Official Sony XBR4/XBR5 calibration thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 5495 Old 09-09-2007, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by scamper View Post

Im returning it..silly me to think a 3000.00 + tv would have bad color. Maybe my XBR4fetctive but when I see people's calibration postings that show a -14 on the green scale someone else must be experiencing the same thing.

-14? Are you sure your not in the Toshiba Green Push thread?

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XB1 l PS4 l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR
bpmurr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 5495 Old 09-09-2007, 07:54 PM
Member
 
bawaavsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calabasas, CA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_accuser View Post

Short story, I just upgraded from a 27" Zeinth to a 46" Sony XBR4 and upgraded from basic comcast to the comcast HD and am a little overwhelmed. I hooked up a PS3 via hdmi and used gordong11's settings and things look great watching Casino Royale. I had to use the comcast component cables because for some reason an hdmi cable wouldn't display a signal. Anyways I used the same custom settings for the cable box and things look good on the HD channels but the regular stations don't look so great. Looks like when you were in high school chemistry class looking through a microscope seeing all the little squiggly things. Is this normal and do I just need to learn to live with it? I appreciate any advise...thanks.

I have the same problem of blank screen when TimeWarnerMotorola HDbox is connected to HDMI ports on 52xbr4. Same cables and the STB work fine for my older 42"Sceptre1080p. Is this HDCP hand-shake issue? PLEASE HELP.
bawaavsf is offline  
post #123 of 5495 Old 09-09-2007, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's ability to display red is absolutely horrible. Every red that I see is orangeish and none of the settings i've done can seem to get it away from that. My little 32 inch sony from a couple of years ago is so much better at displaying reds than this TV which i'm gonna assume is much better quality. I'm at a loss with what to do at this point, but all the other colors are very good I will admit. Why is it such a bitch to get reds to display? I've had many tv's and this is the only one that is like this.
Viking 29 is offline  
post #124 of 5495 Old 09-09-2007, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
edit

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #125 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDJayRFU View Post

if you select "auto 1" under film mode, and select "standard" for cinemotion, this should help dramatically. I haven't messed around w/ 1080/60 much yet though, so YMMV

CDJay

Correct me if I'm wrong. But I can't find "auto 1" for film mode. Nor can I find "standard" for Cinemotion.


I can find these choices:

Motion Enhancer: Off, Standard, High
Cinemotion: Off, Auto 1, Auto 2


Also, for anyone. What the heck is "MotionFlow?" I see that nowhere. Is that the same thing as Motion Enhancer?
Digital_View is offline  
post #126 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 01:53 AM
Member
 
one_eyed_pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking 29 View Post

It's ability to display red is absolutely horrible. Every red that I see is orangeish and none of the settings i've done can seem to get it away from that. My little 32 inch sony from a couple of years ago is so much better at displaying reds than this TV which i'm gonna assume is much better quality. I'm at a loss with what to do at this point, but all the other colors are very good I will admit. Why is it such a bitch to get reds to display? I've had many tv's and this is the only one that is like this.

IMO the red issue you mention is not a generic problem with this TV. My 52XBR4 displays excellent reds. In fact all colors on my set look great. I've only watched cable programming so far because I'm still in the process of hooking everything else up.
one_eyed_pete is offline  
post #127 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 02:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by one_eyed_pete View Post

IMO the red issue you mention is not a generic problem with this TV. My 52XBR4 displays excellent reds. In fact all colors on my set look great. I've only watched cable programming so far because I'm still in the process of hooking everything else up.

Same with my set. The color accuracy is excellent.

Brandon

Brandon 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

bplewis24 is offline  
post #128 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_View View Post

Also, for anyone. What the heck is "MotionFlow?" I see that nowhere. Is that the same thing as Motion Enhancer?

That is correct

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XB1 l PS4 l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR
bpmurr is offline  
post #129 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 09:07 AM
Member
 
GBRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a 40XBR4 at BB just this last Friday, and I am thrilled with this TV. This TV is in our master bedroom. I have tried a few of the calibration settings posted here, but have not settled on any one yet... still tweeking. I have to say the picture quality of this set is awesome, and puts my older Mits WS65907 RPTV (in the family room HT) to shame.

I have not noticed any clouds or flashlights. The reds are no problem, in fact the colors appear great to me, although the reds were turned up a bit out of the box.

Needless to say I am watching more TV now in our bedroom then in the family room. I can't wait until 65" LCDs are more prevalent and prices drop considerably, so I can replace the older Mits RPTV.
GBRV is offline  
post #130 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys a question,

What settings do guys have for antenna over the air signals?

