Olevia 427V Slow Remote Response - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-26-2006, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the 427V during the Office Depot sale. The remote does not control the set real well. Sometimes it takes 2 or 3 button presses for it to take the command. Other times it's fine. It may also take the command but not perform it's function for 5-10 seconds. When this happens I'm usually hitting the button again then all of a sudden it takes all the presses at one time. I replaced the batteries and checked for firmware upgrades but there are none yet. Anyone else seeing this or should I take it back? I hate to return it as it looks great and shows none of the ghosting issues described here.

Gary
BigG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-31-2006, 12:05 PM
Member
 
wolly6973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also got the 427V from Office Depot. For the remote response I only feel that there is a delay after the TV is first turned on. I think that the biggest problem is that it seems like you have to point the remote directly at the IR port on the front. Do you find the blue LED on the power button to be annoying?
wolly6973 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-31-2006, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ended up returning the set and exchanging it for a replacement. This set has the same delay issue only it's not nearly as bad. As far as the blue light goes, I stuck a piece of electrical tape over it. Yes, it's very annoying!

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-31-2006, 03:29 PM
Member
 
wolly6973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had electrical tape over it at first too. I found some of my old model paints. I painted over it with the "Aluminum" paint. The color is very very close. You don't even notice the difference! It took a couple of coats, but works great. Just a suggestion.
wolly6973 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-08-2007, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
blackomegax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the led is bad design, sure, but it does have utility in two specific instances

if you have no other light source in a room and turn the tv off, the room is lit fairly well by the LED.
or finding the button in the dark.
blackomegax is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-08-2007, 12:01 PM
Member
 
wolly6973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is true. But those occasions are few and far between for me. It is much easier to find the glowing light switch that is a few feet away. And I also don't have to worry about banging into any of my $$$$ equipment.
wolly6973 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off