Samsung LNT-xx71f Firmware Upgrade thread- PLEASE POST YOUR EXPERIENCE - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Did you upgrade to firmware 1013.1 or 2004? If so how does it work?
I upgraded to 1013.1. I do NOT get stutter or TBE. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 11 12.79%
I upgraded to 2004. I do NOT get stutter or TBE. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 13 15.12%
I upgraded to 1013.1. I get stutter only. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 19 22.09%
I upgraded to 2004. I get stutter only. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 3 3.49%
I upgraded to 1013.1. I get TBE only. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 4 4.65%
I upgraded to 2004. I get TBE only. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 5 5.81%
I upgraded to 1013.1. I get TBE and stutter. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 21 24.42%
I upgraded to 2004. I get TBE and stutter. (Post description of AMP on/off.) 10 11.63%
Voters: 86. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 210 Old 11-24-2007, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edit: if you are a 2xxx firmware users of any number please post your experience. I kknow the poll says 2004 just pick the option that otherwise best describes your situation.

The owners thread is long and confusing and the firmware updates need their own thread. I am making this poll so OWNERS of 71 series Samsung LCDs can post their experience with the newest firmware upgrades (1013.1 and 20O4 as of this writing). The goal of the poll is to reveal with hard numbers whether these firmware updates fix TBE and stuttering. This data will be useful to owners and to Samsung. I have the number of a level 3 tech (Samsung's top level) and once we get some good data, I will forward this to them so they will then be able to see if there is a need for future firmware updates.

Please try and keep this on topic and the topic is firmware versions 1013.1 and 2004.

If you want support or have questions about the 71 series, go here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=893827

I recommend doing a username sear for Petrovy in the above thread since he's got a really great spreadsheet with lot of data on this TV.

No matter your poll choice, please post your levels of AMP usage since this will both help AV forum members support you and also help Samsung in determining how to fix any remaining issues.

This is a public poll and votes can be seen by anyone.

Stutter Defined:
Stutter has 2 variants. The first is when the picture moves in what appears to be slow motion albeit smoothly. The second kind is when the TV is dropping frames and the video looks like a choppy Internet download that is it's jerky and frames are obviously being dropped. In this kind of stutter the video moves at close to normal speed.

2 Quick ways to check for TBE and stutter:

TBE: Play halo or a game with a crosshair, if you get tbe you'll end up with 3 crosshairs. Watch a football game and when a long pass is thrown, watch the ball for the same effect.

To Check For Stutter:
Get a 1080p/24 device (like a Blu-ray player or HD DVD player), set it to output at 1080p/24, hook it to the TV using HDMI, and then put in a movie and turn it on. If there is stutter you'll either see frames dropping or the movie wil have spots where it looks like it moving in slow motion. It's somewhat random and you might need to watch for a bit or skip chapters. On some TVS it's REALLY bad while on others you might just see a jerk every once in a while as a frame or two drops. If it passed this test, then set the player to 1080p/60. If it passes both tests you are very lucky.

EDIT: 2xxx series sets do stutter and suffer from TBE. Since these sets are only now getting into the retail channel, it looks like they will have stutter at lower levels than 1xxx, but still have it.

EDIT 2: For 1xxx owners, if stutter is your primary concern, do not upgrade to 1013.1, it will increase you stutter. I am not going to upgrade my sets for this reason. If on the other hand TBE is what bugs you most, then you should do the upgrade since it seems to mostly fix it.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I saw a rare case of TBE with Halo3 on an xbox360 with 2004. AMP was on low med and high. None found with any other source so far. No stutter. TBE disappears with AMP off.
bhazard is offline  
post #3 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

I saw a rare case of TBE with Halo3 on an xbox360 with 2004. None found with any other source so far. No stutter.

try a bd or hd dvd player set up like i recommend in the first post. i've done that exact set up and gotten stutter on every 71 series so far (4 of them). if you can do that and it passes, then you are really lucky.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #4 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Tom Tessier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get TBE to 1013.1 only with AMP on.

For the unofficial Samsung LNTxx71F FAQ, click here.
Tom Tessier is offline  
post #5 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Tessier View Post

I get TBE to 1013.1 only with AMP on.

same request as the guy with 2004, can you get a 1080p/24 source and test for stutter?

