Official Sony XBR4/5 Owners Thread(NO PRICE TALK) - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
greatfavah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first message, so I apologize in advance if this question has been asked 1000 times before.

What is the function of the "remote" input jack that's on the XBR5 back panel. It's not on the XBR4
greatfavah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 08:52 AM
Member
 
R.MnTnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcboyless View Post

I have the 46BXR4 and I've seen a lot of different recommended settings in this forum. This is my first HDTV so I apologize for the newbie question but can someone recommend the best way for me to calibrate the 46XBR4? Is there a DVD I should buy or a program I should run through a PC? I also have some slight flashlighting in both upper corners that I would like to try and get out if at all possible but I'm mostly concerned with optimizing my PQ for cable broadcasted HD programming. I apologize for the naive question but would appreciate any help!

I would check the Calibration thread for any settings - http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=893076
R.MnTnA is offline  
post #1083 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 08:55 AM
Member
 
R.MnTnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me and my TV or do the viewing angles suck on this TV? I have a 40XBR4 and viewing it on an angle I notice the color turns "pale or fleshy" and sometimes the screen looks a little "pixilated" . Anyone else notice this?
R.MnTnA is offline  
post #1084 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Bullet94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bpmurr, how does the PQ of your XBR4 compare with the D92 you had (besides the banding problem)?

"Hence we will not say that Greeks fight like heroes, but that heroes fight like Greeks." - Winston Churchill
Bullet94 is offline  
post #1085 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullet94 View Post

bpmurr, how does the PQ of your XBR4 compare with the D92 you had (besides the banding problem)?

It's funny you ask because my girlfriend and I were just talking about that last night. We said it's like having the D92 without banding and slightly more accurate color. I will say that the Sony handles cable feeds much better (or all the sudden Comcast flipped a switch) because I get a lot less macro blocking. The both have deep blacks but the Sony has better shadow detail while maintaining the deep black.

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XB1 l PS4 l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR
bpmurr is offline  
post #1086 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus2007 View Post

Is that a stuck red pixel against the dark background in the third picture, Batman Begins?

LOL! I knew that was coming... The stuck pixel is not on the TV but on my Camera.
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #1087 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpmurr View Post

Well I returned my orignal set this weekend for a replacement. The new one still has "spotlights" but very faint compared to the cloud I had in the top left of my old set. Honestly so far they go from faint to nothing depending on the content. I also don't notice the horizontal banding like I did on my old set. Needless to say I'm pretty happy with the replacement. This is actually my third set because the first replacement I got from CC was droped and damaged which is a long story in itself. I also got my girlfriends brother to return his new LG 42" and pickup the 40" XBR4 and he is loving it so far.


That's great news bpmurr. So you did the gray background test for banding and it passed?

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #1088 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpmurr View Post

I will say that the Sony handles cable feeds much better (or all the sudden Comcast flipped a switch) because I get a lot less macro blocking.


That is the same exact sentiment I have.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #1089 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

That's great news bpmurr. So you did the gray background test for banding and it passed?

Brandon

Well my cable box uses a dark grey screen when it's in standby and I didn't notice anything that "jumped" out at me. I'm very sensative to this owning a Sharp set with banding.

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XB1 l PS4 l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR
bpmurr is offline  
post #1090 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Frosty62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkinsoldier View Post

Do you use hdmi cable?
If so, i would also check the internet for hdmi handshake problems concerning your hdbox (HD Receiver). It looks like it for me. If this is the problem, the picture stuck or get black and sometimes only the audio keeps playing. This might be solved, by exchanging your hdbox.

If you dont use hdmi: maybe try another cable!

hope that i could help you!
Linkin

I bought a set of PureAV HDMI-HMDI 6 ft. cables at Sam's Club and my set-top box is the Explorer Digital Scientific Atlanta 4250HDC with the cablecard. I will do some research and also give Comcast a call to see if they have had any problems with these boxes. Thanks for your suggestions.
Frosty62 is offline  
post #1091 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Warder45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those with computers and videogame consoles hooked up, could you post your impressions of the 120hz feature?

After stepping back for a minute I have to wonder if that and the 1080p/24 is really worth the extra G that these new sets are commanding.
Warder45 is offline  
post #1092 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 12:49 PM
Member
 
silvertone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warder45 View Post

For those with computers and videogame consoles hooked up, could you post your impressions of the 120hz feature?

After stepping back for a minute I have to wonder if that and the 1080p/24 is really worth the extra G that these new sets are commanding.

What's the set up to test this refresh rate?

Belinda was mine 'til the time that I found her.......
silvertone is offline  
post #1093 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warder45 View Post

For those with computers and videogame consoles hooked up, could you post your impressions of the 120hz feature?

After stepping back for a minute I have to wonder if that and the 1080p/24 is really worth the extra G that these new sets are commanding.

Definately less to no blur with the Motion Flow enabled... Game mode seems to do the same, still experimenting... But having had an XBR3 last week (before the replacement) I can assure you the difference is quite a bit in favor of the XBR4
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #1094 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 01:18 PM
Member
 
rockytong's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please tell me the box dimensions for the 52" and the 46"? Thanks. I wonder if either one will fit my tiny Scion XA.
rockytong is offline  
post #1095 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
Jim_SB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

I have been lurking here for about 18 months researching a large flat panel TV.

After reading, researching and comparison shopping I decided to wait until I could see a new XBR4 "live".

