~Official Olevia 747i/742i owners thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey dad just sent you a PM....


Had my set hooked up to my Desktop using a GT7900 GPU pushing out 1910-1080p via DVI to HDMI, and its flawlwss, played COD2... wow , with full surround sound through Yammy 2700, sweeeeet...... I'm in luv.....
Techaholic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Crash_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the dimensions of the 47incher with the speakers removed? They're attached at the bottom, correct?
Crash_7 is offline  
post #633 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
pez__man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 747i have discrete remote codes for each input and for on/off? I want to use it with a Harmony remote...
pez__man is offline  
post #634 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash_7 View Post

What are the dimensions of the 47incher with the speakers removed? They're attached at the bottom, correct?

28 3/4 x 46

There are a couple of brackets on the back that you just unscrew.
Pete is offline  
post #635 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by pez__man View Post

Does the 747i have discrete remote codes for each input and for on/off? I want to use it with a Harmony remote...

It does, but I think you can only access them via the RS232. The codes must be listed somewhere.
Pete is offline  
post #636 of 5095 Old 05-10-2007, 05:23 PM
Member
 
highlander21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, add me to the list of new 747i owners I have one coming from j and r, this will be my second hdtv. I have a calibrated 50 inch samsung dlp, calibrated by eliab from avical so I am already in hd heaven. If this tv is half as good as my sammy i will be satisfied if its better than my samsung then my wifes new husband will get to enjoy it because i will have died from an hd induced heart attack Thanks for all of your guys useful info it made this purchase an easy choice
highlander21 is offline  
post #637 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Was thinking of removing the Glass, but I'm not sure it's worth it, thoughts?
Techaholic is offline  
post #638 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Polypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Normally you should output HTPC content at native rez & 1:1 How could I take advantage of the video processor in the 747 with an HTPC?

Thanks,

P
Polypro is offline  
post #639 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 05:57 PM
Member
 
bcope01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techaholic View Post

Was thinking of removing the Glass, but I'm not sure it's worth it, thoughts?

What would you hope to gain by removing the glass? Less glare? Less weight?

I haven't heard/read that either has been a significant problem with this tv.
bcope01 is offline  
post #640 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcope01 View Post

What would you hope to gain by removing the glass? Less glare? Less weight?

I haven't heard/read that either has been a significant problem with this tv.

I Was wondering about the glare
Techaholic is offline  
post #641 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 07:58 PM
Member
 
woodydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrd999 View Post

My impression thus far is that I am not disappointed, I like what I'm seeing. My only gripe is that this set seems to give any 480i source, be it analog or QAM, a slight stretch in width. Perhaps this is to fill more of the screen, not sure. But I realized this was the case when comparing a live news feed that was broadcast on both a 1080i and a 480i channel.. there is stretching on all the 480i, which isn't present on 720/1080. I've played with the aspect controls, it seems unavoidable.. though it's slight. I'm picky :P

I've had this issue as well, but I'm relieved to discover that it only occurred when I watched programs thru my cable box without using the HDMI input on the TV. The first few days I didn't have a HMDI cable, so I was using S-Video from the box to the TV. Also, I can't remember, but I don't think it happened when I viewed 4:3 programs using the cable straight from the wall. I'll check on that.
woodydog is offline  
post #642 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 09:45 PM
Member
 
bcope01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techaholic View Post

I Was wondering about the glare

Just wondering why you are wondering. Here is a quote from another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techaholic View Post

Don't give up on 747 because it's heavey, it has a 40lb glass front, which can be removed if needed. I wouldn't as it achieves that pop out color and is of very high quality, reflecting less the the Sammy XX65F's when on. It however delivers stunning HD, great SD (better than another LCD todate), high performance removalble speakers, 1:1 everything, amazing PIP (anything with anything, remote arrow to change which one you can hear through speakers). Fully calabrated Directors 6500K, plus it plays everything, VGA, Component and HDMI you can throw at it upto 1080P, and all are fully adjustable. Cons, not the blackest blacks, funky menu system, no numbers on settings.... but at about 2.5k it's a great HDTV for the money.

bcope01 is offline  
post #643 of 5095 Old 05-11-2007, 11:13 PM
Member
 
woodydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodydog View Post

I've had this issue as well, but I'm relieved to discover that it only occurred when I watched programs thru my cable box without using the HDMI input on the TV. The first few days I didn't have a HMDI cable, so I was using S-Video from the box to the TV. Also, I can't remember, but I don't think it happened when I viewed 4:3 programs using the cable straight from the wall. I'll check on that.


