Toshiba 32HL67 dvds always in 4:3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-11-2007, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chris98007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

I posted this in the hl67 board but not getting any info. I just got the 32hl67 and it looks great. My only inssue right now is that anytime i play a dvd it always comes in at 4:3. My dvd, jvc sd connects to the 32 by s-video. I went into the dvd player settings and make sure it was sent 16:9.

however i have to go in and change it to full mode everytime i watch a dvd.

Whats up with this?
chris98007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-11-2007, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
whitestang06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have the "auto aspect" on? I have a recorder/player hooked up through s-video and component, and it does the same (42HL67). I just turned the "auto aspect" off and leave it on FULL. For some reason, it doesn't seem to recognize 16:9 and switch automatically to Full. Works fine through HDMI, but not so much w/ analog.
whitestang06 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-12-2007, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chris98007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you think it would change if i ran component instead of s-video? Seems dumb that a tv like this would not recognize a 16:9 signal coming in.
chris98007 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-12-2007, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
ranger8199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Millsbury, MA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
component is going to give you a better picture anyway.what happens when you press the pic size button on the remote? do you have auto aspect off like stang was asking?
ranger8199 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-12-2007, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
whitestang06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine does the same thing through component. It isn't a concern for me, since I just leave it in full mode.
whitestang06 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-12-2007, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
ranger8199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Millsbury, MA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i know me also, i was just making sure he turned the auto aspect ratio off like you had suggested.
ranger8199 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off