Sony BRAVIA S3000 Series Owner's Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1117 Old 06-25-2007, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
qirex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinkyMomo View Post

Anybody know if the 40S3000 will display a native-rate signal?

It will via VGA.
qirex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1117 Old 06-26-2007, 08:54 AM
Member
 
avuser001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington DC Area
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinkyMomo View Post

That would be a signal at this TV's native resolution, namely 1366x768. I happen to have a really nice scaler just lying around...

According to the online manual, yes. The tv accepts a native-signal (1360x768) via it's vga port.

______________________________________
"Ummmmm...spread that butter...with The Force!"
avuser001 is offline  
post #93 of 1117 Old 06-26-2007, 10:41 AM
Member
 
MinkyMomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avuser001 View Post

According to the online manual, yes. The tv accepts a native-signal (1360x768) via it's vga port.

Double ouch. Not quite native res, and a showstopper for HDCP-protected content as well...
MinkyMomo is offline  
post #94 of 1117 Old 06-26-2007, 04:24 PM
Member
 
avuser001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington DC Area
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinkyMomo View Post

Double ouch. Not quite native res, and a showstopper for HDCP-protected content as well...

But it's possible that the 1360 number is a misprint. I no longer have the 40S3000 for testing the set's true native resolution...I gave the tv away as a wedding gift!

______________________________________
"Ummmmm...spread that butter...with The Force!"
avuser001 is offline  
post #95 of 1117 Old 06-26-2007, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
VPrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the sony site lists it as 1366x768
VPrace is offline  
post #96 of 1117 Old 06-27-2007, 08:29 AM
Member
 
surrealist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MinkyMomo View Post

Double ouch. Not quite native res, and a showstopper for HDCP-protected content as well...

I'm not exactly sure what you're asking but the set displays everything at 1366x768. Everything is scaled (down or up) to that resolution. It can accept a variety of input resolutions through its various connections.
surrealist is offline  
post #97 of 1117 Old 06-27-2007, 10:15 AM
Member
 
avuser001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington DC Area
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by surrealist View Post

I'm not exactly sure what you're asking but the set displays everything at 1366x768. Everything is scaled (down or up) to that resolution. It can accept a variety of input resolutions through its various connections.

Unfortunately not all lcd tv's accept pc signals to match their native-resolutions 1366x768, 1920x1080, etc... I know of an LG model that was advertised as accepting a 1366x768 signal via it's pc input when in fact it only accepted a 1024x768 signal. This misrepresentation left a lot of folks who owned that particular model very upset.

The 40S3000 is rated to accept a native signal of 1366x768. But can anyone confirm this?

______________________________________
"Ummmmm...spread that butter...with The Force!"
avuser001 is offline  
post #98 of 1117 Old 06-27-2007, 01:54 PM
Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The S3000 series will accept 1360x768 PC timings according to the VESA standards on the HDMI and PC input and it is not scaled, meaning a 1:1 match.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #99 of 1117 Old 06-28-2007, 02:12 AM
Member
 
surrealist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avuser001 View Post

Unfortunately not all lcd tv's accept pc signals to match their native-resolutions 1366x768, 1920x1080, etc... I know of an LG model that was advertised as accepting a 1366x768 signal via it's pc input when in fact it only accepted a 1024x768 signal. This misrepresentation left a lot of folks who owned that particular model very upset.

The 40S3000 is rated to accept a native signal of 1366x768. But can anyone confirm this?

Okay, I get it. But if someone's gonna spend $1500+ for a monitor, it seems odd to me that they wouldn't spring an extra $50 and get a video card with DVI. Then none of that analog stuff would matter in the first place.
surrealist is offline  
post #100 of 1117 Old 06-28-2007, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Howdy Doody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post

The S3000 series will accept 1360x768 PC timings according to the VESA standards on the HDMI and PC input and it is not scaled, meaning a 1:1 match.

Also :

.... --> I am a new member and cannot post <-- ....

