Official Samsung LN-TXX61F/65F/66F Owner's Thread III - with *updated* first post. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 488
This is the continuation of the original thread LN-TXX61F/LN-TXX65F/LN-TXX66F Owner's Thread


Thank you

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
D92Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mark...may civility prevail
D92Mike is offline  
post #3 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:22 PM
Member
 
nirvash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hooray long live the thread of doom

Btw please visit my thread and comment on what HDMI cables you are using and if there are any problems. It would be great if we could create a 'recommended' list for the owners out there that are having problems.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=835842
nirvash is offline  
post #4 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:25 PM
Member
 
agent2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 4661. At first the picture was fine.

Then the image transformed into this:

It's like this on via component cables on my cable box as well as the VGA input from my HTPC.

law and order




breakfast at tiffany's
agent2099 is offline  
post #5 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by agent2099 View Post

Just got my 4661. At first the picture was fine.

Then the image transformed into this:

It's like this on via component cables on my cable box as well as the VGA input from my HTPC.

law and order




breakfast at tiffany's


Someone else posted pics like this. They turned their TV off and back on and it was gone. I believe they returned the TV out of fear it could happen permanently in the future when the warranty runs out.

And thanks to whoever created this new thread. It was much needed.
skyehill is offline  
post #6 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D92Mike View Post

Thanks Mark...may civility prevail

yes we hope
Lefty42o is offline  
post #7 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Bryan Lyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I agree. I started the first thread, but it seemed to spiral out of control. Hopefully, we'll have better luck this time.

Bryan

"There's a dark cloud rising on the desert floor" - B. Springsteen
Bryan Lyle is offline  
post #8 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Lyle View Post

Yes I agree. I started the first thread, but it seemed to spiral out of control. Hopefully, we'll have better luck this time.

yeah i think for the sake of it all i will likley not be posting anymore. just lurking. maybe the occasional pic or 2 but this whole ordeal really soured me to this forum
Lefty42o is offline  
post #9 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:52 PM
Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am looking to purchase this set. It would be fantastic if this thread could be from owners who actually have the set. And not these people who seem to thrive on picking it apart.

Just an idea. Thanks

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #10 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:52 PM
Member
 
mattspalace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted on the calibration settings thread cuz I thought this one got cut-off by the mods or similar.. Anywho, I'm a new Samsung LN-T4061F owner (about a week) and posted some comments..

This thread seems more appropriate.

I've had my LN-T4061F for close to a week now. I just wanted to write some initial thoughts..

Right out of the box, the picture was actually very good, but also very bright.

Thankfully, other owner's have posted their calibration settings in these forums, so I started with those settings, and tweaked just using my personal preference. This made the HD channels look amazing, and the SD also looked pretty good too.
The settings were from the first few posts of this page, but from a 4661F.

I am extremely happy with this LCD, as my prior television was a Samsung ED plasma, model SPN-4235 (not bad for three year old model I purchased new - you don't want to know what I paid for it).

I looked at about 4 LCD's - Sony XBR, two of the new Samsungs, and a Sharp. I was the most satisfied with this set, then the 4065F, but it did have noticeable glare where the 4061F does not.

I haven't noticed any clouding, banding, or pillaring that some have mentioned, so I'm either very lucky or these problems must be fairly rare.

I'm using HDMI-to-HDMI on a Cox Comm 8300 DVR box. I did have one "bad handshake" event, but it was during bad weather, so it could have been my cable going out as well, as it hasn't happened since.
mattspalace is offline  
post #11 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
amature1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the Oppo 981 to go with my 4665. Does anyone know what code to enter in the tv remote so the dvd comes on with the tv remote? Oppo does not appear to be listed in the Samsung manual, is it compatable?
amature1 is offline  
post #12 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattspalace View Post

I posted on the calibration settings thread cuz I thought this one got cut-off by the mods or similar.. Anywho, I'm a new Samsung LN-T4061F owner (about a week) and posted some comments..

This thread seems more appropriate.

I've had my LN-T4061F for close to a week now. I just wanted to write some initial thoughts..

Right out of the box, the picture was actually very good, but also very bright.

Thankfully, other owner's have posted their calibration settings in these forums, so I started with those settings, and tweaked just using my personal preference. This made the HD channels look amazing, and the SD also looked pretty good too.
The settings were from the first few posts of this page, but from a 4661F.

I am extremely happy with this LCD, as my prior television was a Samsung ED plasma, model SPN-4235 (not bad for three year old model I purchased new - you don't want to know what I paid for it).

I looked at about 4 LCD's - Sony XBR, two of the new Samsungs, and a Sharp. I was the most satisfied with this set, then the 4065F, but it did have noticeable glare where the 4061F does not.

I haven't noticed any clouding, banding, or pillaring that some have mentioned, so I'm either very lucky or these problems must be fairly rare.

I'm using HDMI-to-HDMI on a Cox Comm 8300 DVR box. I did have one "bad handshake" event, but it was during bad weather, so it could have been my cable going out as well, as it hasn't happened since.

good stuff. i have a 4061 as well and i have a cox 8300hd box as well. no real issues either for me. love my tv
Lefty42o is offline  
post #13 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
mchamblissII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

This is the continuation of the original thread LN-TXX61F/LN-TXX65F/LN-TXX66F Owner's Thread


Thank you

Thanx Markrubin it got out of hand with that one. Question I have towards the 65 owners is do you really see a black crush after calibrating it? After looking at the first owner thread it was too much reading to keep up and mostly people was asking the same question over and over again. I asked this question because after reading that review of this tv that some other member posted from europe. I was just really curious about it? Any imput i really appreciate it.
mchamblissII is offline  
post #14 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Kickoa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey I just tried the Monster Ultra 800 HDMI cable and I lost signal twice with my PS3, I'm going to return this wire and also my set.

