Vizio 37" (VX37L) LCD HDTV Official Thread - Page 85 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2539 Old 08-07-2010, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
philherz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter6 View Post

I think he means an external tuner made for analog TVs.

And yes, you could do that probably for closer to $40.

Of course....you're right.

What a great solution!!!!!!!!

DirecTV Amherst, NY
philherz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2539 Old 08-27-2010, 09:25 AM
Member
 
George5D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! We have a Vizio L37 HDTV for years now.. I finally picked up a wall mount for it.. it's a KANEX brand 30" to 60" mount but my issue is the very small screws that mount to the TV.. I mean only 4 are supposed to hold 65lbs or so? Has anyone use the 4 small screws to actually wall mount this sucker? I just fear that they won't hold.. What do you think? George
George5D is offline  
post #2523 of 2539 Old 08-30-2010, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
tperki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I have had my VX37L mounted on the wall for several years now, no problem. According to my owners manual, the set weighs 45 lbs. While the holes may look small, the thread size are M8-1.25 (metric), which is fairly substantial. I used M8-1.25 x 20 hex head steel bolts. Most of the load is sheer against the screws, so use a good quality bolt material and you should be golden. I would worry more about your mounting the bracket to the wall, as opposed to the TV on the bracket. I made sure all of the screws to the wall went into a stud. The worst thing you can do is just mount through sheetrock (or whatever wall material they use where you are).

Here is a picture of what I used...
http://www.lowes.com/pd_213984-37672...ductId=3024577
tperki is offline  
post #2524 of 2539 Old 01-11-2011, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
Roger Burroughs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I'm trying to work out what has gone wrong with my VX37L, and was hoping someone else has dealt with similar symptoms. The TV started to not work intermittently during the humidity last Summer; specifically the picture would go black while the sound worked perfectly. Since then, it has been unplugged for several months. About two weeks ago, I plugged it in and it worked perfectly again for one night. After that, the screen has been black as usual.

I remember coming across something a while back that lead me to believe it might be the LCD inverter, but since then have lost whatever bookmarks I made to refer back to. Has anyone had any experience with this sort of defect in these TVs?


Again, here are the symptoms-
-Black Picture
-Sound works
-VISIO light works

It's out of warranty, by the way.
Roger Burroughs is offline  
post #2525 of 2539 Old 01-11-2011, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
nocnokneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a different issue (HDMI inputs stopped working, while Cable TV worked fine). The solution for me was to replace the Main Board for $120 (3637-0012-0150 MAIN BOARD ASSY)
nocnokneo is offline  
post #2526 of 2539 Old 02-04-2011, 02:49 PM
Member
 
SQKid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having some issues with my set and wanted to see if anyone's had something similar. The picture on mine looks like its overly bright or too saturated. it seems like it would be the main board, but rather get a second opinion before i spend $130 on a replacement. thanks!

Yamaha RX-V661
Oppo DV-970HD
Curt's TriTrix LCR, Zaph's B3S rears
Vizio VX37L
Xbox 360 w/ HD-DVD, Wii
SQKid89 is offline  
post #2527 of 2539 Old 02-04-2011, 02:59 PM
Member
 
gayle28607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boone, NC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Silly question, maybe, but have you recently changed the sources of your signals to the TV? I'm asking because you may just need to recalibrate the set for those sources.
gayle28607 is offline  
post #2528 of 2539 Old 02-04-2011, 03:14 PM
Member
 
George5D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe a reset would be a good place to start? George
George5D is offline  
post #2529 of 2539 Old 02-04-2011, 08:08 PM
Member
 
SQKid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the replies.

no changes to sources or inputs and reset a few times, no change

Yamaha RX-V661
Oppo DV-970HD
Curt's TriTrix LCR, Zaph's B3S rears
Vizio VX37L
Xbox 360 w/ HD-DVD, Wii
SQKid89 is offline  
post #2530 of 2539 Old 02-05-2011, 08:04 AM
Member
 
gayle28607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boone, NC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQKid89 View Post

thanks for the replies.

no changes to sources or inputs and reset a few times, no change

Have you tried to change the color, saturation, and brightness settings? I've usually done this with just the THX optimizer that comes with Finding Nemo - or another similar movie? (I can't remember which ones, but searching here will give you the names of DVDs that have this. It's on common DVDs.)

You might try this before, as you say, you spend more money on the TV. Here's hoping you'll find a simple solution!
gayle28607 is offline  
post #2531 of 2539 Old 04-19-2011, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
amave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my Vizio VX37L for about 4 years now and am having problems with the HD channels.

