Official Samsung LN-TXX61F/65F/66F Owner's Thread III - with *updated* first post. - Page 654 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19591 of 19614 Old 06-12-2013, 03:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I don't use my TV as much as some, so it just took me longer to get this problem...but my LN-T5265F just now developed the following: I turned it on yesterday and the blue light on the front came on and it clicked like it was turning on, but then it stayed black, clicked again, clicked again, and then finally came on. Today it clicked for about 3 minutes before it finally came on. I have it hooked to my computer and the screen saver came on and blacked out the screen (including the TV) and then once it was off it just clicked and clicked and clicked and never turned on. I finally pulled the plug. This sounds like the capacitor problem. Is that what it is?

I had a Samsung computer monitor that had the capacitor problem as well, and it would do similar things.

Is there still an option to call Samsung at this point, or has that ship sailed?

Or is this some other problem completely?

Thanks!!
Spassvogel42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19592 of 19614 Old 06-12-2013, 06:12 PM
Newbie
 
razman1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spassvogel42 View Post

Maybe I don't use my TV as much as some, so it just took me longer to get this problem...but my LN-T5265F just now developed the following: I turned it on yesterday and the blue light on the front came on and it clicked like it was turning on, but then it stayed black, clicked again, clicked again, and then finally came on. Today it clicked for about 3 minutes before it finally came on. I have it hooked to my computer and the screen saver came on and blacked out the screen (including the TV) and then once it was off it just clicked and clicked and clicked and never turned on. I finally pulled the plug. This sounds like the capacitor problem. Is that what it is?

I had a Samsung computer monitor that had the capacitor problem as well, and it would do similar things.

Is there still an option to call Samsung at this point, or has that ship sailed?

Or is this some other problem completely?

Thanks!!

2 years and 1 month after buying my tv (I mention this because I was 1 month after my warranty expired) my tv did the same thing. I turned it on and it would click/blink red and then nothing...and then 5 minutes later it turned on from the initial power up 5 mins ago. Then I left the tv on in fear of it never turning on again. Eventually I turned it off and tried again and it never worked again. I looked it up online and realized that samsung has a big problem with using crappy capacitors. I opened the back up and saw that the capacitors had a bulging top so I went to radio shack and bought some solder and a soldering kit for $20 and then bought some new caps for $6 and I removed old ones and put these new ones in and voila it started up again. It's very easy to do (just youtube it) or google it to figure out what type of capacitors.
razman1983 is offline  
post #19593 of 19614 Old 06-12-2013, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
SirDracula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's not always just the capacitors. I had the same problem where the TV would not turn on or take a long time to turn on. Usually after a couple of off/on cycles it would come on. Samsung sent someone out who replaced the caps. The problem persisted. I called them again, they sent someone else out to replace the power board. The person who did the job said he doubted it was the power board, it was probably something else, most likely related to the panel. But he replaced the power board anyway. Not a problem since, knock on wood.
SirDracula is offline  
post #19594 of 19614 Old 06-12-2013, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
razman1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also ya you should call the # on the previous page and see if your model is covered. http://www.samsung.com/us/capacitorsettlement/
razman1983 is offline  
post #19595 of 19614 Old 06-21-2013, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My model is definitely one of the ones covered. I needed it fixed ASAP and a local guy diagnosed and fixed it. 6 capacitors and 4 voltage regulators had failed. He also calibrated the TV which was kinda awesome I have to say.

I sent a claim form and the receipt to Samsung. We'll see what happens. The full settlement said March 2012 + 18 months was the deadline.
Spassvogel42 is offline  
post #19596 of 19614 Old 06-22-2013, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Thunder240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Two years ago (and 3+ years after I purchased the TV from Best Buy), my TV started going through several power cycles before starting up. I'd push the power button, the read light would start flashing, and I'd hear it click on and off for several minutes before I'd finally get a picture. Also, when I eventually did get picture, there were two or three vertical purple lines spaced at varying intervals across the panel. I called Samsung customer service, they said it sounded like it could be the capacitor problem, and they referred me to a local Samsung authorized tech. I made an appointment with the tech, he came over, opened the TV up, tested the caps, and told me 2 of the 4 had gone bad. He replaced all 4 with new, beefier caps and didn't charge me a dime. Since then my TV has started up with no problems.