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #6 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
BD 1080P 24Hz output forced to ON with a PS3. No stutter with AMP on high with multiple blu-ray movies.
bhazard is offline  
post #7 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 06:11 AM
Member
 
drs1nonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok great now I'm super confused. I thought that the 5271's latest firmware was the v2004. but when I go to the sammy FW upgrade site from post 1 it tells you to DL 1013 for the 5271.... so which is the newest version for the 5271? An has anbody had any luck fixing the Xbox 360 HD DVD studder issue with the new FW upgrade? if so which version do you have?

P.S
Where can I get v2004 for the 5271?

thanks
Carlos
drs1nonly is offline  
post #8 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 07:06 AM
Member
 
macman37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to hold off on any firmware update (it would be the 1013.1 version) until it appears all the issues are ironed out.

I don't have TBE (that I can tell) and I don't have any stutter that I've noticed either... But I want to maximize the TV so I will update it when it's done right.

Samsung if you are reading: make this set be all it can be...
macman37 is offline  
post #9 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 09:09 AM
Member
 
quartermiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get slight TBE with AMP on high. No TBE with AMP on low or off. I get stutter with amp on high viewing 1080i through a Motorola DVR/STB via component cable. HDMI not available with this DVR. No stutter with AMP on low or off. I get stutter with 24 frame Blu-Ray movie viewing via PS3 and HDMI 1.2 cable when AMP is on high. No stutter with AMP on low or off.

FW 1007 updated to 1013.1
quartermiler is offline  
post #10 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drs1nonly View Post

ok great now I'm super confused. I thought that the 5271's latest firmware was the v2004. but when I go to the sammy FW upgrade site from post 1 it tells you to DL 1013 for the 5271.... so which is the newest version for the 5271? An has anbody had any luck fixing the Xbox 360 HD DVD studder issue with the new FW upgrade? if so which version do you have?

P.S
Where can I get v2004 for the 5271?

thanks
Carlos

there are 2 different versions of the fw out there. if your tv has the 1xxx or 2xxx already installed the thing to do is stay with the series that matches your tv.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #11 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tested my friend's 1001/1013.1.

TBE and stutter are as they were in older fw, sometimes worse.

TBE is present with AMP on all settings. No TBE with AMP off.

Stutter has indeed gotten worse with the 1013.1 update.

I'm keeping my set at 1001/1007, since these so-called fixes are a bunch of lies from what I've seen.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #12 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

I've tested my friend's 1001/1013.1.

TBE and stutter are as they were in older fw, sometimes worse.

TBE is present with AMP on all settings. No TBE with AMP off.

Stutter has indeed gotten worse with the 1013.1 update.

I'm keeping my set at 1001/1007, since these so-called fixes are a bunch of lies from what I've seen.

Copy that, sticking to my 1007/1001 until an actual fix takes place. Even though the OP has a contact in tier 3, I still think we should be calling and causing a ruckus, they need to hear from us.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #13 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seriously, aside from horrendous stutter on the 360, I don't get any stutter with any other source, not even cable TV.

Studdad, do you get stutter with regular programming? And if so, do you use a cable box or anything similiar, or do you just run the cable from the TV straight to the wall (like I do)?
Shin CZ is offline  
post #14 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

Copy that, sticking to my 1007/1001 until an actual fix takes place. Even though the OP has a contact in tier 3, I still think we should be calling and causing a ruckus, they need to hear from us.

i agree 100%, keep calling. if you're an owner of this set and have not called samsung about the stutter and tbe, then you should do so. the more voices they hear the faster we will get a fix.

@shincz yeah i had heard that stutter was worse with 1013.1. bummer b/c that for me is the issue i really care about most. thanks for the info.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #15 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

Seriously, aside from horrendous stutter on the 360, I don't get any stutter with any other source, not even cable TV.

Studdad, do you get stutter with regular programming? And if so, do you use a cable box or anything similiar, or do you just run the cable from the TV straight to the wall (like I do)?

I have directv, with the HR20 DVR. No stutter with AMP off. Stutter varies with AMP on Low to High. Again, not dependent on station, just dependent on the type of movement on the screen. This tv cannot handle certain types of movement, and I have no doubt in my mind that what is happening is it is dropping frames.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #16 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Youknowyryan

You need to PM Sharpjunkie in the other thread and let him know you set up this poll, and to please post a link to it on the first page of the other thread.

