Samsung LNTXX61/65/66 Calibration Settings - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3501 Old 04-07-2007, 02:03 PM
Member
 
rkurlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joph View Post

This is the settings i am using right now. pasted from the other thread.
seem to be a great start.


This is very helpful. Thanks.
rkurlander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3501 Old 04-09-2007, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
protoboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is related to calibration or not. I was watching an episode of Planet Earth, it looked awesome. There was one scene where there were about 1000 birds in a lake, it looked great, and then the bird all took off to fly at once, and the set absolutely could not handle it. There were "digital" 2x2 squares everywhere. Is this a product of DNIe? I am trying to record it to check it with DNIe on and off. I am only speculating DNIe thinking the processing speed of the TV cannot process all that movement through the DNIe algorithm fast enough?? Any ideas or anyone see anything similar?
protoboard is offline  
post #93 of 3501 Old 04-09-2007, 10:40 PM
Member
 
taphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like a product of video compression, nothing wrong with the TV or something it can't handle.
taphil is offline  
post #94 of 3501 Old 04-10-2007, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
protoboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that Planet Earth will be coming out on BluRay soon, I will get that and check it out that way.
protoboard is offline  
post #95 of 3501 Old 04-10-2007, 12:43 PM
Member
 
nyleavesfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by protoboard View Post

Not sure if this is related to calibration or not. I was watching an episode of Planet Earth, it looked awesome. There was one scene where there were about 1000 birds in a lake, it looked great, and then the bird all took off to fly at once, and the set absolutely could not handle it. There were "digital" 2x2 squares everywhere. Is this a product of DNIe? I am trying to record it to check it with DNIe on and off. I am only speculating DNIe thinking the processing speed of the TV cannot process all that movement through the DNIe algorithm fast enough?? Any ideas or anyone see anything similar?


Definitely compression. My Sharp D62 did exactly the same thing. FWIW, I have more of this on DTV than I did with Warner cable.

I would turn DNIe off also. It crushes the black detail.

nyleavesfall is offline  
post #96 of 3501 Old 04-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Member
 
coolburn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm posting this here, because the main owner's thread has primarily become people interested in the TV, posting requests for information... or their feelings based on views in-store. That is needed, of course, but it also means that posts geared towards owners are quickly lost in the mayhem.

I wanted to summarize what seems to be the current issues with the TV, and how calibration has an effect to fix at least one of them.


1. 480i is not accepted over HDMI. Samsung has confirmed that this is intentional.

2. 480i has white bands/clouds on the left and right side when played over component connections. It is not very practical to try and calibrate to get rid of them, as you would have to make your set extremely dark to really get rid of them. This is a flaw that we have to live with for now, unless Samsung decides to make a fix.

3. There appears to be HDMI handshaking issues.
3a. This has widely been experienced with the PS3. People get signal dropouts, and the TV says searching for signal. Sometimes people have to power the TV off to restore. People are only experiencing this while playing games... NOT while watching Blu Ray movies.
3b. There is a rarer experience, in which the screen momentarily turns to all white static. Some people have seen this with the PS3. I have seen it playing the AVIA calibration disk on an Oppo 981. It seems to only last for a second or two, and then is restored.

4. Those white bands/clouds can appear over HDMI as well. However, these are much more minor, and can be calibrated out... especially by changing HDMI Black Level to LOW. The HDMI Black Level option only shows up over HDMI if you have the right kind of source that supports it. You only have to change it once, and then it applies to all HDMI ports going forward.

5. I have personally experienced the TV turning off momentarily and then turning back on a second later. I hear it "click" when it turns off. (LN-T4661F). I am not sure if I have a defective set, or if other people have had this problem as well. I have experienced it with a TIVO Series 3, and with the Oppo 981.

6. We are still trying to get the discrete IR code for HDMI2. Logitech has them for HDMI1 and HDMI3 already, but not HDMI2.

7. Most sets have almost no true mura/clouding/Sharp Banding issues. However, most do show the mura issues when viewing at an angle. The panels still seem much, much better with regards to mura than most other sets out there.
coolburn95 is offline  
post #97 of 3501 Old 04-11-2007, 04:17 PM
Member
 
mikegb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coolburn95, that is a very useful summary of the current issues. Thanks for doing that. I have a comment on #2 and #4 (which are probably one and the same).

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolburn95 View Post

2. 480i has white bands/clouds on the left and right side when played over component connections. It is not very practical to try and calibrate to get rid of them, as you would have to make your set extremely dark to really get rid of them. This is a flaw that we have to live with for now, unless Samsung decides to make a fix.

4. Those white bands/clouds can appear over HDMI as well. However, these are much more minor, and can be calibrated out... especially by changing HDMI Black Level to LOW. The HDMI Black Level option only shows up over HDMI if you have the right kind of source that supports it. You only have to change it once, and then it applies to all HDMI ports going forward.

