~Official Olevia 747i/742i owners thread - Page 171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5101 of 5129 Old 02-09-2015, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If anyone who still reads this thread can tell me anything about replace the ir sensor board on the 747i, or can point me in a good direction, I'll appreciate it...a lot! If not, I still like your bacon and your hockey.
bulbhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5102 of 5129 Old 02-09-2015, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
*how to replace
bulbhead is offline  
post #5103 of 5129 Old 02-11-2015, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulbhead View Post
Hi, Rajar. I am new here, though I've had my 747i since 2008. I bought it as a direct result of all the good info/advice I found here, so thanks to all of you for that. My set has performed flawlessly until now and we love it. About 6 mos. ago it stopped responding to remote control signals. We tested the remote control itself, as well as other compatible remotes, and now believe the ir sensor board is bad. We have found a new replacement board to buy, but are unsure about installation. Google searches yield nothing specific for schematics, repair manuals or YouTube videos for this model. Wondering if you or anyone here has any direction for us. Thanks, Mary
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulbhead View Post
*Rarjar. Sorry. Guess I was thinking of Raj, as in Rajah, as in King of all things Olevia. Or, I just wasn't paying attention.
Mary, I may still have the schematic on the 747i. Unfortunately, the TV is in East Texas and I'm at work in Louisiana. I'll gladly take a look next time I'm home and see if I can find the schematic and post up a copy if I'm successful.
rarjar is offline  
post #5104 of 5129 Old 02-12-2015, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Rarjar, you are a gentleman and scholar. Thank you. I'll look forward to your post. Mary
bulbhead is offline  
post #5105 of 5129 Old 02-13-2015, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I won't be able to look for it until the weekend of February 21st so don't give up on me Mary.
rarjar is offline  
post #5106 of 5129 Old 02-14-2015, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
can anyone send me the latest firmware for 747-B11 my email is (richyhdelgado@gmail.com) thanks in advance!
richyjdelgado is offline  
post #5107 of 5129 Old 02-16-2015, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by richyjdelgado View Post
can anyone send me the latest firmware for 747-B11 my email is (richyhdelgado@gmail.com) thanks in advance!
Latest firmware sent to your email listed!
rarjar is offline  
post #5108 of 5129 Old 02-23-2015, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rarjar View Post
Mary, I may still have the schematic on the 747i. Unfortunately, the TV is in East Texas and I'm at work in Louisiana. I'll gladly take a look next time I'm home and see if I can find the schematic and post up a copy if I'm successful.
Sorry Mary, I looked for the schematic this past weekend and could not locate it anywhere.
rarjar is offline  
post #5109 of 5129 Old 02-24-2015, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rarjar View Post
Sorry Mary, I looked for the schematic this past weekend and could not locate it anywhere.
Thanks so much for trying Rarjar. Encompass Supply still has not been able to ship the replacement ir sensor board that they 'backordered', so I may have to surrender the hope of salvaging my precious Olevia. As a last ditch effort, I'll get a universal-type remote and try that, although I'm fairly certain it's a bad sensor. Would you happen to know the remote control code for this Olevia? Thanks for all your help. Travel safe. Mary
bulbhead is offline  
post #5110 of 5129 Old 02-24-2015, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mary, here's a link to the Owners Manual for the Olevia 7 Series TV's. There's several pages of codes starting on page 71 that might help.

http://www.manualslib.com/manual/360...l#product-747I
rarjar is offline  
post #5111 of 5129 Old 02-26-2015, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Olevia 747

I have an Olevia 747-----i have had it for at least 6-7 years. Suddenly, it is coming on but no screen---which most people seem to say is capacitors in the power supply. I am NOT good at soldering---and I have found a cheap power supply. It says it works on a 747-B11. I always thought I had a 747i---but am not sure. Are the 747i and 747-B11 different? Would they share the same power supply?

Thanks to anyone who helps...
memphispiano is offline  
post #5112 of 5129 Old 02-26-2015, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by memphispiano View Post
I have an Olevia 747-----i have had it for at least 6-7 years. Suddenly, it is coming on but no screen---which most people seem to say is capacitors in the power supply. I am NOT good at soldering---and I have found a cheap power supply. It says it works on a 747-B11. I always thought I had a 747i---but am not sure. Are the 747i and 747-B11 different? Would they share the same power supply?

Thanks to anyone who helps...
I managed to get to the back of my tv and found out it is in fact a 747-B11.

Next question---is replacing the power supply easier or harder than replacing the individual capacitors?
memphispiano is offline  
post #5113 of 5129 Old 03-02-2015, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rarjar View Post
Mary, here's a link to the Owners Manual for the Olevia 7 Series TV's. There's several pages of codes starting on page 71 that might help.

