Official Samsung LN-TXX61F/65F/66F Owner's Thread III - with *updated* first post. - Page 655 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2014, 08:45 AM
Member
 
4r4r4r00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDracula View Post
Kinda disappointed by my 4665F, blown capacitors, then power board replaced, back-lighting not uniform. But it's still usable after 7+ years and I just can't throw it out.
ashes to ashes
dust to dust
all good things ...
4r4r4r00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
encendido5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodotdot View Post
My LNT4665F is still our living room TV and it hasn't lost a step. Do you know if Chromecast will work with this TV, specifically? The TV has lots of USB ports but I'm not sure if there's something internal (software) that it needs to have.
I've used it on my 5265 without a problem. I don't see why it wouldn't work on the 4665.

My 5265 is still going strong since buying it in late 2007. The uneven backlighting is annoying though.
encendido5 is offline  
Old 10-07-2014, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
bodotdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by encendido5 View Post
I've used it on my 5265 without a problem. I don't see why it wouldn't work on the 4665.

My 5265 is still going strong since buying it in late 2007. The uneven backlighting is annoying though.
Sorry to hear that. I'm amazed that this thread is still around--every other year it seems I print out that Post #1499 from this thread and re-do the settings that someone decides to mess with--that post probably hasn't been updated in a while but it's still a good setup.
bodotdot is offline  
Old 10-07-2014, 04:21 PM
Member
 
encendido5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah it's really only noticeable in really dark scenes but still
encendido5 is offline  
Old 10-24-2014, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirDracula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Does a discrete IR code exist for the LNT4665F that can switch to the TV input and select the *digital* tuner? My Harmony remote has a discrete code for InputAntenna but if I switch from HDMI1 to it, the TV input is always on analog channel 8 even though I last watched a DTV channel and only have DTV channels (using an OTA antenna). Is this a bug in that the TV doesn't remember the last used tuner? Any special menus to disable the analog tuner completely?
SirDracula is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 08:52 AM
Member
 
encendido5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Have any of you LNT owners upgraded your sets? I recently won a contest at work and am looking to buy a new TV with my winnings. Ideally, I would want a plasma or an OLED, but plasma is hard to find (at least the F8500 is) and the OLED is way too expensive.
encendido5 is offline  
Old 12-12-2014, 03:05 PM
Member
 
justerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kentuckiana by way of the OC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Official Samsung LN-TXX61F/65F/66F Owner's Thread III - with *updated* first ...

Wrong thread

Last edited by justerik; 12-12-2014 at 03:52 PM.
justerik is offline  
Old 12-13-2014, 12:33 PM
Member
 
encendido5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry, I figured I could get opinions from people that own the LNT so the expectations are the same.
encendido5 is offline  
Old 12-27-2014, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
kcrossley2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a service reset of my Samsung 4661F not realizing that doing so would reset the number of hours on my LCD. Is there anyway to get that info back?

Also, after doing a service reset, what settings do I need to tweak?

And finally, should I upgrade my firmware? My current firmware is as follows:
T-TULPAUSO-1037 October 30, 2007
T-TULPAUS5-1011

Thanks!
kcrossley2 is offline  
Old 12-30-2014, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by encendido5 View Post
Sorry, I figured I could get opinions from people that own the LNT so the expectations are the same.
I purchased a UN65H6350. Definately a upgrade in picture quality. My 5265f is still going strong. Not one issue since 2007.
encendido5 likes this.
theroys88 is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
"Not Available" / Volume goes to 0

Any owners still around here? I have the 4665F and starting this weekend I noticed that the TV pops up "Not Available". I searched the internet. And found this thread:

http://support-us.samsung.com/cyber/...name=LN-T4671F

Unplugging didn't help. But after changing the audio output to "Internal" (I used an external speaker). I see that "Not Available" is because the Volume is being adjusted to 0. I am not sure what caused it but it is not because of IR because I have tried blocking the sensor.

Any owner experienced something similar?
pixelation is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 02:06 AM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Samsung LN-T4661F gray semi-transparent “patches” periodically float around screen

Sometimes a gray “patch” appears which is usually rectangular and then it will grow or shrink on and off for awhile. Sometimes another patch appears and may overlap it. Sometimes the patch/es will grow to a cloud shape and cover most of the screen. The patches are always semi-transparent / I can mostly see through them to the picture behind.

They seem to start 30-60 minutes after the TV is turned on (not really sure how long), last between a few seconds and a minute or two, then go away.

While this is happening, I’ve switched between all inputs and the patches remain the same, so I know it’s not a cable or any of the input connections. The issue does not affect the audio at all.

Anyone have any idea what might be wrong?

I doubt I’ll be fixing it myself, but if I can get some idea what it is and find a TV repairman (do they even exist anymore?) to repair it, I’d like to go that route. It has a matte display which I like very much and in addition to the three HDMI inputs, it has two composite inputs, which I need. Neither the matte display nor the two composite inputs are available on a new Samsung, which is why I’m willing to spend the money to get it repaired. This is the only problem I’ve ever had with this TV.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
tk54911 is offline  
Old 08-28-2015, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post
Any owners still around here? I have the 4665F and starting this weekend I noticed that the TV pops up "Not Available". I searched the internet. And found this thread:

http://support-us.samsung.com/cyber/...name=LN-T4671F

Unplugging didn't help. But after changing the audio output to "Internal" (I used an external speaker). I see that "Not Available" is because the Volume is being adjusted to 0. I am not sure what caused it but it is not because of IR because I have tried blocking the sensor.

Any owner experienced something similar?
Turns out the issue is caused by the volume key. The key might have stuck internally. I pressed them a few times and the problem went away.
pixelation is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 48
My lnt5265f still going strong. The panel on my set is almost perfect. No clouding, flashlights and uniformity is perfect. Of course a Samsung panel. When fed a clean blu-ray signals especially if was digitally shot, it shows a beautiful picture. Where it faulters is with poor cable, DVD ,Blu-ray sources. That is the improvement I see on my UN65H6350. Also having a 120hz panels helps with motion but the AUO panel in it shows clouding, minor banding.
theroys88 is offline  
Old 04-06-2016, 08:31 AM
Member
 
steveh27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 4665 is still working well after 8 1/2 years.
steveh27 is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've had my LN-T5265F for about 9 years and never checked this thread until today.

What prompted me was a new Onkyo home theater receiver which supports HDMI (my old Pioneer, being a couple years older than the TV itself, had digital inputs but only coaxial and optical, which I used all the time). I always used HDMI with my TV through the TV inputs directly, and always experienced annoyances with the flaky connection, but it was always within the threshold of acceptability.

Now with the switching of HDMI inputs through the receiver, the HDMI issues of the TV kicked into high gear. So I downloaded the 1037 firmware update from a link in this thread and installed it.

The progress bar went to about 75 percent in 2 seconds, then got stuck there. After an hour I decided that the progress bar was not going to move any further, and had no choice but to unplug the TV. (It didn't respond to the remote or the buttons on the unit.) When I plugged it back in I was not sure what to expect, but to my delight it came back with the new firmware!

Now the HDMI connection is solid and my first impression is that the picture quality got better. My old firmware was 1009, and no matter what I did I could never get the black levels right without making the image too dark. Now I noticed that there's a gamma correction adjustment, which is great, but I didn't even need to use it because I was able to adjust the image (including black levels) without much effort using the other adjustments. This just wasn't possible before.

So I'm posting this in case anybody has a similar experience with the firmware update. If the progress bar gets stuck, don't panic. But do give your TV at least 60 minutes to make sure the update goes through.
diego99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off