Even with HDMI Black Level to Low, or regardless of input, I believe you can replicate the issue by looking at a black / dark screen and increasing the brightness. Starts to become apparent at 60+. Eventually the brightness uniformity will merge together. I do not think there is a "solution" to this (uniform brightness in the high brightness range). I think that's just how the set is designed.

I have been looking closely at my 5265 for the week and a half since I force noted the issue and lowered HDMI Black Level to low. I think there are times where it is appearing in normal viewing (albeit rare).

I was at BB today and I compared their 4665, 4661 and Sony 52XBR2. I wanted to see how uniformly these sets increased the brightness above 60+ on all three sets, with a dark / blank input. Their 4665 and 4661 exhibited this brightness going from the outside in effect. Sony 52XBR2 seemed more uniform. Sony for me is still a bit inconclusive but it seemed considerably better.

Whether this is really an issue in normal viewing is up to each owner.

Unrelated to all of the above, there was a new Sharp 82 at BB. It seemed to increase the brighness uniformly on a blank input. The bands, of course, appear. What was even more concerning was that one thin horizontal line directly in the middle of the screen. That was VERY apparent with brightness up high. It's that line that I saw mess up my D92 picture more than the vertical bands (which were harder to see). Just an FYI.

Regards,

Mike
mikegb is offline  
post #98 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Jario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5265F

Movie Mode
Contrast: 85
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 40
Color: 65
Backlight: 4

HDMI Black Level: Low
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Everything else default

Enabled edge enhancement for XBox 360 thru component. Graphics quality improved nicely. Getting VGA soon.

Anything here look way off please let me know. Thanks.
Jario is offline  
post #99 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 11:24 AM
Member
 
coolburn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me, or does the sharpness setting seem to change very little?

I've ran from 0 to 100 on the sharpness test for AVIA, and can't see a difference. I've decided to leave it at 15, but it really doesn't seem to be doing anything for me.
coolburn95 is offline  
post #100 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Jario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I noticed AVIA wasn't very helpful as a whole. Try edge enhancement maybe.
Jario is offline  
post #101 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
does anyone know how to lose the haziness of the movie mode, i like the little extra details, but i still prefer the acurate colors of standard mode. I have the 4661, by the way.

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #102 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 01:00 PM
Member
 
km106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do these TVs, I have the 5265F, support independent pictures settings for each input or are the settings for Dynamic, Standard, and Movie modes applied globally across all input sources? Both the Sony XBR2 and the Sharp D92U that I had for brief periods of time remembered settings for each input independently; which came in very handy. On the Sony the settings were always saved per input, but the Sharp had the same three modes as the Samsung, but also had a 3rd mode called User that would cause the settings to be applied per input. Too many TV's I'm so confused!
km106 is offline  
post #103 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Jario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by km106 View Post

Do these TVs, I have the 5265F, support independent pictures settings for each input or are the settings for Dynamic, Standard, and Movie modes applied globally across all input sources? Both the Sony XBR2 and the Sharp D92U that I had for brief periods of time remembered settings for each input independently; which came in very handy. On the Sony the settings were always saved per input, but the Sharp had the same three modes as the Samsung, but also had a 3rd mode called User that would cause the settings to be applied per input. Too many TV's I'm so confused!

They are independent. And the settings are saved as well.
Jario is offline  
post #104 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jario View Post

Yeah I noticed AVIA wasn't very helpful as a whole. Try edge enhancement maybe.

edge enhancement helps a lot for my TV

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #105 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everyone,

Received my 5265 last night. Traded in my cloudy 4695 last years model and cash for it.

Impressions so far have NOT been good. All sources seem to be worse than the 4695 it replaced. I do NOT like movie mode at all. Everything seems so darn dark and lifeless...

I do have some small flashlight issues but it is better than the 4695 clouds I had. It also seems that the sides are brighter than the center of the screen...

I also find the motion blur in hockey to be worse than the 4695...

Anyone have good settings in standard or other than movie mode?

I want desperately to be happy with this unit...even my wife dislikes the picture we are getting and she usually doesnt care...

thanks in advance.
aquafire is offline  
post #106 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 04:28 PM
Member
 
coolburn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might be important, for people running devices on 1080p on HDMI3.

Can anyone else confirm a flicker? I see it with my Oppo 981... but only in 1080p mode. If I have it output at anything less than 1080p no flicker.

It works fine at 1080p on HDMI1 and HDMI2.

Thanks!
coolburn95 is offline  
post #107 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
protoboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolburn95 View Post

This might be important, for people running devices on 1080p on HDMI3.

Can anyone else confirm a flicker? I see it with my Oppo 981... but only in 1080p mode. If I have it output at anything less than 1080p no flicker.

It works fine at 1080p on HDMI1 and HDMI2.

Thanks!