http://www.manualslib.com/manual/360...l#product-747I
Rarjar, I can't thank you enough for all your help. I'm a lemonhead, "suffering" through a few months with no remote, even considering dumping my first 'love' for a newer, lesser model!! The original remote seemed to pass the 'phone camera' test for a working remote. My Galaxy S4 also has a remote function which operates my other TV and I thought used to operate my dear Olevia, as well. So naturally I went for the most complicated, least manageable [for me] solution. Luckily the repair part I sought is no longer available. An $8 RCA Universal remote from Walmart - complete with codes - not only 'saved' Olevia, but made it easy for me to add my Roku and DVD player. You went to a lot of trouble just because all the trees made it hard for me to see the forest. Occam's razor, yeah? I apologize, but I'm glad you're out there in case Olevia ever gives me REAL trouble. Thank you, again. Mary
bulbhead is offline  
post #5114 of 5129 Old 03-02-2015, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Welcome Mary....now go enjoy that fine TV! I still love mine even compared to two new LG edge-lit LED TV's, one 55" and one 60".
rarjar is offline  
post #5115 of 5129 Old 03-15-2015, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
rarjar....any chance of getting the latest firmware upgrade for the 747-B11? Changing a bunch of components around and thought it might be nice to upgrade, not sure if it will do anything for me though.
Had the 747 since they first came out and it's been flawless. Been thru two Onkyo a/v receivers and on my second DVD player downgrading from the OPPO.
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5116 of 5129 Old 03-17-2015, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I do hope this thread is still active. I was just "gifted" an Olevia 747, and I'm having a bear of a time trying to get an antenna to work. I can't find anything helpful online, so I was hoping someone here could help. I have zero technology intuition, so really any advice would be awesome.

I living a a metropolitan area. I recently purchased flat digital antenna off Amazon. I've screwed said antenna into the RF port (tired both) and gone to Turner 1 & 2. Channel setup to do the scan, and nothing. I've moved the antenna around the apartment but still nothing. It doesn't show any signal coming through.

Is there something I'm missing? I see firmware constantly references in this forum; is it possible I need to update that? Do I just need a different antenna?

Thank you all!
nometeorologist is offline  
post #5117 of 5129 Old 03-18-2015, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicgsxr View Post
rarjar....any chance of getting the latest firmware upgrade for the 747-B11? Changing a bunch of components around and thought it might be nice to upgrade, not sure if it will do anything for me though.
Had the 747 since they first came out and it's been flawless. Been thru two Onkyo a/v receivers and on my second DVD player downgrading from the OPPO.
PM me your email address and I'll send it to you....file is too big to post here!
rarjar is offline  
post #5118 of 5129 Old 03-18-2015, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nometeorologist View Post
I do hope this thread is still active. I was just "gifted" an Olevia 747, and I'm having a bear of a time trying to get an antenna to work. I can't find anything helpful online, so I was hoping someone here could help. I have zero technology intuition, so really any advice would be awesome.

I living a a metropolitan area. I recently purchased flat digital antenna off Amazon. I've screwed said antenna into the RF port (tired both) and gone to Turner 1 & 2. Channel setup to do the scan, and nothing. I've moved the antenna around the apartment but still nothing. It doesn't show any signal coming through.

Is there something I'm missing? I see firmware constantly references in this forum; is it possible I need to update that? Do I just need a different antenna?

Thank you all!
I think the TV antenna input for the 747i is analog. If so, you will need a digital to analog converter.
rarjar is offline  
post #5119 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
747 firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by rarjar View Post
PM me your email address and I'll send it to you....file is too big to post here!
rajar, tried to PM you but was denied for lack of postings
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5120 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll try a couple more posts
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5121 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
and see what happens
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5122 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
lol, got to be a better way
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5123 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Let's try again, email is (toxicgsxr@outlook.com)
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5124 of 5129 Old 03-20-2015, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicgsxr View Post
Let's try again, email is (toxicgsxr@outlook.com)
Latest firmware emailed to you!
rarjar is offline  
post #5125 of 5129 Old 03-21-2015, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanx rajar, Thought there might be something out there more recent, already have Version 63.7.5A17. Thank you though for the quick response!!
toxicgsxr is offline  
post #5126 of 5129 Old 03-23-2015, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
rarjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicgsxr View Post
Thanx rajar, Thought there might be something out there more recent, already have Version 63.7.5A17. Thank you though for the quick response!!
Yep, Version 63.7.5 was the last version made available by Syntax Olevia before they shut down.
rarjar is offline  
post #5127 of 5129 Old 04-09-2015, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
taxial's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello 747i owners; I still have this beast. And it still works flawlessly (since 2008 I think?) Anyway, great millage out of this TV, I've just been a bit annoyed lately as I use a universal remote and changing inputs on this means cycling between HDMI 1 / HDMI 2 / Component 1. ... I still need to go full circle past composite, S-Video, etc. every time I want to change inputs though. Aside from manually finding the direct input and programming my remote... is there a solution to this? I don't think I've ever updated the firmware... anything in there that I should be after? Anyway to tell this TV to ignore inputs with no signal? Or to give me a menu that allows me to pick which input I want to go to?
taxial is offline  
post #5128 of 5129 Old 04-28-2015, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm hoping someone on here is still around and feeling benevolent.

I have a Olevia 742 that mostly works well, but sometimes will loose sync with my xbox and PS3/4. We just got the Amazon Firestick, and it will display the logo for a couple seconds, then just go blank and say No Signal.

Is that a firmware thing? I spent a long time trying to find the firmware on the Olevia site for this model, without any luck. Is there somewhere else that it is stored, or someone who might have it?

Thanks for the help!

-john
johnnyfiveiamalive is offline  
post #5129 of 5129 Old 04-28-2015, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If anyone is in an emailing mood, mine is:

johnnyfiveiamalive at yahoo

Thanks again!
johnnyfiveiamalive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Olevia

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off