Like for CBS, NBC, and KCET, all the 1080i OTA channels.

Can you guys please list all the feature for this setting, like Picture settings, Video settings, and the General settings.


Thanks in advance!

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #131 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
jcboyless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pactman View Post

Just a friendly reminder, but the XBR does not display 1080 unless it is in cinema or custom setting.

What??? Vivid and Standard picture settings can't display 1080i and 1080p?
jcboyless is offline  
post #132 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
natewick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcboyless View Post

What??? Vivid and Standard picture settings can't display 1080i and 1080p?






This is not true!
natewick is offline  
post #133 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pactman View Post

Just a friendly reminder, but the XBR does not display 1080 unless it is in cinema or custom setting. I switched it over this morning and I have not moved from infront of the TV. Also I have cinemotion to auto 2 and motionflow to high for everything. Been watching SD and HD programmiing and it looks great. I am using HD20 with Direct TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by natewick View Post

This is not true!

I also don't believe it.

Someone should call up Sony's (800) hot line and ask them about the "Vivid HD display setting question".

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #134 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My set has a problem. I do recall the hd guru report having the same issues as i'm having with mine. Talked about orangish reds and whatnot. Now i'm starting to wonder if i'm just being to anal about what I see or if there are a few sets out there that have this problem? I wonder if I should try to exchange it?
Viking 29 is offline  
post #135 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 09:01 PM
Member
 
ZackScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KDL52XBR4

CUSTOM
Backlight: 4
Picture: 92
Brightness: 50
Color: 55
Hue: 0
Temp: Neutral
Sharpness: 60
Noise Red: Off
MPEG Red: Off
DRC Mode: Off
Black Corrector: Off
Advanced CE: Low
Gamma: Low
Clear White: Off
Color Space: Standard
Live Color: Low

WHITE BALANCE:
Red Gain: -4
Green Gain: -8
Blue Gain: -2
Red Bias: -2
Green Bias: -8
Blue Bias: -2

Detail Enhancer: Low
Edge Enhancer: Off
Power Savings: Low

Motion Enhancer: High
Cinemotion: Auto2

I have found these settings work great with movies and games at night, but for games in the day I have the brightness/contrast stuff up a tad bit more.

Also, are my white balance settings weird? I swear my 52xbr4 has a color problem. My bright reds appear pinkish/orangish (not much), and there is a lot of green.

Anyway, has anyone figured out what motionflow settings are best for games? I did discover that Noise reduction added more blur to my games, especially in FPS when turning. Anyone else know how which settings completely minimize motion blur?
ZackScott is offline  
post #136 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 09:56 PM
Member
 
auc2infinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coma426 View Post

Here are the settings I came up with for my 52" XBR4 after running the Avia calibration dvd.

HDMI Settings (BD playback via PS3)

Picture Mode: Custom
Backlight: 4
Picture: 72* (initially set at 55, upon further testing set to 72)
Brightness: 52
Color: 57
Hue: 0
Color Temperature: Neutral
Sharpness: 30
Noise Reduction: Off

Advanced Settings
White Blance:
R-Gain: 0
G-Gain: -5
B-Gain: -5
R-Bias: 0
G-Bias: -5
B-Bias: 0
Color Space: Standard (Setting to Wide may require further dialing of R-G-B Bias and Gain as it tends to emphasize G and B)
Detail Enhancer: High
Everything else set to Off
(Setting Detail Enhancer to High results in some extremely sharp detail on live action BD material)

Motion Enhancer: set to Off for most BD material, set to High for SD cable

Sorry to march in here...I have a 46V3000...but no one has been able to post good settings...I wonder if these will work on the V3000 as well.....can someone also direct me to a tutorial as to how to use a calibration DVD? Thanks
auc2infinity is offline  
post #137 of 5495 Old 09-10-2007, 11:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone answer this...

Why does everyone like "off and auto2" but not "auto1" for Cinemotion?

By the way. I only use Motion Enhancer on "standard." "Off" has judder and "high" speeds up the motion too much.
Digital_View is offline  
post #138 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 01:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
RUSTY PELICAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think some of you need to read a little more carefully.

The XBR4 will process the image in any of the settings, like Standard, Vivid, Custom, etc, BUT according to HDGuru's hands-on review and tests, you will NOT SEE the full native 1080p resolution with any setting other than Cinema or Custom.

So, if you choose Standard or Vivid, you'll still get a nice image, but AT LESS RESOLUTION [probably several hundred of lines less and not 1080p], regardless of the particular benefits that a Vivid setting provides for the image.