Just checked. I was wrong. When viewing a 4:3 picture without the box, it is visible on most of my channels.
woodydog is offline  
post #644 of 5095 Old 05-13-2007, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcope01 View Post

Just wondering why you are wondering. Here is a quote from another thread:

Yes you're right, I must be a nutter to want to remove the glass, however the Olevia support said at some time you may want to remove it for cleaning, but not for a long time...
Techaholic is offline  
post #645 of 5095 Old 05-13-2007, 11:53 PM
Member
 
RunOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. Life has conspired to keep me away from the forums, but I wanted to ask a question of you fellow 747i owners.

I'd asked once before and I think the question got buried in all the, well deserved, enthusiasm for the set. I'm still loving mine, but I do occasionally run into an audio sync issue when watching SD DVDs. It seems to happen only with PRO LOGIC audio tracks on a DVD, DD5.1 and DTS have not been an issue, but occasionally when I watch an older film that has only a PRO LOGIC track on the disc the audio gets out of synch. It's not consistently ahead or behind and sometimes it synchs up just fine.

I'm playing back my SD DVDs on an Oppo 970HD, using the HDMI output for video to the 747i and the COAX digital out for audio to my Yamaha receiver.

Obviously there are often synch issues when watching OTA HD content, but in those cases I can use the 747i lipsynch feature to compensate. I've also noticed an audio mismatch sometimes when playing back video through XBMC, and in that case I can use the audio delay feature of XBMC to synch up the audio. But I'm really stumped as to how I might fix this problem with SD DVDs and PRO LOGIC, as the audio isn't going to the Olevia and therefore I can't try to sync it.

Techaholic, have you noticed anything like this with PRO LOGIC audio sources coming from your 970HD?

I really love my 747i, but I need to know if anyone else is experiencing this issue. If no one else has noticed this I can only assume there could be something wrong with my set.

Thanks.
RunOff is offline  
post #646 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 05:51 AM
Member
 
mrd999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: delaware
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, if the 970HD's HDMI output sends audio along with the video, then you could use the 747i's COAX digital out, which would allow you to adjust lipsync. I've occasionally found a channel on cable that is out of sync, but I assumed that was a flaw in the feed. What makes you think the lip sync issue is rooted in the television?
mrd999 is offline  
post #647 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 09:59 AM
Member
 
RunOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mrd999, Thanks for the response. I had the same thought re: using the Olevia to pass through the digital bitstream, but there is a problem. The Olevia won't simply pass through the unaltered bitstream. The 747i will not properly decode a DD or DTS signal, it tries to downmix it for playback on it's stereo speakers...but it doesn't work...the resulting bitstream that is output from it's digital COAX out is downmixed to stereo as well. So, while this might work for a stream that is already PRO LOGIC, the majority of my DVDs won't work with the passthrough.

And, to address your question, I'm not certain that the issue is related to the TV. What I'm curious to find out is whether there is something happening with the processing/upconversion of 480i material and the data rate of PRO LOGIC vs. DD/DTS that causes the PRO LOGIC audio to get out of sync with the upconverted material.
RunOff is offline  
post #648 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Most better AV receivers these days feature lip synch adjustment. If you ran everything through this way using better speakers than what comes with the 747i, you'd be able to adjust for any audio delay issues.
Pete is offline  
post #649 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 09:00 PM
Member
 
bcope01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
747i product manual and specs can be found at the manufacturer's website:
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/detail.jsp?pid=747i
bcope01 is offline  
post #650 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 09:14 PM
Member
 
jassiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So kaliphornia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bcope01: Thanks for pointing out the manual. I can't find any info on TV guide though. Perhaps one of the owners can help. Thanks.
jassiji is offline  
post #651 of 5095 Old 05-14-2007, 09:55 PM
Member
 
RunOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that thought Pete...and I was afraid someone might say that. What you're saying suggests that there is commonly a discrepancy between audio sent to a receiver and video sent to the HD display.

