Official Sharp Aquos LC-42D64U/LC-46D64U/LC-52D64U Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 06:48 AM
Member
 
suzukaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just saw it this AM.
suzukaboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgolko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure if this has been posted yet or not, but the 64's are now up on SharpUSA's website. The 52" can be found here: http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,1920,00.html
sgolko is offline  
post #93 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 09:47 AM
Member
 
kevbrad66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow - did anyone notice the weight Sharp lists for the 52" model without stand? Less than 33 Lbs.?! That would make it weigh less than the 37D62u I just got. Unreal...

Can anyone comment on the bezel, and whether it is the super shiny gloss finish, or if they have toned that down to an "eggshell" finish, or something less prone to reflection. It's my greatest annoyance with the new set; fortunately, it's not the primary set for watching TV, it's a secondary one above the fireplace in our living room. But I'm convinced enough by the 4-wave backlighting in my model that I could be convinced to get a 52D64U to replace a 720p Samsung DLP when the pricing comes down if this issue (and their "banding" QC (BTW: a non-issue with my 37D62U)) was addressed.
kevbrad66 is offline  
post #94 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
kooltechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwynethh View Post

I got this back from QVC "The model number for item E03003 Sharp AQUOS 42"Diag. Widescreen High-Definition 1080p LCD TV is LC-42D62U. I hope this information is helpful.

Thank you for contacting QVC.com."

So much for dreaming.


thanks....that's what I thought it was on their website.
kooltechie is offline  
post #95 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevbrad66 View Post

Wow - did anyone notice the weight Sharp lists for the 52" model without stand? Less than 33 Lbs.?! That would make it weigh less than the 37D62u I just got. Unreal...

Can anyone comment on the bezel, and whether it is the super shiny gloss finish, or if they have toned that down to an "eggshell" finish, or something less prone to reflection. It's my greatest annoyance with the new set; fortunately, it's not the primary set for watching TV, it's a secondary one above the fireplace in our living room. But I'm convinced enough by the 4-wave backlighting in my model that I could be convinced to get a 52D64U to replace a 720p Samsung DLP when the pricing comes down if this issue (and their "banding" QC (BTW: a non-issue with my 37D62U)) was addressed.

Somebody made a mistake. The weight is listed as 62.8 lbs without the stand in all the specs I have seen.

Hopefully the banding has been fixed. I have not seen any banding on any of the display sets since Jan.
jim55avs is offline  
post #96 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 10:30 AM
Member
 
rodr2257's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and you never would! no store would ever leave a display model with banding out for anyone to see! really!
rodr2257 is offline  
post #97 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehF0x View Post

It's my 1st hdtv, I had a 24" flat crt. I didn't see anything wrong on it so far. with a grey background the color seems uniform (no kind of cloud) neither any banding.

I played Ninja Gaiden Sigma on PS3 and the screen refresh is very good for me. Standard cable look like s**t like on almost any hdtv.

I encountered 1 problem with it and I ain't sure if it's because of me or not. I shut down the ps3 and I'd get no sound from my cable input then I turned on the ps3 again and I heard the ps3 sound with my cable input image.... switched back to hdmi input shut down the ps3 and switched back to cable input and everything went ok.

We watched some parts of Pirates of carribean and sun's reflection on the water hurts my eyes... brightness must be a bit too high.

Anyone know we're I can't get info on the tv calibration? I looked arround on the forums but didn't find anything specific for aquos tvs.

Congrats on your new TV.

The component connections on the side appear to be close to the edge. If you connect cables on the side, can they be hidden or will you be able to see them sticking out?
jim55avs is offline  
post #98 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Jazzsax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon just lowered the 42" price to $1700, though their list price is off by $100 so I don't know if it's a glitch or not.
Jazzsax is offline  
post #99 of 3464 Old 08-31-2007, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
tehF0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim55avs View Post

Congrats on your new TV.

The component connections on the side appear to be close to the edge. If you connect cables on the side, can they be hidden or will you be able to see them sticking out?

Those additionnal connectors are there only for temporary connections when the display is on the wall, that's mostly why I bought that tv instead of the D62 Connectors are like 1.5" from the side.
tehF0x is offline  
post #100 of 3464 Old 09-01-2007, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Neal LosAngeles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered the 52D64U from a reputable internet vendor at a good price plus free shipping. It should be delivered by the end of next week. Once I have it set up and adjusted, I'll post a follow up.

A key reason for my choice is that this TV is only 3.75" deep. I have been looking to replace my Pioneer 503CMX plasma monitor (4" deep), but all the newer plasmas and LCDs have bloated over the years. I did not want to go thicker than the 503CMX because I have it mounted in such a way that a tapestry hides it when not in use. A thicker TV would require me to change the way the tapestry is mounted.

A second important reason for my choice is energy consumption. The 52D64U consumes only 290 watts. That has to be about the lowest of any 50-52" LCD or plasma set. I'm guessing that the redesign of the internal components also reduced the energy consumption.
Neal LosAngeles is offline  
post #101 of 3464 Old 09-01-2007, 12:24 PM
Member
 
purell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent... look forward for your results. I'm also considering the 46" because of the energy consumption. It's a lot lower than any other 46" lcd.
purell is offline  
post #102 of 3464 Old 09-01-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal LosAngeles View Post

I ordered the 52D64U from a reputable internet vendor at a good price plus free shipping. It should be delivered by the end of next week. Once I have it set up and adjusted, I'll post a follow up.

