Philips 42" 1080p LCD TV (42PFL7432D/37) - Page 230 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6871 of 6891 Old 12-04-2011, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Fam Money's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRyu86 View Post

How do you do that?

062596 then hit info for service menu.

Source
Fam Money is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6872 of 6891 Old 12-04-2011, 10:03 PM
Member
 
EvilRyu86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fam Money View Post

062596 then hit info for service menu.

Source

Thanks, I checked mine and it has 18,856 since September '07 lol. Still looks awesome, I hope it lasts me another couple of years.
EvilRyu86 is offline  
post #6873 of 6891 Old 12-25-2011, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
eshank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought mine in Feb 2007, served well under fairly heavy use, appears to have also suffered an inverter board issue. I removed the back of the unit, took a quick look at the slave, saw no obvious sign of damage. As this appears to be a known issue, I was able to find a new replacement set for just under $100., placed an order today.

Update 1
Shop Jimmy did not have my inverter boards in stock (6632L-0470A and 6632L-0471A), I thought it would be best to buy new (rather than system pulls on eBay), found a combo kit from United Electronic Distributors http://www.ued.net/ued/viewItemActio...AP996510007721. Boards shipped quickly, but were not as advertised - 6632L-0371D and -0372D. I spoke with both UED, Shop Jimmy, who claim that they are indeed considered equivalents. The good news is that the display lights up 1. again, although we now notice a hazy / dark horizontal stripe toward the bottom of the display - not quite sure why. As the display still runs the original firmware, I am going to perform an update, tweek calibration again.

Update 2
1. Inverter boards went bad at 7152 hours

2. Uploaded image of horizontal stripe toward bottom of display.

3. Attempted to update firmware (for first time) from 64.014.011 to 64.014.018, display could not find file on USB drive. Attempted reformatting from FAT to FAT32, still no love.

Update 3
1. Nevermind - all is well; was FINALLY able to update firmware, tried several different USB drives, STILL not quite sure why.

2. Also not quite sure why, but the image seems to have returned to normal - firmware update, burn-in of the new inverter boards, ... ?
eshank is offline  
post #6874 of 6891 Old 01-15-2012, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
kentondb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mid-South
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checking in. Bought August 2007. Still going strong.

My hour count is 11,xxx. Could this be incorrect since I had the board replaced for the 3 HDMI issue?
kentondb is offline  
post #6875 of 6891 Old 02-02-2012, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Pabgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoboy View Post

I'll be watching something on my 42PFL7422D (HDMI 1)and it will switch from HDMI 1 to AV1 or HDMI 2 on it own.
Is this a normal warning sign that it's on it's last legs and will totally fail soon?

I'm having the same problem
Pabgon is offline  
post #6876 of 6891 Old 04-05-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Hey guys.

TV is still going strong - have a problem with Windows sometimes getting confused when I power it on.

Is there a way to display the current resolution and frequency? Can't remember!

xnappo
xnappo is online now  
post #6877 of 6891 Old 07-26-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
GrindheadJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA< Earfff
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HALP!

I have this weird stain/burn on my screen. I've had it for a long, long time, and I'm just sick of it. I've tried using burn-in fix software, and I'm wondering if I've gone aout it the wrong way. Here's a picture (the circle is only to show where the area is):



ANY help would be appreciated.

\m/ Grind On \m/,

Jim

"Harmony can only flourish with mutual regard."

-Mark "Barney" Greenway, 1992
GrindheadJim is offline  
post #6878 of 6891 Old 07-26-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrindheadJim View Post

HALP!
I have this weird stain/burn on my screen. I've had it for a long, long time, and I'm just sick of it. I've tried using burn-in fix software, and I'm wondering if I've gone aout it the wrong way. Here's a picture (the circle is only to show where the area is):

ANY help would be appreciated.

No promises - this might make it worse - but you might try rubbing *reasonably* firmly with an optical cloth. I had that WAY back when I got the set and it helped.

Personally I am looking for an excuse to end-of-life my set biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

xnappo
xnappo is online now  
post #6879 of 6891 Old 07-27-2012, 08:55 AM
Member
 
GrindheadJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA< Earfff
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post

No promises - this might make it worse - but you might try rubbing *reasonably* firmly with an optical cloth. I had that WAY back when I got the set and it helped.
Personally I am looking for an excuse to end-of-life my set biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif
xnappo

Well, I tried it. Nothin'. Nada. Maybe I just didn't use the right program..?

I used http://www.jscreenfix.com/ before.

\m/ Grind On \m/,

Jim

"Harmony can only flourish with mutual regard."

-Mark "Barney" Greenway, 1992
GrindheadJim is offline  
post #6880 of 6891 Old 10-10-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Hello everyone. This is my first post and although this thread is pretty old, I wanted to chime in about this set. I've had it since Dec 07 and it's been in an extra bedroom that is being used as a sports theme room. Up till mid last year when I retired, the set didn't get much use as we also have a 50 in Panasonic in our main viewing room that we really like. Anyway, since I have more time on my hands these days, I've been taking a more active approach to my "toys" and have been playing with this set a bit more. After finding this board and the calibration thread, I found that my settings are fairly similiar to several others, and I must say that I'm very impressed with the picture on this tv...and since I don't have a ton of hours on it, it's almost like having a new one to watch. In fact, I'm so impressed with it that I'm starting to be a little disapointed with my Panasonic (although it's still great, it's not a true 1080P) and you can tell the difference in picture. Anyway, hope everyone gets many years out of their Phillips!

