~Official Olevia 747i/742i owners thread - Page 125 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3721 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow, they must be selling out in a hurry.

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3722 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 07:35 AM
Member
 
mike752's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebesthereis View Post

on the TV - not remote

1. Press {Menu}
2. Simultaneously press {source} {vol-} & {ch-)

use the remote to navigate

then configure to hearts content

press {menu} to exit

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by twolff View Post

It was listed on the .com last night when I posted.

Yeah, now they're out of stock. Here's the link: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...571&CatId=3650
mike752 is offline  
post #3723 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I decided to take some digital pics of my 747i PIP set-up to post on the Beijing Olympics thread I started in the Programming section of AVS. As usual I got carried away, so here are pics of my 747i in PIP with (a) OTA source (WNBC-DT), (b) a Time Warner Cable SA-8300 HD-DVR with dual PIP of its own (in addition to the 747i's!) and (c) a Toshiba Qosmio F45-AV423 with HD-DVD player and access to (d) streaming video from www.nbcolympics.com.

Split-Screen (deformed Full Screen & perfect Aspect modes):



Multiple-source PIP:












How about some PIP with standard definition sources mixed with the HD? Here's Mexican Soccer (Telefutura SD TWC), South American Soccer (Fox Sports En Espanol SD TWC) and Beach Volleyball/Men's Swimming (NBC-HD OTA):

dad1153 is offline  
post #3724 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 10:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Continues...





Qosmio in action (HDMI to the 747i):






dad1153 is offline  
post #3725 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 12:42 PM
Member
 
rivermaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
que golazo dad153 , el de buonanotte ..........................
rivermaniac is offline  
post #3726 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
And tonight America de Cali versus Maracaibo in Copa Sudamerica!
dad1153 is offline  
post #3727 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fort Apache
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad1153 View Post

And tonight America de Cali versus Maracaibo in Copa Sudamerica!

WOW!! You are SOOOO brave. Dude, I'm SOOOO afraid to do anything but 1 source, full screen, because of the banding. (OOPS, I mean, image retention.) I guess as long as you keep the sources switching, you don't give the 747i enough time to get a hold on the burn.

GODSPEED!!!
thebesthereis is offline  
post #3728 of 5094 Old 08-14-2008, 11:41 PM
Member
 
DULLAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, I've got a strange but serious question....

...given we all know 747i is among the best for 480i/SD...
...what setting for incoming DVI-HDMI from a desktop would make youtube clips bearable ? (with the "&fmt=18" suffix on the end, and full screen, of course)
bearable, or in the best case, looking good ?

I'm sure someone here will cook up the right toggle/setting/etc.
How well can Realta polish these turds ?
DULLAH is offline  
post #3729 of 5094 Old 08-18-2008, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
infinitera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So we bought one of these over the weekend, and while the display is great, it has exposed weaknesses with both cheap-o dvd players we tried it with. I expect this is the case with any HD display (this is my first). The funny thing is, each dvd player had a different quirk that became magnified by having it on a 1080p screen with its own quality upconversion.

So my question(s) to the collective of owners here:

1. What have you found is the best dvd input format to the 747? 480i or 480p?

2. Is any particular physical medium (s-video, component, whatever) better?

3. Given 1 and 2, what mfg. or player would you recommend (or should I repost this whole thing to the dvd forum )?

Thanks!
infinitera is offline  
post #3730 of 5094 Old 08-18-2008, 09:22 AM
Member
 
dlp755's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. 480i output from your DVD is best, because it lets the Realta in the 747 do ALL of the deinterlacing/scaling/processing. THAT is what you probably bought the 747 for in the first place, because the 747 has the best chip for the job on the market, the Realta.

2. The best quality will come via HDMI or DVI connections.

So basically you want a plain-vanilla 480i signal output via HDMI. Oppo's cheapest current player DV-980H for $169 does that, as did its earleir generation 970H. I am sure others could chime in with other models.


Quote:
Originally Posted by infinitera View Post

So we bought one of these over the weekend, and while the display is great, it has exposed weaknesses with both cheap-o dvd players we tried it with. I expect this is the case with any HD display (this is my first). The funny thing is, each dvd player had a different quick that became magnified by having it on a 1080p screen with its own quality upconversion.

So my question(s) to the collective of owners here:

1. What have you found is the best dvd input format to the 747? 480i or 480p?

2. Is any particular physical medium (s-video, component, whatever) better?

3. Given 1 and 2, what mfg. or player would you recommend (or should I repost this whole thing to the dvd forum )?

Thanks!

dlp755 is offline  
post #3731 of 5094 Old 08-18-2008, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by infinitera View Post

So we bought one of these over the weekend, and while the display is great, it has exposed weaknesses with both cheap-o dvd players we tried it with. I expect this is the case with any HD display (this is my first). The funny thing is, each dvd player had a different quirk that became magnified by having it on a 1080p screen with its own quality upconversion.

