Philips 47" 1080p LCD HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-28-2006, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
galaxy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Costco is going to sell this unit by end of January '07. Does anybody have any comments or information on this 47" LCD set? It has a dual HDMI port.
galaxy99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-29-2006, 05:00 PM
Member
 
nollchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glastonbury, Connecticut
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at the Philips web site, it doesn't appear to handle 1080p inputs. It only lists up to 1080i

Also, Costco is adding a 47" Vizio 1080 set. I wonder if it is the same glass and if so, what differences there are.
nollchr is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-30-2006, 03:30 PM
Member
 
nollchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glastonbury, Connecticut
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Confirmed in Owner's Manual - HDMI only supports up to 1080i inputs

Also noticed a firmware update released on 12/12/2006
nollchr is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 12-30-2006, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your info seems to be out of date. On the website it's listed as 1080p set. Also received Costco coupon book and it's also says 1080p.

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-31-2006, 07:09 AM
Member
 
nollchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glastonbury, Connecticut
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by klas View Post

Your info seems to be out of date. On the website it's listed as 1080p set. Also received Costco coupon book and it's also says 1080p.

Panel is 1080p, however inputs signals it will accept do not include 1080p. From web site/manual:

Supported Display Resolution
Computer formats : 640 x 480, 60Hz, 800 x 600, 60Hz, 1024 x 768, 60Hz
Video formats : 480i, 60Hz, 480p, 60Hz, 720p, 60Hz, 1080i, 60Hz


1080p is not listed...i hope it is mistake...On other 1080p sets such as Sony and Sharp, 1080p input signal is support on at least the HDMI input.
nollchr is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-31-2006, 03:55 PM
Member
 
classic911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at both the Vizio and the Philips; Philips looks like it is available only online; I'm hoping that the Philips can handle a 1080p signal and that it is a mistake in their materials....Vizio's quality is hit and miss.....
classic911 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-03-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
damn just got the costco coupon & thought woah, maybe this has a shot & BAM no 1080p


link:
http://www.consumer.philips.com/cons...ESHQVHKFSEKI5P

weak specs all across
wtfer is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-06-2007, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
how much will this tv cost at costco?

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-07-2007, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Cremaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wtfer...why would you say weak specs all the way across. from the link you posted Philips claim to support 1080p on this model ( they list it under "features" but not under "specifications."

I was told it was $1999.99. But their system (Costco's) did not show whether the price was before or after the $300 off.
Cremaster is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-07-2007, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
kclfoxtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cremaster View Post

wtfer...why would you say weak specs all the way across. from the link you posted Philips claim to support 1080p on this model ( they list it under "features" but not under "specifications."

Having owned a sony sxrd, there is a difference between 1080p panel resolution and its accompanying inputs. Nothing in the specs or features suggests this TV will accept ANY 1080p input. Even the PDF file on the website indicates a max input resolution of 1080i. Everything will be upconverted to 1080p, but I seriously doubt you will be able to feed this a 1080p video signal. It is a shame because the other specs are actually pretty good and I am impressed with the Philips 42" LCD which is on display at Sams and Costco.
kclfoxtrot is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 01-07-2007, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
Cremaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure what you are looking at but I am referring to the specs on the Philips site. They claim Full HD display 1920 X 1080p. Philips is one of the companies that use "Full" to indicate 1080p resolution, as opposed to other manufacturers who use "True" HD. Maybe they just forgot to print 1080p as one of the resoltions in the maual or spec sheet. Look everywhere else in the "features" and "specifications" and you will see they do claim 1080p.

Anyway, what do you mean by "upconverted." Are you saying some sort of firmware/software upgrade will allow 1080p from 1080i???
Cremaster is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 01-07-2007, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it is full or true 1080p... all lated LCD panels have 1080p support. No one will be buying if it didn't. Just go to Fry's they are clearning out of all old 1080i sets and most of the ones they have now are 1080p.

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 01-07-2007, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
joeyjoeyjoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too was looking at the philips but decided against it because of the input limit of 1080i. This means that yes the display itself will display at 1080p BUT it will not allow a straight input from say a blu-ray players output of 1080p. It will only take a 1080i input.

So instead of it being 1080p input to display at 1080p on the screen. It can only take a maximum of 1080i input and through some fancy electronics scale it up to 1080p which is the native resolution of the display. So yes you will see everything in 1080p the only downside of this set is that you can not feed it a straight 1080p input like high definition dvd material and thats why there are some of us disappointed by the specs.

I wont even mention how weak the PC resolution support is on it as well.
joeyjoeyjoey is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 01-08-2007, 12:37 PM
Member
 
vtjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also interested in this set and very confused by the specs! Why in the world would anyone create a 1920x1080p panel that doesn't accept 1080p inputs. Makes zero sense to me.........
vtjedi is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 01-08-2007, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
kclfoxtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtjedi View Post

I'm also interested in this set and very confused by the specs! Why in the world would anyone create a 1920x1080p panel that doesn't accept 1080p inputs. Makes zero sense to me.........

Ask Sony...that is exactly what they did with their 1st run sony sxrd systems. Funny think is my Pioneer Plasma will accept a 1080p signal, but the panels max resolution is 720p. I agree it makes little sense. I guess other than to add consumer hype that they have a 1080p panel. Need to read the fine print.
kclfoxtrot is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 01-31-2007, 06:29 AM
Member
 
farstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has this conversation moved to a new location? I keep checking and no new messages:

The coupon is now $500 off and the price is now $1799. Much better. Anyone bought yet?
farstar is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 01-31-2007, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Don't h8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by farstar View Post

has this conversation moved to a new location? I keep checking and no new messages:

The coupon is now $500 off and the price is now $1799. Much better. Anyone bought yet?


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=784017
Don't h8 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off