Remember, no matter what you "feed" the XBR4, the processing scales the signal to the set's native 1080p, but you will only see the full 1080 lines IF the display is showing the image in the Cinema or Custom mode.

Also, I don't understand the comments about Sony's color. They've always had very accurate color, along with Pioneer and JVC.

Sony, Pioneer, and JVC color ratings [from industry reviews] are superior to those by Sharp, Samsung, Toshiba, Panasonic, Hitachi, Mitsubishi, Philips, Vizio, etc.]

Adjust your settings appropriately, and/or see those owners here that are posting their own settings (for comparison).
RUSTY PELICAN is offline  
post #139 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_View View Post

Can someone answer this...

Why does everyone like "off and auto2" but not "auto1" for Cinemotion?

By the way. I only use Motion Enhancer on "standard." "Off" has judder and "high" speeds up the motion too much.

I don't think anyone here really knows the difference between auto 1 & 2. I checked Sony's website and didn't come up with anything there, nothing in the owner's manual. I'm frustrated about that. Maybe I'll try calling the 800 number and see if someone can tell me but we all know how that usually goes....

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #140 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUSTY PELICAN View Post

I think some of you need to read a little more carefully.

The XBR4 will process the image in any of the settings, like Standard, Vivid, Custom, etc, BUT according to HDGuru's hands-on review and tests, you will NOT SEE the full native 1080p resolution with any setting other than Cinema or Custom.

So, if you choose Standard or Vivid, you'll still get a nice image, but AT LESS RESOLUTION [probably several hundred of lines less and not 1080p], regardless of the particular benefits that a Vivid setting provides for the image.

Remember, no matter what you "feed" the XBR4, the processing scales the signal to the set's native 1080p, but you will only see the full 1080 lines IF the display is showing the image in the Cinema or Custom mode.

Also, I don't understand the comments about Sony's color. They've always had very accurate color, along with Pioneer and JVC.

Sony, Pioneer, and JVC color ratings [from industry reviews] are superior to those by Sharp, Samsung, Toshiba, Panasonic, Hitachi, Mitsubishi, Philips, Vizio, etc.]

Adjust your settings appropriately, and/or see those owners here that are posting their own settings (for comparison).

So if you're watching something in 480i/p or 720p then perhaps Standard would be a better setting, since these sources have less resolution to begin with? I'd guess that 1080i would be best in Custom since that should be an easy upscale to 1080p, especially with motionflow. 1080p sources should only be watched in Cinema or Custom.

Yet again Sony doesn't include the info we need in the owners manual to understand these TV's. I'm still a bit skeptical about this though. Why would the TV display less resolution in Vivid & Standard but not in Cinema or Custom and they don't explain that and why in the owner's manual????

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #141 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 06:36 AM
Member
 
ZackScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone see anything wrong with the white balance settings I recently posted?

Also, has anyone figured out what motionflow settings are best for games? I noticed when I put noise reduction on low, it increases motion blur, especially in first-person shooters when turning. Anyone else know how which settings completely minimize motion blur?
ZackScott is offline  
post #142 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 11:59 AM
Member
 
tito007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought my new SONY 40XBR4 and I am curious at what calibration settings does one_eyed_pete and bplewis24 have.
I have been using some of the postings in this thread and I am not happy, since this Tv should reproduce better color images. I have SA 83000HD DVR.
Can you post your full settings?

Thanks.
tito007 is offline  
post #143 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EADGBE View Post

So if you're watching something in 480i/p or 720p then perhaps Standard would be a better setting, since these sources have less resolution to begin with? I'd guess that 1080i would be best in Custom since that should be an easy upscale to 1080p, especially with motionflow. 1080p sources should only be watched in Cinema or Custom.

Yet again Sony doesn't include the info we need in the owners manual to understand these TV's. I'm still a bit skeptical about this though. Why would the TV display less resolution in Vivid & Standard but not in Cinema or Custom and they don't explain that and why in the owner's manual????

I wish this could be explained in the manual.

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #144 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZackScott View Post

Does anyone see anything wrong with the white balance settings I recently posted?

Also, has anyone figured out what motionflow settings are best for games? I noticed when I put noise reduction on low, it increases motion blur, especially in first-person shooters when turning. Anyone else know how which settings completely minimize motion blur?

If the white balance settings look good to you, I'd say don't worry about it.

For gaming I use game mode, so no motionflow and I turn off most of the features.