....check out CNET's tests of the 46" S3000 -- they share similar knowledge and testing results.
Howdy Doody is offline  
post #101 of 1117 Old 06-29-2007, 10:42 AM
Member
 
cnbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just thought I'd bring some good tidings in regard to official price drops: the 32S3000 and 40S3000 have both dropped $100 from Sony's site. That brings the 32" to $1200 and the 40" to $1700. The 46" model, however, has maintained it's $2500 sticker.

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...52921665067952

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...52921665067954
cnbuck is offline  
post #102 of 1117 Old 06-29-2007, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
tombaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by surrealist View Post

Okay, I get it. But if someone's gonna spend $1500+ for a monitor, it seems odd to me that they wouldn't spring an extra $50 and get a video card with DVI. Then none of that analog stuff would matter in the first place.

While you were sleeping....most the PC users now use a Laptop as either a primary or as much as a desktop.

Most laptops have an output VGA signal. Buying a new video card for a laptop is not quite as simple as you imply.

For laptop users....a VGA input is critical
tombaker is offline  
post #103 of 1117 Old 06-29-2007, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
potzer12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by muggsie View Post

Hi everyone,

Got the 40" and got a problem.
I'm hearing a high-pitched buzzing sound from the TV. The sound can be heard when the TV is on at normal sound levels and of course, extra loud when the TV is muted. There is no buzzing when the TV is off.

The sound is loudest near the top left and right corners of the TV, near the vents.

Has anyone experienced this?

Thanks! =)

i just got this set delivered today, and i notice a high-pitched buzz as well.
cant really hear it when sitting in front of it at a normal distance, but if you stand to the side of it, or right in front, you can hear it.
the sound is also loudest at the top.

i had the kdf-46e2000 and there was also a buzzing noise to the right of the tv where the fan was, which could only be heard when standing next to it.
the buzzing on this tv is a lot more evident.

did you end up getting this fixed, or has anyone else noticed this?
potzer12 is offline  
post #104 of 1117 Old 06-30-2007, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
vancitycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by potzer12 View Post

i just got this set delivered today, and i notice a high-pitched buzz as well.
cant really hear it when sitting in front of it at a normal distance, but if you stand to the side of it, or right in front, you can hear it.
the sound is also loudest at the top.

i had the kdf-46e2000 and there was also a buzzing noise to the right of the tv where the fan was, which could only be heard when standing next to it.
the buzzing on this tv is a lot more evident.

did you end up getting this fixed, or has anyone else noticed this?

I too, just picked up this set since the $100 price drop and it looked like a good deal. I hear the loud buzzing sound too when I first got it out of the box. Is this normal, should I be worried?

What have you guys done about it?
vancitycanuck is offline  
post #105 of 1117 Old 07-01-2007, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
terrapin72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post

The S3000 series will accept 1360x768 PC timings according to the VESA standards on the HDMI and PC input and it is not scaled, meaning a 1:1 match.

When I hooked up my HTPC Mac Mini that I bought a couple of weeks ago, to my 40S3000 - it immediately set its video output to 1360x768 native...looks great.

edit: this is via DVI -> HDMI ...not using the vga port.
terrapin72 is offline  
post #106 of 1117 Old 07-03-2007, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ams123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Please post your settings. I have a 40S3000. I really like it but have not gotten the settings figured out yet and would like some ideas.
ams123 is offline  
post #107 of 1117 Old 07-05-2007, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
ams123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have been playing with settings for a couple of days now but just cannot seem to get the whites to be really white. There is a red tinge to the whites and greys. It gets better when I use the cool color setting but I am just not happy with it yet. Anyone else seeing something similar? Should I take it back and exchange for another 3000?
ams123 is offline  
post #108 of 1117 Old 07-05-2007, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adult Beverage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Has anyone had the clouding issue with the 40S3000 as with the V2500 or XBRs? I think this set may sway me from plasma.

