Newbie upsampling getting around rough picture quality on my dads westinghouse - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-12-2006, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Esquire360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My dad just upgraded to a westy 37w3 ithink thats the model, i know its 1080p, so hd looks good through comcast, on hd, but normal channels look rough, s here is my question

1. if he went with a lower res hd tv (1300x700)would that even things, i assum the upsampling is whats killing it

2. will sd tv look good on any hd tv?

3. is 1080p good just in hd-dvd & BR area?

any thing else i should know, about setting him up? he has 3 vcrs and a replay tv sd stuff.

p.s. i tried searching the forums.. but to no avail, upsampling is the problem i think.
Esquire360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-12-2006, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Esquire360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh, would a built in tunner tv upsample better? does the westy even upsample?
Esquire360 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-12-2006, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
dr0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Every TV with more than 480 lines of resolution upscales (=upsamples). Some scalers are better than others, some tuners are better at resolving TV signals than others, some signals are better than others.

Resolution is a very tiny component of picture quality. Has this set been calibrated?

Many of us are delighted with the SD quality on our HD LCD sets. It would not be an enormous surprise if one of the least expensive HD LCD sets sold had a worse PQ than pricier sets.

Incidentally, this is a very very common topic of discussion on this forum.
dr0s is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-12-2006, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Esquire360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, i looked for it it should be sticked to the top, i know searching is key,

so we set it to 720 looks better gonna bump it to 1080i later
Esquire360 is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off