Standard definition is only as good as the source or the machine that is connected to the HDTV. If you admit that they're 'cheap-o' DVD players then why not spring the extra few bucks for a quality DVD player?

Quote:


So my question(s) to the collective of owners here:

1. What have you found is the best dvd input format to the 747? 480i or 480p?

480i if possible, although 480 will work if that's the only way you can output a signal from the player. My PS3 and XBox 360 will only output 480p (HDMI and component, respectively) and, compared with the 480i from a non-upconverting player, the differences were indetectable to my naked eye. In theory though its best to let the 747i handle any SD signal it gets from the very bottom (480i) up.

Quote:


2. Is any particular physical medium (s-video, component, whatever) better?

HDMI and component (red-green-blue cable, also known as RGB) are by far the best. S-Video, composite (yellow-red-white cable) and RF are, in order, the best-to-worst alternatives after HDMI and component.

Quote:


3. Given 1 and 2, what mfg. or player would you recommend (or should I repost this whole thing to the dvd forum )?

If its only DVD's you want then Oppo makes a terrific upconverting player that's also region free (PAL DVD's from Europe!) and has a quality built. Its also a great upconverter for the times you need to hook the Oppo to an HDTV other than your 747i. For regular off the shelf brands I've been lucky with Panasonic and Pioneer DVD players for years (particularly the latter). Ideally get a quality DVD players with HDMI so the 'hand shake' with the HDTV (whether it's the 747i or another in the future) is an all-digital affair.

Quote:


Thanks!

That'll be $38.87 cents, will that be charge of cash you will be using to pay?
dad1153 is offline  
post #3732 of 5094 Old 08-18-2008, 10:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see pixelization or blocking when viewing HD content with large areas of fast motion from OTA (over the air) signal, always have. The Olympics looks great but motion causes some "blocking". I assume that it's due to compression of the broadcast signal as it isn't present when viewing Blu-Ray, but I thought that OTA was the least compressed signal and would assume that the Olympics is broadcast in the best compression format so it surprises me to see this. Do any of you see the same? What do the experts in here think is the cause? If it's not compression is there any way to minimize it? Thanks in advance.
Thud2 is offline  
post #3733 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 08:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
^^^ OTA is as pure a delivery system for high-def as it comes for broadcasting (Blu-ray is better because its a direct connection between media and your HDTV without wireless transmission in-between). If you're seen macoblocking/pixelization its not the 747i but the source that's at fault.
dad1153 is offline  
post #3734 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Kythlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, I must have bought this TV at the right time... I was trying to recommend it to a friend and it's completely disappeared from Tiger Direct and Amazon is listing it for $500 more than I paid for it. Yikes!
Kythlyn is offline  
post #3735 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm glad to hear that it's not the set but dissapointed when I realize that what I'm seeing is as good as broadcast TV viewing is going to get. Blu-Ray is so sharp at all times that this blocking during motion in OTA broadcast TV really bothers me. Does this blocking appear in HD Cable, Fiber and Satellite also?
Thud2 is offline  
post #3736 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Depends on the cable/satellite system you subscribe to, the city you live in (some cities have better reception/coax distribution systems than others), infrastructure of the city (not every building/city block is wired for fiber cables), the station you are watching (some stations bit-starve their high-def signals more than others), the program you are tuned into and the day of the week and/or weather when you're watching... no joke! Seriously, some days my NYC Time Warner Cable HD package looks like a million bucks; other days its macroblock city and I want to heave my SA-8300 HD-DVR out the frakking window! When dealing with high-def signals other than those hooked-up directly to your 747i from a computer or HD-DVD/Blu-ray player you're basically getting watered-down HD Lite. Sometimes its good-enough HD Lite to be happy (I've seen some high-def movies on HDNet, Showtime HD and/or HBO-HD that have been stunning) but some days its the type of HD Lite that makes you glad you own Blu-ray. Or, with the 747i, SD DVD's that at least appear presentable as upconverted-by-the-Realta 1080p signals.
dad1153 is offline  
post #3737 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I'm just surprised that NBC didn't broadcast the Olympics without compressing it to the point that blocking is so noticeable. Or maybe it was compressed by the local affiliate here in Seattle?
Thud2 is offline  
post #3738 of 5094 Old 08-19-2008, 10:14 PM
nat
Member
 
nat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thud2 View Post

Yeah, I'm just surprised that NBC didn't broadcast the Olympics without compressing it to the point that blocking is so noticeable. Or maybe it was compressed by the local affiliate here in Seattle?

