Official Sony Bravia LCD Uneven Backlight/Cloudy Thread - Page 136 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
View Poll Results: Does your Sony 46" XBR LCD suffer from an uneven backlight or cloudy background?
YES, clouds can been seen when dark colors are displayed or when switching inputs 1,299 69.13%
NO, my screen has a perfect, fully even, backlight 580 30.87%
Voters: 1879. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4051 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:31 PM
Member
 
tcsekhar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by budd99 View Post

Sorry, I wrote a really quick post because I am just so happy, and am playing with my new toy right now. Build date is November.

I'll try to post pictures and whatnot later.

Looks like they are saving the good ones for the pricy 52" models.
Or the "firmware" for the 52" is actually different from the 40/46" models :-)

I hope I can get the USB key before the end of the month, so I can decide to keep or return. I am within the 30 day return window and have not signed up for any extended warranty.
tcsekhar1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4052 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
RP LCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lyris,

What is the build date on your clear set?
RP LCD is offline  
post #4053 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:35 PM
Member
 
tcsekhar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubroz View Post

I restored the original factory settings and tried the PC input thing an earlier person recommended. I have full black on the screen and no clouds in the corners. This could be a ray of hope for some, not all. Getting the USB mod from Sony might be able to fix it with software.

Hi guys,

I am reading conflicting posts on this. Can one drive the clouds to black using the VGA?
What is the verdict?
tcsekhar1 is offline  
 
post #4054 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:37 PM
Member
 
JeffGZX9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcsekhar1 View Post

Hi guys,

I am reading conflicting posts on this. Can one drive the clouds to black using the VGA?
What is the verdict?


If I remember correctly, I saw two say they drove to black, one said still clouds. I'd like to know to as I am running out of return window... Maybe I'll go give it a try myself...

Jeff
JeffGZX9 is offline  
post #4055 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lyris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by RP LCD View Post

Lyris,

What is the build date on your clear set?

Like the 2 duds, it's also from December 2006.

Quote:


Hi guys,

I am reading conflicting posts on this. Can one drive the clouds to black using the VGA?
What is the verdict?

It wouldn't be possible, because the clouds are a problem with the panel and will be permanently visible no matter how the video processing circuitry is operating.

David Mackenzie
Blu-ray Disc (and DVD) Compressionist/Author
US Correspondent & Tech Consultant, HDTVtest
ISF Certified Calibrator (Level 2) / THX Certified Professional (Video Calibration Level 2)
lyris is offline  
post #4056 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Frijole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by better>50 View Post

It's amazing they are on backorder. Is it possible there are more internet forum crazies out here than Sony estimated? Simply one blunder after another.

We can't count the lurkers who are reading the thread and taking action. Can the forum mod's get any statistics on how many views per day this thread is getting? All in all I think the more calls Sony gets about this issue the quicker it's going to be resolved. So thanks to everyone who's reading even if you're not signed up and posting.
Frijole is offline  
post #4057 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Tapz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihalco View Post

On the V2500's, it is behind the little plastic cover above the RF coax input. See the diagram on page 13 of the Operating Instructions - above item 13, labeled "For service use only".

Here's a picture of the service interface in 32V2500. It clearly is not USB.

Tapz is offline  
post #4058 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Tapz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 32V2500 clouds. Backlight 100%, contrast 100%, light sensor OFF, power saving OFF. Because it never looks like this to my eye and I usually have the settings in 50% the clouds are not very visible.

Tapz is offline  
post #4059 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Irunnoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyris View Post

I finally got a clear one!

This is my third KDL-40W2000 (which, again, if you're not sure, is the UK version of the KDL-40V2500). A slight uneven look with the backlight turned up to full, as is normal for LCD, but no excessive clouding, no banding, and not even any dead pixels. The tiny non-uniformity is invisible when the backlight is at a realistic (non-torch mode) level, unlike my last two excessively cloudy sets.

Here's a picture of it with the backlight maxed out in a dark room. As you can see there is only a tiny, normal amount of non-uniformity. The light you can see in the top left corner is actually the glowing that results from the white Input Indicator.



For anyone else in the UK (Glasgow, specifically), John Lewis were absolutely great in letting me return the defective TV. They uplifted it from my house and delivered a new one on the same day



Congratulations!!! ENJOY IT FINALLY!!!!

GT: irunnoft
Irunnoft is offline  
post #4060 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:28 PM
Member
 
00h00m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irunnoft View Post

Congratulations!!! ENJOY IT FINALLY!!!!

If only it were actually a clear one. I can see the clouds easily in that image.
00h00m is offline  
post #4061 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lyris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapz View Post

Here's a picture of the service interface in 32V2500. It clearly is not USB.


Tapz, that's a MemoryStick interface

Thanks Irunnoft!

David Mackenzie
Blu-ray Disc (and DVD) Compressionist/Author
US Correspondent & Tech Consultant, HDTVtest
ISF Certified Calibrator (Level 2) / THX Certified Professional (Video Calibration Level 2)
lyris is offline  
post #4062 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lyris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00h00m View Post

If only it were actually a clear one. I can see the clouds easily in that image.

