Official Sony XBR4/XBR5 calibration thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 12:00 PM
Member
 
thearod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Bduffy10;12525241]
Quote:
Originally Posted by thearod View Post

Bduffy: are you using your "final" settings to play any games or just HD-DVD? BTW.... Tampa sux... Go Falcons
QUOTE]

I am using those settings...but I turn off Cinemotion and Motion Enhancer for gaming.

Go Falcons??? not this year!!!!!

Ok, cool. I tried it out on my lunch today and it seemed dark and dull for me. Maybe I will full around a little bit with it tonight.

Yah, its a bad year for my Falcons....we can only hope for a good draft at this point.
thearod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
leclryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 46xbr4 yesterday and ive been looking at all the video settings on the first 10 pages or so and most of them look great, some better then others, but none that i have read so far have got rid of this noise i get in alot of scenes ... mostly when its dark/brown. its really noisy/staticky ( staticky may not be a word but you get the point). Regardless of the noise reduction setting this effect still persists.... im using a BD played on a ps3 via hdmi cables....the games themself looks pretty good for the most part but the BD and any trailers i Download with playstation store just dont look good. If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.
leclryan is offline  
post #1443 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Bduffy10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=thearod;12525809]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bduffy10 View Post


Ok, cool. I tried it out on my lunch today and it seemed dark and dull for me. Maybe I will full around a little bit with it tonight.

Yah, its a bad year for my Falcons....we can only hope for a good draft at this point.

No worries...to each his/her own....and there are times when I want to see more "pop" (overused term). For that reason, I have set my Custom at Vumcrabs setting level. These are really good for "showing off" the set for effect when I have others come in or when the material is unusually dark. When I want a more realistic picture, I go with my settings which are a combo of LRStevens and his cousin's (which is most of the time), but every once in a while, I'll switch.

Either way, it looks awesome. It's just a question of taste/mood/setting.
Bduffy10 is offline  
post #1444 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So, a quick question...

What's the difference between Custom and Cinema if both are calibrated to the same numbers and everything?

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #1445 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Bduffy10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There should be no difference if the settings are the same.
Bduffy10 is offline  
post #1446 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Bduffy10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should say...that I don't believe there is any difference. There may be some slight differences in the Service Menu between the two, but when I did the same settings and compared, I could tell no difference.
Bduffy10 is offline  
post #1447 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:24 PM
Member
 
cyberdentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just noticed that when i pause my HD-A3, the picture on XBR becomes extremely noisy and pixelated? Is this related to HDMI 1.3 vs the HDMI cable being only HDMI 1.1 ? or is it fixable?
cyberdentist is offline  
post #1448 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
bilbo3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you can throw Standard into the mix with Custom and Cinema. It seems to me that they could be called Picture modes 1, 2 and 3 and you choose one depending on your source material.

Must not forget Vivid. I use a tweaked version exclusively for football.
bilbo3660 is offline  
post #1449 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Bduffy10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
in vivid??? Curious...what did you do to the settings for football?
Bduffy10 is offline  
post #1450 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
bilbo3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bduffy10 View Post

in vivid??? Curious...what did you do to the settings for football?

First of all, I get a lot of ambient light from all four sides and north and south from above.

Backlight-7, Picture Mode-85, Color-50, Noise Reduction-Off and DRC-Off. The other settings are default. Whenever I have people over for a game I run through all four picture modes to see which they like and it has always been unanimous for the tweaked Vivid.

90% of the time I use a tweaked version of mrlogs in Custom.
bilbo3660 is offline  
post #1451 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
jamesmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone! This is my first post. I just purchased a 46" xbr5 and was wondering if someone could post a link or offer good settings/calibration for both cable tv viewing and HD blu-ray viewing?

Thanks!
jamesmatt is offline  
post #1452 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 07:58 PM
Member
 
aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings for Comcast HD/DVR:

Backlight: 4
Picture: 85
Brightness: 55
Color :52
Hue: 0
Color Temp : Neutral
Sharp: 50
nr = off
mpeg nr = off
DRC = off

Black Corrector: Low
A.C.E Off
Gamma High
Clear White High
Color Space Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
R G = -3
G G = -3
B G = -3
R Bias = -2
G Bias = -2
B Bias = -1

Digital Enhancer Off
Edge Enhancer Off

Motion Enhancer = Off
Cinemotion = Auto2
aditya is offline  
post #1453 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by aditya View Post

Here are my settings for Comcast HD/DVR:

Backlight: 4
Picture: 85
Brightness: 55
Color :52
Hue: 0
Color Temp : Neutral
Sharp: 50
nr = off
mpeg nr = off
DRC = off

Black Corrector: Low
A.C.E Off
Gamma High
Clear White High
Color Space Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
R G = -3
G G = -3
B G = -3
R Bias = -2
G Bias = -2
B Bias = -1

Digital Enhancer Off
Edge Enhancer Off

Motion Enhancer = Off
Cinemotion = Auto2

aditya: Thanks for the good information I am having one delivered in a week or so......