I have been watching it here in CA and didn't notice any issues. It must be a local broadcast issue...
nat is offline  
post #3739 of 5094 Old 08-20-2008, 01:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nat ,I only see it in scenes with large areas of motion such as when the NBC Logo crosses the screen between scenes or close ups of fast moving atheletes. Please, anyone, let me know if you see this in any scenes of HD Broadcasts. I'm trying to discern if this is my set or a symptom of broadcast TV. Konichiwa
Thud2 is offline  
post #3740 of 5094 Old 08-20-2008, 04:39 AM
Member
 
minceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the greater Philadelphia area, NBC has the weakest HD signal of just about any channel. I've had Comcast and now FIOS and I've always had a gripe with motion blur, artifacts, etc on NBC. Sunday Night Football is so inferior to the other networks.
minceman is offline  
post #3741 of 5094 Old 08-20-2008, 07:23 AM
Member
 
rivermaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's the broadcast thud , I'am watching alot of olympics this week ( look for argentina vs nigeria , fri 9pm pac time ) When it goes from the far away seens to the close ups , you could see pixelation and blocking . Also it depends what you're watching that the quality of the cameras is better or the lighting of the venue . I saw ping pong last night and same thing , when it closes up for a second you could see pixelation . But it still looks better than sd ..........................................
rivermaniac is offline  
post #3742 of 5094 Old 08-20-2008, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Yahwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.. and thank for you all for your help in the past.. especially, (name escapes me right now) that poster who posted the SM settings.

Well, I just discovered something that could be potentially concerning.

-------
Sometimes I use the powerbutton to turn the TV on/off sometimes I use the remote. Lastnight I noticed that the powerbutton was stiff. The back part of the button won't push in although the front part does - so the button sorta pivots to turn on/off the TV which I hadn't noticed before. The other buttons e.g. menu, volume, etc push in as expected.

so, do your power button act the same, or is it just mine?

thx
Yahwey is offline  
post #3743 of 5094 Old 08-20-2008, 09:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yahwey, it does hinge at the back when you push the power button.

Thanks everyone for the responses about pixelation, I thought (and was hoping) that it was compression of the signal that cause this. Thanks all.
Thud2 is offline  
post #3744 of 5094 Old 08-21-2008, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Yahwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Thud2, and what a relief.

Let me take a crack at the pixelations, I believe they're refered to as macro blocking and are caused by the cable and especially satelite provider's compressing the video to fit more channels on the same bandwidth stream. They are most evident during cut scenes and fast movements. As the fine folks above already mentioned, some channels get affected more then others depending on their popularity.

These providers are in a cut throat business, so their trying to out do eachother with the programming. Unfortunately the more they offer the more sacrifices are made in the programes IQ due to bandwidth limitations.

I think Verizon through their FIOS service offers the best IQ compared to the rest.

As long as your quality DVD/Bluray/home movies don't suffer the same, your TV is fine.
Yahwey is offline  
post #3745 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yahwey View Post

These providers are in a cut throat business, so their trying to out do eachother with the programming. Unfortunately the more they offer the more sacrifices are made in the programes IQ due to bandwidth limitations..

Cutthroat is right! "WE HAVE 100 CRYSTAL CLEAR HD CHANNELS!" Sure, as long as nobody moves.
Thud2 is offline  
post #3746 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Smooth-Op's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys I really need help here.


My TV broke a month ago after smoke came out of it's back (it was only 3 weeks old).

I've been calling Olevia every 2-3 days ever since to try getting my replacement unit.

However, this week, they've told me the software that produces shipping labels for defective units for Canadian customers is down (I need to send my defective TV before getting the replacement unit) and they have no idea when is gonna go back up.

I asked the agent if it was somehow related to them having financial difficulties and going bankrupt any time soon but he said he could not answer this question.


What can I do? I'm just a student and I really can't aford to loose 2000$ on this TV. Please tell me what I can do to get my replacement unit. I'm really desperate. Who can I call/what can I say/do??
Smooth-Op is offline  
post #3747 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What terms can we search in this thread to find someone who returned theirs? Maybe they can give you the info you need (an address, label info and such?)
Thud2 is offline  
post #3748 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thud2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DanLuckes returned his successfully, IM him.

so did jimschatz, HDMI_13, Robot Devil

I searched the thread for "replacement".

They may have the name of a call center manager or an alternate phone# you can call.
Thud2 is offline  
post #3749 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 04:21 PM
 
phipp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This has all the numbers

http://www.syntaxbrillian.com/company/locations.html

I would call The LCD Operations one first. Then if that didnt get me anywhere I would call the headquarters in Tempe Arizona (which I did once and had a tech callme back within a day)
phipp01 is offline  
post #3750 of 5094 Old 08-22-2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Smooth-Op's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot guys. I'll try this on monday.
Smooth-Op is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Olevia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off