Vizio GV47L 47" 1080P LCD Official Thread II - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 1987 Old 03-01-2013, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Flav_cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twe View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by k9jdk View Post

Tried to get audio out from the optical out port on my GV47L to Pioneer amp. No luck. Analog works fine.


Firmware v1.25 Oct. 2007 build.


Tested my son's PS3 optical out to the same port with same optical cable on the Pioneer amp and that works.


Am I missing something on the GV47 setup to get the optical audio out working?


If I'm not mistaken, the GV47L optical out only reads sound from the DTV/TV input. Therefore, if you want digital audio from any device that doesn't go through the DTV/TV input, you should go directly from said device to your Pioneer amp. So, video to the tv, audio to the amp. I know somebody will correct me if I am wrong.

I realize this is an old TV. But there has got to be a way to output digital audio at all times! It's frustrating because I basically can't get surround sound if I input full HDMI to the TV. With my old laptop I could do DVI->HDMI->TV and pass audio separately from SPDIF->Sound System. With my new laptop all it has is HDMI out...
Flav_cool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 1987 Old 05-25-2013, 08:48 AM
Member
 
blueduramax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aurora, Oregon
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueduramax View Post

I know that in the audio visual world this TV is very outdated. However, mine just keeps working perfectly. Picture is great etc. Only weakness that I can see is the 60 megahertz speed. Sort of want it to go bad so I will be able to replace it. This note will probably seal its fate and it will go out soon!

Still going strong. Great picture.
blueduramax is offline  
post #1983 of 1987 Old 08-14-2013, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
winston9t4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flav_cool View Post

I realize this is an old TV. But there has got to be a way to output digital audio at all times! It's frustrating because I basically can't get surround sound if I input full HDMI to the TV. With my old laptop I could do DVI->HDMI->TV and pass audio separately from SPDIF->Sound System. With my new laptop all it has is HDMI out...

I am assuming you can't you run hdmi first to your receiver, then out to the tv?
winston9t4 is offline  
post #1984 of 1987 Old 01-01-2014, 08:13 AM
Member
 
blueduramax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aurora, Oregon
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is disgusting, with all the great new TV's out there my Vizio keeps going and going! Still great picture.
blueduramax is offline  
post #1985 of 1987 Old 01-01-2014, 02:44 PM
Member
 
INHUMANITY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueduramax View Post

This is disgusting, with all the great new TV's out there my Vizio keeps going and going! Still great picture.
Mine is still running strong, too.

Quietly inside my head, I hope it'll die soon so I can have a legitimate reason to upgrade to an edge-lit LCD display. smile.gif

But damn, this thing is a beast and has been running absolutely perfectly since day one! It's mounted on my living room wall with the speakers removed, so it looks like a gigantic ("gigantic" to me back when it was released) computer monitor. smile.gif
INHUMANITY is offline  
post #1986 of 1987 Old 01-01-2014, 05:49 PM
Member
 
mozirry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine is still going strong as well.

Was thinking about upgrading to a 60"....any chance I might accidentally buy a new VIZIO set that has a less-performing LCD Panel then the one in this set?

If I can go only but up, then I might buy sooner
mozirry is offline  
post #1987 of 1987 Old 07-03-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
blueduramax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aurora, Oregon
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crazy Vizio still looks great.

Been looking at great deals on a new TV. Many attractive features, but alas my old 47 keeps going and has a great picture. Looking for TIVO set up however.

Jay
blueduramax is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off