Anyone else have good info on settings please post them or direct me to a part of this long post where I can find them... Also what Blu-Ray players that seem to work well with the Sony XBR4...
Garman is offline  
post #1454 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 08:59 PM
Member
 
iclim4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question.
is there anyway to turn off the autodim feature? its very annoying.
iclim4 is offline  
post #1455 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
bilbo3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garman View Post

aditya: Thanks for the good information I am having one delivered in a week or so......

Anyone else have good info on settings please post them or direct me to a part of this long post where I can find them... Also what Blu-Ray players that seem to work well with the Sony XBR4...

Here's a nice spreadsheet at post #1049.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...893076&page=35
bilbo3660 is offline  
post #1456 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 09:51 PM
Member
 
aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To turn off autodim -> Home -> Settings -> General -> Light Sensor off
aditya is offline  
post #1457 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 10:06 PM
Member
 
iclim4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aditya View Post

To turn off autodim -> Home -> Settings -> General -> Light Sensor off

i didnt mean the light sensor.
i meant how the backlight goes dim on a screen when watching credits,
or on a black loading screen. generally when there is a lot of black in the screen. they make dark scenes even darker so its hard to see.
iclim4 is offline  
post #1458 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
vumcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iclim4 View Post

i didnt mean the light sensor.
i meant how the backlight goes dim on a screen when watching credits,
or on a black loading screen. generally when there is a lot of black in the screen. they make dark scenes even darker so its hard to see.

A few people have said that setting game_mode=ON disables the auto-dimming feature. Other than that, you're SOL. Can't be disabled.
vumcrab is offline  
post #1459 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 11:51 PM
Member
 
iclim4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vumcrab View Post

A few people have said that setting game_mode=ON disables the auto-dimming feature. Other than that, you're SOL. Can't be disabled.

but.. but..
turning game_mode on cancels all the calibrating ive been trying out.
iclim4 is offline  
post #1460 of 5495 Old 12-18-2007, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
vumcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iclim4 View Post

but.. but..
turning game_mode on cancels all the calibrating ive been trying out.

Game_mode=ON disables Motion Enhancer. What else are you referring to?
vumcrab is offline  
post #1461 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 12:52 AM
Member
 
britboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, just picked up my 46XBR4 and I too have the flashlights issue, although it seems to be from almost every corner! It's almost unbearable and without crushing the black levels, there's almost no way to get rid of them that I can find.

Should I just exchange it and hope for a better one?

Also, does anyone have any calibration settings for the Wii? (Specifically Motion Enhancer and Cinemotion, I'm guessing "off" for both)

Also, when I turn it off or on again, it makes odd popping noises for a few seconds like bulbs being turned on and off. It's odd and even though I sell TV's I've never heard one do that before (except the initial click of a plasma).

Thoughts?
britboyj is offline  
post #1462 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
jamesmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new 46" xbr5 but we don't have our comcast HD box yet so we are still viewing standard def for cable until then.

I have a PS3 hooked up to hdmi 1 input.

Could someone reply with their recommended settings for both standard cable on the tv input and PS3/HD DVD etc. using hdmi on the hdmi 1 input? I am not expecting amazing on the standard def, but am looking for a way to use the remote to switch from standard tv input to my saved PS3 settings for BD movies and games and the best settings for both.

Thanks and love the forums here!
jamesmatt is offline  
post #1463 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 10:05 AM
Member
 
iclim4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vumcrab View Post

Game_mode=ON disables Motion Enhancer. What else are you referring to?

ahah your right, my bad. thanks
last time I tried game mode it wouldnt let me change certsin options saying "you cant enable that in game mode" or something along those lines.
is it worth sacrificing Motion enhancer though? why
would sony take out motion enhancer on game mode?
iclim4 is offline  
post #1464 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 10:06 AM
Member
 
rstokas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas why my ticker on ESPN goes from a crisp dark white words when the text is still and then gets lighter when it moves. IT does not get blurry but just lighter. it drives me nuts.
rstokas is offline  
post #1465 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 12:47 PM
Member
 
aditya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmatt View Post

I have a new 46" xbr5 but we don't have our comcast HD box yet so we are still viewing standard def for cable until then.

I have a PS3 hooked up to hdmi 1 input.

Could someone reply with their recommended settings for both standard cable on the tv input and PS3/HD DVD etc. using hdmi on the hdmi 1 input? I am not expecting amazing on the standard def, but am looking for a way to use the remote to switch from standard tv input to my saved PS3 settings for BD movies and games and the best settings for both.

Thanks and love the forums here!

