Official Samsung LN-TXX61F/65F/66F Owner's Thread III - with *updated* first post. - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 10:33 AM
Member
 
4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoman504 View Post

Which port savers are most people using, i noticed the monoprices ones.

I am using the monoprice port savers. The main reason I am using them is to alleviate the strain of my heavy and stiff cables on the ports. They also provide a more secure connection, so I don't have to worry about the cable coming loose.

The blue fog has cleared.
4sho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 10:50 AM
Member
 
geofftate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UWS, Manhattan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by utee05 View Post

I have seen the same issues while hooking my pc via vga. WilliamG said he saw the same thing but only when he was using vga, and suggested using dvi-hdmi connection instead. What type of video card is on your powerbook? I have an old video card so I thought that was another reason as well. I plan on building a htpc over summer so that should help.

128 MB ATI Mobility Radeon 9700, the only option in late model PBG4s. Interesting that you guys see ghosting with VGA, while my VGA looks fine but DVI-HDMI doesn't. BTW, by "fine" I mean I do see very slight ghosting around the screen edges via VGA, but it's minor and not noticeable except up [too] close. With DVI-HDMI, though, it's really bad. I wouldn't have been surprised with VGA issues (never would have even tried VGA if not for the DVI probs), it's the distortion (hard to call it ghosting per se) over digital that weirds me out.

I guess I'll have to try my desktop PC and see if I get the same results. Big hassle, though; it's got a lotta hookups...
geofftate is offline  
post #273 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
for those who are using port savers, and assuming the main reason i am buying them is to possibly help with handshaking issues, should i get 6, or just 3 for the tv?

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #274 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoman504 View Post

for those who are using port savers, and assuming the main reason i am buying them is to possibly help with handshaking issues, should i get 6, or just 3 for the tv?

I wouldn't waste your time, honestly, unless you're worried about the actual port on the TV/source device (strain etc). I got port savers (Monoprice) and they don't do diddly to help handshaking issues. And don't forget, I had last year's Samsung (LN-S4695 1080p LCD 46") which had absolutely no issues with exactly the same devices as my current TV (LN-T4661 1080p LCD 46"), so really, port savers are not the saving grace here by my estimations.
WilliamG is offline  
post #275 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by geofftate View Post

128 MB ATI Mobility Radeon 9700, the only option in late model PBG4s. Interesting that you guys see ghosting with VGA, while my VGA looks fine but DVI-HDMI doesn't. BTW, by "fine" I mean I do see very slight ghosting around the screen edges via VGA, but it's minor and not noticeable except up [too] close. With DVI-HDMI, though, it's really bad. I wouldn't have been surprised with VGA issues (never would have even tried VGA if not for the DVI probs), it's the distortion (hard to call it ghosting per se) over digital that weirds me out.

I guess I'll have to try my desktop PC and see if I get the same results. Big hassle, though; it's got a lotta hookups...

Yes, I'd seen ghosting over VGA, but only on lower-quality low-end video cards (though DVI is always sharper/cleaner than VGA with any video card in my eyes). The Geforce Ti4200 was mentioned I believe earlier and that's a very bad 2D card with tons of ghosting over VGA (my experience). I can't speak for the Radeon 9700, but it might be a hardware limitation of some sort. After all, it is an older 128MB video card trying to push 1920x1080. Testing your PC (as much as a pain in the rear it is) would definitely give you some idea of what's wrong, depending on what video card you have in there of course!
WilliamG is offline  
post #276 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:12 AM
Member
 
4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoman504 View Post

for those who are using port savers, and assuming the main reason i am buying them is to possibly help with handshaking issues, should i get 6, or just 3 for the tv?

They are super inexpensive, so get 6 just in case!

And speaking of HDMI, this is an interesting article.

HDMI Is Here

I am really quite suprised HDMI works at all, there are just so many variables!

The blue fog has cleared.
4sho is offline  
post #277 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The reason I ask about port savers is because I have the same board and fw as 4sho, and i experience very minor handshaking with dropouts rarely ever happening. He stated he has no issues, so i was wondering if the addition of port savers, which are relatively cheap, might help rather than calling and replacing the board.

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #278 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:25 AM
Member
 
kepes56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing seems to be for sure -- that these Sammys' have something worth fighting for. Fact of the matter is, there simply would not have been this much patience and effort if it were not for the potential performance and PQ from these sets. Three threads, 249 pages, 7419 posts.

