Westinghouse SK-32H240S Review Wanted - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 05-12-2007, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Slayerbtvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This tv is on sale this week at BB...want to know how it compares to similar tv's in the price range (would pick one up and just check, but it's not at my local BB, would have to travel)
Slayerbtvs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-13-2007, 09:06 PM
Member
 
martyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: san francisco bay area
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I just had to pick one up , I mean a 32in 720 lcd for under $570.00.

So far it looks to be really decent . The pic on directv using svideo is good and the over the air hd is just great . I also picked up a upconvert philps dvd and it is very good .

I have not got to really play with settings yet. but it look to be a great tv for the price
martyp is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-14-2007, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, take this for what you will, this is the first HDTV I've owned.

I did a lot of research into various HDTVs, and found what seemed to be a general consensus that Sony, Sharp, and Panasonic are some of the best to get. However, I saw some positive buzz after Black Friday about the Westinghouse TVs as well, and I haven't heard of too many hardware failures, so...

... I bought one. I had intended to get the Olevia at Circuit City, but after dropping by the Best Buy, I saw this one. It looked much better, and actually looked quite comparable to the Sony 32" that was sitting right next to it. It may not have had as smooth a color gradient, but it was close, and the image is very punchy.

I think what sealed the deal for me was the number of inputs on the sucker. 2 HDMI, 2 Component, 2 S-Video / Composite, VGA, and Coax, which pretty much covers the entire spectrum of my consoles (including my Dreamcast VGA Box, whee!).

I didn't notice any lag time at all with my gaming. I think I was imagining some with the emulators I was running on my Xbox, but after trying it on my older TV, I think it's just mushy buttons that were the culprit there. Plopping Burnout 3 in worked like a charm, and if you can't detect lag there, you're not going to detect it anywhere, as fast as that game is. And I didn't notice any, and the screen stayed nice and crisp throughout. And it's BRIGHT. Whites look much brighter than anything I saw on my SD 27" Panasonic.

I noticed the speakers weren't all that great. They didn't have much bass to speak of, but I didn't spend any time mucking around with 'em, instead turning them off and resorting solely to my set of cheapy $30 Wal-Mart speakers. That's plenty good enough, and rectified that problem on the spot.

All I've really seen is the UnleashX dashboard in 720p, and it's REALLY clear. But moving images may be another story, but I'm guessing after seeing Burnout, it's not going to be a problem, especially given 720p being the actual native resolution of the screen.

I did detect some slight skip when I had the SNES hooked up when fast motion occurred on the S-Video inputs, but I think that's either a problem with the cable not liking the SNES, or just the SNES signal in general. The same S-Video cable looked perfect on the PS2, which is what it was made for, anyway (one of those three-system cables).

All in all, I am VERY pleased with the TV, and of course, in my paranoia, picked up the $99 service plan, so I can return it within four years for repair if anything goes wrong. In my opinion, if you do that, you can't go wrong.

Now, without owning another HD, I can't provide any sort of long-term comparison, and really, this isn't even a long-term review, but I like it, and things seem to be going swimmingly right now. Needless to say, I'm more tempted than ever to get an Xbox 360, so I'll have the whole "Wii60" thing going.

Hope that helps at least a little bit. If anyone has a differing opinion, feel free to post.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 05-14-2007, 11:20 PM
Member
 
martyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: san francisco bay area
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I have noticedtonight while watching hd the cc is pretty small and have not got to play with the pip yet .

I might have been tired and did not get to play with it today, but can not see where you set the input for the pip.

I would love to set it for my sat box and ota hd
martyp is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-16-2007, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
kfm423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crap! Was this a weekend sale or something?
kfm423 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-16-2007, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently, although I didn't know it at the time. I remember discouting Best Buy completely while online because they didn't have anything down in the 500-700 range worth getting, yet I saw this model there, and went with it over the Olevia. I have to admit, the number of inputs is nice, but I'm STILL going to have to get a switchbox. Can't have component Wii, Xbox, and PS2 running on two, and I'm not going back to S-Video for stuff that supports component.