Yes, but you can see the clouds easily when you take a picture of any LCD - none of them are perfectly even. Pictures do over-emphasise the problem, but my point is that none of the highlights you see in that are visible in real life.

Believe me, if they were, it'd be getting returned. I'm the pickiest person I know when it comes to this sort of thing.

Your results will also vary depending on how your computer monitor's set up. Take my word on this - they're not there when you look at the TV in the flesh.

David Mackenzie
Blu-ray Disc (and DVD) Compressionist/Author
US Correspondent & Tech Consultant, HDTVtest
ISF Certified Calibrator (Level 2) / THX Certified Professional (Video Calibration Level 2)
lyris is offline  
post #4063 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 05:28 PM
Member
 
davehries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I called Sony this evening and this is what I learned.

The 32" XBR2 is NOT on their radar screen. At this point in time, only the 40" and 46" will receive the firmware patch. So far, Sony believes that these are the only two models that need to be fixed. They will include other models if there is sufficient data to include them in the fix.

The 40" firmware will only work on the 40" model and the 46" firmware will only work on the 46" model. You cannot install a 40" patch on a 46" or 32" model XBR2 and so forth. Those with the 2500 model better get their oars in the water.

So, if you are having issues with your model and size you need to call Sony and start building the database for your Sony model.

They will send a Sony authorize tech out to examine your set to determine if a fix is required.

More decisions to make. And all I started out to do was buy a Hi-Def TV. I thought it would be a fun experience. Silly me.
davehries is offline  
post #4064 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 05:50 PM
Member
 
4yamahas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just returned my cloudy xbr46 to cc. The guy dragged it accross the concrete floor after we set it down.Poor xbr. Anyway I had to go to a different store to buy a replacement and it as as bad or worse than the first one . Apparantly they are going to keep on sending them out this way so I will have to switch brands.

55E6P / 65G6P
4yamahas is offline  
post #4065 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
burnz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
returned my 46 xbr3 the other day and the new one has more clouds than the first one. #3 comming soon.
burnz2006 is offline  
post #4066 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
burnz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4yamahas View Post

Just returned my cloudy xbr46 to cc. The guy dragged it accross the concrete floor after we set it down.Poor xbr. Anyway I had to go to a different store to buy a replacement and it as as bad or worse than the first one . Apparantly they are going to keep on sending them out this way so I will have to switch brands.

here that, just about at the same point. mabe one more try for me. sucks because I love the picture on this T.V.
burnz2006 is offline  
post #4067 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC_Jeff View Post

This may explain why sets with early (July) build dates were cloud-free--they were being double checked by Sony in Japan.

Then again, if Sony stopped double-checking the panels, perhaps they were coming out of the plant in good condition and the problem is elsewhere. Arrrghhh..who knows.

NYC_Jeff,
I can attest that not all July Sets are cloud free (since I have a cloudy July build), and I've got a pretty low serial. I think this was there in July as well, but perhaps not as widely noticed and those July owners aren't all looking at this forum.

Jay S.
JayS99 is offline  
post #4068 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 07:08 PM
Member
 
riotj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubroz View Post

I restored the original factory settings and tried the PC input thing an earlier person recommended. I have full black on the screen and no clouds in the corners. This could be a ray of hope for some, not all. Getting the USB mod from Sony might be able to fix it with software.

dubroz what PC input thing? Can't find what you are talking about. Please elaborate
riotj is offline  
post #4069 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
dubroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by riotj View Post

dubroz what PC input thing? Can't find what you are talking about. Please elaborate


tvismylife posted this a few pages back, I tried the same thing and it makes me think there is hope for software. Others have posted that even with a PC they see clouds ......


""" I have been following this thread for the last couple of days. I have had my KDL-40XBR2 for 18 days now and have noticed minimal clouding, but I am curious if anyone else has hooked up a PC to their XBR. With the PC the black is a true black with no light bleeding thru. I changed the background to none and the desktop color to black and the display is uniformly black from corner to corner. Even with the screen resolution set at 800 X 600 the unused side portions on the screen show up black. Also change my screen saver to the starfield and got the same results. I wonder if this a sign that this is a firmware problem and not hardware. Any thoughts. """
dubroz is offline  
post #4070 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 08:01 PM
Member
 
elvendio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcsekhar1 View Post

Hi guys,

I am reading conflicting posts on this. Can one drive the clouds to black using the VGA?
What is the verdict?

I tried it and it didn't change a thing still cloudy with black driven from my computer.
elvendio is offline  
post #4071 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
thelead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvendio View Post

I tried it and it didn't change a thing still cloudy with black driven from my computer.

ditto on my 40v2500
thelead is offline  
post #4072 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 08:17 PM
Member
 
pinbwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubroz View Post

tvismylife posted this a few pages back, I tried the same thing and it makes me think there is hope for software. Others have posted that even with a PC they see clouds ......