In all reasonable consideration, I think one has to conclude that it would be extremely unlikely for Samsung to be unable or unwilling to provide a solution here, although such a solution must also be timely. IMO, take care of the HDMI issues and you've got one of the best flat panel displays made.
kepes56 is offline  
post #279 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:26 AM
Member
 
4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

I wouldn't waste your time, honestly, unless you're worried about the actual port on the TV/source device (strain etc). I got port savers (Monoprice) and they don't do diddly to help handshaking issues. And don't forget, I had last year's Samsung (LN-S4695 1080p LCD 46") which had absolutely no issues with exactly the same devices as my current TV (LN-T4661 1080p LCD 46"), so really, port savers are not the saving grace here by my estimations.

You are right in your case. The problem is, as far as I can tell, pin pointing what is causing the issue. Making sure your connections are solid is an important first step. JMO

The blue fog has cleared.
4sho is offline  
post #280 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 11:56 AM
Member
 
geofftate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UWS, Manhattan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Yes, I'd seen ghosting over VGA, but only on lower-quality low-end video cards (though DVI is always sharper/cleaner than VGA with any video card in my eyes). The Geforce Ti4200 was mentioned I believe earlier and that's a very bad 2D card with tons of ghosting over VGA (my experience). I can't speak for the Radeon 9700, but it might be a hardware limitation of some sort. After all, it is an older 128MB video card trying to push 1920x1080. Testing your PC (as much as a pain in the rear it is) would definitely give you some idea of what's wrong, depending on what video card you have in there of course!

Well, the Powerbook has no problem driving my Dell 24" at the same resolution and the card has a max external res of 2560x1600, so it's definitely not an inherent hardware limitation (esp since DVI-VGA through the same output is fine). It's worth trying my desktop anyways, though, because there could be other factors.

Anybody have any ideas about my first question? No sound over HDMI from my SA 8300HD?

Thanks!
geofftate is offline  
post #281 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:12 PM
Member
 
kamiller42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tech left an hour and a half ago. He put a new board in my 4665. It had a Feb. 27th date (I think.) for its firmware. Connected to my HDMI/HDCP Gigabyte video card, the TV would rarely flash green or just flash the screen. The worst it would do is lose signal.

After the update, my version info says I have a 1022 firmware dated March 20, 2007 @ 15:13:55. The second, the hardware revision(?), is 1005.

So far, no HDMI drops. Hooray! I'm going to keep it running for most of today and see what happens. It has made it beyond the usual time point when HDMI signal is lost. That's a real good sign.
kamiller42 is offline  
post #282 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:12 PM
Member
 
4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geofftate View Post


Anybody have any ideas about my first question? No sound over HDMI from my SA 8300HD?

Thanks!

Just did a quick google search. This thread might help you out.

The blue fog has cleared.
4sho is offline  
post #283 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by geofftate View Post

Well, the Powerbook has no problem driving my Dell 24" at the same resolution and the card has a max external res of 2560x1600, so it's definitely not an inherent hardware limitation (esp since DVI-VGA through the same output is fine). It's worth trying my desktop anyways, though, because there could be other factors.

Anybody have any ideas about my first question? No sound over HDMI from my SA 8300HD?

Thanks!

Hmm...not sure then about the video card.

About your 8300HD, I think I remember reading that you need to set the audio differently in the options. I think you need to set it as PCM in its options screen for sound. I could be wrong, but I'm fairly sure it's a setting along those lines. I don't personally own a DVR, so that's all I can offer you.
WilliamG is offline  
post #284 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
andydumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamiller42 View Post

The tech left an hour and a half ago. He put a new board in my 4665. It had a Feb. 27th date (I think.) for its firmware. Connected to my HDMI/HDCP Gigabyte video card, the TV would rarely flash green or just flash the screen. The worst it would do is lose signal.

After the update, my version info says I have a 1022 firmware dated March 20, 2007 @ 15:13:55. The second, the hardware revision(?), is 1005.

So far, no HDMI drops. Hooray! I'm going to keep it running for most of today and see what happens. It has made it beyond the usual time point when HDMI signal is lost. That's a real good sign.

Ours came new with the same exact board and firmware. Lets keep our fingers crossed.
andydumi is offline  
post #285 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4sho View Post

You are right in your case. The problem is, as far as I can tell, pin pointing what is causing the issue. Making sure your connections are solid is an important first step. JMO

It's clear, to me at least, that this handshaking business is a Samsung issue, be it firmware or hardware.
WilliamG is offline  
post #286 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:17 PM
Member
 
ANT_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Owner's threadthe positive:

I love this TV...much better image quality then the 1080p Sharp.
Let's just try to enjoy our sets...that's what I did last night: Lost HD, Nets vs Cavs TNT HD, Price is Right 1 million $ giveaway CBS HD (Bob Barker still looked like he had too much makeup) and Suns vs SA TNT HD...WOW what a night!!! (Gfriend was not impressed but who cares)
Honestly, forget everything else and enjoy the show. Sports never looked soooo good...would have been better if the Suns won!!!

