Official Sony XBR4/XBR5 calibration thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 01:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meklar View Post

Brandon can I ask why you have your backlight set so high in your settings?

Schlick hit the nail on the head. I used to have backlight on 3-4, but since I'm now using Power Savings=High I turned the backlight up (and I think brightness too, a tad) to offset it a little bit. It's not a dramatic difference, though.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lac Man View Post

Hey guys, I'm just wondering, does anyone use lrstevens settings? I use them and I'm looking to brighten them up just a little bit, calibrating is my downfall. I've heard gamma will help...suggestions?

Thanks fellas!

Gamma does help, or you could increase brightness to 51 from 49 in hdmi and up a couple of notches in component video as well. I think somehow my calibrator increased the light output, perhaps in the service menu. I think brightness can be a personal taste variable, that and gamma would be the only settings I would play with. Backlight, color and contrast is something I would leave alone.

I would recommend that my settings or anyone else's be used to get you in the ballpark and then you can tweak from there, It's hard to duplicate pro calibrations. I hope this helps.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1263 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

Schlick hit the nail on the head. I used to have backlight on 3-4, but since I'm now using Power Savings=High I turned the backlight up (and I think brightness too, a tad) to offset it a little bit. It's not a dramatic difference, though.

Brandon

Brandon, what made you switch your power saver mode? Have you noticed a difference in consumption?

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1264 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
1080z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Texas and Colorado
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice review of XBR4. Check out the calibration numbers.

http://www.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lcdt...4-review.shtml
1080z is offline  
post #1265 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1080z, did you test those settings on your tv. how did they look.

The review really didnt mention what they had motion enhancer and cinemotion set to.
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1266 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
1080z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Texas and Colorado
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Slumpey, looks good to me. Not far from what I had dialed in already.
1080z is offline  
post #1267 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Lac Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Gamma does help, or you could increase brightness to 51 from 49 in hdmi and up a couple of notches in component video as well. I think somehow my calibrator increased the light output, perhaps in the service menu. I think brightness can be a personal taste variable, that and gamma would be the only settings I would play with. Backlight, color and contrast is something I would leave alone.

I would recommend that my settings or anyone else's be used to get you in the ballpark and then you can tweak from there, It's hard to duplicate pro calibrations. I hope this helps.

I agree, brightness is definitley a personal taste issue. I think your settings are some of the best I've tried, and I'm more than satisfied with them, but during teh day, I need something the slightest bit brighter-I'll try your suggestions, thanks!

Update:
Just tried adjusting Gamma, the perfect bit of brightness added. Thanks bud!

The best TV is in the eyes of the buyer.
Lac Man is offline  
post #1268 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lac Man View Post

I agree, brightness is definitley a personal taste issue. I think your settings are some of the best I've tried, and I'm more than satisfied with them, but during teh day, I need something the slightest bit brighter-I'll try your suggestions, thanks!

You bring up a good point, my room was completely dark when it was calibrated. Turning brightness up to "51" or setting gamma to "low" should do the trick. Happy tweaking .

BTW, I'm happy everything worked out for you on your second set .

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1269 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Lac Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

You bring up a good point, my room was completely dark when it was calibrated. Turning brightness up to "51" or setting gamma to "low" should do the trick. Happy tweaking .

BTW, I'm happy everything worked out for you on your second set .

Yeah, that first one was ridiculous man, I couldn't believe it. It was like a plague, literally, it slowly just covered 1/3 of the screen! This ones great though, couldn't be happier!

I turned Brightnes to 51 and Gamma on Medium, but I have my blinds open right now, once nightfalls I'll switch back to Off.

The best TV is in the eyes of the buyer.
Lac Man is offline  
post #1270 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using lrstevens421's settings as well, been loving them. What will gamma do?
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1271 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slumpey326 View Post

I have been using lrstevens421's settings as well, been loving them. What will gamma do?

Gamma will increase brightness in dark areas, you may or may not like the results, it's a matter of personal taste.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1272 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
Soul Maru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, first time poster, long time reader here.

I finally took the plunge and got a KDL40XBR4.