Thanks

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #17 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

I have directv, with the HR20 DVR. No stutter with AMP off. Stutter varies with AMP on Low to High. Again, not dependent on station, just dependent on the type of movement on the screen. This tv cannot handle certain types of movement, and I have no doubt in my mind that what is happening is it is dropping frames.

That's just it. I have tested the TV with AMP on High quite extensively, and with normal cable (even HD channels), I have absolutely no stutter with the AMP on ANY level.

We have the same sw/fw, but you have your programming being fed by the Direct TV. I believe it's causing the stuttering issue for your programming, since my programming from wall to TV directly has no stutter.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #18 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

That's just it. I have tested the TV with AMP on High quite extensively, and with normal cable (even HD channels), I have absolutely no stutter with the AMP on ANY level.

We have the same sw/fw, but you have your programming being fed by the Direct TV. I believe it's causing the stuttering issue for your programming, since my programming from wall to TV directly has no stutter.

But here is the problem. Stutter does not happen with AMP on Off, and it does with any other setting. Not all the time, it depends on the motion that is going on on the screen. In addition, there are several other people with all different types of feeds that have the same problem. So it is the AMP function that is introducing the problem.

But, lets just assume you are right. Samsung made a tv that can only be used if you are hooked up directly to the wall with cable. How usefull is that? If you want HD programming you have to have either an OTA antena, or a STB of some kind, and people with all variations of this have reported stutter. I guess if Samsung had told me the tv would only operate properly if I was on analog/digital cable directly from the wall, I would have been able to make a more informed decision in my purchasing. But bottom line, it is still the tv, because all other tv's I have tried with this same DVR have been flawless in regards to stutter, and that includes a Toshiba 120hz LX177 and a Sony 36" HD tube.

So, since we bought the tv in order to get HD programming, and we assumed it would work with the Standard STB/DVR's from Cable, Directv, and Dish, and it does not, I guess we all need to get a refund from Samsung and go buy the XBR4.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #19 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
shishghate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get slight TBE and sporadic stutter after upgrading to 1013.1
shishghate is offline  
post #20 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by studdad View Post

But here is the problem. Stutter does not happen with AMP on Off, and it does with any other setting. Not all the time, it depends on the motion that is going on on the screen. In addition, there are several other people with all different types of feeds that have the same problem. So it is the AMP function that is introducing the problem.

But, lets just assume you are right. Samsung made a tv that can only be used if you are hooked up directly to the wall with cable. How usefull is that? If you want HD programming you have to have either an OTA antena, or a STB of some kind, and people with all variations of this have reported stutter. I guess if Samsung had told me the tv would only operate properly if I was on analog/digital cable directly from the wall, I would have been able to make a more informed decision in my purchasing. But bottom line, it is still the tv, because all other tv's I have tried with this same DVR have been flawless in regards to stutter, and that includes a Toshiba 120hz LX177 and a Sony 36" HD tube.

So, since we bought the tv in order to get HD programming, and we assumed it would work with the Standard STB/DVR's from Cable, Directv, and Dish, and it does not, I guess we all need to get a refund from Samsung and go buy the XBR4.

Oh I agree with you 100%. I'm just trying to pinpoint the problem. I know it's the AMP. That is unquestionable. I'm just trying to see if the AMP paired with 'boxes' that add a bit too much processing induce the stuttering.

Things that work fine, meaning no stutter even with the AMP on Low, Med, High:

PS3
Wii
Sega Dreamcast
Sega Saturn
PS2
Cable from wall to TV, even local HD Channels have no stutter with AMP on.

