menu showing horazontal and vertical adjustments)

robertpcx


I encountered this similar situation when I hooked up my 360 to my w4207 and set it to 1080p and expected it not to work but it displays on the tv. What I believe is happening is that your source ( be it my 360 or your computer ) sends the signal for the higher resolution but instead of outright rejecting it, the TV takes it and uses its internal scaler to make it fit to a resolution that its native panel can do, ie 1080i. Im 100% this isnt a sleeper 1080p panel because if you get close enough you can see the pixels on the tv and count them out, if it was a true 1080 panel the pixels would be much smaller.

-E
DrBaalzamon is offline  
post #562 of 701 Old 06-17-2007, 04:03 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBaalzamon View Post

I encountered this similar situation when I hooked up my 360 to my w4207 and set it to 1080p and expected it not to work but it displays on the tv. What I believe is happening is that your source ( be it my 360 or your computer ) sends the signal for the higher resolution but instead of outright rejecting it, the TV takes it and uses its internal scaler to make it fit to a resolution that its native panel can do, ie 1080i. Im 100% this isnt a sleeper 1080p panel because if you get close enough you can see the pixels on the tv and count them out, if it was a true 1080 panel the pixels would be much smaller.

-E

Thankyou for the clarification.

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #563 of 701 Old 06-17-2007, 06:06 PM
 
bkchurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of curiosity how does this look as a PC monitor? Does a computer signal at 720p blown up to 42" look a little um not good?
bkchurch is offline  
post #564 of 701 Old 06-17-2007, 09:50 PM
Member
 
DrBaalzamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkchurch View Post

Out of curiosity how does this look as a PC monitor? Does a computer signal at 720p blown up to 42" look a little um not good?


it really depends. if you're sitting really close its probably not that great but say you're on your couch and using it as a monitor should be great! i plan on giving it a whirl soon with my mac so ill keep you posted. Then ill probably end up using it in this fashion as a media type server/movie player . Should be good, and for use with the internet as a 42inch tv browser!
DrBaalzamon is offline  
post #565 of 701 Old 06-19-2007, 11:09 AM
Member
 
videogamenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkchurch View Post

Out of curiosity how does this look as a PC monitor? Does a computer signal at 720p blown up to 42" look a little um not good?


I can't even sit at my desk anymore, it looks GREAT! Set at 1366x768, one thing you'll need to do is increase windows font size or else you will be doing a bit of squinting. I sit about 7 feet away, got my wireless m/kb, never have to leave my couch now!

Also, I have my middle button on my mouse control zoom level within Firefox, web pages don't adjust with the windows setting, you will need to enlarge in most cases. Fiddle with it a little bit, you'll love it. Games lookk awesome too, providing you have the graphics muscle for the newer games.
Hook up through DVI if you have the option.
videogamenic is offline  
post #566 of 701 Old 07-05-2007, 04:35 PM
Member
 
ajsimeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have any success with any remote control codes for time warner digital cable? please post some codes that have been confirmed to work.
ajsimeon is offline  
post #567 of 701 Old 07-07-2007, 08:17 AM
Member
 
ajsimeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have any success?
ajsimeon is offline  
post #568 of 701 Old 07-07-2007, 11:17 AM
Member
 
DrBaalzamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajsimeon View Post

anyone have any success?

I think someone stated that the number was similar to a Sony brand TV, although dont quote me on that. I also forgot where I read it, hah!

Usually on the remotes you can enter a selection mode where you just go through all the codes and then when something changes you can lock it in. Installers did it for me with my Direct TV and im sure you can look up the info for doing it online some place.

Goodluck !
DrBaalzamon is offline  
post #569 of 701 Old 07-09-2007, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
elstech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the IR codes for a Sony TV will work with the W4207. My universal Sony remote works with all buttons without even reprogramming. I suspect that this monitor is using some Sony chips in it.
elstech is offline  
post #570 of 701 Old 07-11-2007, 11:48 AM
Member
 
DevlArmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With hours and hours of gameplay, tweaking my tv to perfect contrast brightness saturation settings, i have noticed a really big breakthrough with this tv connected with VGA on Xbox360.I know it sounds kinda iffy, but setting your xbox's resolution to 1080 makes everything look alot smoother, a little brighter, color alot richer.I dont know how this is possible since the native res for are tv's it 1366x 768 wich would make you set the rez to 720, but oddly enough it looks better at 1080p, try it out for yourself.The only real change is, i guess u can call it the "sharpness" of the xbox display.Yes it looks a tad bit fuzzier than the 720 setting, but from 6 ft away it looks alot more cleaner, less jaggy, color blends in alot better per pixel.Try it out you might like it better.

brightness 43
Contrast 65 <-----------almost possitive thats my settings
saturation 51
backlight 20(daytime)0(night)

Also SD movies look waaay better, and i have my xbox "Reference Levels" set to standard, the others are too dark for me, let me know what you guys think

Sony-60A3000
Sony-46XBR4(returned for clouding issues)
Westinghouse-W4207(720p)
Xbox Elite-HDMI-120gb(1080p)
Sony-S500 BD player
DevlArmz is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off