Still need to get some decent antenna action going, I can't pick up anything on HD right now.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-16-2007, 01:53 PM
Member
 
martyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: san francisco bay area
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well hd looks great on it . Using a OTA antenna on my roof, I just pointed it towards San Francisco from here in vallejo and it found over 50 Channels .

The only real draw back to this set , Is that today I found out by calling the service number that the PNP only works with the vga port . I mean what the hell is up with that?

I would have loved to do a PNP with say my sat box and OTA.
martyp is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-17-2007, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not as pleased now, unless I can resolve the issue I'm having.

As I posted in a separate thread, I'm having some jitter issues with 480i over component. I can play a PS2 game for around 10-15 minutes, and then the image starts stuttering for about five seconds. This then goes away for a length of time, and comes back again. I have no idea what is causing this, but it may prompt a return. I can deal with a slightly fuzzy image, but stuttering video I can't.

Some feedback would be greatly appreciated.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-18-2007, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
alucard_x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SargeSmash View Post

I'm not as pleased now, unless I can resolve the issue I'm having.

As I posted in a separate thread, I'm having some jitter issues with 480i over component. I can play a PS2 game for around 10-15 minutes, and then the image starts stuttering for about five seconds. This then goes away for a length of time, and comes back again. I have no idea what is causing this, but it may prompt a return. I can deal with a slightly fuzzy image, but stuttering video I can't.

Some feedback would be greatly appreciated.


not sure, try the ps2 over s-video. need process of elimination to see what the cause is.
alucard_x is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-18-2007, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll give that a shot when I get home, to see if it gives the SNES-style stutter, or the same as before. I'm also going to try swapping to the other component input to see if that helps, and then I'm going to switch component cables entirely, as I have an extra PS2 component cable.

Also called Westinghouse's customer support, it's a new one on them, but they also said it's a new set, so there's not a wealth of previous information to draw on. They say I may have just gotten a bad set, but I'm going to isolate when and where it happens. They agreed with the previous S-Video suggestion as well.

Will report back when I find out more. If anyone else has encountered with this (or any other LCD TV, especially those that are Xilleon-based), let me know.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-18-2007, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, here are the results of my tests so far:

Swapped component inputs. No help.
Swapped to another PS2. Same deal.
Swapped to another component cable. Also the same.
Swapped to S-Video. Also the same.
Swapped the S-Video cable to the Xbox. Here's where it gets interesting. For my testing (with Guilty Gear X2 and some other random stuff), no issues in either 480i, at least for the 15-20 minutes I checked.
Component on the Wii playing Tales of Symphonia for about 30 minutes also had no issues that I could discern.

This makes me believe that, much like the SNES, there is some issue with the deinterlace process on the PS2 video feed. It's very weird how intermittent it tends to be, but has been verified to occur with Castlevania: LoI, Suikoden V, Klonoa 2, and Tales of the Abyss. In other words, virtually everything I've tried. I still need to verify 480p on PS2, although I played Urban Reign for about 30 minutes, and didn't really notice anything (although discerning between any frame rate stutters and TV stutters might be a difficult thing).

As another sanity check, I have a cheap console-to-VGA converter, so I hooked it up to the VGA input. This thing is cheap, so it doesn't look that pretty, but it seemed fairly smooth, although I'm too tired right now to check it for more than I did.

So, if it IS the PS2, and it would seem that it is (or at least the way the Westinghouse handles the video feed), I wonder if there is any way to fix the problem? They didn't seem to know what's going on.

Anyway, any more ideas are certainly welcome.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-18-2007, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm to the point that I think I'm going to take it back. I tried a game that in terms of response time may be the most critical, and that is Shadow Hearts: From the New World. Anyone who's played this game knows that it takes very precise timing to nail the critical strike regions effectively. Now, I haven't played the game for a while, but noticed that I was having difficulty hitting the strike region. On a hunch, I hooked up the VGA input, which doesn't do any de-interlacing. Sure enough, I was nailing them once again.

