Sharp Aquos D64U Calibrations and Settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 863 Old 09-08-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
HTSS-TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought it would be useful for new owners of the D64U series of Sharp Aquos to have a place to post calibrations, settings, various tweaks ... to get the best picture possible out of your new set(s).

The thread "Official Sharp Aquos LC-42D64U/LC-46D64U/LC-52D64U Owner's Thread" does not have any settings.

Have a good times.
HTSS-TR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 863 Old 09-11-2007, 11:41 PM
Member
 
MikeMc5506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my new Sharp LC-42D64U today. The picture is not as good as my also new Mits LT-40133. Hoping that fine tuning settings will improve the Sharp. I really like the user interface on the Sharp. Looking forward to inputs on settings.
MikeMc5506 is offline  
post #3 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 07:47 AM
Member
 
jonpfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could but since I am new to hi def tvs, I do not know what to look for

Thx
jonpfl
jonpfl is offline  
post #4 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
wjcordier@bigfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For starters, I'd suggest going into the Advanced option, into Color Saturation, and moving the red gradient bar down to at least -14. The factory presets put a huge overemphasis on red.
wjcordier@bigfoo is offline  
post #5 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 10:15 AM
Member
 
rolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
glad to see someone started a thread like this as i am clueless to these things.
rolla is offline  
post #6 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
jrn23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW here is what CNet came up with for settings for the 52D64U:

http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-a...ag=tip-2510262
jrn23 is offline  
post #7 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
sramos1104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have any good calibrations for a normal room or any good websites that have this? The CNET article is good but it references a room with no light.

I just ordered the 46" Sharp yesterday and I'm waiting for it to Ship. I've never really calibrated my TVs though, I just used whatever setting they had.
sramos1104 is offline  
post #8 of 863 Old 09-12-2007, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
HTSS-TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For normal lighted room, you may like to increase these settings from CNET settings to your liking: Backlight, Contrast and Brightness

Remember that power consumption increase the most with increasing Backlight, other settings do not effect power consumption as much.
HTSS-TR is offline  
post #9 of 863 Old 09-13-2007, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
sramos1104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is is safe to use some of the setting that are on the D62 Threads? I'm assuming the TVs are not that much different in picture quality.
sramos1104 is offline  
post #10 of 863 Old 09-14-2007, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Troub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this saying that these sets have 120 HZ, these new sets have the fine motion. Interesting read.

http://ph.hardwarezone.com/news/view.php?id=8504&cid=6
Troub is offline  
post #11 of 863 Old 09-14-2007, 11:09 AM
Member
 
allston232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll take the $1000 LC-42d64u instead paying $4700 for the LC-42A63M any day of the week and 2 on sunday.
allston232 is offline  
post #12 of 863 Old 09-14-2007, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
krispykeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troub View Post

Is this saying that these sets have 120 HZ, these new sets have the fine motion. Interesting read.

http://ph.hardwarezone.com/news/view.php?id=8504&cid=6

No, the 64 series is 60hz. Interesting they refer to the slim-line version but those are different models from what i can tell.
krispykeith is offline  
post #13 of 863 Old 09-14-2007, 11:41 AM
Member
 
tdrag97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: H-Town
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump bump..

can someone post up there setting..

beside this CNet setting.. :

Picture menu

OPC: Off

Backlight: -10

Contrast: +34

Brightness: -10

Color: +1

Tint: 0

Sharpness: -10



Advanced

Color Temp: Low

Black: Off

Fine Motion Advanced: On

Monochrome: Off

Film mode: On

Range of OPC: N/A
tdrag97 is offline  
post #14 of 863 Old 09-14-2007, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
HTSS-TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sramos1104 View Post

Is is safe to use some of the setting that are on the D62 Threads? I'm assuming the TVs are not that much different in picture quality.

If is safe to use any setting, include default settings, but to get the most from your 64U TV according to your eyes is another story. Why don't you try some of the 62U settings to see if you like those, and you may like to adjust some of the settings to your liking then post result(s) here.
HTSS-TR is offline  
post #15 of 863 Old 09-15-2007, 08:32 AM
Member
 
richard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrag97 View Post

bump bump..

can someone post up there setting..

beside this CNet setting.. :

Picture menu

OPC: Off
Backlight: -10
Contrast: +34
Brightness: -10
Color: +1
Tint: 0
Sharpness: -10

Advanced
Color Temp: Low
Black: Off
Fine Motion Advanced: On
Monochrome: Off
Film mode: On
Range of OPC: N/A

The CNet settings have Contrast at +38 not +34 but that's just a minor detail. I am by no means an expert but it seems like these settings are meant for testing rather than regular TV watching. I mean, why would you drop the sharpness and max out the contrast unless you were looking for defects?
richard13 is offline  
post #16 of 863 Old 09-15-2007, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
slider169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any settings for 46d64U?
slider169 is offline  
post #17 of 863 Old 09-15-2007, 07:36 PM
Member
 
vvdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider169 View Post

any settings for 46d64U?