I'm still learning all the features of the TV (so much to learn)
For the most part, I am happy. I will try some of your settings soon and see how I like them.

One thing I noticed really bothered me. Enough to register and ask about it.

I was watching 28 Days Later on a DVD played on my XBox 360's HD-DVD player through Component. This movie has a lot of dark scenes and many shots are filmed with a shoulder cam. When in dark area, with subtle movement, it seemed like part of objects weren't moving at the same time. Depending on the lighting, like take someone's face with one side lighted and the other darkenned, both sides weren't moving at the same time. It was very distracting.

Anything I can do to fix that?

Also, Game/Text Mode. Looks interesting for gaming as far as picture stability goes (no bluryness when moving camera quickly / quick response to my actions) but darn did it made the picture ugly. Anyone got some calibration for that?

Thanks in advance for any input.
Soul Maru is offline  
post #1273 of 5495 Old 12-08-2007, 10:48 PM
Member
 
blackbeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to get away from the calibration settings for a moment but I'm wondering if I can get some hep. I have a kdl46xbr4 that i bought a month ago. Just like some of you, I'm still trying to find the 'optimal' setting. I have a D* HR20 and a Toshiba HdA3 HDDVD connected via HDMI.

The problem I'm' experiencing is when I adjust screen size. Right now, I have it at Full Pixel. But on some shows, including HDnet hockey tonight and Gladiator on Turner HD, I see a razor-thin bright line that appears on the very right side of the TV. I can make it disappear by going 'Normal' on the screen size but I want to stay with Full Pixel because it appears to look better. Has anyone else experience this? What can I do about it? Thank you.
blackbeagle is offline  
post #1274 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
mike_j_johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbeagle View Post

Sorry to get away from the calibration settings for a moment but I'm wondering if I can get some hep. I have a kdl46xbr4 that i bought a month ago. Just like some of you, I'm still trying to find the 'optimal' setting. I have a D* HR20 and a Toshiba HdA3 HDDVD connected via HDMI.

The problem I'm' experiencing is when I adjust screen size. Right now, I have it at Full Pixel. But on some shows, including HDnet hockey tonight and Gladiator on Turner HD, I see a razor-thin bright line that appears on the very right side of the TV. I can make it disappear by going 'Normal' on the screen size but I want to stay with Full Pixel because it appears to look better. Has anyone else experience this? What can I do about it? Thank you.

I believe most networks assume *most* viewers have TVs that overscan. I know that most of the local stations in my area show weird patterns at the top of the screen...maybe like 4 pixels thick. I read that this info is used by old analog TVs for something. Maybe in 2009 when we totally get rid of analog, we will see these strange lines disappear.
mike_j_johnson is offline  
post #1275 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
schlick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul Maru View Post

Hello, first time poster, long time reader here.

I finally took the plunge and got a KDL40XBR4.

I'm still learning all the features of the TV (so much to learn)
For the most part, I am happy. I will try some of your settings soon and see how I like them.

One thing I noticed really bothered me. Enough to register and ask about it.

I was watching 28 Days Later on a DVD played on my XBox 360's HD-DVD player through Component. This movie has a lot of dark scenes and many shots are filmed with a shoulder cam. When in dark area, with subtle movement, it seemed like part of objects weren't moving at the same time. Depending on the lighting, like take someone's face with one side lighted and the other darkenned, both sides weren't moving at the same time. It was very distracting.

Anything I can do to fix that?

Also, Game/Text Mode. Looks interesting for gaming as far as picture stability goes (no bluryness when moving camera quickly / quick response to my actions) but darn did it made the picture ugly. Anyone got some calibration for that?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Could be any number of settings causing this. Please post the following:
Noise reduction -?
DRC Pallette - ? reality ? clarity
Cinemotion - ?
Motion Enhancer - ?
These are the likely suspects for what you describe. Not any one in particular, may be a combination of the above.
If you have a regular dvd player you may want to try it on the same input, with the same source material, it'll at least tell you that either the xbox or tv is introducing the problem.

As for game mode, I can't comment on it, because I don't use it.