So to REALLY verify my suspicions, I hooked both the VGA and the Composite up, turned on the PIP, and lo and behold, the lag is plain as day. It's especially noticeable in fixed camera areas, where the view changes abruptly. You can see the switch occur on the PIP, then on the main screen.

I'm going to do some more research, make sure there's not a gaming mode or something I can enable. Didn't see it in the menu's, but who knows? If I don't find anything, back she goes. If anyone has any suggestions on a good set in roughly the same price range that handles SD well, but also does decently on progressive (I'm looking at getting a 360 eventually), please let me know. In particular, if they have a model currently at Best Buy that I can swap for, that would be best. I definitely want something lag-free.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-18-2007, 10:32 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or... I could get an upconverter box to bypass the deinterlacing circuitry. Anyone got suggestions on those? I hate to shell out extra dough, though.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-20-2007, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovered another issue. Apparently, this was somewhat well documented with the Wii, but is not confined to that console. Quick white flashes make the TV think there is no signal, making the screen go dark for several seconds. Disconcerting to say the least. I'm taking it back tomorrow. I'm going to test their display model first, but this particular phenomenon also shows up in newer Sony sets, and I'm not entirely sure how to fix it.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-20-2007, 05:33 PM
Member
 
stvnham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone want to post their calibrated settings for me. Specifically for cable over component.
stvnham16 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 05-22-2007, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
SargeSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Returned it. Good TV, but not so much for gaming, especially in SD. Swapped out for a Sony Bravia, KDL32S2010.

My review, for the short time I owned it:

Progressive scan looks great, as does SD. However, there is a sizeable lag (~100ms) for interlaced material, so if you are a gamer, keep this in mind. SD also has a tendency, on all inputs, to get a bit choppy. This only happens for short periods of time, but happens nonetheless. Also present is a blackout of the screen with quick white flashes (see: Rayman Raving Rabbids, etc.). This only seems to have issues over component. Screen brightness is great, no lag with progressive, colors (in my opinion) are almost perfect.

Audio, as to be expected, is pretty bad. Hook up your own set, seriously.

This is a good set for the price, but not if you're a gamer. If you're watching a lot of TV or DVDs, this is MORE than adequate. The gaming issue can be bypassed by using an upscan converter and hooking in to the VGA input, but some may not want to deal with the hassle. I didn't, although returning to Best Buy was a hassle in and of itself (mostly due to a computer error).

In the meantime, I'm going to enjoy my Sony. As much as I hate joining the enemy, it's a nice set, no detectable lag on SD, and plenty of options to mess around with. And no screen blankout.

Westinghouse customer support was actually fairly helpful, even though they didn't know about the choppiness issue. The lag, they were aware of, and were about to suggest the same thing that I did above, an upscan converter.

Although my experience, overall, wasn't positive, if you're not a hardcore gamer, you could do much worse, and if you are, you probably know all the workarounds by now, so it's not a bad set, when all is said and done.
SargeSmash is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 05-28-2007, 11:07 AM
Member
 
DanoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SargeSmash View Post

Returned it. Good TV, but not so much for gaming, especially in SD. Swapped out for a Sony Bravia, KDL32S2010.

My review, for the short time I owned it:

Progressive scan looks great, as does SD. However, there is a sizeable lag (~100ms) for interlaced material, so if you are a gamer, keep this in mind. SD also has a tendency, on all inputs, to get a bit choppy. This only happens for short periods of time, but happens nonetheless. Also present is a blackout of the screen with quick white flashes (see: Rayman Raving Rabbids, etc.). This only seems to have issues over component. Screen brightness is great, no lag with progressive, colors (in my opinion) are almost perfect.

Audio, as to be expected, is pretty bad. Hook up your own set, seriously.

This is a good set for the price, but not if you're a gamer. If you're watching a lot of TV or DVDs, this is MORE than adequate. The gaming issue can be bypassed by using an upscan converter and hooking in to the VGA input, but some may not want to deal with the hassle. I didn't, although returning to Best Buy was a hassle in and of itself (mostly due to a computer error).