Infamous last words: "Hold my beer. Watch this!"
Adult Beverage is offline  
post #109 of 1117 Old 07-05-2007, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
poiv3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adult Beverage View Post

Has anyone had the clouding issue with the 40S3000 as with the V2500 or XBRs? I think this set may sway me from plasma.

Seems like this tv is clouds free. Mine is good.
poiv3 is offline  
post #110 of 1117 Old 07-05-2007, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
chip_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a KDL-26S3000 this week and here are my initial impressions:

Pros:
Very impressive HD performance.
Good black levels.
480i performance very good using analog cable and an S2 Tivo. This was high on my list of priorities.
Good bedroom TV.
Nice menus.

Cons:
The wall-mounting pattern on the rear is very high up on the case. This limits the tilt-down range because the bottom of the case touches the wall. Sony makes a specialized wall-mount for this model because of this but it's expensive. Currently I'm using a Sanus VM200 universal mount with a block of wood and longer lag bolts. Same effect as the Sony mount when tilted down.

Price (but I'm still pleased with it)
chip_r is offline  
post #111 of 1117 Old 07-05-2007, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ams123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ams123 View Post

I have been playing with settings for a couple of days now but just cannot seem to get the whites to be really white. There is a red tinge to the whites and greys. It gets better when I use the cool color setting but I am just not happy with it yet. Anyone else seeing something similar? Should I take it back and exchange for another 3000?


Well I spent some time at the local best buy and checked out their display set. Found the same issue I am seeing with mine, red tint to all whites. Maybe I will call Sony and see what they say.
ams123 is offline  
post #112 of 1117 Old 07-06-2007, 03:06 PM
Member
 
avuser001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington DC Area
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ams123 View Post

Well I spent some time at the local best buy and checked out their display set. Found the same issue I am seeing with mine, red tint to all whites. Maybe I will call Sony and see what they say.

Try changing color settings to 'Neutral'.

______________________________________
"Ummmmm...spread that butter...with The Force!"
avuser001 is offline  
post #113 of 1117 Old 07-07-2007, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
CoyoteBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poiv3 View Post

Seems like this tv is clouds free. Mine is good.

Just picked up the 40S3000 on Tuesday. Very nice TV watching machine, in my opinion. Very happy. Got it at BB who matched the CC online price with coupon.

No clouds, flashlights, stuck pixels or any other negative I can see. HD performance is great and SD looks good too.
CoyoteBob is offline  
post #114 of 1117 Old 07-10-2007, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Bedford Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 40S3000 as well. Insanely cheap from Brandsmart because I used online pricing and they matched it! I want to hear more about this TV line
Bedford Forrest is offline  
post #115 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 05:33 AM
Newbie
 
rev600sdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the 40" TV with the Bravia home theater as well. I'm having problems getting the TV audio to work through the home theater. Can someone fill me in? I have an S-video cable with audio too from my Dish DVR to the TV. Also an HDMI cable from the TV to the home theater reciever. Do I need additional connectors from the TV to the reciever? Thanks.
rev600sdi is offline  
post #116 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Use your HDMI cable from your Dish DVR to the TV, and the audio optical out of the Dish DVR to the home theater receiver, not to the TV. Don't use the S-video cable.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #117 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
rev600sdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what is used for connections between the TV and home theater? My Dish Network DVR reciever is not HD yet either.
rev600sdi is offline  
post #118 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 01:43 PM
Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When connecting to the TV by HDMI to an HDMI source (not DVI) make sure the audio out settings of the source are set to PCM. If it is set to Dolby Digital the TV will not put out the audio. The TV only supports PCM audio.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #119 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
ralfo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 46S3000 came in today. Great set. Played with it a bit and it looks great!
ralfo72 is offline  
post #120 of 1117 Old 07-12-2007, 10:23 PM
Newbie
 
potzer12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone else noticed the buzzing issue with this tv?
potzer12 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia S Series Kdl 32s3000 32 Inch 720p Lcd Hdtv , Sony 40 Inch Lcd Hdtv Kdl 40s3000
Gear in this thread - 32s3000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off