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is offline  
post #6881 of 6891 Old 01-28-2013, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
bfrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post

No promises - this might make it worse - but you might try rubbing *reasonably* firmly with an optical cloth. I had that WAY back when I got the set and it helped.

Personally I am looking for an excuse to end-of-life my set biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

xnappo

Okay I have the same tv, love it but noticed this same burn in image. Is this a bad inverter or something else? I really don't want to replace it.
bfrey64 is offline  
post #6882 of 6891 Old 01-28-2013, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
bfrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrindheadJim View Post

HALP!

I have this weird stain/burn on my screen. I've had it for a long, long time, and I'm just sick of it. I've tried using burn-in fix software, and I'm wondering if I've gone aout it the wrong way. Here's a picture (the circle is only to show where the area is):



ANY help would be appreciated.

This is what my image looks like. Should I try static or something else?
bfrey64 is offline  
post #6883 of 6891 Old 02-11-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grydlok View Post

mine died after 4 years. Back-light inverter bit it. just got a replacement part

How many hours did you get out of the set ???
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #6884 of 6891 Old 02-11-2013, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentondb View Post

Checking in. Bought August 2007. Still going strong. My hour count is 11,xxx. Could this be incorrect since I had the board replaced for the 3 HDMI issue?

There should be 2 display hours in the Service Menu: the 1st one is the hours on the display plus 1/2 hour added for each time the TV was turned ON. This will OVERSTATE the actual hours the set was in use by about 20% on average.

The 2nd number listed -- the one at the bottom of the menu, the lower number -- is the actual display hours but if you haven't been resetting it regularly it gets stuck at 4,000 hours. At least it does on the Philips plasma models.

Despite alot of the complaints, those of us who got quality Philips sets really got good usage out of the sets. My twin 9631 plasmas just crossed 8,000 (42") and 12,900 (50") hours each. The 42" was used daily from 2006-09 and since then the 50" has been the workhorse with my 42" only being used a few hours a week (if that) in the bedroom.

I see the 7432's on eBay from time to time and would consider buying a used one if one of my Ambilights goes. I really wish Philips high-end models were still available for sale here in the U.S., like in Europe.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #6885 of 6891 Old 02-11-2013, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another thing: for some reason, these Philips Ambilight sets sell for a pretty penny if you can find them for re-sale. And new, they're charging what they cost 5-6 years ago !!!!! eek.gifeek.gif

I take it the 52" didn't have Ambilight ???
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #6886 of 6891 Old 06-20-2013, 04:33 PM
Member
 
GrindheadJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA< Earfff
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have the burn. I am going to try running a super-crazy video fullscreen, all day while I am at work. See if that fixes it at all. I really don't want to have to buy a new TV after only four years.

\m/ Grind On \m/,

Jim

"Harmony can only flourish with mutual regard."

-Mark "Barney" Greenway, 1992
GrindheadJim is offline  
post #6887 of 6891 Old 06-20-2013, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Glad to see this thread still alive. My 42" is still doing just fine and gets tons of use.
rworne is offline  
post #6888 of 6891 Old 06-21-2013, 03:10 AM
Member
 
wazymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re 52" with Ambilight - Philips did have a 52" with it - I still have mine and it still works flawlessly

Wazy
wazymk is offline  
post #6889 of 6891 Old 06-25-2013, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
haste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
up to 14,771 hours on my set...still going stong
haste is offline  
post #6890 of 6891 Old 10-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Newbie
 
IronD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey! I have had my TV for about five years now(since late 2008) and it still works beautifully @ 22055 hours. Bought it at best buy as a present for myself. It has been a true champ! So far I have not had any problems with it(excepting some funky issues I had with it back when I first bought it that were fixed with a firmware update). Anyway, I have reached a point where I have to make a decision.

 

2 of the 3 HDMI inputs had gone dark about a year and a half back(Had no clue what it was as it came back that way when I had a friend hold it for me. Eventually I let it go since I did not know what had happened. After Finally figuring it out(I just did the same thing to the last port I had left) I opened up the back to confirm that the HDMI ports were just not designed properly. All three where lifted off of the board and it seems a bit more damaged than I expected. Below are the photos.

 

 

With this said my questions are:

 

1. Is this fixable, taking note I have never fixed anything like this but do have an affinity for fiddling around with electronics, so if it is at all possible I would like to try it.(I would assume soldering)

 

2. Would it be better to get a replacement board: I do not like this option as much simply because of being unsure of both quality and if it is an older or newer version than my own. I also do not know if I ever had that 3 HDMI problem I read about on here and would probably want to avoid working around that and just somehow get it fixed myself. Finally, I like the idea of keeping my 22055 hours + intact. :)

 

3. This one is a little more off but is it possible to fiddle around with the board in ways so that it could do things it could not do before: for example, replace the processor so you could maybe run at 120 hertz instead of 60. Would it even matter if you could? Etc.

 

Thanks!

 

Gus

IronD is offline  
post #6891 of 6891 Old 11-29-2013, 01:44 PM
Member
 
biggestmexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
15,1XX hours here.

Is there a list of what the service menu options all do?
biggestmexi is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Philips , Philips 42pfl7403d 27 42 Inch 1080p 120hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off