In the meantime, I'm going to enjoy my Sony. As much as I hate joining the enemy, it's a nice set, no detectable lag on SD, and plenty of options to mess around with. And no screen blankout.

Westinghouse customer support was actually fairly helpful, even though they didn't know about the choppiness issue. The lag, they were aware of, and were about to suggest the same thing that I did above, an upscan converter.

Although my experience, overall, wasn't positive, if you're not a hardcore gamer, you could do much worse, and if you are, you probably know all the workarounds by now, so it's not a bad set, when all is said and done.

Funny you mention this choppyness....I see it on DVDs. Everything looks fine for awhile and then, suddenly, for about three or four seconds, the frame rate drops. I've tried two DVD players, the new Sammy upscaler and just today the Pioneer dv-400v. So I know it's not the DVD player. Connection is through HDMI and appears whatever upscaling resolution I choose.

This is a secondary TV for me (in a bedroom) so it is not critical but this might bother me enough to return it. I'll give Westinghouse a call tomorrow to see what they have to say. For the price, the TV is great except for the issue I mention.
DanoP is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-06-2007, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
waltari2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had this set for a month now and I've also noticed the choppyness while viewing DVDs.
waltari2004 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-06-2007, 08:26 PM
Member
 
DanoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltari2004 View Post

I've had this set for a month now and I've also noticed the choppyness while viewing DVDs.

I recently tried the component connection and noticed no choppiness for DVDs. However, now I've noticed it occasionally from my standard def. RF connection to my Dish HD DVR. I don't know if the DVR is the source or the TV. I view all this in relation to the price of the TV (which I thought we shouldn't be talking about here) but if that wasn't a consideration I'd probably return it. BTW, I did call Westinghouse and they shrugged.
DanoP is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-11-2007, 07:05 PM
Member
 
DanoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went the same way as Sarge and decided with one day left on my return policy to return the Westy. Just couldn't accept the choppyness issue as it was noticeable with every input except DVD component. Exchanged it for a Toshiba Regza 32". No choppyness anywhere to be found. My 360 now runs with very smooth frames, something I wasn't getting with the other TV. The PQ is quite dramatically improved across the board as you might expect going from a bargain TV to something more middle of the road price wise. There is something not right about the Westy's video processing.....I don't mind a bargain TV making compromises with PQ but the thing has got to work right and this one doesn't. I wonder if this a problem with this model in particular or most/all Westy's.
DanoP is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 11-07-2007, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
ciaf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been looking around for some info on this TV because I am experiencing the exact same problem that you are describing in this thread... I bought a ps3 over the summer, and needed a nice TV to go with it, and saw this 32" HDTV for less than $600. It has been really great, except that now, just as you have said, it is starting to "stutter". I first noticed it when playing my new copy of Guitar Hero 3 (it is very annoying when you are playing a tough song and the image starts to skip). I thought, it was an issue with the ps3, but then my roommate and I were watching football, and the same thing happened.

Not only does this happen over Cable and through component for me, but it happens exactly as described in this thread. It works fine for a length of time, then there is about 4-5 seconds in which the image stutters, and you can usually tell when it is about to happen because about 4 seconds before it starts, there is a preliminary skip in the image...

Has anyone figured out if this is a known issue? I have the product replacement plan at best buy, and maybe it is worth exchanging... but if it is an issue that Westinghouse is aware of, maybe they will help?
ciaf77 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 09-14-2008, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
DaringSword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never experienced this skipping problem, but I have one that is just as annoying: the colors have recently started to inverse themselves. The whites would start displaying as pure cyan/blue and others would appear pure magenta. I have this problem on all inputs, cable, Xbox360(component) and PS3(HDMI). It is completely random and sometimes won't do it for days. Sometimes if it auto switches to an input(i.e. I turn my PS3 on and it goes right to the HDMI input), it will turn itself off while switching, this happens sometimes when I turn it on too. The colors in HD look good, not great in my opinion, there are other TVs out there that look better, but you get what you pay for I guess. Needless to say, I'm not very pleased with it right now.

-M
DaringSword is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off