Things with stutter:

XBox 360 Elite

I haven't tried any cable boxes, DVRs, dedicated BD, HD-DVD, DVD players.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #21 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 11:59 AM
Member
 
thejoshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just posting my expierence

original firmware 1007
hardware 1001

upgraded to 1013.1

my first couple weeks with this set showed no studder only TBE. then one day everything on OTA was studdering about every 10 secs with amp on. After the update i cant say i havent seen any studdering yet. On OTA or with the 360 on component. TBE is only visible on high, but still better than before. I do use game mode for the 360 however as i dont have a hd-drive so not for movies. When i get a blue-ray player ill put it through its paces. but i do have one question. For movies, especially 1080p/24fps, why would anyone want to use amp? i cant believe the movie would like a natural movie at all? and defeat the purpose of 24 fps?
thejoshster is offline  
post #22 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:00 PM
Member
 
crspyjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone esle lose all channel settings?
crspyjohn is offline  
post #23 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejoshster View Post

just posting my expierence

original firmware 1007
hardware 1001

upgraded to 1013.1

my first couple weeks with this set showed no studder only TBE. then one day everything on OTA was studdering about every 10 secs with amp on. After the update i cant say i havent seen any studdering yet. On OTA or with the 360 on component. TBE is only visible on high, but still better than before. I do use game mode for the 360 however as i dont have a hd-drive so not for movies. When i get a blue-ray player ill put it through its paces. but i do have one question. For movies, especially 1080p/24fps, why would anyone want to use amp? i cant believe the movie would like a natural movie at all? and defeat the purpose of 24 fps?

Some people like the effect. Makes it look more 'real' or 'unreal' depending on who you ask.

I myself LOVE the AMP on High while watching CG movies like Ratatouille. It just looks better to me. More 'real'.

Also, test out highly animated movies like 'Lion King' with the AMp on high. You may change your mind on the AMP.

Like you, I DON'T like it for live action movies.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #24 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:10 PM
Member
 
thejoshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

Some people like the effect. Makes it look more 'real' or 'unreal' depending on who you ask.

I myself LOVE the AMP on High while watching CG movies like Ratatouille. It just looks better to me. More 'real'.

Also, test out highly animated movies like 'Lion King' with the AMp on high. You may change your mind on the AMP.

Like you, I DON'T like it for live action movies.

oh yea, for cg and animated im sure its awesome. i saw an hd commercial for one and i was in awe. ill have to try it out.
thejoshster is offline  
post #25 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even at 24fps, the 120hz dejudders whatever you're watching, so you do reap some benefits. As for the AMP, I can see why you would say that. It does make movies appear to be more like 60fps, so yeah.

However, I think having the AMP work on a native 1080p/24 signal, instead of a tinkered 1080p/60 signal cause less processing/work for the TV. Less processing = better pq, and less artifacts?
Shin CZ is offline  
post #26 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:43 PM
Member
 
thejoshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shin CZ View Post

Even at 24fps, the 120hz dejudders whatever you're watching, so you do reap some benefits. As for the AMP, I can see why you would say that. It does make movies appear to be more like 60fps, so yeah.

However, I think having the AMP work on a native 1080p/24 signal, instead of a tinkered 1080p/60 signal cause less processing/work for the TV. Less processing = better pq, and less artifacts?

yea i agree. 24 fps would be easier on the processing than 60 fps. so in theory it would be better for amp. however, if amp trys to smooth motion, having less frames to work with may make it work harder. for example if you had 5 fps. how hard would it be to make that look smooth? i dont really know though, if i knew exactly what amp did i guess i would know for sure.
thejoshster is offline  
post #27 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shin CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Movies only hve 24fps naturally, so there isn't extra frames with the 60hz. The AMP has the same amount of frames to work with despite what refresh rate you have your tv set on.
Shin CZ is offline  
post #28 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 01:45 PM
Member
 
crspyjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 2004 firmware fix the shuttering issue with 24p?
crspyjohn is offline  
post #29 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crspyjohn View Post

Does the 2004 firmware fix the shuttering issue with 24p?

it SEEMS to, but the poll only has a few responses and over the next couple of weeks i think we'll geta clear answer as more people upgrade and post their results.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #30 of 210 Old 11-25-2007, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Lightrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope someone can help. I have read all the threads (whew!) related to -71 series but am a bit confused about 3tuttering possibly induced by "upgrading" to FW 1013.1.

Question: After updgrading to 1013.1, does the stuttering only happen with AMP On?

Reason I ask is I bought this TV primarily for sports and absolutely hate the TBE I'm getting with FW 1009 (52"). I'm debating returning (only have another week left on 30 day) and love the set but hate the TBE. I could live with AMP in OFF position forever based on great PQ and no TBE providing of course no stutter.

Thanks
Lightrider is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off