Can try tonight possibly.
protoboard is offline  
post #108 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

I received my new 5265 last night...I have a flashlight issue in both the top left and top right corners. Anyone found a way to reduce this problem? The left is bad on black scenes...

thanks alot.
aquafire is offline  
post #109 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 08:47 PM
NYY
Member
 
NYY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed that most (if not all) of the settings on this thread have been for Movie Mode. Any feedback on the preference over Standard? I seem to have better contrast and colors and deep blacks (not crushed) in Standard. I can't seem to adjust movie enough to give that eye popping wow. Keep in mind my HD sources are OTA and a STB...no HD DVD player yet and only a PS2 (yes I said PS2) for games, until the format wars shake out a little more.
NYY is offline  
post #110 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquafire View Post

Hey Guys,

I received my new 5265 last night...I have a flashlight issue in both the top left and top right corners. Anyone found a way to reduce this problem? The left is bad on black scenes...

thanks alot.

Take a look toward the end of the 'Official Sony Bravia LCD Uneven Backlight/Cloudy' thread.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #111 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
shaunnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a 4665f and im not sure if this is a calibration issue or not. the only thing i have connected through hdmi is my pc (dvi-hdmi). every once in a while i get a flash of a green or sometimes purple overlay. it only last for a split second but when you pay this kind of money it can be annoying. is this a calibration issue or just a problem with the tv? id hate to have to return it, other than that, i love this thing.
shaunnb is offline  
post #112 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 11:25 PM
Newbie
 
fred_yu_job's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For 4661F - Component source.
I had side bar, but it's gone with the following settings:
dynamic mode
Contrast: 85
Brightness: 35
Color: 56
Tint: G50 / R50 (still experimenting with this one)
Sharpness: 15
Backlight: 5
fred_yu_job is offline  
post #113 of 3501 Old 04-12-2007, 11:45 PM
Member
 
coolburn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by protoboard View Post

Can try tonight possibly.

I would really appreciate it. I'd love to know if this is a problem in general with HDMI3, or if my set just has a faulty port.

Thanks!
coolburn95 is offline  
post #114 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
aquafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Waldorf Salad,

Very eager to hear your results. If I just need to install 2 small fans on either corner of the TV to eliminate the flashlight I will. Although I think this is just nuts. To me each of these TV's should be black screen tested before ever being shipped. But in this day and age they would rather have a handful of people complain and return then take the time to achieve screen perfection.

Looking forward to your results.

thanks!
aquafire is offline  
post #115 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
fred_yu_job's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoman504 View Post

does anyone know how to lose the haziness of the movie mode, i like the little extra details, but i still prefer the acurate colors of standard mode. I have the 4661, by the way.

HDTV in Movie mode:

Con: 85
Bright: 34
Backlight:4

Black Adj: Low
Dynimic Con Low
Gamma: 1
fred_yu_job is offline  
post #116 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Totton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey could you guys post viewing conditions with your cal settings? I'm a calibration noob so knowing some of the details would be helpful. Like like/dark rooms, why you tweaked hi or low on certain settings, etc. I got Avia and I understand some of the basics but the hard part I'm learning is that when you change setting A for characteristic A, it changes characteristic B so you have to go back and tweak setting B...
Totton is offline  
post #117 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred_yu_job View Post

HDTV in Movie mode:

Con: 85
Bright: 34
Backlight:4

Black Adj: Low
Dynimic Con Low
Gamma: 1

Thanks, i was actually able to get rid of most of the color change by reducing the green offset and green gain in the White Balance settings.

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #118 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 03:25 PM
Member
 
coolburn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know protoboard is going to try, but could some other people please try a 1080p signal over HDMI3?

As I posted before, my Oppo 981 set to 1080p causes the screen to flicker on HDMI3. If I lower it to 1080i, 720p, etc., it works perfectly.

If I keep it at 1080p, but put it on HDMI1 or HDMI2, it works perfectly.

I'm trying to figure out if there's something wrong with my HDMI3 port, or if this is a problem with the sets.

Thanks!
coolburn95 is offline  
post #119 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
here's my new settings for Movie mode on my 4661:
Contrast=90
Bright=44
Sharp=26
Color=55
Tint=5050
Back=5
Black adj=low
Dy Cont = med
Gamma = -1
Color = auto
White balance = all 15's, G offset=10
hdmi=low
power sav=low

heres pics:






..since taking the pics ive changed gamma to +1, and dyn cont to low...my camera sucks ass, but these settings are the best ive come up with for movie mode. You may like them, you may not, but they r worth a try. Anyone else find themselves changing settings more than watching the actual tv lol.

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #120 of 3501 Old 04-13-2007, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my only negative

the optical out only puts out pcm to my reciever. no problem i just run opticals to my reciever and switch channels when i switch sources. the manual states it will put out dolby 5.1 but it doesn't

lefty
Lefty42o is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off