Wall Mounting. Don't put power cord in the wall - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 112 Old 11-29-2008, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TVbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk.secret23 View Post

What about HDMI cables? Apparently Monoprice sells some 'in-wall' cables. I didnt buy it because it was a couple dollars more expensive

Do I need those in wall certified cables or is my cables alright? I bought the "28AWG HDMI 1.3a Category 2 Certified Male to Male Cables"

the talk has been about electrical safety concerns of the power cord cable, which would not be a factor with hdmi cables. about male to male cables, i think that is a personal matter that is best discussed in another forum.


TVbc

iirc afaik fwiw imo
TVbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 112 Old 11-29-2008, 01:51 PM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk.secret23 View Post

Wow, is this the only cheapest solution? I'm so dead broke, a hundred dollars is a lot to me!

bk.secret, FYI I found the Powerbridge kit for $39, and it came with the inwall connect boxes you have to have.
Another thread posted this link http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/avsspecialorder.html some special for AVS members. I bought 2, one for my TV and another for my subwoofer to plug into my Tripplite power conditioner.

hope you see this before ordering a $100 kit.
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #93 of 112 Old 11-30-2008, 12:17 AM
 
bk.secret23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avnuttyguy View Post

bk.secret, FYI I found the Powerbridge kit for $39, and it came with the inwall connect boxes you have to have.
Another thread posted this link http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/avsspecialorder.html some special for AVS members. I bought 2, one for my TV and another for my subwoofer to plug into my Tripplite power conditioner.

hope you see this before ordering a $100 kit.

Thank you very much! But wow, the shipping rates are incredibly high.
bk.secret23 is offline  
post #94 of 112 Old 11-30-2008, 01:37 AM
Member
 
dadndudes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadx View Post

check out monoprice
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage



plus you can run your video cables too

i would use nm (romex) to connect the inlet/outlet.

Yep, that's the way I went. Just gotta buy some romex and a couple of outlet boxes (for existing structure) at your local hardware store for a few extra bucks. Comes with the templates for cutout and went much smoother than I expected. Probably took just over and hour for install.
dadndudes is offline  
post #95 of 112 Old 11-30-2008, 01:29 PM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk.secret23 View Post

Thank you very much! But wow, the shipping rates are incredibly high.

bk.secret, Your welcome, didn't realize you already ordered. I just checked the PowerBridge shipping for FEDEX is only $8.95, for 1-2 units, that seems very reasonable to me.
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #96 of 112 Old 12-01-2008, 09:27 PM
 
bk.secret23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had to pay for Canada International which was $25 S/H
bk.secret23 is offline  
post #97 of 112 Old 12-02-2008, 08:34 PM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk.secret23 View Post

I had to pay for Canada International which was $25 S/H

I only had to pay the $8.95 to ship here in Oregon, but I hear you. I have an old friend who lives in B.C. and it's always crazy expensive to ship to Canada,,, that reminds me I need to send out her Christmas present! Last year it cost as much to send a bunch of DVDs and pictures than the DVDs cost!

Good luck up there in the Great North this winter!
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #98 of 112 Old 12-08-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yaaaay.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #99 of 112 Old 12-10-2008, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
derek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: northern va, usa
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


check out monoprice
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage

plus you can run your video cables too

i would use nm (romex) to connect the inlet/outlet.

Ahh..isn't anyone a bit concerned with emf running AC right next to your AV cables? I mean hdmi/digital would be ok but I'd stay away from analog audio/video runs that close.

Derek
derek is offline  
post #100 of 112 Old 12-11-2008, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
marshtric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions
marshtric is offline  
post #101 of 112 Old 12-11-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TVbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek View Post

Ahh..isn't anyone a bit concerned with emf running AC right next to your AV cables? I mean hdmi/digital would be ok but I'd stay away from analog audio/video runs that close.

how would you shield them ?


TVbc

iirc afaik fwiw imo
TVbc is offline  
post #102 of 112 Old 12-11-2008, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Zurbaran1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avnuttyguy View Post

bk.secret, FYI I found the Powerbridge kit for $39, and it came with the inwall connect boxes you have to have.
Another thread posted this link http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/avsspecialorder.html some special for AVS members. I bought 2, one for my TV and another for my subwoofer to plug into my Tripplite power conditioner.

hope you see this before ordering a $100 kit.

I have mounted my LCD on the wall and am in the process of running all of the cables through the wall. Honestly, I hadn't given any thought to the power cord issue until I found this thread. For peace of mind I have decided to go with the Powerbridge kit. Unfortunately, I ordered it before seeing this post and paid $69.99 for the kit. Once I was aware of the AVS discount I shot off a quick e-mail and they immediately replied and are crediting me for the difference in price. Great customer service! Now I can look forward to installing this kit and not worrying about the power cord.
Zurbaran1 is offline  
post #103 of 112 Old 12-16-2008, 08:06 AM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zurbaran1 View Post

I have mounted my LCD on the wall and am in the process of running all of the cables through the wall. Honestly, I hadn't given any thought to the power cord issue until I found this thread. For peace of mind I have decided to go with the Powerbridge kit. Unfortunately, I ordered it before seeing this post and paid $69.99 for the kit. Once I was aware of the AVS discount I shot off a quick e-mail and they immediately replied and are crediting me for the difference in price. Great customer service! Now I can look forward to installing this kit and not worrying about the power cord.

