Plasma or LCD? Please help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sure this has been discussed many many times over the years - but I am a newbie to the flat screen world. I have heard that plasma TV's - once they go - you have to throw themout. With LCD - you replace the bulb.

At a store yesterday the sales guy told me that plasmas run for 60,000 hours which is about 13 - 20 years, same as LCD. LCD bulb replacement is around $1000. So its not a big deal to get a plasma and just replace it.

Is this true? CAn anyone here assist with the hours LCD vs Plasma and replacement, etc etc.

Thanks a bunch!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 14
LCD's Flat panels are liquid crystal diplays and do not have a bulb to replace. You are thinking about DLP projection TV's. Life expectancy of Flat panels (Plasma and LCD's) are about the same.
post #3 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member

LCDs have backlights, typically rated for 30,000-60,000 hours. These backlight bulbs are nowhere near $1000 anymore, normally less than $200. - DR
post #4 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 02:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvm1x
I am sure this has been discussed many many times over the years - but I am a newbie to the flat screen world. I have heard that plasma TV's - once they go - you have to throw themout. With LCD - you replace the bulb.

At a store yesterday the sales guy told me that plasmas run for 60,000 hours which is about 13 - 20 years, same as LCD. LCD bulb replacement is around $1000. So its not a big deal to get a plasma and just replace it.

Is this true? CAn anyone here assist with the hours LCD vs Plasma and replacement, etc etc.

Thanks a bunch!