I had a little bit of testing time today, so I went ahead and let my Oppo 970HD upconvert a DVD signal to 480p and sent that signal to the Olevia 747i via HDMI. Interestingly, the audio sync problem was lessened if not eliminated altogether. So, again, this suggests that the unconversion and processing that's happening in the 747i is falling behind the unaltered audio stream that is sent to my external receiver. I've been a vocal proponent of HQV since aquiring a 747i, but I must say I'm dissapointed if the above assertions turn out to be true. I've got a very expensive Yammy from a few years back...far back enough to have not anticipated a need for receiver-level lip syncing...and a nice set of surround speakers to match. If the answer to my problem is that HQV isn't processing fast enough to keep up with the ProLogic output and that I need to get a new receiver to compensate...well...that's not really an acceptable answer. Is this something that occurs often with upconverting 1080p sets?

Can anyone explain the difference in a DD5.1/DTS vs. ProLogic bitstream, and why this syncing problem would only manifest when the DVD has only a ProLogic channel? Is ProLogic inherently slower?...less accurate? But if it was the case that ProLogic was slower somehow than it wouldn't make sense that the audio sync is most often getting ahead of the video, which is, I'm finding, what most often occurs. And, again, DD5.1 and DTS tracks don't have sync issues.
RunOff is offline  
post #652 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 06:46 AM
Member
 
mrd999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: delaware
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RunOff, an easy way to test your assertion would be to put the 747i into game mode.
mrd999 is offline  
post #653 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
kmartindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. Another convert that pulled the trigger. I can no longer look at the damned obvious bands on my 52" 60u so it is going back to Costco. I ordered a 747i from Amazon and will be into it for a G less than the Sharp. I hope the 747i lives up to this thread and is as I have now returned a cloudy Sony and bandy Sharp. Thanks to everyone for all of the posts about this set. It really helps to keep us all informed and the manufacturers honest.
kmartindale is offline  
post #654 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 09:20 AM
Member
 
bcope01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jassiji View Post

...I can't find any info on TV guide though...

Normally, if a feature isn't mentioned in the manual or specs, it doesn't exist in the set either. Interestingly, manufacturers seem to be getting away from the TV Guide On Screen feature with their new sets.
bcope01 is offline  
post #655 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 09:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmartindale View Post

OK. Another convert that pulled the trigger. I can no longer look at the damned obvious bands on my 52" 60u so it is going back to Costco. I ordered a 747i from Amazon and will be into it for a G less than the Sharp. I hope the 747i lives up to this thread and is as I have now returned a cloudy Sony and bandy Sharp.

Welcome to the cult... I mean, club kmartindale. Hope you enjoy the Kool A... I mean, your TV and that you'll post impressions and even a pic or two. Hope losing five inches won't affect your happy fun time (or your wives! ), later!
dad1153 is offline  
post #656 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 06:07 PM
Member
 
markom911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
effing J&R.....still doesnt have it on display
markom911 is offline  
post #657 of 5095 Old 05-15-2007, 11:25 PM
Member
 
woodydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know there may be many Larry King groupies on this thread, so I'm offering one pic of Larry King in glorious SD. It might make a good screensaver.

Let me know...... if you guys really like it, perhaps I can put together a desktop theme with Larry King icons, pointers etc.

.
LL
woodydog is offline  
post #658 of 5095 Old 05-16-2007, 04:56 AM
Newbie
 
perplext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was wondering if you lucky 747i owners could tell me where you purchased your sets and your overall experience. i was going to go with tigerdirect or techonweb because of the low price but i've found a host of scary stories about poor customer service and bad packaging. with the extra weight the set carries i'm very concerned with getting the set in one piece.

i know a few of you bought from Lasertech and were satisfied but what about the rest of you?
perplext is offline  
post #659 of 5095 Old 05-16-2007, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
You might consider calling Olevia and asking them for the names of the authorized distributors in your area. The trouble with internet resellers is that you don't know where they're getting the product from. Most of them are not getting it from Olevia directly.
Pete is offline  
post #660 of 5095 Old 05-16-2007, 09:19 AM
Member
 
JimmyAGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have this set wall mounted? Just wodering with the weight of the TV which mounts are being used and how stable they are. I am in the process of finishing my basement and want this TV wall mounted. Thanks for the help.

Jimmy
JimmyAGR is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Olevia

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off