Official Sony W3000 Series Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 11:59 AM
Member
 
NY350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Card,

what are your settings? Did you adjust the white balance?
NY350Z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 12:34 PM
Member
 
card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY350Z View Post

Card,

what are your settings? Did you adjust the white balance?

NY350Z,
I haven't done much yet, with the exception of putting the set on "Standard" setting and toning down the color and brightness in general. I am just now learning how the iconic menu system works in settings. Once in there, it becomes clear enough how it works, but still leaves me unsure if a thing is "selected" or not.

By the way, I have not noticed any yellow shift on the set, but that is perhaps just my mind's eye trouble.

Anyway, below are my settings now. All reading this are forewarned that I am not a technician and that I am just very carefully changing things as I go along, working by eye. I have also not spent a lot of time reading the manual, either, which can be interpreted as either good or bad, depending on how you view that kind of thing.
Card

Backlight8
Picture 88
Bright 53
Color 51
Hue 0
Color Temp Neutral
Black Corrector Low
Adv CE Low
Gamma Low
Clear white Off
Color space wide
Live Color Low
White Balance (Left as Default settings below)
R Gain -0
G Gain -0
B Gain -0
R Bias -0
G Bias -0
B Bias -0
card is offline  
post #183 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 12:39 PM
Member
 
NY350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Card,

Thats weird. Mine is yellow unless I change the white balance. Maybe I got a bad one. The one in the store was yellow also. Who knows.
NY350Z is offline  
post #184 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Alex the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by card View Post

AlexTG,
Uhm, can't figure out your code there. I tried, guessing what you mean by the > (arrow right?) and the "I" (1?), but no service menu. Maybe clarify.

The #3 HDMI port has but one active connector, but it also has a graphic of a connector, so in the manual it looks like another HDMI input. It isn't.

Set has been on now for thirty-some hours, and the "WOW!" factor is higher than my bigger XBR2 ever was. This picture is incredible. Discovery Channel just did an interview with someone and the background was guite dark, yet I could see details of objects in the darkness as well as every strand of hair on the person being interviewed. And this is in a room that this afternoon has the shutters open and the sun coming in...........
Card

Tnx
"I+" stands for "information" button and apparently I could not find it in W's manual (?)
Anyway the link to the source is http://www.lyris-lite.net/bravia_tips.html

<<but it also has a graphic of a connector, so in the manual it looks like another HDMI input. It isn't.>> LOL

My set is coming tomorrow
AG
Alex the Great is offline  
post #185 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 01:21 PM
Member
 
card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex the Great View Post

Tnx
"I+" stands for "information" button and apparently I could not find it in W's manual (?)
Anyway the link to the source is http://www.lyris-lite.net/bravia_tips.html

<<but it also has a graphic of a connector, so in the manual it looks like another HDMI input. It isn't.>> LOL

My set is coming tomorrow
AG

ATG,
I can't see any "i" or information button on the new remote.

I'll keep my fingers crossed for you on the new set. Hope you like it as much as I like mine.

NY350Z,
Had a friend come over who in the nature of his work has a terrific eye for color. He was impressed with the picture, and didn't suggest any further change in color settings. Fortunately there was a big snow scene on Discovery, so I think any yellow tint would have shown up pretty clearly.
Card
card is offline  
post #186 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
malikriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THis is the setting I saw at Fry's in Custom Mode

Everything else is at off except the following

Backlight - 9
Picture - 80
Bright 50
Color 45
Color Temp Neutral
Color space wide
malikriz is offline  
post #187 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 07:02 PM
Member
 
sudz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found the manuals.....

For the KDL40V3000 & KDL46V3000
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/KDL40v3000.pdf

For the KDL40W3000 & KDL46W3000 & KDL52W3000
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/KDL40w3000.pdf

Looking at both manuals there seems to be very little difference. W series has expanded remote (who really cares about that), X.V color (future benefits), 1 additional HDMI port (some benefit), and a brushed metal casing (aethestiques, eye of the beholder). Other than that they share the same platform, both have 1080P:24, theatre sync and all the other goodies. Very interesting that Sony would have two offerings which are so close in specifications.

The big upgrade has to be the new XBR4,5 but you either love or hate the floating glass design. Myself i just don't like the look of them but picture wise they should offer an improvement with 120hz motion and DRC2.5. Sony should have put the 120hz motion into the W series at least to give it a bump up considering the premium and for customers not liking the floating glass look.
sudz is offline  
post #188 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
zmickz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm on my second XBR2(clouds), am considering returning for W that i saw tonite at CC, picture in store looked awesome but am hearing some people here say they think XBR is sharper (no DRC adjustments in 1080, etc.) Is total abandoment of XBR series for W wise move? I don't want to spend the money on XBR4.
zmickz1 is offline  
post #189 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
tombaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmickz1 View Post

I'm on my second XBR2(clouds), am considering returning for W that i saw tonite at CC, picture in store looked awesome but am hearing some people here say they think XBR is sharper (no DRC adjustments in 1080, etc.) Is total abandoment of XBR series for W wise move? I don't want to spend the money on XBR4.