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #145 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 07:30 PM
Member
 
albertj03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 40XBR4 and I've tried every setting posted here and so far, I'm ashamed to say, it seems that Vivid always looks better. This is my first HDTV and I've only had it for 5 days now so maybe it's me. Also, I have my SA 4250HDC HD cable box connected with component cables while I wait for my monoprice HDMI cables to come in the mail. Not sure if this may have anything to do with it. Overall, the TV is amazing, but I've read that vivid mode does not use the full resolution and is too bright sometimes. I do like to have the picture pop off the screen.

If I can't tweak the custom mode to my liking what should I do? Get a calibration DVD? Find a professional to do it?

Thanks!
albertj03 is offline  
post #146 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by albertj03 View Post

I have a 40XBR4 and I've tried every setting posted here and so far, I'm ashamed to say, it seems that Vivid always looks better. This is my first HDTV and I've only had it for 5 days now so maybe it's me. Also, I have my SA 4250HDC HD cable box connected with component cables while I wait for my monoprice HDMI cables to come in the mail. Not sure if this may have anything to do with it. Overall, the TV is amazing, but I've read that vivid mode does not use the full resolution and is too bright sometimes. I do like to have the picture pop off the screen.

If I can't tweak the custom mode to my liking what should I do? Get a calibration DVD? Find a professional to do it?

Thanks!

I gotta agree here,

When I watch content with a 720p signal the settings set to Custom, Cinema and Standard look better than Vivid, but when there is a 1080i/p signal Vivid always looks better than any of the other settings.

I'm not trying to say you guys or HDGuru are wrong, it just always looks better in vivid- for Me.

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #147 of 5495 Old 09-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Newbie
 
flash79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys.

First off - I don't own one of these wonderful TVs yet; maybe someday. However, I am an electronics salesman and home theater enthusiast.

It's my understanding that Cinemotion is for the autodetection of film content for 3:2 pull down and that's it. I'm pretty sure I saw something in the manual about motion enhancing being disabled when auto2 is in use. So it sounds to me like auto1 does 3:2 pulldown PLUS adding interpolated frames, and auto2 might just do the 3:2 pulldown and then repeat frames to approximate 24fps ..?

Anyway, IMHO cinemotion will never enhance video games and should likewise be a moot point when viewing a 24p source.

I hope this helps clear some of the confusion for a few of you .. at least until we can get definitive answers from a Sony rep.
flash79 is offline  
post #148 of 5495 Old 09-12-2007, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flash79 View Post

Hi guys.

First off - I don't own one of these wonderful TVs yet; maybe someday. However, I am an electronics salesman and home theater enthusiast.

It's my understanding that Cinemotion is for the autodetection of film content for 3:2 pull down and that's it. I'm pretty sure I saw something in the manual about motion enhancing being disabled when auto2 is in use. So it sounds to me like auto1 does 3:2 pulldown PLUS adding interpolated frames, and auto2 might just do the 3:2 pulldown and then repeat frames to approximate 24fps ..?

Anyway, IMHO cinemotion will never enhance video games and should likewise be a moot point when viewing a 24p source.

I hope this helps clear some of the confusion for a few of you .. at least until we can get definitive answers from a Sony rep.

Good Theory, it certainly sounds plausable. That makes me wonder, if you have a cable STB, and say you're watching HBO in SD does the STB do the 3:2 pull down for you, or does HBO broadcast it that way? i.e., is the only time you need cinemotion to do 3:2 pull down for you when you're watching a regular DVD?

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #149 of 5495 Old 09-12-2007, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FCEEVIPER View Post

I gotta agree here,

When I watch content with a 720p signal the settings set to Custom, Cinema and Standard look better than Vivid, but when there is a 1080i/p signal Vivid always looks better than any of the other settings.

I'm not trying to say you guys or HDGuru are wrong, it just always looks better in vivid- for Me.

Hmm....I don't understand why you would think 720p looks better in the other modes but 1080 looks better in Vivid. Do you leave the settings at the factory preset in Vivid (the ones you can adjust?) Vivid for me, is just too bright and too much processing going on. Did you give my settings a try with the backlight at 8?

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #150 of 5495 Old 09-12-2007, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here notice that if you adjust the White balance in Custom, it applies those changes to the Standard setting but not the Cinema setting?

Try it - set up the white balance in Custom however you want then check it under Standard and it will be the same, but it won't effect Cinema. Go back to Standard and reset the white balance settings, and then go back to Custom and you'll see they got reset there also.

IMO, these settings shouldn't effect each other. I'd like to have different white balance settings in Standard then in Custom but that's not possible.

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 52xbr5 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 32xbr4 32 Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 52xbr4 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off