Saw one on display at the local CC last week and was very impressed with the PQ - they hooked it up to a Blu Ray with the 5th Element DVD. Saw it next to Sammy's, Panny's, etc. Decided that was the one...

I was in a Bay Area hotel Sunday morning (after watching Tennessee play Cal) . My Wife was in the shower. I said "That's it - let's go for it"! She said "Ok". I did the online purchase for in-store pickup later that day.

Picked it up that afternoon, loaded it gently into my old Explorer for the 3 mile drive home. Took it slow and easy. CC rep said to keep the screen side up - we did.

I already had Cox Digital Cable with Hi Def. Picked up an HDMI cable at CC.

Results?

The picture is stunning. Just beautiful. IMHO it is better on SD than our old 35" tube tv was as well.

No clouds, flashlights or dead pixels that we can see.

So far we are simply blown away by this television. We have a bright room - in sunny CA - the lack of glare is amazing. Glare was my big concern with plasma tv's and with the Sammy LCD.

Just posting to say THANK YOU to all who have posted so much - helping us HD newbies sort it out and make our decision. I've copied a bunch of the custom settings - will play around with that shortly.

I'm a very happy Sony customer right now.

Regards,

Jim in Santa Barbara
Jim_SB is offline  
post #1096 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Congrats on your new purchase...

And Go Bears!

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #1097 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Welcome to the forum and congratz on the new purchase, you will definitely love your new Sony... Like yourself, I bought a TV set following the very useful information on this forum, people here are extremely knowledgeable and very friendly.
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #1098 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
mrichmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warder45 View Post

For those with computers and videogame consoles hooked up, could you post your impressions of the 120hz feature?

Computers connected via VGA or via HDMI fall to a refresh rate of 60Hz at 1080p on the XBR4.

The 120Hz refresh rate for the panel is why the XBR4 can display 24p video.
A Google search will turn up multiple articles explaining the relationship between 120Hz screens and 24p video display. For example:
http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/home-ente...ter-231872.php
mrichmon is offline  
post #1099 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Srgtfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Laguna Niguel, Ca., USA
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am in So. Cal. and have a Moto DTC 6416 III cox box, going to a Sony XBR4 52 via HDMI only. When I 1st powered up, there was an error message on screen about HDMI incompatability. Ater unplugs, no go on anything except 480i,p. 720p via the same HDMI cable. There is a search for HDMI devices on the Sony, which gave a "none found" result, despite receiving the above feed just fine via HDMI. Moto is set to 1080 i wide, Preserve 4:3 Pic-480p.

The display button press on the Sony remote, then shows all above, but bener 1080.

Any help much appreciated

Thank you very much

Fury
Srgtfury is offline  
post #1100 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I returned my xbr4 because I was having audio/video problems when I would first boot it up when watching cable tv via the SA 8300. I switch the tv for the 4671f and have none of the problems anymore.
slumpey326 is offline  
post #1101 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 04:42 PM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased the 5 year service plan from Sony - seems like a great deal compared to other plans. Now I have some piece of mind to go along with that great picture!
orfny is offline  
post #1102 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
EADGBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orfny View Post

Just purchased the 5 year service plan from Sony - seems like a great deal compared to other plans. Now I have some piece of mind to go along with that great picture!

I'm thinking of going with that plan also, it's so much cheaper then everywhere else and I'd hope that Sony will do good job servicing the TV's compared to the B&M stores.

52XBR4
55HX929
EADGBE is offline  
post #1103 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post

These are some pics from HD DVD source

You can see some clear spots in the corners. But overall I'm really happy with the purchase. I'm using custom Picture.

As far as I can see, barely noticable. Hell, it wouldn't bother me.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #1104 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
lsedels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepysurf View Post

I suspect it's because the BB (and CC, etc.) plans are 1) administered through a 3rd party warranty company, and 2) have huge markups = bigger profits.

The confused (and naive) customer (like moi) who don't know better, fall victim to such an impulse purchase. In defense of BB, they cancelled the extended service plan and issued me a full refund without hesitation.

Suggestions on how not to fall victim to that purchase at BB or CC?
lsedels is offline  
post #1105 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
lsedels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orfny View Post

Just purchased the 5 year service plan from Sony - seems like a great deal compared to other plans. Now I have some piece of mind to go along with that great picture!

Can you purchase the plan direct from SONY even if you didn't buy the TV direct from them?
lsedels is offline  
post #1106 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
myprod7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsedels View Post

Can you purchase the plan direct from SONY even if you didn't buy the TV direct from them?

Yes. You can.
myprod7 is offline  
post #1107 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 06:28 PM
Member
 
scamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read in some threads that people are turning off the auto dim feature. Is this possible?

Thanks
scamper is offline  
post #1108 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 06:38 PM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsedels View Post

Can you purchase the plan direct from SONY even if you didn't buy the TV direct from them?

Yes, I bought the set from Sears and just purchased it online at Sony Style (they ask for the purchase date, store, serial number and type of TV).
orfny is offline  
post #1109 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 06:58 PM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scamper View Post

I have read in some threads that people are turning off the auto dim feature. Is this possible?

Thanks

Just go into General Settings and turn "Light Sensor" to off.
orfny is offline  
post #1110 of 11990 Old 09-04-2007, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by orfny View Post

Just go into General Settings and turn "Light Sensor" to off.

I think he may be refering to one that can't be turned off... my XBR4 seems to auto dimm on dark screens only (such as credits) and my I have light sensor set to off.
Xeneize12 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 52xbr4 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off