My viewing and what I believe others agree with is the V3000 is sharper than the the W3000......so I would definitely take a look at the V

It's certainly a jump above the last XBRs, the color and contrast are such a jump when you see them side by side
tombaker is offline  
post #190 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 08:56 PM
Member
 
alecilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems that c***** is going to sell new W and V model soon. Check the link below and you can find KDL-40VL130, KDL-46VL130 and KDL-52WL130.

http://products.sel.sony.com/opensource/source_tv.shtml
alecilt is offline  
post #191 of 3238 Old 08-01-2007, 11:35 PM
Member
 
SonyPointGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took my 46w3000 and s300 player and played with the BD output types. If a TV is doing a 3:2 pull down, would the rolling credits on a movie seem to surge and move non-linearly?

I had '300' and watched the credits at the end. If I send it to the W3000 as 1080p I get the surging of the titles. If I switch the output to 1080/24p, the credits seem to roll smoother.
SonyPointGuy is offline  
post #192 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecilt View Post

It seems that c***** is going to sell new W and V model soon. Check the link below and you can find KDL-40VL130, KDL-46VL130 and KDL-52WL130.

http://products.sel.sony.com/opensource/source_tv.shtml

I figured they would....they just dropped the price of the older models...I guess trying to clear them out.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #193 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyPointGuy View Post

I took my 46w3000 and s300 player and played with the BD output types. If a TV is doing a 3:2 pull down, would the rolling credits on a movie seem to surge and move non-linearly?

I had '300' and watched the credits at the end. If I send it to the W3000 as 1080p I get the surging of the titles. If I switch the output to 1080/24p, the credits seem to roll smoother.

Did you try different CineMotion settings?
CineMotion mode in auto supposes to detect 1080p24 feed..... So theoreticaly there are 3 option B-R player is doing 3:2 pulldown and transmit 1080p60 signal to TV(CineMotion - OFF), player is forced to send 1080p24 to TV (CineMotion - OFF) and player is forced to send 1080p24 to TV (CineMotion - ON or Auto).
Alex the Great is offline  
post #194 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 09:06 AM
Member
 
SonyPointGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex the Great View Post

Did you try different CineMotion settings?
CineMotion mode in auto supposes to detect 1080p24 feed..... So theoreticaly there are 3 option B-R player is doing 3:2 pulldown and transmit 1080p60 signal to TV(CineMotion - OFF), player is forced to send 1080p24 to TV (CineMotion - OFF) and player is forced to send 1080p24 to TV (CineMotion - ON or Auto).


Hummmm, CineBun.

On the BD I only saw the 1080P (no reference to frames), 1080/24p, and AUTO (which was 180/24p).

I don't remember seeing the term CineMotion. Is that a BD or W3000 function?

Mark
SonyPointGuy is offline  
post #195 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyPointGuy View Post

Hummmm, CineBun.

On the BD I only saw the 1080P (no reference to frames), 1080/24p, and AUTO (which was 180/24p).

I don't remember seeing the term CineMotion. Is that a BD or W3000 function?

Mark

Mark,

According to W's manual CineMOtion can be found in W3000 menu. It is not clear from the manual how many settings this CineMotion has. My set is arriving tonight, but I do not have any 24p sources. So you are our best hope
AG
Alex the Great is offline  
post #196 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 10:07 AM
Member
 
malikriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NY350Z,

Did you try the settings I posted? Did it make any difference?
malikriz is offline  
post #197 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
tombaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone with one remark how these handle SD sources?
tombaker is offline  
post #198 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 02:16 PM
Member
 
sudz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex the Great View Post

Mark,

According to W's manual CineMOtion can be found in W3000 menu. It is not clear from the manual how many settings this CineMotion has. My set is arriving tonight, but I do not have any 24p sources. So you are our best hope
AG

Cinemotion can be found in the V3000 manual from the link i posted earlier, again both texts from both manuals are identical and does seem a bit vague.

I have read articles where the benefits of 1080P:24 start to show improvement in screen sizes above 50", but if the feature is implemented properly then it is still good to have even on a 46" screen.

Still waiting for a good review from a reputable source who can put the V3000/W3000 LCD's through all the calibration tests to see how they really perform. If anyone does come across one please let us all know.
sudz is offline  
post #199 of 3238 Old 08-02-2007, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
snvyas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK - went through all the posts and have a simple question. I was ready to buy the KDL-46v3000. I then stopped by Circuit City and saw the KDL-46w3000 and just loved the gunmetal casing on the tv itself.

The W is $200 more - one simple question. What more am I getting with the W?