Schlick
schlick is offline  
post #1276 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacksmyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul Maru View Post

I was watching 28 Days Later on a DVD played on my XBox 360's HD-DVD player through Component. This movie has a lot of dark scenes and many shots are filmed with a shoulder cam. When in dark area, with subtle movement, it seemed like part of objects weren't moving at the same time. Depending on the lighting, like take someone's face with one side lighted and the other darkenned, both sides weren't moving at the same time. It was very distracting.

Anything I can do to fix that?

Check your noise reduction, make sure it's set to off.
I also noticed some of what I'd call smearing, especially on faces. I had noise reduction set to low. Turned it off, problem solved (46XBR4).
Jacksmyname is offline  
post #1277 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Brandon, what made you switch your power saver mode? Have you noticed a difference in consumption?

I noticed in the cnet review they used it as well as one other comment somewhere that recommended the change. I tried it out for a few days and haven't looked back since. I wasn't worried (nor have I tested) power consumption, I'm just strictly using it for PQ reasons.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #1278 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1080z View Post

Nice review of XBR4. Check out the calibration numbers.

http://www.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lcdt...4-review.shtml

Is it just me or does he have the red pushed wayyy up on that set? Hue is at R2 and then he has the greens and blues dialed way back in White Balance. Then I look at the pics and Tom Cruise looks like he is sunburned.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #1279 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice a difference in picture quality in Cinemtion Auto 1 vs. Auto 2. I know this is not suppossed to effect the quality of the image but for some reason the picture seems to be a tad more vibrant when Auto 1 is selected.

Someone else give this a shot to see I'm just bugging out.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1280 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacksmyname View Post

Check your noise reduction, make sure it's set to off.
I also noticed some of what I'd call smearing, especially on faces. I had noise reduction set to low. Turned it off, problem solved (46XBR4).

Was the culprit regular noise reduction or mpeg noise reduction?

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1281 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second the setting at auto1, think it is more sharper
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1282 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slumpey326 View Post

I second the setting at auto1, think it is more sharper

After further viewing I officially prefer Auto 1.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1283 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lrstevens421,
for all three of my hdmi inputs (hd dvr cable box, xbox 360, ps3) I am using

Motion Enhancer: OFF
Cinemotion: AUTO1
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1284 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I now use the same thing. I only used Auto2 for 1080p24 sources but Auto1 seems to better a little crisper. The two seem to handle motion exactly the same for 24p sources so I'll just go with the one that looks best to my eyes.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1285 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lrstevens421
I was watching crank on the ps3 last night set to 1080p/24fps with your settings, was simply amazing.

Was using:
Motion Enhancer: OFF
Cinemotion: AUTO1
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1286 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Alright, so... again I ask, what's everyone's consensus on Game/Text mode???

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #1287 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lrstevens421, do you have motion enhancer always off?

what difference did you see with 1080p/24fps when setting Cinemotion to Auto2. Is that wahat 24fps videos are suppose to be set to?
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1288 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slumpey326 View Post

lrstevens421, do you have motion enhancer always off?

what difference did you see with 1080p/24fps when setting Cinemotion to Auto2. Is that wahat 24fps videos are suppose to be set to?

Actually with 24fps sources I don't see any difference between Auto 1 and Auto 2, considering that this is a 120hz display that does 5:5 for 24fps sources that makes sense.

I always have ME set to off, I don't like what it does to film, it makes everything look like video. My wife refuses watch tv with ME activated.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1289 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

Alright, so... again I ask, what's everyone's consensus on Game/Text mode???

Haven't played with this setting at all. What do you think of it? Sometimes the only opinion that matters is yours.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1290 of 5495 Old 12-09-2007, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
mike infinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

I always have ME set to off, I don't like what it does to film, it makes everything look like video. My wife refuses watch tv with ME activated.

Don't take this the wrong way, but I found that the xbr4 flickers a bit more with ME off compared to its 60Hz siblings like the w3000, v3000.

If I was going to leave it off, I would exchange it for the essentially identical (but $1000 cheaper) w3000 model since 120Hz judder reduction is just about the only real PQ difference between these sets.
mike infinity is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 52xbr5 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 32xbr4 32 Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 52xbr4 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off