Samsung 1080p LCD Overscan Fixed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
techstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this has been reported but my LNS5296D needed to be service and after the tech upgraded the firmware I no longer had any overscan. I checked it with several 1920 x 1080 images from a pc and ghost recon for the xbox 360 to confirm that I’m getting 1:1 from vga and component sources. I can upload some pics if needed.
techstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Nate7357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats great news !! can we see some pics please ?
Nate7357 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
spicaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thats awesome... how did he upgrade the firmware and can they do it on the 46" models?


actually.... did you try it over the hdmi or dvi?

i think the vga already allowed 1:1
spicaly is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
krispykeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
You better keep the info flowing! This is about the only thing people knock the Sammy for in the 1080P lcd wars. This is pretty big news if true.

I am also anxiously awaiting word on the 46 and a firmware upgrade.
krispykeith is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
falser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought it always did have 1080p support for vga and component without overscan. The issue was that it overscanned it's HDMI inputs and thus made 1080p support a moot point.
falser is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-11-2006, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
stuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It always did 1:1 via VGA.

It never did it via HDMI, and probably still doesn't.
stuka is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off