I can't promise that your problem is bad capacitors, not can I promise you that replacing the caps will be hassle-free, but it is worth calling Samsung and reporting it. To me, it sounds like bad caps. If it is the caps, the warranty coverage is extended (not sure how long). And if they if the tech they send out replaces the caps but the problem persists, at the very least (1) you'll have dealt with a ticking time bomb, and (2) you will have met a local Samsung tech face to face and now have someone to get advice from who actually knows what he's talking about!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spassvogel42 View Post

My model is definitely one of the ones covered. I needed it fixed ASAP and a local guy diagnosed and fixed it. 6 capacitors and 4 voltage regulators had failed. He also calibrated the TV which was kinda awesome I have to say.

I sent a claim form and the receipt to Samsung. We'll see what happens. The full settlement said March 2012 + 18 months was the deadline.

Thunder240 is offline  
post #19597 of 19614 Old 07-30-2013, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
SteveSluder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HUGE Thank You for posting the firmware, it fixed my issue. Samsung customer service denied the software even existed. Too bad, my next TV will not be purchased from them.
SteveSluder is offline  
post #19598 of 19614 Old 07-30-2013, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanltod View Post

I have an elusive problem with my 4665. It powers on fine and the screen comes on. However, when it first comes on there is a ghosting of the image, especially across the upper half. For instance, the HDMI label shows where it should in the upper left corner and then a stretched out ghost image of that same label appears offset down a bit. After about 20-30 minutes the picture clears up so it seems that something is heating up enough to warm up and make proper contact. I also found that I can cause it to be "fixed" if I slightly flex the entire TV, especially with the back cover off when it will flex and twist more easily. I just don't know which board or connector would cause the ghosting effect. I don't know if it is something in the panel itself, a connector, a wire, a board, etc. Also, it does it with two different power supply boards and two different sus boards. The backlights work perfectly. If anyone has thoughts on where I might start it would be must appreciated. What the heck would tell the panel to display that image in a different place than it is suppose to be displayed and about 4 times stretched vertically but then clear up with time/heat/expansion? Thanks.

Anyone have a solution to this issue? I am having the same symptoms .

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #19599 of 19614 Old 08-16-2013, 06:27 AM
Newbie
 
Kevin Kasberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you ever get an answer to this? I am having the same issue. I ordered new caps before even opening it, and I plan on replacing them this weekend. I just assumed it was a power level issue.
Kevin Kasberg is offline  
post #19600 of 19614 Old 08-18-2013, 11:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Nope...bought a new TV.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #19601 of 19614 Old 08-21-2013, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
whasaaaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario Canada
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Co make my samsung lnt 4665f region free? i purchased an asian kung fu drama set and my player is region free but when i switched the player to pak my tv went to searching my tv signal.

My Current 7.1 Set-Up
(2) Monitor Audio RS8'S: Fronts
(2) Monitor Audio RS8'S: Rear back
(1) Monitor Audio RSLCR: Centre channel
(2) Monitor Audio RSFX: Surrounds sides
(1) Paradigm Signature Sub25
Pioneer Elite SC-05
Pioneer Elite BDP-09FD
OPPO DV-981HD
Sony Play Station 3
APC Power Conditioner...
whasaaaab is offline  
post #19602 of 19614 Old 08-24-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
TV is always region free. The issue you have is likely due to your material is 50Hz / 50p / 50i. And therefore it cannot be displayed correctly. You can try playing back the video using your PC connected to your TV.
pixelation is offline  
post #19603 of 19614 Old 10-20-2013, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
hfm57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fixed mine I think it's been two years almost to the day... Bought some replacement caps from Radio Shack for $10-15 and it's held up this far.