Glad you saw the post and saved $30.00. It's nice when the sponsers of this site offer special deals like this, it was the first reason I joined here. Nice to hear some companies still have great service like that, but I suppose it would be stupid not to with the crappy economy.
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #104 of 112 Old 12-17-2008, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Hockeypuck25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Medford, Mass
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does one get the discount????
Hockeypuck25 is offline  
post #105 of 112 Old 12-17-2008, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
JonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great Thread on an important topic!

I help people buy homes and I've started to see a lot of AC extension cords in walls with flat screen TVs. And since I represent the buyers, I get to tell them that that nice flat screen TV that the seller is offering with the house has wiring that looks like it is unsafe.

That Powerbridge is nice.

One issue with the Monoprice powerkit - it looks like the actual power connections are not enclosed in an electrical box. That is a problem. Any connections that are in a wall should always be enclosed in an electrical box. There should never be any joints or wire-nuts without a box around them. (Boxes come in both plastic and metal versions. The metal ones should be grounded also.)

Anybody else see a problem with that???
JonBoyd is offline  
post #106 of 112 Old 12-17-2008, 08:12 PM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeypuck25 View Post

How does one get the discount????

http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/avsspecialorder.html

No problem sharing, I found it from another thread, I bot 2, saved me $30 each.
Now I see they have new ones with a place for the cables to come through and some with HDMI and Component video jacks, pretty nice looking, didn't have those when I ordered mine last month. Has anyone ordered the new slim line powerbridge yet? I'd like to see how they look installed in the wall, no pictures on the website showing installation.
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #107 of 112 Old 03-21-2009, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if any of these kits or similar are available locally, like at HD/Lowes/Costco/Radio Shack, etc..? I was looking to install a display this weekend but could really use one of these to handle the power correctly?
mikemav is offline  
post #108 of 112 Old 03-21-2009, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
localnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 2,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonBoyd View Post

Great Thread on an important topic!

I help people buy homes and I've started to see a lot of AC extension cords in walls with flat screen TVs. And since I represent the buyers, I get to tell them that that nice flat screen TV that the seller is offering with the house has wiring that looks like it is unsafe.

That Powerbridge is nice.

One issue with the Monoprice powerkit - it looks like the actual power connections are not enclosed in an electrical box. That is a problem. Any connections that are in a wall should always be enclosed in an electrical box. There should never be any joints or wire-nuts without a box around them. (Boxes come in both plastic and metal versions. The metal ones should be grounded also.)

Anybody else see a problem with that???

Just like the other kits mentioned, you need to make a trip to the hardware store and purchase a blue new/old construction gang box. The powerbridge site had a good video explaining it all. It is the same with the monoprice kit.
localnet is offline  
post #109 of 112 Old 03-21-2009, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
localnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 2,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Does anyone know if any of these kits or similar are available locally, like at HD/Lowes/Costco/Radio Shack, etc..? I was looking to install a display this weekend but could really use one of these to handle the power correctly?

I was wondering the same thing, but I do not recall ever seeing this gear in their AV connection section. It would be worth a phone call, if you could even get them to understand what these units do.

I wish I would have known about these when I installed my FP, as I used the wall plate hoods and just ran the factory cord through the wall, as it was long enough to do it that way vs an extension cord, < 3' of the cord is in the wall. I don't forsee any problems, as the cord will probably outlast the TV. But I will be getting one of these when I install the FP in my bedroom due to electrical outlet placements.
localnet is offline  
post #110 of 112 Old 03-21-2009, 11:54 AM
Member
 
avnuttyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Does anyone know if any of these kits or similar are available locally, like at HD/Lowes/Costco/Radio Shack, etc..? I was looking to install a display this weekend but could really use one of these to handle the power correctly?

Mike, I first looked for the different parts to do a Powerbridge myself too, problem is HD and lowes do not carry the main male input plug wall plate part, can't be sold separtely at retail I had someone tell me.
avnuttyguy is offline  
post #111 of 112 Old 08-15-2014, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
okbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry to bump such an old thread. I'm considering buying one of these Power Bridge things, but I still can't quite understand why you can't buy an electrical extension cord that's made of literally the same material as the cable the power bridge uses, or romex, or any other cable that is permitted for use within walls, then simply pass that extension cable through a passthrough wall plate along with the AV cables? What's the difference?

Maybe there is more recent discussion of power/AV options that hide cables behind walls... if so, I apologize.
okbro is offline  
post #112 of 112 Old 08-16-2014, 08:57 AM
Member
 
turnbowm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by okbro View Post
Sorry to bump such an old thread. I'm considering buying one of these Power Bridge things, but I still can't quite understand why you can't buy an electrical extension cord that's made of literally the same material as the cable the power bridge uses, or romex, or any other cable that is permitted for use within walls, then simply pass that extension cable through a passthrough wall plate along with the AV cables? What's the difference?

Maybe there is more recent discussion of power/AV options that hide cables behind walls... if so, I apologize.

Don't know of any extension cord that's rated for in-wall use, which is why I used the Wiremold CMK-70 Power Cable kit. It made for a very easy install and includes everything needed. I also used HDMI cables rated (CL2) for in-wall use.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wiremold...1#tab=overview
turnbowm is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off