I went to Sony's website and have spent hours on this forum and still am not sure. This is my first HDTV and I plan to buy a PS3 (since it is the same price as Sony's Blu-Ray player) to use as my DVD player.
snvyas is offline  
post #200 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 02:23 AM
Member
 
psychobilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecilt View Post

It seems that c***** is going to sell new W and V model soon. Check the link below and you can find KDL-40VL130, KDL-46VL130 and KDL-52WL130.

you sir are correct. all 3 models are registered on costcos system. the 40v and 46v already have a price and specs.
the 52w is just registered, no price nor info yet.
psychobilly is offline  
post #201 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 07:14 AM
Member
 
card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychobilly View Post

you sir are correct. all 3 models are registered on costcos system. the 40v and 46v already have a price and specs.
the 52w is just registered, no price nor info yet.

Are the Sony models sold at Costco identical to those sold elsewhere? I see a different model number assigned and wondered if some change is made to the sets to suit Costco. Generally the price is better than regular retail.

Card
card is offline  
post #202 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snvyas View Post

OK - went through all the posts and have a simple question. I was ready to buy the KDL-46v3000. I then stopped by Circuit City and saw the KDL-46w3000 and just loved the gunmetal casing on the tv itself.

The W is $200 more - one simple question. What more am I getting with the W?

I went to Sony's website and have spent hours on this forum and still am not sure. This is my first HDTV and I plan to buy a PS3 (since it is the same price as Sony's Blu-Ray player) to use as my DVD player.

AFAIK Vs have 2xHDMI 1.1 or 1.2 (TBD/TBC) and Ws have 3xHDMI 1.3. For PS3 and B-R users this can makes a difference. IMHO
Alex the Great is offline  
post #203 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gigaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AustinTX
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Costco changes model name only so you can not pricematch. they sold the V2500 as the V25L1, same machine, different speaker cover color.
gigaguy is offline  
post #204 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 08:14 AM
Member
 
card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post

Costco changes model name only so you can not pricematch. they sold the V2500 as the V25L1, same machine, different speaker cover color.

Gigaguy,
Good to know. I had looked at the V25L1 at Costco, and put off buying because of uncertainty over that model number difference. The price seems right there, and I like the 90 day no questions asked return policy.

I hope they don't change the look the W3000, though. Its gunmetal surround is a big attraction to the set.

Card
card is offline  
post #205 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
tombaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post

I just don't think you can make the statement that you can "buy them with a reasonable expectation that they will be without clouds." You don't know that.

Of course I can makes a statement like that. The key word is expectation. Any buyer should have the expectation the TV will be free of manufacturing defects such as clouds. There are enough samples of cloud free W and V and S to know that Sony can build them.

So any buyer should indeed have the expectation they are without clouds. And if they have them, return the set, and get a different one, or whatever option you like.

It not much more complicated that that.
tombaker is offline  
post #206 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
tombaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoxExMachina View Post

There's no point arguing with an internet "expert"

Vox, try actually reading what I said before you refer to me in the third person. I do enjoy that you can not disagree with what I have said, but somehow it bothers you.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post11148580
"ah ah even if what he says is generally correct....he should not say it" lmao You must score very high "I" on the Meyer-Briggs

FWIW my views on Sony sets being the best currently available is my view, an opinion, pardon me for thinking you would recognize that on your first reading....but since you could not, let me say for you now, opinions are subject to debate and even discussion on message boards. Vox you don't need to fear others opinions....and Samsung marching in with their 71 and 81 series...could change the landscape real fast
tombaker is offline  
post #207 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lyris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:


Uhm, can't figure out your code there. I tried, guessing what you mean by the > (arrow right?) and the "I" (1?), but no service menu. Maybe clarify.

"I+" on the American models will be called "DISPLAY".
The reason it's "I+" is because the European models have icons on the buttons rather than words (which would only be readable in one language).

BTW, that link on my site is oooold. Most of it is only really useful for the LCD WEGA TVs and the first European BRAVIAs.

David Mackenzie
DVD/BD Compressionist/Author
Reviewer & Tech Consultant, HDTVtest
lyris is offline  
post #208 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombaker View Post

Of course I can makes a statement like that. The key word is expectation. Any buyer should have the expectation the TV will be free of manufacturing defects such as clouds. There are enough samples of cloud free W and V and S to know that Sony can build them.

So any buyer should indeed have the expectation they are without clouds. And if they have them, return the set, and get a different one, or whatever option you like.

It not much more complicated that that.

Well, the good news is there are plenty of intelligent people on this forum, who are probably not relying on your words of wisdom to make their purchasing decision.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #209 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 09:02 AM
Member
 
malikriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be returning my 40W3000, soon and will wait for Amazon/Sam's/Costco prices.

Guys don't laugh, but How do I take the box back to store. Do I need to tie the box with rope or something? Don't have strapping stuff.
malikriz is offline  
post #210 of 3238 Old 08-03-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where are you taking it? I know CC doesn't even want the box if you return it.
georgeorwell is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Sa W3000 Subwoofer Each Black
Gear in this thread - W3000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off