Westinghouse 37" monitor W3 - lock up? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-29-2006, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sammyb26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

just bought the above on Monday...very good. excellent with my xbox 360.

woke up this morning, turned it on...played for about 10mins..then the screen went dark...power on....nobody home.

after resetting got the pic back for about 4 secs.

is this a lock up like the 42 inch i've been reading?

sorry if this has been posted before...but after getting it in and hoping for the best...bit disappointed.

i've heard about firmware updates etc....how would you update the lcd monitor?

any help would be gratefully received.

thanks

sam
sammyb26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-29-2006, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pete4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In 6 months I had about 4-5 lock ups on mine. When it locks up, it doesn't respond to any inputs from remote or TV buttons, not even power off but it displays video fine, if it was working at the time of lock up. I have it on surge protector, so powering off and on surge protector will fix everything and if I do it fast enough it won't even reset custom settings. At the moment you would need to send the set to factory for firmware update but there is service port on it, so I hope in the future for better solution. If it does it often, try to replace it, if not I wouldn't bother, once a month I can get up from chair and flip the switch. Try to disable standby mode (backlight turns off when there is no signal), it seems to help.
pete4 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-29-2006, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sammyb26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks mate.

will try this tonight and let you know

S
sammyb26 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-01-2006, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sammyb26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmm..tried that....switched on/off...but still screen comes back for two secs and then goes.

sending it to westinghouse

oh, and another note for anyone thinking of buying this from j&r....don't ....

there are no return policies for 20" monitors or larger
sammyb26 is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off