Neal, can you send me an IM with name of vendor? I am looking to get the same model....
jim55avs is offline  
post #103 of 3464 Old 09-01-2007, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anthony_Gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: On the coast
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim55avs View Post

Neal, can you send me an IM with name of vendor? I am looking to get the same model....

Same please
Anthony_Gomez is offline  
post #104 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Yoda1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what the response time is for these panels? And are they made in Japan or are they outsourced Chei Mei panels? The price on the 42" is killer but I don't want to buy one of the lower-tier Sharp models.
Yoda1 is offline  
post #105 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
bluescreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The press release states the D64U series utilizes Sharp's ASV panels made at their Kameyama factory in Japan.

I'm optimistic this includes the 42" this time as well. And it sounds as if that may be the Kameyama I factory which might mean no more banding?

Response time is 4ms (with "fine motion mode" on).
bluescreen is offline  
post #106 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
cheruar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would you rather recommend d92 for buying given all specifications considered? i am debating between d64 vs d92
cheruar is offline  
post #107 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 03:26 PM
Member
 
purell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The d92 is better - brighter. But. If these sets have no banding and power consumption (ie running cooler) is a concern, then this sets wins.
purell is offline  
post #108 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
RUSTY PELICAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not often mentioned by Sharp (or elsewhere), but most all Aquos models produced during the last year not only accept 1080p/60 thru HDMI, but ALSO thru either of the two component inputs.

I read where this would help those XBox 360 owners (basic model) who output their HD-DVD add-on drive using a VGA-to-component adapter, and with the Xbox set to output a 1080p signal. I don't own an Xbox so can't comment specifically about this. Maybe someone else can comment on the Xbox 1080p performance.
RUSTY PELICAN is offline  
post #109 of 3464 Old 09-02-2007, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lorenzow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not necessary with the d64u since they have a VGA input. 1080p 360 performance is great..

Larry
lorenzow is offline  
post #110 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 14,890
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1670 Post(s)
Liked: 1802
May be old news, but the 62U line is being phased out and the 64U line is the replacement model. Not a lively thread though for a new sharp model.......I would have thought this would have been hiped a long time ago........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #111 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
darkninja67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping Sharp has truly gotten it together in regards to the banding. Congrats on the new sets people.
darkninja67 is offline  
post #112 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 09:38 AM
Member
 
bgshapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris:

Have you seen any announcement for the new more compact style to follow thru to the 92 class series? If so, any estimated dates?
bgshapiro is offline  
post #113 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 09:41 AM
Member
 
bgshapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluescreen View Post

The press release states the D64U series utilizes Sharp's ASV panels made at their Kameyama factory in Japan.

I'm optimistic this includes the 42" this time as well. And it sounds as if that may be the Kameyama I factory which might mean no more banding?

Response time is 4ms (with "fine motion mode" on).

I am wondering why a user would ever turn "fine motion mode" off. What are we sacrificing with it on?
bgshapiro is offline  
post #114 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 09:58 AM
Member
 
bgshapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that the 64us are showing in stock at many web based stores-Has anyone actually seen one of these sets? Anxiously waiting test report.
bgshapiro is offline  
post #115 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Neal LosAngeles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim55avs View Post

Neal, can you send me an IM with name of vendor? I am looking to get the same model....

I got it from Abes of Maine, abesofmaine.com. They are actually in Edison, NJ, not Maine. Just don't let them talk you into an extended warranty or tell you that Sharp's warranty is 90 days labor/ 1 year parts, carry in. The actual Sharp warranty is 1 year parts and labor, in home. Most credit cards automatically double the warranty up to an additional year. So buying a three year extended warranty only gives you one year of coverage because the term is counted from the date of purchase. So check your credit card benefits.

A good price can also be found at techdepot.com (part of Office Depot), but they charge for shipping.
Neal LosAngeles is offline  
post #116 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 06:08 PM
Member
 
CSP2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What's weird to me is that a lot of places are selling the 42d64u for cheaper than the 72u. At some places it's even cheaper than the 62u! Certainly odd, considering the 64u seems to be equal to or better than the 72u in every department.
CSP2 is offline  
post #117 of 3464 Old 09-03-2007, 09:54 PM
Member
 
purell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting for report to see if these sets have banding, and abesofmaine doesn't carry the 46" yet.
purell is offline  
post #118 of 3464 Old 09-04-2007, 12:27 AM
Member
 
jhleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if the PC input on the LC-42D64U uses the full 1920x1080 resolution?

I had been thinking of getting various semi-low-end Sony Bravias (but realized that they only used 1400x1050 resolution when using the PC input mode) and also thought about getting a Toshiba 42HL167 but that only used 1024x768 resolution using the PC input mode.

Of course, the Sharp LC-42D62U doesn't even *have* a PC input!!

ps -> I'd look this information up in the manual from the Aquos site online but the Aquos www site doesn't have the 64U manual up yet!

Thanks!
jhleung is offline  
post #119 of 3464 Old 09-04-2007, 11:11 AM
Member
 
tmagni78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just pulled the plug on an amazing price for the 42 inch version...heres hoping the banding is gone forever
tmagni78 is offline  
post #120 of 3464 Old 09-04-2007, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
E55 KEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmagni78 View Post

just pulled the plug on an amazing price for the 42 inch version...heres hoping the banding is gone forever

Do you mean "pulled the trigger". "Pulled the plug" means to kill a person on life support.
E55 KEV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off