If it happens again I'm just going to get a new TV. I can get a 46 to replace this LNT-4061F that is practically the same physical size due to a much smaller bezel.
hfm57 is offline  
post #19604 of 19614 Old 10-20-2013, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
hfm57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder240 View Post

I have a LN-T4066F, and indeed it does pass audio from its HDMI inputs to its optical out.

However, I think I recall that it requires the source be PCM 2.0. In other words, I believe that it will neither pass 5.1 nor downmix 5.1 to 2.0 and then pass it. (I could be mis-remembering. I recall it took me a long time of experimenting with various settings on source and TV to find a combination settings that worked. Right now the source that I am using is a 2.0 source, and it passes through from HDMI to optical with no problems.)


I

For the record, I ended up getting a ZVOX 220 about a month ago. I have 3 devices hooked up to the LNT-4061F HDMI ports and I have the ZVOX 220 hooked up to the optical out. It's working great.
hfm57 is offline  
post #19605 of 19614 Old 11-17-2013, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Design1314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, glad I've found this thread. I have 2 questions and hope you guys can help me...

1) In the OP, it mentioned to update firmware, how do I find which firmware I have? I have a LN-T4665F.

2) I can't seem to save any of the settings on my TV, whenever I turn the TV off and back on, it would change back to the default settings. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Design1314 is offline  
post #19606 of 19614 Old 01-20-2014, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
dgr8cycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi All, I know it has been a while since the last post on this thread but I was wondering if I could get some help/insight.

 

I have a LN-T4061FX that had it's power supply board replaced by samsung a while back and now the background strobes or flickers.

 

I have already tried upgrading the firmware but that did not fix the problem. I also tried swapping out the main board and it persisted. When I power on the device with the main board disconnected from the T-Con, the backlit is constant.

 

Does it seem like it's a capacitor on the newer power board not doing it's job and causing the strobe/flashing?

 

 

I was wondering if someone could provide insight. Thanks!

dgr8cycler is offline  
post #19607 of 19614 Old 02-03-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sorry you guys are having issues with your sets I have both a LN 5265f and a LNT 52A650 and both have been rock solid. I did have the same problem with a 42"LG plasma that I have in the bedroom. I just bought a power board off ebay and replaced it. Took about 15 minutes. The board had 4 bulging capacitors. I am giving my A650 to my father in law when he moves to his new condo. He has been lusting after it for some time. Figure what the hell.
theroys88 is offline  
post #19608 of 19614 Old 02-28-2014, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
dgr8cycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Anybody in this thread have any insight?

dgr8cycler is offline  
post #19609 of 19614 Old 03-28-2014, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
spartanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Does anyone here still have the firmware for the LN-T4665 or the link to download it. I've been having this issue and I cant seem to find the firmware any where. Tried calling Samsung and that was a big waste of time, since they said they have never released and updated firmware. can anyone please help

spartanii is offline  
post #19610 of 19614 Old 03-29-2014, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
spartanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/LN-T4061F     this link has firmware 1037 just incase anyone was looking around for it. Samsung will say that they aren't any firmware updates for are TV's I know its not the exact model but I took I chance and my tv update just fine hopefully it fixes my problems.

snoopspecial likes this.
spartanii is offline  
post #19611 of 19614 Old 03-29-2014, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
spartanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

If you guys are looking for the firmware update go to the Samsung website and look up model LN-T4061F the firmware will be there. I just update my tv it took the update just fine hopefully I wont have anymore issues. I have a model LN-T4665F tv just incase

snoopspecial likes this.
spartanii is offline  
post #19612 of 19614 Old 05-29-2014, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
snoopspecial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link!
It says on the download page too: LCD TV LNT 61, 65, 66 Series Firmware, 1037
Will give it a try tonight!
snoopspecial is offline  
post #19613 of 19614 Old 05-30-2014, 04:53 AM
Member
 
6311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11

How to download the  firmware   That I have installed in the tv  ?

 

Restore default  for f4661

6311 is offline  
post #19614 of 19614 Old 09-14-2014, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
SirDracula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can the LN-T4665F do ARC (audio return channel) or is it too old for that?
SirDracula is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off