A. from Montreal, Canada
Proud owner of a LNT4661F
ANT_1 is offline  
post #287 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
zoman504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepes56 View Post

One thing seems to be for sure -- that these Sammys' have something worth fighting for. Fact of the matter is, there simply would not have been this much patience and effort if it were not for the potential performance and PQ from these sets. Three threads, 249 pages, 7419 posts.

In all reasonable consideration, I think one has to conclude that it would be extremely unlikely for Samsung to be unable or unwilling to provide a solution here, although such a solution must also be timely. IMO, take care of the HDMI issues and you've got one of the best flat panel displays made.

Exactly! This is why i feel sorry for people returning their sets due to minor issues. Now i agree when you spend this much on a tv you should not have to deal with these things, but honestly, what new technology doesnt have problems. These issues are pretty minor, and most of them are due to the new hdmi technology, I don't think a lot of people understand that. Go ahead and return your tv, but don't be surprised when the next tv you buy exhibits similar issues, its gonna take a bit for manufacturers and programmers to perfect the technology.

LG 55LHX
PS3 60gig | HTPC (building now) | WDTV | AT&T UVerse
ATT UVerse
Denon 1712 receiver | JBL 190's, 130's, and 120c
zoman504 is offline  
post #288 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
savage1005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Halo 3 on my lnt4665 is SWEET!!!!!
savage1005 is offline  
post #289 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 12:56 PM
Member
 
uscg6870's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a full day with my new board ,, 1008 ,,, and so far so good ,,, had a problem this morning but i think it was due to my OLD vcr dying ,,,The HDMI was the only thing working ,,, when i shut vcr all was well ,,,,, anyone out there know about the Samsung DVD VR 357 ,,its a DVD recorder/player with VCR ,, seems ok for my limited use ,,, but value any ideas, opinions or if you have a thread devoted to it ,, thanks for any help .....
uscg6870 is offline  
post #290 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
r1dude57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW, I have an older ATI Radeon 9700pro in my system (yup, I know....ancient), but was able to hook up my pc using both VGA and the DVI to HDMI. I did notice a small amount of ghosting using the Belkin 6ft VGA cable from CC. I never tried to adjust it out, because I was just checking port functionality. I then hooked up the DVI to HDMI and it worked perfectly at 1920x1080@60. I have not updated my drivers in about 4 years and had to make no adjustments in my Catalyst settings.
r1dude57 is offline  
post #291 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by andydumi View Post

Ours came new with the same exact board and firmware. Lets keep our fingers crossed.

Yes, definitely keep us posted.
WilliamG is offline  
post #292 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
geofftate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UWS, Manhattan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4sho View Post

Just did a quick google search. This thread might help you out.

Heh, so used to leaning on y'all that I never even considered Google. I foolishly assumed it was TV-specific, not the 8300HD. Heck, there are plenty of threads here on the 8300HD. Sorry about that. Looks like I suffer from the advanced menus not appearing in my 8300HD, so I'll have to tinker with it.

Thanks again
geofftate is offline  
post #293 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Norse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those wit ghosting via vga.....I have and old beefy svga cable that has had the end bent and bent back a few times do to moves, etc so I figured I would goto the store and get a new one. Went to best buy and saw a vga cable and bought it. Well, the short version of story is just this, I am using the bent one as its crystal clear via vga while the brand new one from bestbuy is blurry.

Not all vga cables are created equally. I also get way more resolution options with the older svga cable I have.


Also, I am 100% sure my 1005 4665f is perfect now. I played like 6 hours straight of XBLA games last night on HDMI port 2 without a blip. This was after watching blu ray via hdmi 1 with ps3 the couple hours prior.

I think only 1 person so far has reported issues with a 1005 or later set, and people with early versions have had mixed results. Next time somebody gets there board swapped, ask the tech what is different about the board he is putting in, because its not just the firmware. I am just happy I got a good one.

Samsung 4665f 1028/1008 flawless
Xbox 360 Elite
PS3
8300HD
onkyo 605
panamax filtration
Norse is offline  
post #294 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norse View Post

Those wit ghosting via vga.....I have and old beefy svga cable that has had the end bent and bent back a few times do to moves, etc so I figured I would goto the store and get a new one. Went to best buy and saw a vga cable and bought it. Well, the short version of story is just this, I am using the bent one as its crystal clear via vga while the brand new one from bestbuy is blurry.