If I may ask, do you have any 46D64U impression/comparison/pics ? Not too many guys got their 46" yet.
vvdd is offline  
post #18 of 863 Old 09-16-2007, 01:08 AM
Newbie
 
slider169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvdd View Post

If I may ask, do you have any 46D64U impression/comparison/pics ? Not too many guys got their 46" yet.

The 46d64u is my first lcd tv. I have nothing to compared with. One thing I'm sure is my set doesn't have any banding. I tested with the DVD download from TVblink.com
slider169 is offline  
post #19 of 863 Old 09-16-2007, 01:03 PM
Member
 
vvdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider169 View Post

The 46d64u is my first lcd tv. I have nothing to compared with. One thing I'm sure is my set doesn't have any banding. I tested with the DVD download from TVblink.com

Great to hear! I also ordered a 46D64U via F&F. Did not receive it yet. You might want to take a look at xxD62U threads and try a few settings. How is the image? How are the default settings?
vvdd is offline  
post #20 of 863 Old 09-17-2007, 12:12 PM
Member
 
benlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else compared these three settings (LC-42U64U)?

I decided that the default User picture setting was better than Standard and haven't been motivated inclined to make any changes.

Found the Movie setting to be too dark and yellowish, although backlight is higher.
benlin is offline  
post #21 of 863 Old 09-18-2007, 05:45 PM
Member
 
CooLJ92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calexico, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've confirmed with my Colorvision SpyderTV that the Low setting in the Color Temp and in the Movie Mode is the most accurate to the 65 Kelvin. The rest of the settings are way off and too blushis.

I will be calibrating the brightness, contrast, color and tint in the coming days and will post my results. Keep in mind, all LCD's are different, but you may use the settings as a benchmark once I post.

J
CooLJ92 is offline  
post #22 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 05:10 AM
Member
 
HondaF17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CooLJ92 View Post

I've confirmed with my Colorvision SpyderTV that the Low setting in the Color Temp and in the Movie Mode is the most accurate to the 65 Kelvin. The rest of the settings are way off and too blushis.

I will be calibrating the brightness, contrast, color and tint in the coming days and will post my results. Keep in mind, all LCD's are different, but you may use the settings as a benchmark once I post.

J

Cool, looking forward to reading them. It seems more and more people are receiving their sets so hopefully there is some consensus to the "best" settings relatively soon.
HondaF17 is offline  
post #23 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
MVPinBoynton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have setting recommendations? I got my 42" yesterday and am a bit disappointed right now. Out of the box the picture was very bright and washed out. I like a bright picture, but it didn't seem to have any contrast. I have played with the settings a bunch, but I am not getting the pop from the picture that I am used to. It seems flatter than it should be. I am sure that there is some setting that I am missing, since the Sharp's I have seen elsewhere always look so good.

Mike
MVPinBoynton is offline  
post #24 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 07:09 AM
Member
 
merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
change the video mode to standard instead of dynamic, there is a button on the remote(maybe under the flip cover, i forgot)

Ming Always Zigzaging Dangerously Along
R.I.P to The key of my success
merciless is offline  
post #25 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
MVPinBoynton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
merciless,
I tried that last night, but didn't notice much difference. Perhaps I had too many other things changed. This morning I read on the 62 calibration thread that I should use the "User" setting rather than the "standard" or "dynamic" ones. Tonight I will reset everything and start over. Thanks for the recommendation.

Mike
MVPinBoynton is offline  
post #26 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 07:29 AM
Member
 
merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm using the standard setting for now, and i tend to like it better than others. dynamic is too bright. i still need to get a hd source to test out the 1080p..im still watching regular digital cable...

Ming Always Zigzaging Dangerously Along
R.I.P to The key of my success
merciless is offline  
post #27 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
kclfoxtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrag97 View Post

bump bump..

can someone post up there setting..

beside this CNet setting.. :

Picture menu

OPC: Off

Backlight: -10

Contrast: +34

Brightness: -10

Color: +1

Tint: 0

Sharpness: -10



Advanced

Color Temp: Low

Black: Off

Fine Motion Advanced: On

Monochrome: Off

Film mode: On

Range of OPC: N/A

What is BLACK? I went into my settings and can not find that menu item. Also, I do use the OPC. A real nice feature is that you can set limits on the amount of increase/decrease in brightness when OPC is on.
kclfoxtrot is offline  
post #28 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 09:27 AM
Member
 
buttasuperb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by benlin View Post

Has anyone else compared these three settings (LC-42U64U)?

I decided that the default User picture setting was better than Standard and haven't been motivated inclined to make any changes.

Found the Movie setting to be too dark and yellowish, although backlight is higher.

Where in the menus can I find the option to change to movie setting?
buttasuperb is offline  
post #29 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 09:40 AM
Member
 
CooLJ92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calexico, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Flip the remotes cover open. Towards the end of the remote where the Aquos/Sharp logos are. There is a button that allows you to switch the "AV mode" to various settings.

J
CooLJ92 is offline  
post #30 of 863 Old 09-19-2007, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings for the 52D64U:

Backlight +4
Contrast +23
Brightness -6
Color +1
Tint 0
Sharpness +2
Color Temp Low
Active Contrast On
Fine Motion On

Comments?
jim55avs is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Aquos Lc42d64u 42 Inch Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off