""" I have been following this thread for the last couple of days. I have had my KDL-40XBR2 for 18 days now and have noticed minimal clouding, but I am curious if anyone else has hooked up a PC to their XBR. With the PC the black is a true black with no light bleeding thru. I changed the background to none and the desktop color to black and the display is uniformly black from corner to corner. Even with the screen resolution set at 800 X 600 the unused side portions on the screen show up black. Also change my screen saver to the starfield and got the same results. I wonder if this a sign that this is a firmware problem and not hardware. Any thoughts. """

IT'S OFFICIAL! "PC input"MAKES NO DIFFERENCE whether you are watching through the PC input or any other inputs, THE CLOUDS ARE ALWAYS THERE, and will always be there....

I connected a PC via VGA to a 46" XBR2 AUGUST build(with slight clouding on left side). And I used a program called "DPT" http://www.dps.uk.com/freeware_DTP.htm
to test for dead or stuck pixels, it allows the screen to be completely black, with no windows borders showing on the outside. This program created the ideal Black screen to test for clouds.

People, make sure through a pc you have NO windows borders with START at the bottom of the screen, SCREEN must be completely BLACK. THIS is why the "DPT" program is useful.
In my tests, I had PICTURE turned up to max and Backlight to max... Clouds were clearly visible just like Cable thru HDMI and component!! The PC makes no difference!! The software Patch may also make no difference!! The panel is physically creating the clouds.
pinbwiz is offline  
post #4073 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
thelead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have created another thread just so we can get a scope of how bad this problem is and how many other models are affected. Please chime in.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=790412
thelead is offline  
post #4074 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 08:58 PM
Member
 
mihalco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapz View Post

Here's a picture of the service interface in 32V2500. It clearly is not USB.


The manual for my set covers the 40 and 46V2500, so I guess this doesn't hold for the 32V2500. For the 46V2500 it's a USB port:

mihalco is offline  
post #4075 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 09:22 PM
Member
 
xetairex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Floor mngr at BB said this problem was fixed 'weeks ago' and that they have new models sitting around with no problems (very skeptical) wisely, I did not exchange, but returned it (took a 200$ loss for 'install charges' LOL)

Waiting for the next best flat panel TV @ 3000$.

Any suggestions?
xetairex is offline  
post #4076 of 9118 Old 01-18-2007, 11:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you should have tried it and got back will the results for the people with the clouds problem
scherer326 is offline  
post #4077 of 9118 Old 01-19-2007, 01:06 AM
Member
 
schtebie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a KDL-46XBR2 from Best Buy. I haven't received it yet as it will not be delivered to me until after I move into my new home in a few weeks. I have, however, been by the store several times to check out the floor model and did notice that it was a November 2006 build with mild cloudiness. This of course bothers me and I'm hoping that the particular set that I get will be after the firmware updates have been applied at the factory. Otherwise, I think it may be best that I return this set before I even receive it to save me any unnecessary headaches.

On the other hand, I have gone to Circuit City and checked out the floor model KDL-40XBR2 and found that the model was a July 2006 build and clean as can be. This thread has gotten me super paranoid.... I guess I'll just have to keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best.
schtebie is offline  
post #4078 of 9118 Old 01-19-2007, 02:18 AM
Member
 
4yamahas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This latest one I have is five times worse than the last xbr46 . Watching a movie with dark scenes it looks like a flahlight is being shined accross the screen from the edge .This is sickening that sony knows about the problem and they are still being sold like this .

55E6P / 65G6P
4yamahas is offline  
post #4079 of 9118 Old 01-19-2007, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Tapz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyris View Post

Tapz, that's a MemoryStick interface

It's too wide (about 1 inch) to be a MemoryStick interface. Besides, there is a clip in the left side of the connector.
Tapz is offline  
post #4080 of 9118 Old 01-19-2007, 05:24 AM
Member
 
einscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone with Laterria at Sony tech support. I very calmly explained the situation I was facing and after she reported that my tv was in fact affected (really? and i thought those clouds were "normal") she informed me that they would be shipping the item shortly. When i questioned her how soon "shortly" would be, she said within 7 days. It's supposed to be shipped through US Postal Service, so I guess if they sent it on the 7th business day (which would be January 30 or so) and it takes 10 days to get here, that would be February 9th. Since I have until February 12 to return the product, I think that leaves me enough leeway to test it out and return if needed. In the meantime, if anyone else gets their delivery first and they are in the greater Philadelphia region and don't want to test it on their own tv, I would be happy to guinea pig mine.

Needless to say, Laterria assured me that the process would in no way eliminate my abilities to use the complete function-set of my tv (ie, brightness, backlighting, etc.) She did not, however, have any clue as to what the USB update would actually accomplish--so take everything the Sony techs tell you with a grain of salt.

I am still holding out hope that whatever this is will actually fix the TV without ending the user ability to control settings and without forcing a low backlight and light sensor and the like. Honestly, I am not sure once I load the product how I will be able to determine if it has indeed forced a new setting or limited my controls (ie- the screen says i am adjusting backlight and color and such but it's really not doing anything)...So we'll just have to see how it looks. I may get a friend's PS3 and play the blue-ray of Corpse Bride and use Irunnoft's exact settings and see how it compares. But then again, we're dealing with image distortion from digital cameras and computer monitors- but it's a start.

Cheers!
einscot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia S Series Kdl 40s2010 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia W Series Kdl 46w5100 46 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off