Not all vga cables are created equally. I also get way more resolution options with the older svga cable I have.


Also, I am 100% sure my 1005 4665f is perfect now. I played like 6 hours straight of XBLA games last night on HDMI port 2 without a blip. This was after watching blu ray via hdmi 1 with ps3 the couple hours prior.

I think only 1 person so far has reported issues with a 1005 or later set, and people with early versions have had mixed results. Next time somebody gets there board swapped, ask the tech what is different about the board he is putting in, because its not just the firmware. I am just happy I got a good one.

Excellent to hear. Please continue to say good things in a week or so!

I'll be waiting till I get back from Europe to update my board, if all continues well. I still *think* that this issue can be addressed by firmware (which I'd rather have), so by the time I get back in the middle of June, I figure we'll know for sure.
WilliamG is offline  
post #295 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 02:41 PM
Member
 
geofftate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UWS, Manhattan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norse View Post

Those wit ghosting via vga.....I have and old beefy svga cable that has had the end bent and bent back a few times do to moves, etc so I figured I would goto the store and get a new one. Went to best buy and saw a vga cable and bought it. Well, the short version of story is just this, I am using the bent one as its crystal clear via vga while the brand new one from bestbuy is blurry.

Not all vga cables are created equally. I also get way more resolution options with the older svga cable I have.

Definitely true that many VGA cables aren't shielded well and can have drastically inferior quality. It's a lesson you quickly learn when you setup a KVM, for example. Odd that you should have different supported res options, though. Shouldn't be. Looks like BB sold you some bubble gum and string. Good point, though!
geofftate is offline  
post #296 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Takioni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Small Question..

Is it normal for the Signal to drop out when switching from the menu screen to a game or Blu-ray movie on the ps3? or is that the handshaking issue.

On my 4061 it happens when go from main menu to a game or movie on my PS3 but once the movie or game loads its fine.
Takioni is offline  
post #297 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
pjammin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have good picture settings for the 5265F, don't exactly have time to sift through the hundreds of pages on this thread.

Thanks.
pjammin5 is offline  
post #298 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 03:03 PM
Member
 
4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takioni View Post

Small Question..

Is it normal for the Signal to drop out when switching from the menu screen to a game or Blu-ray movie on the ps3? or is that the handshaking issue.

On my 4061 it happens when go from main menu to a game or movie on my PS3 but once the movie or game loads its fine.

Mine does this as well, I consider it normal.

The blue fog has cleared.
4sho is offline  
post #299 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 03:25 PM
Member
 
SteveL4446's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geofftate View Post

Got my 4661 from Amazon several days ago, but unfortunately haven't yet had the hours and hours to play with it to keep up with everyone here and in the calibration thread.

Anyhow, two questions:

1) I finally got my Monoprice HDMI cable the other day, connected my TWCNYC SA 8300HD cable box and... no sound. I feel like I must be doing something stupid, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to get the sound working. Help? Right now I'm back to component & RCA. Unfortunately, I don't yet have another HDMI device to try.

2) When I connect my Powerbook G4 via Monoprice DVI-HDMI (1:1), there appears to be some video distortion. It's sort of like ghosting, but it's more digitized and pronounced, where text looks like it has a second copy of itself overlaid with a slight offset. Comes and goes, but usually there. Anyone else seen this? Forgive me if I'm not describing it well: Just imagine writing a word on paper and then writing the same word again on top of it, but beginning a few millimeters to the right of where you began the first word. Offset overlay. When I plug in VGA, it looks perfect 1:1, but of course I'd prefer DVI-HDMI. (Note: I was hoping to be able to simply mirror my PBG4 1:1, but unfortunately Apple doesn't seem to support mixing mirrored resolutions, so I'll have to get used to spanning and then rearranging the primary screen. Or rebooting when I hook it up. Or else buy a separate HTPC. Oh well.)

Thanks!

For sound: Using your cable remote press settings, then "more settings", go to digital audio out, select HDMI. This is what I had to do, and it worked like a champ. Good luck!
SteveL4446 is offline  
post #300 of 19625 Old 05-17-2007, 03:42 PM
Member
 
geofftate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UWS, Manhattan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveL4446 View Post

For sound: Using your cable remote press settings, then "more settings", go to digital audio out, select HDMI. This is what I had to do, and it worked like a champ. Good luck!

Yup, but the problem is I don't have that menu available. Acc to the CNET thread, sometimes that happens if you boot the box before connecting HDMI, so apparently I have to reboot the box when it's already plugged in HDMI. I'll be trying that tonight. Thanks again
geofftate is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off