My HD channels in the lower ranges do not show up, the SD channels work fine , i tried a different HD tv on the same coax cable and the HD channels work fine on that tv.

Do these tvs have problems with the HD tuner?
amave is offline  
post #2532 of 2539 Old 04-19-2011, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
philherz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amave View Post

I have had my Vizio VX37L for about 4 years now and am having problems with the HD channels.

My HD channels in the lower ranges do not show up, the SD channels work fine , i tried a different HD tv on the same coax cable and the HD channels work fine on that tv.

Do these tvs have problems with the HD tuner?

Are you saying it's worked fine for 4 years, nothing changed, and now it's having a problem???

DirecTV Amherst, NY
philherz is offline  
post #2533 of 2539 Old 04-19-2011, 09:02 PM
Member
 
karrank%'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Who's your provider, how do you get your TV signal?
karrank% is offline  
post #2534 of 2539 Old 04-22-2011, 11:30 AM
Member
 
viziodood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amave View Post

I have had my Vizio VX37L for about 4 years now and am having problems with the HD channels.

My HD channels in the lower ranges do not show up, the SD channels work fine , i tried a different HD tv on the same coax cable and the HD channels work fine on that tv.

Do these tvs have problems with the HD tuner?

Have you tried resetting the channel search feature, once in a while i lose a couple of HD channels and doing this locks them in again. Oh btw i've had my VX37L for about 4 years also, and knock on wood it's been working perfectly never a problem. Even though it's a 720P LCD i just love this tv, haven't had a need to replace it just yet. OTA HD channels and blu-rays look great on it, i plan on keeping it till it dies.
viziodood is offline  
post #2535 of 2539 Old 05-07-2011, 01:54 AM
Newbie
 
buntfu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Through many threads, suggestions, trial an errors, days, weeks, months and now years of testing I believe I have found the ideal settings to get the most out of the Vizio VX37L.

Backlight = 0
Brightness =49
Contrast = 39
Color =40
Tint =0
Sharpness = 3
Color Temperature = Red =150 Green =146 Blue =114
Advanced Video:.
DNR = Strong
Black Level Extender = On
White Peak Limiter = On
CTI = Strong
Flesh Tone = Off
Adaptive Luma = On

Sound Settings:.
The speakers are ok but don't push them I usually leave them on 50/50 treble and bass with surround on. Sometimes it might be better to have the treble slightly higher than the bass to hear voices better. Room conditions play a big role.

Some posts say to turn off all the special features. I have found not only do they do a good job adding a little extra boost to this tv but also I feel like why not this TV is getting older now and needs all the boost it can get to keep up. To fully understand what these special features do read your manual or online here.

I've stuck by these settings religiously after discovering them over time. I thought even though this tv is older now I'm sure there is lot of them out there. These are the settings you should at least try. Hope they work out for you like they have me.

I use these settings on all input modes and in any lighting conditions. Seems to be the best overall settings for this television.

FINAL TIP:. Anything you hook up to this television, games systems, satellite, cable, etc etc make sure to use the native resolution of 720p. This TV is capable of 1080i however you sacrifice performance and quality to achieve it. It simply performs betters at its native 720p.

Regards,
Ronnie
buntfu is offline  
post #2536 of 2539 Old 05-16-2011, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
dougtv33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vizio vx37l if there is text on the screen and scene changes to one with no text an after image of text remains for about 30 seconds. Image is ghost of previous text. DOM 08/2007 VX37L HDTV10A
dougtv33 is offline  
post #2537 of 2539 Old 11-26-2011, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
skrapps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a couple of months ago, i had my mainboard repaired because the tv would sit on a black screen and no sound or image would show

once i put the board back in, the tv turned on, but now the image will not stay put, it flips as if the horizontal hold is screwed up and i dont know how to keep it still. it seems it would stay still if the picture was bright.
it is capable of showing an entire picture, so i dont think its the backlight
i tried posting videos and urls, but this is my first post and it will not let me.

does anyone know what this issue may be?
skrapps is offline  
post #2538 of 2539 Old 11-01-2012, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
tvdavid666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a copy of the VX37L service manual? It's not available from pctechsva.com any more. I have the older LSPACAG version if it matters. Thanks!
tvdavid666 is offline  
post #2539 of 2539 Old 11-01-2012, 10:49 AM
Member
 
gayle28607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boone, NC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a service manual, but have the manual that came with the Vizio VX37L10A. Is that something you are looking for, or too basic?
gayle28607 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off