The second part of your statement sounds like you want to figure out how to switch the calibration when you change inputs...(maybe I am just reading it wrong).
Just want to make sure you are aware that the calibrations are input specific, so you can set each input to default to different settings when you switch to that input (without having to switch between calibration profiles manually each time)
aditya is offline  
post #1466 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Smith 77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

No offense to those of you with issues but I would really like to see this thread get back on track with calibrations and pictures , oh how I love the pictures. My cousin in Cali had his set calibrated about 10 days ago and we've been comparing settings, he's still tweaking after the fact and this is what he's come up with. I have no idea why he's still tweaking after shelling out $400.00, but hey, such is life. Below is a combination of my settings and his. Any brave soul want to get these a shot ? I think they look pretty good, a lot of "pop". Our settings were pretty similar to begin with, shockingly so, the main difference was "custom" and "picture" levels. The picture levels aren't that surprising though, the Sony is capable of maxing out the picture setting/contrast without clipping whites. The fact that he is still tweaking his television proves that calibration is not for everyone.

HDMI Sources

Mode: Custom
Backlight: 3
Picture: Max
Brightness: 47
Color: 62
Hue: 0
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Warm 2
Noise Reduction: Off
Mpeg Noise Reduction: Off
DRC: Off
Black Corrector: Off
ACE: Low
Gamma: Off
Clear White: Off
Color Space: Standard
Live Color: Off

White Balance:
Red Gain: -1
Green Gain: -4
Blue Gain: 0
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -3
Blue Bias: 0

Detail Enhancer: Low
Edge Enhancer: Off
Motion Enhancer: Off
Cinemotion: Auto1
Video Color Space (x.v.color): Off
Color Matrix: Auto
Game/Text: Off
Light Sensor: Off
Display Area: Full Pixel

Component Video Sources


Mode: Custom
Backlight: 3
Picture: Max
Brightness: 35
Color: 52
Hue: 0
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Warm 2
Noise Reduction: Off
Mpeg Noise Reduction: Off
DRC: Off
Black Corrector: Off
ACE: Off
Gamma: Off
Clear White: Off
Color Space: Standard
Live Color: Off

White Balance:
Red Gain: -1
Green Gain: -4
Blue Gain: 0
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -3
Blue Bias: 0

Detail Enhancer: Low
Edge Enhancer: Off
Motion Enhancer: Off
Cinemotion: Auto1
Video Color Space (x.v.color): Off
Color Matrix: Auto
Game/Text: Off
Light Sensor: Off
Display Area: Full

Very Nice! Awsome results, thanks for sharing.
Smith 77 is offline  
post #1467 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
mitsugst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so had unit unplugged for a week and a half and my custom settings have been reset.
Sony xbr 5 52 inch / sony blu ray player 1080p (hdmi)
can some1 suggest settings for me or link me.
I actually like the vivid settings but is a lil much on the eye.

1 other question . can i pick whichever picture mode i want to custom make settings to. or do i have to use custom picture mode to make my own settings?
mitsugst is offline  
post #1468 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
bilbo3660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsugst View Post

ok so had unit unplugged for a week and a half and my custom settings have been reset.
Sony xbr 5 52 inch / sony blu ray player 1080p (hdmi)
can some1 suggest settings for me or link me.
I actually like the vivid settings but is a lil much on the eye.

1 other question . can i pick whichever picture mode i want to custom make settings to. or do i have to use custom picture mode to make my own settings?

You can customize all four picture modes although you can't get into Advanced Settings for Vivid. See my post above for link to spreadsheet. I also have a recent post about tweaking Vivid.
bilbo3660 is offline  
post #1469 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
rigo113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my XBR4 52" for the past 3 months. For some reason I am having problems seeing the logos that are displayed in all of the channels. For example, if I am viewing the Fox channel, I can not see the Fox logo in the button of the television. I think I am losing about 2 inches aroung the entire TV program. I know that one of my setting is wrong but I do not know how to fix it. I am using the setting that were placed by bplewis24 because they work for my televison. Could someone please help me out. Thanks
rigo113 is offline  
post #1470 of 5495 Old 12-19-2007, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
albrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigo113 View Post

I had my XBR4 52" for the past 3 months. For some reason I am having problems seeing the logos that are displayed in all of the channels. For example, if I am viewing the Fox channel, I can not see the Fox logo in the button of the television. I think I am losing about 2 inches aroung the entire TV program. I know that one of my setting is wrong but I do not know how to fix it. I am using the setting that were placed by bplewis24 because they work for my televison. Could someone please help me out. Thanks

My 2 cents here. There are two possibilities: 1) Your display mode is in "Zoom" mode, or 2) Your issue is with the "Screen" settings (Default Area)... you may have value of -1 or -2. Normal should work or you can try Full Pixel option there.

Worst case scenario is resetting your tv to the factory settings by doing the following:
Turn on the tv, then while holding down the button in your remote control press the POWER button in the TV... the tv should turn off itself and immediately turn on with the all setting reset to factory values. This is what the user manual indicates. As stated in the manual, you will even loose your parental lock settings.
albrob is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 52xbr5 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 32xbr4 32 Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 52xbr4 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off