This is a very great set, I recommend it if you are not going to play PS3 on it.
Kickoa1 is offline  
post #15 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:04 PM
Member
 
mattspalace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickoa1 View Post

Hey I just tried the Monster Ultra 800 HDMI cable and I lost signal twice with my PS3, I'm going to return this wire and also my set.

This is a very great set, I recommend it if you are not going to play PS3 on it.

What set? Did you try other HDMI ports?
mattspalace is offline  
post #16 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:10 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickoa1 View Post

Hey I just tried the Monster Ultra 800 HDMI cable and I lost signal twice with my PS3, I'm going to return this wire and also my set.

This is a very great set, I recommend it if you are not going to play PS3 on it.

i dont think is the set ...... its the ps3
u should return the ps3
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #17 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickoa1 View Post

Hey I just tried the Monster Ultra 800 HDMI cable and I lost signal twice with my PS3, I'm going to return this wire and also my set.

This is a very great set, I recommend it if you are not going to play PS3 on it.


quick question.

under inputs go to anynet+ and see if hdmi-cec is turned on or off. mine was on. i have turned it off. this could be causeing the issue we are having. i will playa round with the ps3 and see if it drops any. i suggest you try that and post what happens here.

hdmi-cec or as its called in the samsung anynet+ is a way for the tv to communicate with all the devices plugged into the hdmi port and let them all communicate with the other devices. this could be what causes the drop outs specially in stb anbd the flashing we have been hearing about in the hdmi-dvi connections.

just an idea. run with it guys
Lefty42o is offline  
post #18 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Krelian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It took two weeks for delivery, but my 5265f finally came in yesterday... and it's pretty much DOA. The right half of the screen is all white, while the left half has uneven lighting. The repair center won't be here for a week and who knows how long it'll take for the replacement to get here afterwards. On the plus side, the tv looks really good in my room when it's turned off.
LL
LL
LL
Krelian is offline  
post #19 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelian View Post

It took two weeks for delivery, but my 5265f finally came in yesterday... and it's pretty much DOA. The right half of the screen is all white, while the left half has uneven lighting. The repair center won't be here for a week and who knows how long it'll take for the replacement to get here afterwards. On the plus side, the tv looks really good in my room when it's turned off.

sorry man
Lefty42o is offline  
post #20 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Ohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have connected my PC via HDMI to my LN-T5265. I am getting a 0.5-1" black border around PC output on the TV (?underscan). Does anyone know how to fix this?

I am using an ATI 1550 card. In terms of TV settings I am presently on 16:9. Just scan setting leaves me with a larger black border ~3" on each side. 4:3 leaves me with black lines on the lateral sides. Wide fit setting leaves me with marked overscan.

I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks,

O
Ohms is offline  
post #21 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:24 PM
Member
 
agent2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyehill View Post

Someone else posted pics like this. They turned their TV off and back on and it was gone. I believe they returned the TV out of fear it could happen permanently in the future when the warranty runs out.

And thanks to whoever created this new thread. It was much needed.

Thanks for the reply, after much searching I found the post you were referring to.

I think that is good advice and I'm in the process of getting a replacement. What a beautiful TV, if only it looked good when it was on (my regards Krelian). I can't recall getting a DOA item before (at least not something this expensive). This is a first.
agent2099 is offline  
post #22 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ChristianZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. LN-S5296D
2. LN-S5296D Replacement #1
3. LN-S5296D Replacement #2
4. LN-T5265F

ChristianZane is offline  
post #23 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:27 PM
Member
 
ultimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
?? for you - I just purchased the 4661 and very happy with it so far. I just got the cable company to hook up HD Cable via HDMI cable. Here is the question - it seems to be some clouding on the HD channels TNT for example - completely down the both sides - the same amount on both sides..- if I switch the input the clouding goes away or if I go to a 480p channel there is no clouding... What could be causing this. - do you recommend hooking it up via Component cable and see??

thanks!

Mark
ultimix is offline  
post #24 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:29 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4261 ? i tho there were only 4061 and 4661 ?
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #25 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok guys 30+ mins playing a agme on my ps3 and no drop outs yet.

under menu under inputs i turned hdmi-cec off. i think this will fix the issue we are having
Lefty42o is offline  
post #26 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:33 PM
Member
 
ultimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

4261 ? i tho there were only 4061 and 4661 ?


Sorry - 4661...
ultimix is offline  
post #27 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Kickoa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickoa1 View Post

Hey I just tried the Monster Ultra 800 HDMI cable and I lost signal twice with my PS3, I'm going to return this wire and also my set.

This is a very great set, I recommend it if you are not going to play PS3 on it.


I have the 4665. I have tried all of the HDMI ports, there are still drop outs.

I will try to go to inputs and turn the anynet+ off
Kickoa1 is offline  
post #28 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Lefty42o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickoa1 View Post

I have the 4665. I have tried all of the HDMI ports, there are still drop outs.

I will try to go to inputs and turn the anynet+ off

yeah do that let me know what happens. i am using hdmi2 and right now tis running smooth since i turned anynet+ off
Lefty42o is offline  
post #29 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Kickoa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty42o View Post

ok guys 30+ mins playing a agme on my ps3 and no drop outs yet.

under menu under inputs i turned hdmi-cec off. i think this will fix the issue we are having

What port are you using, I'm using HDMI3?

I'm doing the same right now. I been playing for 5 mins, only 55 mins to go lol.

Question: what does anynet+ really do? Are we missing out on anything with it off?
Kickoa1 is offline  
post #30 of 2576 Old 04-17-2007, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Smitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lefty, I just turned off hdmi-cec, I'll report back later and let everybody know if my PS3 problems are fixed. Thanks for the tip.
Smitty24 is offline  
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off